Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFranšais

PDF
CPA Activities: The Canadian SceneCPA Activities: The Canadian Scene


New Speakers

Gerald Amerongen was re-elected Speaker of the Alberta Legislative Assembly on May 24, 1979. He is the M.L.A. for Edmonton Meadowlark. Graduate of the University of Alberta; Arts and Law. Member of Edmonton law firm of Amerongen, Burger, Spencer & Ross; named Q.C. in 1966. Has been a member of advisory boards of Misericordia, General and St. Joseph's hospitals; participated in establishment of the Canadian Native Friendship Centre, Edmonton. Has served as president of Progressive Conservative Association of Alberta and national vice-president for Alberta of the Progressive Conservative Association of Canada; first president of Edmonton Centre Federal Progressive Conservative Association. First elected to the Legislative Assembly in 1971; re-elected to the Legislative Assembly in 1975 and in 1979. First elected Speaker of the Legislative Assembly of Alberta in 1972 and re-elected in 1975.

Harvey Schroeder was re-elected Speaker of the British Columbia Legislative Assembly on June 6, 1979. He is the M.L.A. for Chilliwack. Social Credit Party. Former Deputy Speaker of the Legislative Assembly. First elected to Legislature 1972. First elected Speaker in 1978. Born 1933. Married, three children. Graduated in Theology in Saskatchewan, 1958. Cost accounting with Canada Packers; Retail merchandising; established Palm Interiors of Chilliwack, 1954; Television and Stage production; public relations.

Robert McReady was elected Speaker of the New Brunswick Legislative Assembly on March 12, 1979. Speaker McCready was first elected to the New Brunswick Legislative Assembly in 1967 and re-elected in 1970. Was Speaker of the same Assembly between 1968 and 1970.

New Commissioner of NWT

In January 1979, the former Prime Minister of Canada named John Parker Commissioner of Northwest Territories. Mr. Parker took office on April 15, 1979.

Mr. Parker was born in 1929 in Didsbury, Alberta. While attending the University of Alberta where he graduated with a B.Sc in Engineering, he was employed by Eldorado Mining Co. Following graduation in 1951, Mr. Parker was employed as geologist and mining engineer (Saskatchewan). engineer and manager of a mine (Yellowknife). From 1956 to 1964 he was engaged in mining exploration and with a partner formed Pucambrian Mining Services, in 1964, and established a consulting and exploration service in Yellowknife. In December, 1958, Mr. Parker was elected to the Yellowknife Town Council and was later Mayor of Yellowknife for two terms (1963 and 1965). In June of 1966 Mr. Parker was appointed to the Carrothers Commission, which was established to study and to report on the problems of the NWT. On March 2, 1967, John Parker was appointed Deputy Commissioner of the NWT. Mr. Parker and his wife, Helen, reside in Yellowknife with their two children Sharon and Gordon. Mr. Parker succeeds Mr. Stuart Hodgson in the office of Commissioner.

New Clerk in New Brunswick 

David L.E. Peterson was appointed Clerk of the New Brunswick Legislative Assembly in March 1979, to replace Charles Blake Lynch. Born at Frederiction in 1942. Educated at New Brunswick Teachers College, University of New Brunswick (B.P.E. 1965) and (LL.B. 1969). Admitted to the Bar of N.B. 1969. Elected to municipal council 1974. Member Canadian Bar Association.

Visit to Canada by the President of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association

At the close of the 24th Commonwealth Parliamentary Conference in Jamaica last year, the Honourable John R. Harrison, M.P., Speaker of the House of Representatives of New Zealand, took office as President of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association. Recently, President Harrison undertook a goodwill CPA tour that took him to numerous Branches of the Association and the Canadian Region of the CPA was among his points of visit.

