Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
Parliamentary Book ShelfParliamentary Book Shelf
Patrick Michael

House of Commons Procedure and Practice, edited by Robert Marleau and Camille Montpetit, Chenelière/McGraw-Hill, Montreal, Quebec, pp. 1216.

Robert Marleau, Clerk of the House of Commons of Canada, and co-editor with Camille Montpetit, Deputy Clerk of the House of Commons (1998-99), describes House of Commons Procedure and Practice as representing “a milestone in the evolution of Canadian parliamentary jurisprudence.” That kind of claim is bound to draw attention from anyone who spends time preoccupied with parliamentary matters in this country. It is a bold assertion and, based on first impressions, one that will prove well founded.

House of Commons Procedure and Practice is the result of efforts by a project team comprised of staff of the Table Research Branch of the House of Commons and many others from the Office of the Clerk. It is the culmination of years of work dating as far back as 1980 when the Table Research Branch was created.

Mr. Marleau provides a full description of the contents of the book in his preface where he states:

Although it touches on constitutional, political and historical matters, this reference book is primarily a procedural work which examines the many forms, customs and practices which have been developed and established since Confederation in 1867. While shedding light on the Westminster model of parliamentary government, it provides a distinctive Canadian perspective in describing procedure in the House of Commons up to the end of the First Session of the Thirty-Sixth Parliament in September 1999. The material is presented with full commentary on the historical circumstances which have shaped the current approach to parliamentary business. Key Speakers' rulings and statements are also documented and the considerable body of practice, interpretation and precedents unique to the House of Commons of Canada is amply illustrated.

While there have been a number of books published on parliamentary procedure, the two which have served as primary reference texts for parliamentarians in Canada are Arthur Beauchesne's Parliamentary Rules and Forms of the House of Commons of Canada and Sir John George Bourinot's Parliamentary Procedure and Practice in the Dominion of Canada. These “Authorities”, as they are known, are frequently cited in Speakers' rulings.

Beauchesne's work developed over time into what the editors of the sixth edition called “a collection of notes, not a narrative.” They went on to explain “Its numbered paragraphs or citations are meant to be a reference to previous occurrences in the House of Commons of Canada that may be of assistance in future procedural questions.” (Beauchesne’s 6th edition, p.iii.)

Bourinot, on the other hand, said in the preface to the second edition of his book that “This work is intended to show not merely the rules, orders and usages of the two houses, but all the stages of constitutional development in Canada until the present time .... It is endeavoured to explain the nature of the conventions and understandings which govern what is generally known as responsible or parliamentary government.” (Bourinot’s 4th edition, p. x.)

Those who are familiar with these “Authorities” will find House of Commons Procedure and Practice to be more reminiscent of Bourinot than Beauchesne. Like Sir John George Bourinot, the authors have adopted a style in which full explanations are offered on how we got here from there for virtually every subject covered. The subheading “Historical Perspective” is a constant in most chapters.

This book differs greatly from the style found in Beauchesne and it will be of interest to see how this difference plays out in our various Houses. The manner in which Beauchesne is set up, with its short notes identified by annotation numbers, make it functional for use on the spur of the moment. The annotations are easy to find and to cite and, in fact, have led to a form of verbal shorthand. For example, when a Speaker makes mention of Annotation 491, members can immediately turn their attention to other pressing duties such as redrafting the latest constituency newsletter or heckling members opposite. They know, without hearing it, that the Speaker will be inflicting that old saw on them about how context matters when determining whether a word or expression is unparliamentary. Then there is Annotation 494 which, in the driest and most drawn out language possible, states that members have to accept the word of other members and, no, it does not do to call them “liars” even when any right-thinking individual can see that the appellation is well earned.

That said, it is a given that this newcomer to the proceduralist's bookshelf will be required reading whenever difficulties are encountered. It is, after all, the most up-to-date and most comprehensive of the parliamentary bibles available to us. The question, which will only be answered through experience is whether we will find its format difficult to use. After this book has been in the trenches for a period, we will be better able to judge the ease with which presiding officers, Table officers and members are able to motor through it, find that which they are seeking and encapsulate their findings in rulings.

