Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
Parliamentary Book ShelfParliamentary Book Shelf
George Kerr

Commonwealth Parliamentary Association. Sixth Canadian Regional Parliamentary Seminar, Ottawa, November 26, 1980, 137 pp.

For the past half-dozen years, the Canadian Regional Parliamentary Seminar has provided a forum for legislators to compare and evaluate their institutional and procedural differences. It is the kind of service which goes largely unnoticed by the general public, and may not always be appreciated by the majority of (non-participating) politicians who are the ultimate beneficiaries of the Seminar's discussions.

The Agenda for the 1980 Seminar covered several areas familiar to those concerned with the overall issue of making the elected representative as efficient as possible in his job: "Conceptions of a Parliamentarian's Role," "The Parliamentarian and his Riding," "The Parliamentarian and the Media" and so on.

Transcripts of verbal proceedings are not the most engrossing of reading matter, nor are they the easiest material to evaluate. Certainly, the cold print does little to convey the atmosphere of the presentations and debates and, of course, nothing of the more informal, and perhaps more important lunchtime and coffee break conversations is included in the formal record of the Seminar.

However, it is evident that at times the contentiousness of several subject areas did manage to engage the feelings of the Seminar's participants to a degree which is evident in the transcript. This was particularly so in the session devoted to The Parliamentarian and the Media. Surprisingly, given the nature of the Seminar, and the aims of these sessions, rather more heat than light was generated by the exchanges between the questioners and the panel of journalists. It was sadly evident that the flippancy of the newsmen – with the notable exception of W.A. Wilson – was matched by the petulance of several questioners. The media (and why were there no broadcast journalists on the panel?) have grave faults in their approach to the coverage of politics and politicians, but improvement in their performance is not effected by the tiresome grumbling of the "we wuz misquoted" variety indulged in by too many politicians.

With regard to those old staples of the Parliamentary Seminar, "Conceptions of a Parliamentarian's Role," "The Parliamentarian as Legislator," and What Can Be Done to Improve the Parliamentarian's Effectiveness?" those in charge of unzipping the legislatures' pocket books should long ago have taken the loud and frequent hints emanating from the Parliamentary Seminar, as well as from individual legislators, journalists and political scientists throughout Canada. The effort involved in representing the people and legislating for them const Itutes a fulltime job: it may even be a profession. Legislatures should at least provide sufficient scope and institutional support facilities to enable politicians to function as efficiently in their workplace as hockey players and chiropodists do in theirs. There have been vast improvements in most Canadian legislatures in the past two decades, but the process could go much further and not only in the area of providing funds for research and travel by MPs and MLAs. Legislatures, especially the Parliament of Canada, should be preparing the people they serve for the undoubted changes our society will face in the next few years, and the money required to professionalize the legislators' workplaces given the present size of federal and provincial budgets would be piddling compared to the amounts spent on even minor government programmes, and much easier to justify before the public than increases in the salaries of MPs and MLAs.

An area in which legislators should be given much more scope is that of committee work. Several participants in the Sixth Seminar made the point that relaxation of party discipline in committee would be a valuable and even creative development. Indeed, it already occurs in several legislatures and participants reported no serious injury to the vital principle of party discipline. Giving committees their head in formulating and investigating public policy would be a vital step in bringing legislatures into line with the demands on government in the closing years of this complex century.

An important point was raised by Mr John Butt of the Newfoundland House of Assembly, and by the journalist Mr W.A. Wilson: the legislator's role is changing in ways largely beyond his control, because of a transformation in the interests and priorities of people in a rapidly-evolving society. As Wilson pointed out, many of today's major public concerns the environment, the changing position of women, consumerism developed outside the political process, but very much in the public eye. He might have pointed out, however, that legislatures have had their role in responding to these concerns. Legislatures with adequate facilities, and parties prepared to let up on party discipline in certain circumstances might even have a role to play in anticipating what the media can merely chronicle. Wilson's remarks supported those of John Butt: in the complex process by which public concerns are reflected in, or turned into government policy, legislatures today have many more competitors for attention than in previous years. As Butt says "As an input channel ... Parliament today is in competition with many other institutions, such as interest groups and parties, the media, and the bureaucracy. Indeed, I certainly feel that these people have as much input into Cabinet-made decisions as private members..." (p. 35)

The contributions to the Seminar of two former party leaders, Mr T.C. Douglas and M r Robert Stanfield, area rueful reminder of how much Parliament is diminished by their retirement. It is not just by legislative performance or electoral victories that politicians are remembered. The fundamental decency of these two men is evident in their contributions to the Seminar; their humanity should stand as a perpetual rebuke to those who would prefer to elevate partisanship above principle or the public good.