President Harrison and Mrs. Harrison arrived in Montreal on May 6 for a weeklong tour as guests of the Speakers of the Federal and Provincial Parliaments and Branches of the Canadian CPA Region. As there was a general federal election in process at the time of his visit, Speaker Harrison set out principally to call on Provincial Parliaments and his visit, therefore, included such provincial capitals as Quebec City, Halifax, Toronto, Winnipeg, Regina and Edmonton. This cross-country tour gave Speaker Harrison an excellent opportunity to meet the provincial Speakers and a large number of his Canadian parliamentary counterparts in the provincial Legislatures. A provincial election was also taking place in British Columbia; however, the Hon. Grace McCarthy, Deputy Premier and Minister of Human Resources of British Columbia was able to attend the Farewell Dinner offered in Vancouver by representatives of the Canadian Parliament.

Speaker Harrison who was born in 1921, is a member of the National Party of New Zealand and was first elected to Parliament in 1963. He served as an officer during World War II in various postings at home and abroad. Since elected to Parliament he has served as Government Whip, Opposition Whip, Deputy Speaker and Chairman of Committees. Speaker Harrison has attended several CPA Conferences and other Commonwealth Parliamentary meetings.

As President of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association, Speaker Harrison will be the host to some 200 parliamentary delegates and observers who will attend CPA's 25th Annual Conference in New Zealand next November. The October issue of this Review will carry an article on the host Country and Parliament of the Conference.

Ghana and Nigeria Return to Civil Government

On June 18, Ghanaians voted to elect a president and a 140-Member Parliament. For the election of their President, the people of Ghana will return to the polls in a runoff election as none of the 10 presidential candidates obtained a clear majority. In the parliamentary election, Ghanaians have given half of the 140 seats to the People's National Party.

Throughout the month of July Nigerians will elect the Members of their future Senate, House of Representatives and State Houses of Assembly. On July 28, each of the 19 States will elect its Governor, and on August 11, there will be an election to elect the President of Nigeria.

Tynwald: A Thousand Years of Unbroken Traditions

For the Isle of Man, 1979 is a year to remember as it celebrates a unique milestone the marking of the Millennium of its Parliament of Tynwald. One thousand years ago, the Island came under the domination of the invading Norsemen from Scandinavia the Vikings; they set up their kingdom of Mann and the Isles with a form of government based on the principle of freemen knowing the law and observing it. The proclamation of this law took place on occasions like the pagan feast of the Summer Solstice, usually to an assembly in an open field. The tradition is upheld and according to custom, on July 5 there is an open air assembly at the meeting place of the Vikings, the parliament field (in old Norse, Thing Vollr) on Tynwald Hill.

To celebrate the Millennium Year, the Government of the Isle of Man has set up a yearlong program of festivals, cultural exhibitions and ceremonial occasions. The main ceremony will, of course be the open air assembly on July 5.

The Canadian Branches of the CPA will be represented by a small parliamentary delegation during the period of the official Tynwald ceremonies. On July 4, the Canadian delegation will plant a Canadian red maple tree on Tynwald Hill to commemorate the founding of this thousandyearold parliamentary institution.

The Country (Capital Douglas) The Isle of Man, which has an area of approximately 572 sq. km, is located in the northern part of the Irish Sea, just below Scotland; in 1976, the population was estimated at 66.496. "Manx" is the old Norse name for the Isle and there is a "Manx" language still being spoken. In 1901, the number of Manx-speaking people was under 5,000; this number decreased over the decades and was reduced to 165 in 1961; in 1971, however, it had increased to 284.

Constitution and Government The sovereignty of the isle was for many centuries vested in grantees of the Crown called "Lords of Man and the Isles" but the sovereignty was purchased by George III of England in 1765. (1) The Isle of Man is still a possession of the Crown but has a very large degree of autonomy.

The Isle of Man is administered in accordance with its own laws by the Court of Tynwald, consisting of the Governor, appointed by the Crown; the Legislative Council, composed of the Lord Bishop of Sodor and Man, the Attorney-General and 8 members selected by the House of Keys; and the House of Keys, a representative assembly of 24 members chosen on adult suffrage. Bills after having passed both Houses are signed by the members, and then sent for the Royal Assent. After receiving the Royal Assent, a Bill does not become law unless promulgated within the ensuing twelve months, and on the first "Tynwald Day" (July 5) following it is announced in the English and Manx languages on the Tynwald Hill. On the promulgation taking place a certificate thereof is signed by the Lieutenant-Governor and the Speaker of the House of Keys.