Why should it matter to those of us outside the House of Commons whether that institution has an up-to-date procedural reference book that provides detail on its forms, customs and practices? The answer is that a great many of us in the provincial and territorial jurisdictions are required to look to the House of Commons when our own rules, precedents and usages do not provide direction on a procedural issue. For instance, Standing Order 1 of the Yukon Legislative Assembly states “In all cases not provided for in these Standing Orders or by sessional or other orders, the practices and procedures of the House of Commons of Canada, as in force at the time, shall be followed, so far as they may apply to this Assembly.” Five provinces, Prince Edward Island, Newfoundland and Labrador, Nova Scotia, Manitoba and Saskatchewan, have almost identically worded standing orders. The Northwest Territories and Nunavut each have a similar rule except it has been expanded to allow reference to precedents in provincial and territorial legislatures as well as to those of the House of Commons. Although they do not have the same wording Ontario, New Brunswick, and Alberta all make reference to Speakers basing decisions on “parliamentary tradition” and it can be surmised that, in those jurisdictions, difficult rulings will lead to a survey of the experience of the House of Commons.

Only British Columbia and Quebec stand apart with British Columbia, when in doubt, relying on the House of Commons of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and Quebec stating, in Standing Order 180, “In deciding all questions of procedure not so provided for, resort shall be had to the usages and precedents of this Assembly.” However, those prone to idle speculation might suspect that, on occasion, discreet inquiries may issue forth from even these two jurisdictions as to what is done or has been done in the House of Commons of Canada.

Technological developments during the “information age” have imposed their own additional imperatives in this regard. The Internet has made it possible for parliamentarians and, indeed, all citizens to have almost instant access to information on what is being done in other jurisdictions. A great many legislatures put their Hansard on the Internet; Yukon's question period, for example, can usually be accessed within an hour of its completion. Most major and many minor newspapers are online. Proceedings of the House of Commons are telecast across the nation and many other jurisdictions televise some portion, if not all, of their proceedings. E-mail communications have also greatly expanded contacts between parliamentarians. The result is that members throughout the land are fully and immediately aware of doings in other legislatures and, particularly, in the House of Commons. There is also, on occasion, an expectation by members that the practices and precedents of all other Canadian legislatures will be considered when Speaker's rulings are being crafted, notwithstanding rules such as the first standing order of the Yukon Legislative Assembly.

Sensitivity, therefore, has grown in the various legislatures and at the Tables of those legislatures as to the effect that decisions on touchy procedural issues can have on others. The wording of a Speaker's decision in one jurisdiction will often have been carefully formulated, through consultation with other Houses, to ensure that the context of a precedent-making decision is fully explained and the rationale for the decision made plain. This is to ensure that no unnecessary difficulties are created for other jurisdictions should they face what appear to be similar situations. Those of us, then, who must, when in doubt, reference the House of Commons are going to be most interested in assessing the contents of House of Commons Procedure and Practice on this basis. We will be asking whether the effect it would have on other legislatures was a consideration during its drafting. My initial impression is that this book will most often be a help and rarely a hindrance.

An issue that I need to address but freely admit not to having reached any conclusions on is the very breadth of the book. Like Bourinot, those responsible for House of Commons Procedure and Practice have decided they will cover everything between the covers of one book. The publisher tells us there are 1206 pages in this book. The Table of Contents, alone, is 33 pages long. There are over 5800 footnotes. The word “comprehensive” does not begin to be an adequate adjective when describing the range of subjects covered and the level of information provided on each. And yet . . . I am not sure whether that adds up to a complaint or a compliment.

There is certainly an argument to be made for having it all in one place. Every new Member of the House of Commons can have this book provided to them and be told that, if they read this and nothing else, they will have gained a solid understanding of their House and its ways. They will have learned about the history of parliamentary institutions in Canada, about the conduct of elections of members, about the conflict of interest laws that apply to them, about their pay, expenses and pensions, about the buildings that they occupy, about the administration of the House of Commons, about the arrangements made to broadcast the proceedings of the House and much, much more.

When we do move onto subjects that, in my mind, fall within the rubric of “procedure and practice” there is superb coverage of all the standards beginning with privileges and immunities and continuing through chapters such as “The Daily Program”, “Questions”, “The Process of Debate”, “Rules of Order and Decorum”, “The Curtailment of Debate”and “Committees of the Whole House”. I cite those particular ones because they are most likely to be referenced in the Yukon Legislative Assembly and they add up to about 340 pages. If the next edition is issued as a three-volume set, I wish to put in an unashamed self-interested plug for those chapters to comprise one of the volumes.

In the final analysis, it should be clear that these random musings do not constitute serious reservations. Mr. Marleau's enthusiasm for the work of the project team that produced this book, describing it as a “milestone”, is entirely justifiable and understandable. The research is thorough and well documented for those who need to seek the original sources. The organization and outline of the book is excellent. The text is clear, lucid and expressed in plain language.

