Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
CPA Activities: The Canadian SceneCPA Activities: The Canadian Scene


Twenty-Fourth Regional Seminar

The Saskatchewan Legislative Assembly was site of the 2001 seminar of the Canadian Region of CPA which took place from October 18 to 21, 2001. The seminar was hosted by Speaker Myron Kowalsky and attracted about 50 participants from every Canadian legislature except the Senate and the Northwest Territories.

The first session, chaired by Speaker Claude Richmond of British Columbia, dealt with Electoral Systems and Democratic Change. The speakers were Nick Loenen, Member of Fair Voting BC and former MLA in British Columbia, Senator Steve Kelley of the Minnesota Senate, Speaker Bev Harrison of New Brunswick and Gary Levy, editor of the Canadian Parliamentary Review.

The second session was chaired by Muriel Baillie of Nova Scotia  and dealt with Committee Reform.  Among the speakers were Steve Mahoney MP, Jean-Paul Bergeron of Quebec, Peter George Dyck of Manitoba and Greg Putz, Deputy Clerk in Saskatchewan.

The third business session was a Roundtable on Issues in Education chaired by Pierre-Etienne Laporte of Quebec.  It featured Speaker Mildred Dover of Prince Edward Island, Speaker Ken Kowalski of Alberta, Deputy Speaker John Weisbeck of British Columbia, Speaker Harrison of New Brunswick and Bill Murdoch of Ontario.

The final session dealt with the Power Shift from Elected Representatives to Global Organizations.  The chairman was Graham Addley, Deputy Speaker of the Saskatchewan Legislative Assembly and the presenter was Sarmite Bulte MP.

In addition to the business sessions there were several opportunities for delegates to experience Saskatchewan hospitality including a visit to Moose Jaw and a tour of  that city’s historic tunnels.

Inaugural Canadian Parliamentary Seminar
November 18-24, 2001

For the first time the Canadian Branch of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association hosted a seminar bringing together delegates from various Commonwealth branches for a week of discussions around the theme of Strengthening Parliamentary Democracy.

The objective of the seminar is to allow members from diverse backgrounds to exchange information on matters of common interest to their parliamentary profession.

The host of the seminar was Sue Barnes MP chair of the Canadian Branch.  The seminar was organized by the Canadian Branch of the CPA and financed jointly by the Canadian Branch and the CPA Secretariat in London.

The first session dealt with the Role of the CPA and featured a presentation by retiring Secretary General, Arthur Donahoe.  The next session provided delegates with an overview of Canadian Federalism and the Role and Operation of Parliament.  The guest speakers were Paul Bélisle, Clerk of the Senate and William Corbett, Clerk of the House of Commons.

The second day began with a session on Electoral Systems and Relations Between Parliamentarians and their Constituents.  The guest speakers were Bill Blaikie MP and Eleni Bakopanos, MP.  This was followed by a session on the Organization, Staffing and Services to Parliament featuring Senator Lorna Milne and Peter Adams MP.  Another session on the work of parliamentary committees completed the second day.  The speakers for this session included Bonnie Brown MP, John Williams MP and Mauril Bélanger MP

The third day began with a session on Human Rights, Parliament and the Courts featuring Senator Lois Wilson and Irwin Cotler MP.  It was followed by a session on Parliament and Civil Society with Senator Noel Kinsella and Jean Augustine MP.

The fourth day began with a session on Engaging Women in the Political Process with Senator Sharon Carstairs, Sarmite Bulte and Ms Barnes leading the discussion.  It was followed by a session on representation in multicultural societies with Senator Donald Oliver and Ovid Jackson MP.  The next session was on Parliament and the Media and featured presentations by Senator Joan Fraser, John Harvard MP and Hugh Winsor, National Political Columnist with The Globe and Mail.

The final day began with a session on Reconciling Party Discipline, Electoral and Personal Conviction.  The lead speakers were John Reynolds MP and Monique Guay MP.  The remainder of the time was devoted to topics suggested by delegates and included discussions of health care, aboriginal self governance, Electoral fraud and the African rennaissance

In addition to the working sessions, delegates were treated to a number of social events including a dinner hosted by the Speaker of the House of Commons, a tour of Rideau Hall, residence of the Governor General, a visit to the National Gallery of Canada and the Canadian Museum of Civilisation, and a tour of an MP’s office in the newly renovated Justice Building.

