Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
Interview: Richard Cashin and Grace Sparkes


In March 1999 to mark the 50th anniversary of Confederation the Newfoundland Historical Society organized a symposium entitled “Encounters With the Wolf” (so called because of the anti-confederate song "Come near at your peril, Canadian Wolf!!).  The panelists included participants in the negotiations leading to Confederation, academic experts, former politicians, writers, students and more than 300 interested observers. Confederation still raises strong emotions and debate in Newfoundland. Grace Sparkes is a former journalist, an opponent of Confederation and the first woman to run for a seat in the Newfoundland legislature following Confederation. Richard Cashin was a member of the House of Commons from 1962-1968. He was President of the Newfoundland Fisherman, Food and Allied Workers Union from 1969 to 1981. Mr. Cashin and Ms Sparkes were interviewed by Gary Levy in March 1999.

Can you characterize the political and economic situation in Newfoundland that led to the suspension of responsible government and what impact this had on the people?

Grace Sparkes:  We went through the Great Depression like the rest of the world but the Newfoundland economy had always had its ups and downs. You could not always determine wealth or poverty the way you did in other places. For example, my father an out-port merchant owned fishing ships called “bankers” that went on several trips yearly to the Grand Banks in search of cod. Usually three bankers made up the yearly fleet. Each ship had a compliment of twenty-five men. Supplies for the men’s families and the ships cost about thirty thousand dollars a season. Sometimes they came back with no fish which meant that the fishermen owed him money. He would forgive the debt and try to make it up the following year. Such arrangements were common and as a result bank fishermen considered themselves as living in poverty.

The political situation was very bad.  I think we were basically sold down the river by Britain. At the time information was hard to come by.  Like many people I did not learn that responsible government had been suspended until some time after the event.  When I did hear the news I remember a sinking feeling which proved to be well founded.

The appointed Commission acted in a very high handed manner.  They did not like criticism and attempts to elicit information were met with blunt refusals. We were told it was not in our interest to know what was going on.

Richard Cashin:  I came from a very political family.  My uncle, Major Peter Cashin, and my father, were both keenly interested in politics so even though I  was too young to participate in the pre-confederation debates I remember the era very well.  I also studied it when I was at university.

There was definitely a sense of anger over what had happened.  We became the only Dominion ever to voluntarily give up responsible government.  The country was in danger of defaulting on its debts.  The government had lost the confidence of the people as a result of corruption and scandal.

There was a feeling that the loss of responsible government was a dirty deed done by outsiders. However, we have to look at this in the context of Newfoundland history. From the very beginning the Irish who settled Newfoundland were a tough, rowdy, independent lot strung out along the outports. They lacked a landed gentry as you found in Nova Scotia at this time and also had very little in the way of local government.  Democratic institutions and values were lacking.  Attempts over the years by Coker and others met with some success but the democratic reforms they promoted could not survive the politicial upheavel caused by the Great Depression.

Was there a conspiracy to ensure that Newfoundland joined Canada?

Richard Cashin:  Peter Cashin, one of the great orators in Newfoundland history, made this argument during the Convention.  He was convinced of it and I suppose in a manner of speaking there was a series of events and circumstances that conspired to make Confederation with Canada almost inevitable.  There was the Newfoundland debt.  Britain was in the process of liquidating the Empire.  Canadian businessmen had their eyes on resources in Labrador. There was a certain inevitability of Union but I do not know if it was a “conspiracy” in the strict sense of the word.