I am reluctant to attempt to name names for fear that I will fail to give credit where it is due. To those who use this book, I recommend in the strongest terms that you read the acknowledgements provided by co-editor Camille Montpetit. It would be a disservice to those responsible for this book not to be recognized for the work they have done.

Congratulations to Mr. Marleau, Mr. Montpetit and all others on the team responsible for House of Commons Procedure and Practice. I am confident that it will soon take its place at the head of Canadian parliamentary authorities and remain there for years to come. In the end, that acceptance by parliamentarians and Table officers will be the highest compliment that can be offered.

Patrick Michael
Clerk and Chief Electoral Officer
Yukon Legislative Assembly


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 23 no 1
2000






Last Updated: 2019-07-15

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish
Sur les rayonsSur les rayons
Patrick Michael

La procédure et les usages de la Chambre des communes, sous la direction de Robert Marleau et Camille Montpetit, Chenelière/McGraw-Hill, Montréal (Québec), 1152 p.

Robert Marleau, greffier de la Chambre des communes, et coresponsable avec Camille Montpetit, greffier adjoint de la Chambre en 1998-1999, considère que La procédure et les usages de la Chambre des communes « marque une étape importante dans l’évolution de la jurisprudence parlementaire canadienne  ». Ce genre d’affirmation ne peut que retenir l’attention de ceux dont une partie du temps est prise par les affaires parlementaires du pays. C’est une affirmation forte et qui, d’après mes premières impressions, est sans doute bien fondée.

La procédure et les usages de la Chambre des communes est le fruit des efforts d’une équipe composée du personnel de la Direction des recherches pour le Bureau et de nombreuses personnes du Bureau du greffier de la Chambre des communes. C’est l’aboutissement d’un travail de bien des années, qui remonte à 1980, année de la création de la Direction.

M. Marleau dresse un véritable résumé du livre dans sa préface :

«  Tout en abordant des questions constitutionnelles, politiques et historiques, cet outil de référence se veut avant tout un ouvrage de procédure, où sont examinés les nombreux usages, coutumes et pratiques qui se sont développés depuis les débuts de la Confédération en 1867. Il permet de mieux comprendre le modèle de gouvernement parlementaire de Westminster, bien qu’il adopte une perspective spécifiquement canadienne dans la description de la procédure de la Chambre. Cet examen s’arrête avec la fin de la première session de la trente-sixième législature en septembre 1999. Les textes sont accompagnés de commentaires fouillés sur les circonstances historiques qui ont façonné la procédure parlementaire actuelle. Ils font état des principales décisions et déclarations des Présidents et examinent en détail l’énorme corpus des usages, interprétations et précédents uniques à la Chambre des communes du Canada.  »

Il existe certes plusieurs ouvrages sur la procédure parlementaire, dont deux en particulier qui ont été les grands outils de référence des parlementaires canadiens. Il s’agit de la Jurisprudence parlementaire de Beauchesne et de la Parliamentary Procedure and Practice in the Dominion of Canada de sir John George Bourinot. Ces deux « bibles  », comme certains les appellent, sont souvent citées dans les décisions des présidents.

L’ouvrage de Beauchesne s’est transformé au fil des ans, au point où les responsables de la sixième édition écrivent qu’il « tient du recueil, et non du récit ». Ils ajoutent : « Ses paragraphes ou commentaires numérotés renvoient à des précédents de la Chambre des communes du Canada qui peuvent servir en cas de difficulté de procédure. » (Beauchesne, 6e édition, p. iii)

Bourinot, pour sa part, écrit dans la préface à la deuxième édition de son ouvrage : «  Cet ouvrage ne se contente pas d’exposer les règles, la procédure et les usages des deux chambres, il passe en revue les diverses étapes du développement constitutionnel du Canada jusqu’à aujourd’hui. […] Il tente d’expliquer la nature des conventions et des ententes qui régissent ce qu’on appelle communément le gouvernement responsable ou parlementaire. » (Bourinot, 4e édition, p. x.)

Les familiers de ces deux « bibles » verront que La procédure et les usages de la Chambre des communes fait davantage penser à Bourinot qu’à Beauchesne. À l’instar de sir John George, les auteurs ont opté pour une forme où chaque point couvert fait l’objet d’une longue explication sur son origine et son évolution. On trouve dans presque chaque chapitre une rubrique « Historique  ».