Finance and Economy Revenue is derived mainly from income tax and customs duties. A special relationship exists between the Isle of Man and the European Economic Community providing for free trade and adoption by the Isle of Man of the EEC's external trade policies with third countries. The Island remains free to levy its own system of rates and taxes. The principal agricultural produce of the island consists of oats, wheat, barley, potatoes and dairy products. Another important sector of the Isle's economy is tourism. The Parliament of the Isle of Man is a member of the CPA and is represented in the Association by an auxiliary branch.

Notes

1 An Encyclopaedia of Parliament" by Norman Wilding and Philip Laundy (Cassell, London, Fourth (revised) edition, 1972).


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 2 no 2
1979






Last Updated: 2020-03-03

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Activités de l’APC : la scène canadienneActivités de l’APC : la scène canadienne


Nouveaux présidents

Gerald Amerongen a été réélu président de l’Assemblée législative de l’Alberta le 24 mai 1979. Il est député provincial d’Edmonton Meadowlark. Diplômé de l’Université de l’Alberta en arts et en droit, il est membre du cabinet d’avocats d’Edmonton Amerongen, Burger, Spencer & Ross; il a été nommé cr en 1966. M. Amerongen a été membre des conseils consultatifs des hôpitaux Misericordia, General et St. Joseph's; il a participé à l’établissement du Canadian Native Friendship Centre, Edmonton. Il a occupé le poste de président de l’Association progressiste conservatrice de l’Alberta et de vice-président national pour l’Alberta de l’Association progressiste conservatrice du Canada; il a été le premier président de l’Association progressiste conservatrice fédérale pour Edmonton Centre. Élu pour la première fois à l’Assemblée législative en 1971, il a été réélu à l’Assemblée législative en 1975 et en 1979. Il a été élu pour la première fois président de l’Assemblée législative de l’Alberta en 1972 et réélu à ce poste en 1975.

Harvey Schroeder a été réélu président de l’Assemblée législative de la Colombie-Britannique le 6 juin 1979. Il est député provincial pour Chilliwack, Parti du crédit social. Il avait été vice-président de l’Assemblée législative. Il a été élu pour la première fois à l’Assemblée législative en 1972, puis élu président pour la première fois en 1978. Il est né en 1933, il est marié et père de trois enfants. Il a reçu un diplôme en théologie en Saskatchewan en 1958. Comptabilité analytique chez Canada Packers; techniques marchandes. Il a établi Palm Interiors à Chilliwack en 1954; production télévisée et de la scène; relations publiques.

Robert McReady a été élu président de l’Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick le 12 mars 1979. Le président McCready a été élu pour la première fois à l’Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick en 1967 et il a été réélu en 1970. Il était président de la même Assemblée entre 1968 et 1970.

Nouveau commissaire des T.N.-O.

En janvier 1979, l’ancien premier ministre du Canada a nommé John Parker commissaire des Territoires du Nord-Ouest. M. Parker est entré en fonction le 15 avril 1979.

M. Parker est né en 1929 à Didsbury (Alberta). Pendant ses études à l’Université de l’Alberta, où il a obtenu son B.SC en génie, il était à l’emploi de Eldorado Mining Co. À la suite de l’obtention de son diplôme en 1951, M. Parker a été embauché à titre de géologue et d’ingénieur des mines (Saskatchewan), ingénieur et gestionnaire d’une mine (Yellownife). De 1956 à 1964, il s’est engagé dans l’exploration minière et il a formé avec un partenaire Pucambrian Mining Services en 1964 et il a établi un service de consultation et d’exploration à Yellowknife. En décembre 1958, M. Parker a été élu au conseil municipal de Yellownife et a été par la suite maire de Yellowknife pendant deux mandats (en 1963 et en 1965). En juin 1966, M. Parker a été nommé à la Commission Carrothers, établie pour étudier les problèmes du T.N.-O. et produire un rapport. Le 2 mars 1967, John Parker a été nommé commissaire adjoint des T.N.-O. M. Parker et son épouse helen résident à Yellowknife avec leurs deux enfants Sharon et Gordon. M. Parker succède à M. Stuart Hodgson au commissariat.