Chronology of Events Leading to Newfoundland Joining Confederation
1933 British appoint Amulree Commission to study the political future of Newfoundland
February 16, 1934 Self Government suspended and Government by an Appointed Commission established to govern Newfoundland until it became economically self supporting and the people of Newfoundland requested a new form of government.
1939-1945 Second World War.  Numerous American Military Bases established in Newfoundland.
June 1946 Election to choose 45 members of the National Convention to consider and discuss changes in the financial and economic situation and to make recommendations as to possible form of future government.
October 1946 Joey Smallwood’ s motion to have the Convention send delegates to Ottawa to discuss Confederation is defeated.
February 1947 Similar motion to send delegates to Ottawa is adopted and talks are held in Ottawa during the summer of 1947.
November 6, 1947 A draft of Terms of Union is presented to the Convention for discussion.
January 1948 The Convention decides to hold a referendum but a motion to include Confederation on the ballot is defeated by a vote of 29 to 16.
March 2, 1948 The British Government announces that a referendum will be held and that one of the options will be Confederation with Canada.  The other options are continuation of Commission Government for five years, or a return to Responsible Government.
June 3, 1948 First referendum:  Responsible Government 45%, Confederation 41%, Commission Government t 14%.
July 22, 1948 Second referendum: Confederation 52%, Responsible Government 48%.
October 1948 Negotiations on the Final Terms of Union in Ottawa
December 11, 1948 Terms of  Union signed
March 31, 1949 Newfoundland becomes the tenth Canadian province.

Grace Sparkes:  Peter Cashin’s claim was absolutely right.  I remember during the war we invited a high ranking member of the Canadian military to dinner and he astounded me when he asked. “How would you like to become Canadians”.  The way the Commission of Government was appointed, the way the Newfoundland delegation was rebuffed by Britain, the way the Confederation option was added to the ballot all point to a conspiracy.  Individuals like Charlie Burchell who was Canada’s Trade Commissioner worked behind the scenes to promote this option.

Was union with the United States an option?

Richard Cashin:  I always thought “Economic Union”, as it was called was a red herring.  Some prominent people supported it including Ches Crosbie and young Don Jamieson but they never attracted more than a fringe following.  The United States never engaged in negotiations with them since that would have been perceived as meddling in British affairs.  This option only made sense if we first reverted to responsible government and then, somewhere down the road, decided to pursue union with the United States.

Grace Sparkes:  I never really figured out what they wanted.  I remember one meeting of the Responsible Government supporters when we invited Don Jamieson to share the platform with us.  I took out my pen and decided to make notes on exactly what they were proposing.  He was a gifted orator and he made a fine speech but when I looked at my notes there was nothing.  He had spoken for nearly an hour and never said a single thing that explained this option.

I think the Economic Union movement consisted mainly of St. John’s merchants who wanted to capitalize on the very pro American sentiment that prevailed at the time.  The American military had made a tremendous contribution to the Newfoundland economy and the Americans were associated with prosperity.

What did you think about the referenda debate and the results?

Richard Cashin:  When the second referendum went in favour of Confederation both my father and my uncle raised a pink and green flag as a sign of protest and mourning.  Our family was anti-confederation but if we look at the reasons carefully we see that it was largely an issue of process.

Our dignity was diminished the way we entered Confederation.  It would have been much better if we had got back our self government and then, perhaps, entered into negotiations with Canada as a fully self governing Dominion.  I am not sure if the result would have been much different but we cannot dwell forever on mistakes that may have been made in the way the process unfolded.

Grace Sparkes:  During the referenda campaigns I made numerous speeches against Confederation. I ghost wrote dozens of speeches for others.  We travelled around the island and I remember many lively meetings.  In some places the audiences did not really understand what was at stake.  In other places they had been mesmerized by Joey Smallwood’s talk of Canadian pensions and family allowances.  The Confederation forces enjoy limitless funding.  Every time we had a meeting there seemed to be an airplane flying overhead dropping pro confederation leaflets.  Sometimes our meetings were drowned out by noisy demonstrations outside the hall. Years later I met a man who told me that he had been paid $5,000 to shut down one of our meetings.

Did the vote divide along religious, regional or class lines?

Richard Cashin:  There were certainly religious factors.  Irish Catholics were generally anti- Confederation and not just because the Arch Bishop took this position.  The élites of St. John’s both Protestant and Catholic were also anti-confederation.  Those areas that were closer to Canada or who had more trade with Nova Scotia tended to be pro-confederation as were the outports.  Women generally seemed largely in favor of Confederation.