Le livre diffère effectivement beaucoup de la forme du Beauchesne. Il sera intéressant de voir comment les diverses assemblées s’accommoderont de ces différences. La présentation du Beauchesne, avec ses courts paragraphes numérotés, le rendait de consultation commode, et rapide. Ses commentaires étaient faciles à trouver et à citer; de fait, ils étaient devenus une sorte de repère mental. Par exemple, lorsque le président évoque le commentaire 491, les députés peuvent immédiatement s’occuper de choses plus urgentes, comme de réécrire leur prochain bulletin ou de harceler leurs vis-à-vis. Ils savent, avant même de l’entendre, que le président s’apprête à leur resservir le vieux refrain sur l’importance du contexte pour déterminer si des propos sont acceptables ou non. Et il y a le commentaire 494 qui, de façon un peu longue et ennuyeuse, déclare que les députés doivent accepter les déclarations de leurs collègues et qu’il ne convient surtout pas de les traiter de « menteurs », même s’il n’est pas nécessaire d’avoir la tête à Papineau pour comprendre que c’est un qualificatif qui est tout à fait mérité.

Cela dit, ce nouveau venu deviendra vite une source incontournable pour le spécialiste de la procédure qui sera confronté à un problème. Après tout, c’est la « bible  » parlementaire la plus à jour et la plus complète que nous ayons à notre disposition. Mais la question qui se pose – et ce n’est qu’à l’usage qu’on y répondra – est de savoir si sa structure nous en rendra la consultation difficile. Ce n’est qu’après un certain temps que nous verrons avec quelle facilité les présidents de séance, les greffiers et les députés nagent dans ces eaux, trouvent facilement ce qu’ils cherchent et nous font part de leurs constatations sous la forme de décisions.

Pour nous qui sommes des « étrangers», pourquoi est-ce important que la Chambre des communes dispose d’un outil de référence à jour, faisant un état détaillé de ses usages et coutumes? La réponse est que nous sommes nombreux dans les provinces et les territoires à devoir nous tourner vers les Communes lorsque nos propres règles, usages ou coutumes sont muets sur un point de procédure. Par exemple, l’article 1er du Règlement de l’Assemblée législative du Yukon dispose que « dans tous les cas non prévus par le présent Règlement, les ordres de session ou autres, l’Assemblée suit, en tant qu’ils lui sont applicables, les usages et coutumes en vigueur à la Chambre des communes du Canada  ». Cinq provinces – Île-du-Prince-Édouard, Terre-Neuve et Labrador, Nouvelle-Écosse, Manitoba et Saskatchewan – ont le même article presque mot pour mot. Les Territoires du Nord-Ouest et le Nunavut ont une règle semblable, sauf qu’en plus des usages et coutumes de la Chambre des communes, elle fait aussi mention de ceux des assemblées provinciales et territoriales. Bien que la formulation soit différente, les règles de l’Ontario, du Nouveau-Brunswick et de l’Alberta rappellent que le président fonde ses décisions sur la « tradition parlementaire », de sorte qu’on peut présumer que, devant une décision difficile, le président s’inspirerait de l’expérience de la Chambre des communes.

Seules la Colombie-Britannique et le Québec sont à part, la première se reportant, en cas de doute, à la Chambre des communes de Grande-Bretagne et d’Irlande du Nord, alors que le Québec énonce à l’article 180 de son Règlement  : « Au besoin, la procédure est déterminée en tenant compte des précédents et des usages de l’Assemblée.  » Toutefois, ceux qui ne savent résister au jeu des hypothèses soupçonneront peut-être qu’à l’occasion, même ces deux provinces doivent, discrètement, examiner ce qui se fait ou s’est fait à la Chambre des communes du Canada.

À l’« ère de l’information », la technologie apporte aussi ses propres contraintes. Avec Internet, les parlementaires, et même le grand public, ont un accès presque instantané à ce qui se fait ailleurs. Bon nombre d’assemblées mettent leur compte rendu sur Internet. Dans le cas du Yukon par exemple, on peut accéder à la période des questions une heure après qu’elle est terminée. La plupart des grands et des petits journaux sont en ligne. Les délibérations de la Chambre des communes sont diffusées partout au pays, et plusieurs assemblées télévisent leurs délibérations en tout ou en partie. Le courrier électronique a également multiplié les contacts entre parlementaires. Il résulte de cette situation qu’un député, peu importe où il se trouve, peut se tenir instantanément au courant de ce qui se passe dans d’autres assemblées, notamment à la Chambre des communes. Il arrive même que des députés s’attendent à ce que les usages des autres assemblées canadiennes soient pris en compte dans la rédaction des décisions des présidents, même en l’absence d’une règle comme l’article premier du Règlement de l’Assemblée législative du Yukon.