Nouveau greffier au Nouveau-Brunswick

David L.E. Peterson a été nommé greffier de l’Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick en mars 1979, pour remplacer Charles Blake Lynch. Né à Frederiction en 1942, il a fréquenté le New Brunswick Teachers College, l’Université du New Brunswick (B.E.P. 1965) et (LL.B. 1969). Il a été admis au Barreau du Nouveau-Brunswick en 1969. Élu au conseil municipal en 1974, il est membre de l’Association du Barreau canadien.

Visite au Canada du président de l’Association parlementaire du Commonwealth

À la clôture de la 24e conférence parlementaire du Commonwealth en Jamaïque l’an dernier, l’Honorable John R. Harrison, député, président de la Chambre des représentants de la Nouvelle-Zélande, est entré en fonction à titre de président de l’Association parlementaire du Commonwealth. Récemment, le président Harrison a effectué une visite de bonne volonté de l’APC qui l’a mené à diverses sections de l’Association et la Région du Canada de l’APC fait partie des endroits qu’il a visités.

Le président Harrison et son épouse sont arrivés à Montréal le 6 mai pour un séjour d’une semaine à titre d’invités des présidents des parlements fédéral et provinciaux et des sections de la Région du Canada de l’APC. Puisqu’une élection générale était en cours au moment de sa visite, le président Harrison a principalement concentré sa visite sur les parlements provinciaux et durant son séjour, il a visité les capitales suivantes : Québec, Halifax, Toronto, Winnipeg, Regina et Edmonton. Cette visite du pays a donné au président Harrison une excellente occasion de rencontrer les présidents provinciaux et un grand nombre de ses homologues parlementaires canadiens dans les assemblées législatives provinciales. Une élection provinciale était également en cours en Colombie-Britannique; toutefois, l’Honorable Grace McCarthy, vice-premier ministre et ministre des Ressources humaines a été en mesure d’assister au dîner d’adieu offert à Vancouver par les représentants du Parlement du Canada.

Le président Harrison qui est né en 1921, est membre du Parti national de la Nouvelle-Zélande et a été élu pour la première fois au Parlement en 1963. Il avait le grade d’officier durant la Deuxième Guerre mondiale à divers endroits, dans son pays et à l’étranger. Depuis son élection au Parlement, il a occupé le poste de whip du gouvernement, de whip de l’opposition, de vice-président et de président de comités. Le président Harrison a assisté à plusieurs conférences de l’APC et à d’autres réunions parlementaires du Commonwealth.

À titre de président de l’Association parlementaire du Commonwealth, le président Harrison recevra quelque 200 délégués et observateurs parlementaires qui assisteront à la 25e conférence annuelle de l’APC en Nouvelle-Zélande en novembre prochain. Le numéro d’octobre de cette Revue contiendra un article sur le pays et le Parlement hôte de la conférence.

Le Ghana et le Nigéria retournent à un gouvernement civil

Le 18 juin, les Ghanéens ont voté pour élire un président et un Parlement de 140 membres. Pour l’élection de leur président, le peuple du Ghana retournera aux urnes pour un scrutin de ballottage puisque aucun des 10 candidats présidentiels n’a obtenu une majorité absolue. Lors de l’élection parlementaire, les Ghanéens ont accordé la moitié des 140 sièges au Parti national du peuple.

Durant tout le mois de juillet, les Nigériens éliront les membres de leur futur sénat, de la Chambre des représentants et aux Chambres d’assemblée des états. Le 28 juillet chacun des 19 états éliront un gouverneur et le 11 août, le président du Nigéria.

