Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
CPA Activities: The Canadian SceneCPA Activities: The Canadian Scene


Forty First Canadian Regional Conference

New Brunswick was the site of the 2002 Canadian Regional Conference of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association. It brought together some 90 legislators and observers from every federal, provincial and territorial assembly. The Conference was opened by the Lieutenant-Governor, Marilyn Trenholme Counsell.

The host of the Conference was Speaker Bev Harrison of New Brunswick.  Other speakers in attendance included Lloyd Snow (Newfoundland and Labrador), Murray Scott (NS), Mildrid Dover (PEI), Gary Carr (ON), Myron Kowalski (SK), Ken Kowalsky (AB), Kevin O’Brien (NT), Dennis Schneider (YK) and Tony Whitford (NWT).

Special guests included Derek Conway, MP and John Robertson MP from the House of Commons in the United Kingdom and Andrew Imlach, Director of Information Services with the CPA Secretariat in London.

The business agenda featured nine topics. Suzanne Tremblay, MP led off a lively discussion of the relationship between the executive and the legislative branches.

The process by which party leaders are chosen was the subject of another session.  The lead speaker was Harry Van Mulligan of Saskatchewan.

A session on Members’ Remuneration offered those in attendance an opportunity to reflect upon changes made recently in the approach to members’ salaries and pensions.  Ted Arnott of Ontario and Ray Danyluk of Alberta were the lead speakers on this issue.

The prospects for electoral reform were examined in another session which featured James Bagnall of Prince Edward Island and Jeannie Lea a former MLA and presently on the Board of the Institute of Island Studies in Prince Edward Island.

Several policy matters were also considered by the delegates. Russell Williams of Quebec led a discussion of the Role of Government in the Control and Marketing of Gambling. Another Quebec MNA, David Payne, presented a paper on Interprovincial Trade. Sarmite Bulte, MP and Mel Knight (AB) looked at the issue of Canadian-American relations since September 11. Jim DeWolfe of Nova Scotia spoke on Nova Scotia’s smoke free legislation.

Aside from the business sessions there were numerous opportunities to sample New Brunswick hospitality including a dinner hosted by the Lieutenant Governor, a visit to Kings Landing Historical Settlement, and a tour of La Dune de Bouctouche. For many the highlight of the week was the visit to the Pays de la Sagouine where delegates were treated to an afternoon of Acadian theatre, music, and guided tours.  This included a performance by Senator Viola Léger who in her career as an actress has been bringing La Sagouine to life for 30 years.

The renowned novelist and playwright Antonine Maillet, creator of La Sagouine, joined the delegates for a traditional lobster supper following the performance.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 25 no 3
2002






Last Updated: 2019-11-29

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Activités de l’APC : la scène canadienneActivités de l’APC : la scène canadienne


41e Conférence régionale canadienne

Le Nouveau-Brunswick a accueilli la Conférence régionale canadienne de 2002 de  l’Association parlementaire du Commonwealth. La conférence a réuni quelque 90 législateurs et observateurs de toutes les assemblées législatives fédérales, provinciales et territoriales. La conférence a été inaugurée par la lieutenante-gouverneure, Marilyn Trenholme Counsell.

L’hôte de la conférence était Bev Harrison, présidente de l’assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick. Signalons aussi la présence des présidents d’assemblée Lloyd Snow (Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador), Murray Scott (Nouvelle-Écosse), Mildrid Dover (Île-du-Prince-Édouard), Gary Carr (Ontario), Myron Kowalski (Saskatchewan), Ken Kowalski (Alberta), Kevin O’Brien (Nunavut), Dennis Schneider (Yukon) et Tony Whitford (Territoires du Nord-Ouest).

Parmi les invités spéciaux, mentionnons Derek Conway et John Robertson, députés à la Chambre des communes britannique, et Andrew Imlach, du secrétariat de l’APC, à Londres.

L’ordre du jour comportait neuf points. Suzanne Tremblay, députée fédérale, a mené une discussion animée sur les relations entre le pouvoir exécutif et le pouvoir législatif.

Une autre séance, animée par Harry Van Mulligan, de la Saskatchewan, a porté sur le processus de sélection des chefs de partis.

Ted Arnott, de l’Ontario, et Ray Danyluk, de l’Alberta, ont dirigé une séance sur la rémunération des députés, séance où les personnes présentes ont parlé des changements récents aux salaires et aux régimes de pension des députés.

Par ailleurs, il a été question de la réforme électorale à la séance de James Bagnall, de l’Île-du-Prince- Édouard, et de Jeannie Lea, ancienne députée provinciale et maintenant membre du conseil de l’Institute of Island Studies de l’Île-du-Prince- Édouard.

Les délégués se sont aussi penchés sur plusieurs questions de politiques. Russell Williams, du Québec, a lancé le débat sur le rôle du gouvernement dans le contrôle et le marketing des jeux de hasard. Un autre député du Québec, David Payne, a fait une présentation sur le commerce interprovincial. Sarmite Bulte, députée fédérale, et Mel Knight, député de l’Alberta, ont examiné les relations canado-américaines depuis le 11 septembre. Jim DeWolfe, de la Nouvelle-Écosse, a parlé de la loi antitabac de sa province.

En plus de participer aux séances de travail, les délégués ont pu goûter à maintes reprises à l’hospitalité du Nouveau-Brunswick. Ils ont ainsi assisté à un dîner donné par la lieutenante-gouverneure, visité le Village historique de Kings Landing et faire le tour de La Dune de Bouctouche. Pour nombre d’entre eux, le clou de la semaine a été une visite à l’Île-aux-Puces, le pays de la Sagouine, où les délégués ont profité d’un après-midi de théâtre, de musique et de visites à saveur acadienne. Ils ont notamment eu droit à un monologue de la sénatrice Viola Léger, qui, dans sa carrière d’actrice, a donné vie pendant plus de 30 ans au personnage de la Sagouine.

Après la représentation, la célèbre romancière et dramaturge Antonine Maillet, créatrice de La Sagouine, s’est jointe aux délégués pour déguster un dîner traditionnel de homard.

 

 


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 25 no 3
2002






Dernière mise à jour : 2018-07-31