Delegates to the seminar included:

Australia

New South Wales

Mr. Colin Markham, MP

Hon. Helen Sham-Ho, MLC

Tasmania

Hon. Gillian James, MHA

Bangladesh

Mr. Md. Mozahar Hussain, M.P.

Alhaj Prof. Kazi Golam Morshed, M.P.


Canada

Hon. Janis Johnson, Senator

Hon. Lorna Milne, Senator

Ms. Monique Guay, MP

Mr. Joe McGuire, MP

Nova Scotia

Mrs. Mary Ann McGrath, MLA

Saskatchewan

Mr. D.F. Huyghebaert, MLA

Grenada

Sir Curtis Strachan, Kt., CVO., MP

India

Smt. Jayashree Banerjee, MP

Shri Thomas Hansda, MP

Malaysia

Sarawak

Hon. Fatimah Abdullah, MLA

Hon. Dr. Judson Sakai Tagal, MLA

South Africa

Eastern Cape

Mr. Sam Mazosiwe, MPL

Ms. Anne C. Nash, MPL

United Kingdom and Devolved Assemblies of the United Kingdom

United Kingdom

Mr. Colin Challen, MP

Northern Ireland

Mrs. Joan Carson, MLA

Mrs. Carmel Hanna, MLA

Wales

Ms. Lorraine Barrett, AM

Commonwealth Parliamentary Association

Secretary General

Mr. Arthur R. Donahoe, QC

The diversity of the participants which included one speaker, several former cabinet minister, some longtime members and several very newly members together with their enthusiasm for the subjects being debated made for a very useful inaugural seminar which may well will become a feature of the CPA agenda in the years to come.

Retirement of Arthur Donahoe

With the beginning of the new  year 2002, the term of  Arthur Donahoe,  as Secretary General of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association comes to an end. The new Secretary General is Denis Marshsall of New Zealand.

Before assuming his position as Secretary General in 1991, Arthur Donahoe  had established solid credentials as an able parliamentarian. For ten years, he served as Speaker of the Nova Scotia House of Assembly to which he had been first elected in 1978. It was during his tenure in the Chair that the Supreme Court defined the scope and nature of parliamentary privilege, post the Charter of Rights and Freedoms, in a case that is familiarly known as the Donahoe Decision.

All federal, provincial and territorial legislators can take pride in the significant achievements of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association while Arthur Donahoe was  Secretary General. From an impressive organization of 127 member-countries, it now boasts more than 140 including nations like Mozambique that had no previous connection to the Commonwealth. More importantly perhaps, the CPA has undertaken in recent years an ever-larger role in promoting knowledge of parliament and its importance in preserving and sustaining democracy through a series of seminars and exchanges between members. Many Canadian parliamentarians and procedural staff have participated in these programs over the years. These invaluable exchanges and seminars will continue under the new Secretary General but everyone involved in CPA during the last decade  will retain fond memories of the Donahoe era.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 24 no 4
2001






Last Updated: 2018-07-31

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Activités de l’APC : La scène canadienneActivités de l’APC : La scène canadienne


Vingt-quatrième colloque régional

Le colloque 2001 de la Région du Canada de l’APC s’est déroulé à l’Assemblée législative de la Saskatchewan, à Regina, du 18 au 21 octobre. Le président, Myron Kowalsky, en a été l’hôte, et une cinquantaine de représentants de toutes les assemblées législatives du Canada, sauf du Sénat et des Territoires du Nord-Ouest, y ont participé.

La première session, présidée par Claude Richmond, président de la Colombie-Britannique, portait sur les systèmes électoraux et le changement démocratique. Les conférenciers étaient Nick Loenen, membre de Fair Voting BC et ancien député provincial de la Colombie-Britannique, le sénateur Steve Kelley, du Sénat du Minnesota, Bev Harrison, président du Nouveau-Brunswick, et Gary Levy, directeur de la Revue parlementaire canadienne.