Tynwald : Mille ans de traditions intactes

Pour l’île de Man, 1979 est une année mémorable, puisqu’elle marque un jalon unique, le millénaire de son parlement de Tynwald. En effet, il y a mille ans, l’île a été dominée par les Norsemen, des vikings scandinaves; ils ont établi leur royaume de Mann et des îles avec une forme de gouvernement fondé sur le principe d’hommes libres connaissant le droit et l’observant. Ce droit a été proclamé à plusieurs occasions, notamment à la fête païenne du solstice d’été, habituellement une assemblée à ciel ouvert. La tradition s’est poursuivie et d’après la coutume, une assemblée en plein air se tient le 5 juillet au lieu de rencontre des Vikings, le terrain du parlement (dans l’ancienne Norse, Thing Vollr) sur la colline Tynwald.

Pour célébrer le millénaire, le gouvernement de l’île de Man a établi un programme de festivals, de manifestations culturelles et de cérémonies  s’étendant sur toute l’année. La principale cérémonie sera bien sûr l’assemblée en plein air du 5 juillet.

Les sections du Canada de l’APC seront représentés par une petite délégation de parlementaires durant la période des cérémonies officielles de Tynwald. Le 4 juillet, la délégation canadienne plantera un érable rouge canadien sur la colline Tynwald pour commémorer la fondation de cette institution parlementaire de mille ans.

Le pays (Capital Douglas) L’île de Man, dont la superficie est d’environ 572 Km2, est située dans la partie nord de la mer d’Irlande, sous l’Écosse; en 1976, la population était estimée à 66,496 habitants. « Manx » est l’ancien nom Norse de l’île et la langue « manx » y est toujours parlée. En 1901, moins de 5 000 personnes parlaient manx; ce nombre a diminué au cours des décennies et il a été réduit à 165 en 1961; en 1971 toutefois, il a augmenté pour passer à 284.

Constitution et gouvernement La souveraineté de l’île a été dévolue pendant des siècles à des cessionnaires de la Couronne appelés « Lords of Man and the Isles » (seigneurs de Man et des îles), mais elle a été achetée par George III d’Angleterre en 1765. (1) L’île de Man appartient toujours à la Couronne, mais elle jouit d’une grande autonomie.

L’île de Man est administrée conformément à ses propres lois par la Cour de Tynwald composée du gouverneur nommé par la Couronne; le Conseil législatif composé de l’évêque de Sodor et Man, le procureur général et huit membres choisis par la Maison des clefs; et la Maison des clefs, une assemblée représentative de 24 membres choisis par vote de la population adulte. Les projets de loi, après avoir été adoptés par les deux chambres reçoivent la signature des membres et sont ensuite soumis à la sanction royale. Après avoir reçu la sanction royale, un projet de loi ne devient pas loi avant d’avoir été promulgué dans les douze mois qui suivent et le premier « Jour de Tynwald » (le 5 juillet) suivant, il est annoncé en anglais et en manx sur la colline Tynwald. Au moment de la promulgation, un certificat est signé par le lieutenant-gouverneur et par le président de la Maison des clefs.

Finances et économie Le revenu provient principalement de l’impôt sur le revenu et des droits de douanes. Il existe une relation spéciale entre l’île de Man et la Communauté économique Européenne qui prévoit un libre-échange et l’adoption par l’île de Man des politiques commerciales extérieures de la CEE avec les pays tiers. L’île reste libre d’établir son propre système de taux et de taxe. Les principaux produits agricoles de l’île sont l’avoine, le blé, l’orge, la pomme de terre et les produits laitiers. Un autre secteur important de l’économie de l’île est le tourisme. Le Parlement de l’île de Man est membre de l’APC et est représenté à l’Association par une section auxiliaire.

Notes

1 « An Encyclopaedia of Parliament » par Norman Wilding et Philip Laundy (Cassell, London, quatrième édition (revue), 1972).


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 2 no 2
1979






Dernière mise à jour : 2018-07-31