Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
Parliamentary Book ShelfParliamentary Book Shelf
Gary O'Brien

The Sovereignty of Parliament: History and Philosophy by Jeffrey Goldsworthy, Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1999

Ever since Lord Bryce published ‘The Decline of Legislatures’ in 1921, the law-making function of parliaments has been largely ignored by academics, if not belittled. This has resulted in an inadequate understanding of the importance of the parliamentary system and the meaning of such fundamental concepts as the sovereignty of parliament. Jeffrey Goldsworthy, an Associate Professor of Law at Australia’s Monash University, in this well-researched and readable book, tries to reverse this trend by providing a very comprehensive analysis of the nature and source of this doctrine which is still at core of the legal systems in the United Kingdom, Australia and New Zealand. He traces its evolution in England from the earliest beginnings of Parliament to the nineteenth century and provides a thoughtful discussion on how parliamentary authority relates to the common law, to the judiciary and to the moral duty to disobey, and how parliamentary sovereignty relates to popular sovereignty and the right of resistance.

While his approach is primarily historical, it is also philosophical and works of all the great English philosophers from medieval to early modern to modern are referred to, for example Sir Thomas More, Fortescue, Coke, Hobbes, Locke, Blackstone, Burke, Adam Smith, Bagehot, Dicey, Austin, H.L.A. Hart and Dworkin. This survey of thinkers on Parliament and the law is a helpful introductory or refresher course for students of parliament although invariably ( and understandably) he has given short shrift to the contributions made to the discussion by some of the giants, such as Jeremy Bentham and John Stuart Mill.

For Goldsworthy, the doctrine of parliamentary sovereignty maintains that Parliament has the ultimate authority to determine what the law shall be. Judges can declare what the law is but are bound to accept every Act of Parliament as valid law. He attacks the historical myths which surround the concept, such as that the omnipotence of Parliament was ‘inspired by Hobbes and invented by Blackstone’. He convincingly points to historical evidence that the legal power of Parliament was recognised as supreme and absolute well before the sixteenth century. He also challenges recent thinking put forward by such critics of the doctrine as Trevor Allen and Michael Detmold that judges only obey statutes because they are required to do so by principles of justice, the rule of law and equal citizenship and therefore Parliament’s law-making authority is limited by those principles. Goldsworthy examines the historical record and concludes this is not so. He believes the doctrine is clear that Parliament has the legal authority to enact statutes and that judges have the legal duty to enforce them but not that judges would be morally justified in enforcing them. Legal validity and authority are not the same as moral validity and authority.

The book explores interesting questions. Did Parliament’s powers derive from the King’s since Parliament was part of the King’s High Court or did it have its own legal legitimacy and authority independent of the King? Is Parliament’s law-making authority still limited today by the 1707 Scottish Act of Union whose terms were to be ‘unalterable’?  What was the significance of the proceedings of Stockdale v Hansard (1839) with respect to the existence and extent of the privileges of the House of Commons? Such questions challenge our knowledge of parliamentary history and his excellent bibliography allows us to follow up on them in more detail.

Goldsworthy has given us a convincing portrayal of the rationale and benefits of the doctrine as it applies to  the English context. Unquestionably, the placing of unlimited law-making power in a single, democratic institution reflecting the collective wisdom of the community has brought relative stability there since 1689. His analysis helps us understand why Britain has always shown a preference for pragmatic, incremental adaptation of customary institutions. However, one wonders if this doctrine which has grown out of and been defined by the specific historical circumstances of England and traced so lucidly by Goldsworthy can be successfully transplanted elsewhere. While this approach to law-making has been successful in the United Kingdom, it has not always been accepted as the best constitutional system by others. As we know, after a long debate, Canada gave the courts a much greater role in reviewing legislation after 1982 with the adoption of the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms at the expense of the sovereignty of Parliament.

On wonders as well whether one day even in the United Kingdom the doctrine may not be considerably altered. Professor R. Brazier in his book Constitutional Reform (Clarendon Press, 1998) suggests that ‘parliamentary sovereignty has become more complete than the divine right of kings’. Others such as Institute of Public Policy Research have questioned whether the classical assumption that Parliament does reflect the collective wisdom of the community is correct. It notes ‘complaints of an electoral system which seriously distorts representation, excludes middle opinion, and threatens to perpetuate rule by the largest minority party; of a Parliament which is dominated by the executive through its control of procedure…; of a national administration which practices excessive secrecy and against whose activities there is inadequate redress… ‘ (IPPR, 1991). The very significant  constitutional and procedural changes being undertaken by the British Parliament in recent months are clearly efforts to improve the legitimacy of the doctrine as opposed to dispensing with it but it is still too early to judge their success.