Finally, while the Canadian Regional Parliamentary Seminar needs no strained justification for its existence – its value as a forum for informed debate is self-evident – the form in which this latest Seminar is presented to the interested reader is less easy to justify. When verbal proceedings are printed, they become part of a permanent and usually public record. There is no excuse for the disgracefully sloppy standard of proof-reading evident in this transcript: even the words of "O Canada" manage to suffer from copyediting barbarism (p. 19). The readership of this volume may not be large, but an organization such as the Canadian Parliamentary Association should treat those readers with somewhat more respect. The only redeeming factor in the proof-reading is that those dozens of errors are sprinkled with admirable impartiality between both official languages.

George Kerr, Professor School of Journalism, University of Western Ontario


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 4 no 4
1981






Last Updated: 2019-07-15

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish
Sur les rayonsSur les rayons
George Kerr

Sixième colloque parlementaire régional canadien, association parlementaire du Commonwealth, Ottawa, du 2 au 6 novembre 1980,137 p.

Au cours des six dernières années, le colloque parlementaire régional canadien a permis aux législateurs de comparer et d'évaluer leurs institutions et leurs procédures. Toutefois, ces débats passent inaperçus aux veux du public en général, et ils ne sont pas toujours appréciés par la majorité des politiciens qui n'y participent pas mais qui en profitent pourtant par la suite.

L'ordre du jour du colloque de 1980 portait sur plusieurs questions que connaissent bien ceux qui s'efforcent de faire que le représentant élu soit aussi efficace que possible dans son travail: "Conceptions du rôle d'un parlementaire", "Le parlementaire et les médias", "Le député et sa circonscription", etc.

Le compte rendu des délibérations n'est pas ce qu'il y a de plus intéressant à lire et ne constitue pas un document facile à évaluer. Certes, les textes ne peuvent refléter l'atmosphère des exposés et des débats et, évidemment, le procès-verbal du colloque ne tient aucunement compte des conversations peut-être plus importantes qui ont eu lieu pendant les déjeuners et les pauses-café.

Il est toutefois évident que le caractère litigieux dle plusieurs sujets a parfois porté les participants à exprimer très ouvertement leurs sentiments. Ceci apparaît nettement dans le compte rendu, en particulier lors de la séance sur le parlementaire et les médias. Fait surprenant, vu la nature du colloque et les buts de ces séances, les échanges entre participants et journalistes ont été très animés, mais n'ont pas jeté beaucoup de lumière. Il était malheureusement évident que l'impertinence des journalistes -- à l'exception de W.R. Wilson --égalait l'insolence de plusieurs participants. (On ne sait d'ailleurs pas pourquoi il n'y avait pas de journalistes de la radio et de la télévision). Si l'on peut faire de sérieuses critiques aux médias sur la façon dont ils traitent de la politique et des hommes politiques, ce n'est pas en leur reprochant constamment de ne pas avoir rapporte exactement les paroles de quelqu'un qu'on les incitera à effectuer un meilleur travail.

Pour ce qui est des vieux sujets de discussion, tels que "Conceptions du rôle d'un parlementaire", Le parlementaire en qualité de législateur" et "Comment améliorer l'efficacité du parlementai", ceux qui tiennent les cordons de la bourse devraient avoir compris depuis longtemps les allusions fréquentes et non dissimulées faites lors de colloques, ainsi que celles de législateurs particuliers, de journalistes et de spécialistes en sciences politiques au Canada. Les efforts déployés pour représenter la population et étudier les lois constituent un emploi à plein temps, on pourrait même parler d'une profession. Les corps législatifs devraient au moins offrir suffisamment de latitude et d'appui institutionnel pour permettre aux hommes politiques de fonctionner aussi efficacement dans leur lieu de travail que les joueurs de hockey et les chiropracteurs dans le leur. Au cours des vingt dernières années, la plupart des assemblées canadiennes ont connu d'importantes améliorations, mais ce processus doit aller beaucoup plus loin il ne doit pas se limiter à fournir des fonds pour de la recherche et pour les déplacements des députés fédéraux et provinciaux. Les assemblées, et particulièrement le Parlement du Canada, devraient préparer les citoyens qu'elles représentent aux changements auxquels fera sans doute face notre société au cours des prochaines années. L'argent nécessaire à donner un caractère plus professionnel au lieu de travail des législateurs  étant donné l'importance actuelle des budgets fédéraux et provinciaux  serait négligeable par rapport aux sommes que l'on dépense sur le moindre programme public, et cette dépense serait beaucoup plus facile à justifier devant la population que les augmentations de traitement des députés fédéraux et provinciaux.