C’est ainsi que les assemblées et leurs services de la procédure sont devenus conscients des implications qu’une décision délicate sur une question de procédure pourraient avoir pour les autres. Dans bien des cas, la formulation de la décision du président d’une assemblée aura été faite avec soin, après consultation d’autres assemblées, pour veiller à ce que le contexte d’une décision faisant jurisprudence soit bien expliqué et que les motifs de la décision soient clairement exposés. Il s’agit d’éviter de créer des difficultés aux autres assemblées qui seraient placées dans des situations qui paraissent semblables. Ainsi, ceux d’entre nous qui, dans le doute, doivent se reporter aux usages de la Chambre des communes seront heureux de vérifier ce qui en est du contenu de La procédure et les usages de la Chambre des communes. Ils se demanderont notamment si les rédacteurs se sont préoccupés des implications pour les autres assemblées. Ce n’est qu’une première impression, mais cet ouvrage devrait être une aide plus souvent qu’un obstacle.

Un point dont je dois traiter et à propos duquel je ne suis pas encore fixé est la dimension même de l’ouvrage. Comme le Bourinot, les rédacteurs de La procédure ont décidé de tout mettre entre les deux couvertures d’un seul ouvrage. L’éditeur nous dit que le livre compte 1152 pages. La table des matières fait 33 pages à elle seule. Et il y a plus de 5 800 notes en bas de page. C’est à peine si le mot « exhaustif » peut donner une idée de l’étendue des sujets couverts et de la masse d’informations sur chacun. Et pourtant…, je ne sais pas s’il s’agit d’un reproche ou d’un compliment.

Il ne fait pas de doute que de tout trouver à la même source a ses avantages. Aux nouveaux députés qui se procureront cet ouvrage, on pourra dire que, s’ils ne devaient lire que ce livre, ils auraient une très bonne connaissance de la Chambre et de ses rouages. Ils seront bien renseignés sur l’histoire des institutions parlementaires du Canada, l’élection des députés, la réglementation en matière de conflit d’intérêts, leur rémunération, leurs dépenses et leur régime de retraite, sur les bâtiments qu’ils occupent, l’administration de la Chambre, l’installation d’équipement pour radiodiffuser les délibérations de la Chambre, et bien d’autres questions encore.

Quant aux sujets qui, à mon sens, constituent le cœur même de la procédure, tous les élément essentiels sont passés en revue, à commencer par les privilèges et immunités, suivis de chapitres comme « le programme quotidien », « les questions », « les étapes du débat », « le maintien de l’ordre et le décorum », « la limitation du débat », «  les comités pléniers ». Si je cite ces points en particulier, c’est qu’on y fera vraisemblablement allusion à l’Assemblée législative du Yukon et qu’ils font quelque 340 pages. Si jamais la prochaine édition devait comprendre trois volumes, je crois bien que j’aurais le front de demander, dans un but intéressé, que tous ces chapitres soient regroupés dans un même volume.

Au bout du compte, il ne faudrait pas voir dans ces réflexions au fil de la pensée des réserves sérieuses. La satisfaction de M. Marleau face au travail de l’équipe qui a accouché de cet ouvrage – qu’il qualifie d’« étape importante » – est tout à fait justifiée et compréhensible. La recherche est exhaustive et très bien documentée, ce qui est utile pour ceux qui doivent remonter aux sources. La conception et la structure de l’ouvrage sont excellentes. Le texte est limpide et rédigé dans une langue facile à comprendre.

J’hésite à nommer qui que ce soit de peur d’oublier des noms. Je recommande donc fortement aux usagers de lire le texte des remerciements d’un des coresponsables de l’édition, Camille Montpetit. Ce serait une injustice pour ceux qui ont produit cette œuvre de ne pas voir leurs efforts reconnus.

Je tiens à féliciter MM. Marleau et Montpetit, ainsi que tous les membres de l’équipe à qui nous devons La procédure et les usages de la Chambre des communes. Je ne doute pas qu’elle prendra rapidement sa place parmi les outils de référence de la procédure parlementaire et qu’elle y demeurera pour bien des années. En définitive, la plus belle récompense pour elle sera d’être acceptée par les parlementaires et les greffiers du Bureau.

Patrick Michael
Greffier et directeur général des élections
Assemblée législative du Yukon


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 23 no 1
2000






Dernière mise à jour : 2018-07-31