Jeffrey Goldsworthy is to be congratulated for this welcome addition to parliamentary literature.

Gary O’Brien
Deputy Clerk
The Senate

Recent Publications about Parliament

Deliberative Democracy in Australia: The Changing Place of Parliament by John Gregory Uhr, Cambridge University Press, 1988, 265 p.
Unfinished Business: Reforming the House of Lords by Ivor Richard and Damien Welfare, Vintage Books, London, 1999, 226 p.
Patterns of Democracy: Government forms and Performance in Thirty-six Countries by Arend Lijphart, New Haven, CT: Yale University Press, 1999, 351 p.
Parliamentary Committees: Enhancing Democratic Governance, a report of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association Study Group on Parliamentary Committees and Committee Systems, written and compiled by Gordon Barnhart, London: Cavendish, 1999, 187 p.
Great Britain: Royal Commission on the Reform of the House of Lords. A House for the future / Royal Commission on the Reform of the House of Lords. London: The Stationery Office, 2000, 216 p.
Reforming the House of Lords: Lessons from Overseas by Meg Russell, London: Oxford University Press, 2000, 368 p.
La procédure parlementaire du Québec. Assemblée nationale, 2000, 493 p.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 23 no 3
2000






Last Updated: 2018-07-31

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish
Sur les rayonsSur les rayons
Gary O'Brien

The Sovereignty of Parliament : History and Philosophy par Jeffrey Goldsworthy, Oxford, Clarendon Press, 1999

Depuis que lord Bryce a publié The Decline of Legislatures en 1921, les universitaires passent largement sous silence, voire rabaissent, la fonction de légiférer des Parlements. Cela a conduit à une compréhension inadéquate de l’importance du système parlementaire et de la signification de concepts fondamentaux tels que la souveraineté du Parlement. Jeffrey Goldsworthy, professeur agrégé de droit à l’Université Monash en Australie, tente, dans cet ouvrage bien documenté et facile à lire, de renverser cette tendance en présentant une analyse très approfondie de la nature et de la source de cette doctrine qui est encore au cœur des systèmes juridiques au Royaume-Uni, en Australie et en Nouvelle-Zélande. Il décrit son évolution en Angleterre des tout débuts du Parlement jusqu’au XIXe siècle et examine de façon sérieuse le lien entre l’autorité parlementaire et la common law, le pouvoir judiciaire et le devoir moral de désobéir, ainsi qu’entre la souveraineté parlementaire et la souveraineté populaire et le droit de résistance.

Quoique son approche soit essentiellement historique, elle est également philosophique et l’auteur fait référence aux travaux de tous les grands philosophes anglais du Moyen Âge aux temps modernes, tels que sir Thomas More, Fortescue, Coke, Hobbes, Locke, Blackstone, Burke, Adam Smith, Bagehot, Dicey, Austin, H.L.A. Hart et Dworkin. Cette étude sur les penseurs qui se sont penchés sur le Parlement et le droit constitue un cours d’introduction ou de perfectionnement utile à ceux qui étudient le Parlement, bien que l’auteur ait invariablement (et à juste titre) fait peu de cas des contributions au débat de certains des plus grands penseurs, comme Jeremy Bentham et John Stuart Mill.

Selon M. Goldsworthy, la doctrine de la souveraineté parlementaire soutient que le Parlement a le pouvoir suprême de déterminer ce que doit être la loi. Les juges peuvent dire ce qu’est la loi, mais ils sont contraints d’accepter la validité de toutes les lois du Parlement. L’auteur attaque les mythes historiques qui entourent le concept, comme celui qui affirme que l’omnipotence du Parlement a été « inspirée par Hobbes et inventée par Blackstone ». Il montre de façon convaincante, en se basant sur des preuves historiques, que le pouvoir légal du Parlement était reconnu comme suprême et absolu bien avant le XVIe siècle. Il conteste également les opinions récentes présentées par les détracteurs de la doctrine, tels que Trevor Allen et Michael Detmold, qui affirment que les juges obéissent aux lois uniquement parce qu’ils sont contraints de le faire en raison des principes de justice, de primauté du droit et d’égalité des citoyens et que, de ce fait, le pouvoir de légiférer du Parlement est limité par ces principes. M. Goldsworthy examine les données historiques et conclut que ce n’est pas le cas. Selon lui, la doctrine précise bien que le Parlement a l’autorité légale de promulguer des lois et que les juges ont le devoir légal de les faire appliquer, mais elle ne dit pas que les juges auraient le devoir moral de les faire appliquer. La validité et l’autorité légales sont différentes de la validité et de l’autorité morales.