La deuxième session a été présidée par Muriel Baillie, de la Nouvelle-Écosse, et portait sur la réforme des comités. Au nombre des conférenciers se trouvaient le député fédéral Steve Mahoney, Jean-Paul Bergeron, du Québec, Peter George Dyck, du Manitoba, et Greg Putz, greffier adjoint en Saskatchewan.

La troisième session de travail a consisté en une table ronde sur les enjeux de l’éducation et a été présidée par Pierre-Étienne Laporte, du Québec. Les exposés ont été présentés par Mildred Dover, présidente de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, Ken Kowalski, président de l’Alberta, John Weisbeck, vice-président de la Colombie-Britannique, Bev Harrison, présidente du Nouveau-Brunswick, et Bill Murdoch, de l’Ontario.

La dernière session a traité du transfert des pouvoirs des représentants élus au profit des organisations mondiales. Elle a été présidée par Graham Addley, vice-président de l’Assemblée législative de la Saskatchewan, et la députée fédérale Sarmite Bulte a fait une présentation.

En dehors des sessions de travail, les délégués ont eu, à plusieurs reprises, la chance de goûter l’hospitalité de la Saskatchewan, notamment à l’occasion d’une visite de Moose Jaw et de ses tunnels historiques.

Colloque parlementaire canadien inaugural —  du 18 au 24 novembre 2001

La Section canadienne (fédérale) de l’Association parlementaire du Commonwealth a été l’hôte, pour la première fois, d’un colloque mettant en présence 22 délégués venus de diverses sections de l’APC pour une semaine de discussions sur le thème du renforcement de la démocratie parlementaire.

Le colloque vise à regrouper des membres aux antécédents variés pour un échange d’information sur des sujets d’intérêt commun à leur profession parlementaire.

L’hôte du séminaire était la députée fédérale Sue Barnes, présidente de la Section canadienne. Il a été organisé par la Section canadienne de l’APC et financé conjointement par la celle-ci et le secrétariat de l’APC, situé à Londres.

La première session a porté sur le rôle de l’APC. Les participants ont eu droit à une présentation du secrétaire général de celle-ci, Arthur Donahoe, qui prend sa retraite. La session suivante a donné aux délégués une vue d’ensemble du fédéralisme canadien ainsi que du rôle et du fonctionnement du Parlement. Les conférenciers invités étaient Paul Bélisle, greffier du Sénat, et William Corbett, greffier de la Chambre des communes.

La deuxième journée a commencé par une session sur les systèmes électoraux et les relations entre les parlementaires et leurs électeurs. Les députés fédéraux Bill Blaikie et Eleni Bakopanos ont été les conférenciers invités. La session suivante avait pour thème l’organisation, la dotation et les services au Parlement; la sénatrice Lorna Milne et le député fédéral Peter Adams ont pris la parole. La journée s’est terminée par une session sur les travaux des comités parlementaires. Les présentateurs ont été les députés fédéraux Bonnie Brown, John Williams et Mauril Bélanger.

La troisième journée a débuté par une session sur les droits de la personne, le Parlement et les tribunaux, avec la sénatrice Lois Wilson et le député fédéral Irwin Cotler. Le sénateur Noël Kinsella et la députée fédérale Jean Augustine ont, pour leur part, prononcé une allocution à la session suivante, qui traitait du Parlement et de la société civile.

La quatrième journée a commencé par une session sur les femmes en politique, avec la sénatrice Sharon Carstairs et les députées fédérales Sarmite Bulte et Sue Barnes. Il y a eu ensuite une session sur la représentation dans les sociétés multiculturelles avec le sénateur Donald Oliver et le député fédéral Ovid Jackson. La session suivante a porté sur le Parlement et les médias et ce sont la sénatrice Joan Fraser, le député fédéral John Harvard et Hugh Windsor, chroniqueur de la politique nationale du Globe and Mail, qui ont fait les exposés.

La dernière journée a été amorcée avec une session sur l’art de concilier la discipline de parti, l’opinion de l’électorat et les convictions personnelles. Les conférenciers ont été les députés fédéraux John Reynolds et Monique Guay. Le reste du temps a été consacré à des sujets proposés par les délégués, notamment les soins de santé, l’autodétermination des Autochtones et la renaissance africaine.