Il faudrait, entre autres, accorder aux législateurs une plus, grande latitude dans le cadre des travaux en comité. Plusieurs participants au sixième colloque ont indiqué que le relâchement de la discipline de parti au sein des comités serait utile et même bénéfique. En fait, plusieurs législatures ont déjà adopté une telle ligne de conduite et les participants n'ont fait part d'aucune atteinte grave au principe vital de la discipline de parti. En accordant aux comités la liberté de formuler les politiques publiques et d'enquêter à leur sujet, on permettra aux assemblées législatives de mieux répondre aux exigences du public au cours des dernières années de ce siècle difficile.

M. John Butt de l'Assemblée législative de terre-neuve, et le journaliste W.A. Wilson ont fait une remarque importante: le rôle du législateur change sans qu'il s'en rende compte, parce que les intérêts et les priorités de la population suivent l'évolution rapide de la société. Comme l'a indiqué M. Wilson, bon nombre des principales préoccupations de la population d'aujourd'hui l'environnement, la situation de la femme. le mouvement de défense des consommateurs ont vu le jour à l'extérieur du processus politique, mais à la vue du publie. On aurait toutefois pu lui répliquer que les assemblées législatives ont réagi à ces préoccupations et ont donc eu un rôle à jouer. Les assemblées législatives dotées d'installations adéquates, et les partis prêts à laisser de côté la discipline de parti. dans certaines circonstances, pourraient même prédire ce que les médias doivent se contenter de rapporter. Les observations de M. Wilson appuyaient celles de John Butt. Au cours du processus complexe par lequel les politiques du gouvernement reflètent les préoccupations de la population, les assemblées législatives d'aujourd'hui sont loin d'être les seules à attirer l'attention. Comme J'a indiqué .M. Butt. le Parlement est en concurrence aujourd'hui avec bon nombre d'autres institutions. notamment les groupes d'intérêt, les partis, les médias et la bureaucratie. Il croit en fait que ces gens ont autant voix au chapitre que les députés dans le cadre des décisions du cabinet. (p. 35)

La participation au colloque de deux anciens chefs de parti, MM. Robert Stanfield et T.C. Douglas, nous rappelle ce que le Parlement a perdu lorsqu'ils ont pris leur retraite. On ne se souvient pas des hommes politiques seulement à cause de leurs prouesses parlementaires ou de leurs victoires électorales. Leur contribution à ce colloque est une autre preuve de leur dévouement et de leur honnêteté, leurs sentiments humanitaires devraient être un exemple et servir à dissuader ceux qui veulent faire passer l'esprit de parti au-dessus des principes ou du bien public.

En dernier lieu, point n'est besoin de justifier l'existence du colloque parlementaire régional canadien car il est évident qu'il suscite des débats éclairés, mais il est moins facile de justifier la piètre qualité du compte rendu du dernier colloque aux yeux des lecteurs intéressés. Une fois imprimé, le procès-verbal des séances constitue un rapport public officiel. Il n'y a aucune excuse pour la mauvaise qualité du texte définitif, on a même réussi à faire une erreur dans la transcription des paroles de  l’hymne national 0 Canada (p. 19). Sans doute peu de gens lisent des tels comptes rendus, mais l'Association parlementaire canadienne devrait traiter ces lecteurs avec un peu plus de respect. La seule bonne chose que l'on puisse dire. c'est que ces quelques douzaines d'erreurs sont réparties de façon admirablement impartiale entre les deux langues officielles.

George Kerr, professeur École de journalisme, Université de Western Ontario, London (Ontario)


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 4 no 4
1981






Dernière mise à jour : 2020-03-03