L’ouvrage explore des questions intéressantes. Les pouvoirs du Parlement dérivaient-ils de ceux du roi étant donné que le Parlement faisait partie de la Haute Cour du roi ou avaient-ils leur propre légitimité et leur propre autorité légales, indépendantes du roi? Le pouvoir de légiférer du Parlement est-il encore limité aujourd’hui par la Scottish Act of Union de 1707, dont les termes devaient être « immuables »? Quelle a été la portée du procès Stockdale c. Hansard (1839) pour l’existence et l’étendue des privilèges de la Chambre des communes? De telles questions mettent en cause notre connaissance de l’histoire parlementaire et l’excellente bibliographie de l’auteur nous permet de les examiner plus en détail.

M. Goldsworthy a décrit de façon convaincante les justifications et les avantages de la doctrine dans le contexte anglais. Il est indiscutable que le fait de confier un pouvoir illimité de légiférer à une institution démocratique unique reflétant la sagesse collective de la communauté y maintient une certaine stabilité depuis 1689. Son analyse nous aide à comprendre pourquoi la Grande-Bretagne a toujours montré une préférence pour l’adaptation  pragmatique et progressive des institutions coutumières. Toutefois, on se demande si cette doctrine, qui s’est développée dans le contexte historique spécifique de l’Angleterre et a été définie par ce contexte et que décrit avec tant de lucidité M. Goldsworthy, peut être appliquée ailleurs avec succès. Cette approche de la promulgation des lois a été couronnée de succès au Royaume-Uni, mais elle n’a pas toujours été acceptée comme le meilleur système constitutionnel dans d’autres pays. Comme nous le savons, après un long débat, le Canada a accordé aux tribunaux un rôle beaucoup plus important dans la révision des lois par l’adoption, en 1982, de la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés aux dépens de la souveraineté du Parlement.

On se demande également si, même au Royaume-Uni, la doctrine ne sera pas un jour considérablement modifiée. Dans son livre intitulé Constitutional Reform (Clarendon Press, 1998), le professeur R. Brazier indique que « la souveraineté parlementaire est maintenant plus complète que le droit divin des rois ». D’autres comme l’Institute of Public Policy Research ont mis en question l’exactitude de la supposition classique que le Parlement reflète la sagesse collective de la communauté. L’institut souligne les « plaintes au sujet d’un système électoral qui fausse sérieusement la représentation, exclut l’opinion moyenne et risque de donner le pouvoir au parti minoritaire le plus important; d’un Parlement qui est dominé par l’exécutif dans son contrôle de la procédure […]; d’une administration nationale qui cultive de façon excessive le secret et contre les activités de laquelle les réparations sont inadéquates […] » (IPPR, 1991). Les modifications très importantes de la Constitution et de la procédure auxquelles a procédé le Parlement britannique au cours des derniers mois constituent manifestement des efforts pour accroître la légitimité de la doctrine plutôt que de s’en passer, mais il est encore trop tôt pour pouvoir évaluer leur succès.

Nous félicitons Jeffrey Goldsworthy de cet ajout utile à la littérature parlementaire.

Gary O’Brien
Sous-greffier
Le Sénat

Publications récentes

Deliberative Democracy in Australia: The Changing Place of Parliament de John Gregory Uhr, Université Cambridge Press, 1988, 265 p.

Unfinished Business: Reforming the House of Lords de Ivor Richard et Damien Welfare, Vintage Books, Londres, 1999, 226 p.

Patterns of Democracy: Government forms and Performance in Thirty-six Countries de Arend Lijphart, New Haven, CT: Université Yale Press, 1999, 351 p.

Parliamentary Committees: Enhancing Democratic Governance, a report of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association Study Group on Parliamentary Committees and Committee Systems,écrit et compilé par Gordon Barnhart, Londres: Cavendish, 1999, 187 p.

Great Britain: Royal Commission on the Reform of the House of Lords. A House for the future / Royal Commission on the Reform of the House of Lords. Londres: The Stationery Office, 2000, 216 p.

Reforming the House of Lords: Lessons from Overseas de Meg Russell, Londres: Université Oxford Press, 2000, 368 p.

La procédure parlementaire du Québec. Assemblée nationale du Québec, 2000, 493 p.

 


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 23 no 3
2000






Dernière mise à jour : 2018-07-31