En dehors des rencontres de travail, les délégués ont été conviés à des réceptions, dont un dîner offert par le président de la Chambre des communes, une visite de Rideau Hall, résidence de la gouverneure générale, une visite du Musée des beaux-arts du Canada et du Musée canadien de la civilisation, ainsi qu’une visite d’un bureau de député dans l’édifice de la Justice nouvellement rénové.

Les délégués à la conférence comprenaient :

Afrique du sud

Eastern Cape

M. Sam Mazosiwe, MLP

Mme Anne C. Nash, MLP

Australie

Nouvelle-Galles du Sud

M. Colin Markham, député

L’hon. Helen Sham-Ho, MCL

Tasmanie

L’hon. Gillian James, MCA

Bangladesh

M. Mohammed Mozahar Hussain, député

M. Kazi Golam Morshed, député

Canada

L’hon. Janis Johnson, sénatrice

L’hon Lorna  Milne, sénatrice

Mme Monique Guay, députée fédérale

M. Joe McGuire, député fédéral

Nouvelle-Écosse

Mme Mary Ann McGrath, MAL

Saskatchewan

M. D.F. Huyghebaert, MAL

Grenade

Sir Curtis Strachan, Kt., CVO, MP

Inde

Smt. Jayashree Banerjee, députée

Shri Thomas Hansda, député

Malaisie

Sarawak

L’hon. Fatimah Abdullah, MAL    

L’hon. Judson Sakai Tagal, MAL

Royaume-Uni et parlements régionaux

M. Colin Challen, député

Galles

Mme Lorraine Barrett, MA

Irlande du Nord

Mme Joan Carson, MAL

Mme Carmel Hanna, MAL

Association parlementaire du Commonwealth

Secrétaire général

M. Arthur R. Donahoe, cr

La diversité des participants, à savoir un président, plusieurs anciens ministres, quelques députés de longue date et plusieurs membres très nouveaux, et leur enthousiasme pour les sujets à l’étude ont beaucoup enrichi le colloque inaugural. Celui-ci pourrait bien devenir un élément dominant du programme de l’APC au cours des prochaines années.

Départ à la retraite d’Arthur Donahoe

Le mandat d’Arthur Donahoe à titre de secrétaire général de l’Association parlementaire du Commonwealth (APC) prendra fin au début de l’année 2002. Le nouveau secrétaire général sera le Néo-Zélandais Denis Marshall.

Avant d’accéder au poste de secrétaire général en 1991, Arthur Donahoe avait acquis une solide réputation de parlementaire chevronné. Pendant dix ans, il a été président de la Chambre d’assemblée de la Nouvelle-Écosse, à laquelle il avait été élu pour la première fois en 1978. C’est durant sa présidence que la Cour suprême a, dans un arrêt surnommé « décision Donahoe », défini la nature et la portée du privilège parlementaire par suite de l’entrée en vigueur de la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés.

Tous les législateurs fédéraux, provinciaux et territoriaux peuvent s’enorgueillir des grandes réalisations de l’Association parlementaire du Commonwealth durant le mandat d’Arthur Donahoe. Constitué d’un nombre impressionnant de 127 pays membres lors de l’entrée en fonction de celui-ci, l’APC en compte maintenant plus de 140, dont des pays qui, comme le Mozambique, n’avaient aucun lien antérieur avec le Commonwealth. Fait sans doute encore plus important, l’APC a, par le biais de colloques et d’échanges organisés au cours des dernières années, assumé un rôle grandissant dans la promotion de la connaissance de l’institution du parlement et de sa contribution à la préservation et au soutien de la démocratie. Beaucoup de parlementaires et de responsables de la procédure provenant du Canada ont participé à ces programmes au fil des ans. Ces précieuses initiatives se poursuivront au cours du mandat du prochain secrétaire général, mais tous ceux et celles qui ont pris part aux activités de l’APC durant la dernière décennie conserveront un très bon souvenir de l’époque Donahoe.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 24 no 4
2001






Dernière mise à jour : 2018-07-31