When we look at the voting breakdown we have to remember that Smallwood was a populist. His message was not unlike the CCF of the time.  The Bonavista Platform of the Fishermen’s Protective Union pre-dated the Regina Manifesto.  Smallwood modeled his program after the social democrats and his early program was very attractive to workers.  Smallwood was also a great communicator and organizer.  He took the message to people who felt isolated from St. John’s.

Grace Sparkes:  The Orangemen certainly worked in favour of Confederation.  Roman Catholics and particularly the Monitor were generally opposed.  It is true that many women favoured the idea of Confederation. I wondered sometimes how much they were influenced by the prospect of being able to buy duty free goods from the Eaton catalogue.

Was the first provincial election in 1949 somewhat of an anti-climax after the years of debate over joining Confederation?

Richard Cashin:  The Confederation debate settled Newfoundland politics for a decade.  The Liberals under Smallwood came to power and the opposition, formed out of the Responsible Government forces, was unable to put together any coherent alternative. Peter Cashin was elected as an independent. In 1951 he took over the leadership of the Progressive Conservatives but was never able to defeat Smallwood.  The defeat of the federal Liberals in 1957 led directly to another issue that sustained Smallwood in office.  He tangled with John Diefenbaker over Article 29 of the Terms of Union.

Grace Sparkes:  Once the referendum was lost there was little hope for the opposition.  In my district, Burin, which was very pro-Confederation, it looked like there would not even be a candidate so I let my name stand.  I described myself as a PC  — a Protesting Canadian — but was defeated.  I ran again in 1951 and also ran twice federally when the opposition was having difficulty finding a candidate.  During one election campaign I was teaching and asked for a month’s leave of absence to run in the election.  Instead I got a letter terminating my services.

Was there an immediate change in the lives of Newfoundlanders as a result of Confederation?

Richard Cashin:  I think the change was dramatic.  Imagine, an entire new system of social welfare being implemented in one fell swoop.  Everyone began receiving family allowance cheques, old age pension cheques, veteran benefits and so on.  Newfoundland had its own social welfare system but the Canadian rates were much more generous.  The outports which had existed in a kind of time warp without roads or electricity soon started to see changes.  Memorial University was established and many other changes followed.

Grace Sparks:  Yes there certainly were changes.  Virtually all our large industries collapsed.  There used to be a Newfoundland clothing industry and Newfoundland foundries but with the coming of competition from Canada they collapsed and the jobs associated with them disappeared.  We were flooded with goods and services from the mainland.  Another change, which happened very slowly, is that we lost control of our resources including, of course, the fisheries.  

How, in the light of history, would you describe the legacy of Joey Smallwood?

Richard Cashin:  Joey Smallwood was a man with a vision. His vision was to unite Canada and Newfoundland.  He behaved as men of vision sometimes do – energetically, stubbornly, dogmatically.  He would have fit nicely into a revolutionary society like Argentina under the Peronistes.  He also brought tremendous knowledge and skills to the task at hand which was to convince Newfoundlanders to accept his vision.   Once he had accomplished this task for which he worked so long and so hard he turned to other projects and some of these were less successful.  He may have stayed too long.  He may have strayed from some of his original ideas, as far as unions were concerned for example.  He may have neglected to nurture people to succeed him.  These are not unusual faults for people with his character.

Grace Sparkes:  When I think of Joey Smallwood I remember his ruthlessness and vindictiveness.  He would use whatever means necessary to get what he wanted.  If he found out that an adversary was in financial difficulty he would offer that person money or a job in exchange for support.  If he could not win someone over he would threaten and intimidate. I was a journalist in those days and I am sure that if he had the power he would have put me in jail for my criticism of his government.  We called him “little Batista” after the Cuban dictator of the 1950s.  On more than one occasion he wrote the editor of my newspaper and demanded that I be fired.  Fortunately John Currie, owner of the St. John’s Daily News, was not intimidated by these threats.

Could Newfoundland have gone it alone in 1949 or today?

Richard Cashin: One can only speculate about the past but I have never shared the romantic view that if only we had been left alone we would have developed an idyllic society free from many of the problems we face today.  When people make this argument I try to remind them that lamenting Confederation seems part of our common heritage.  The first Nova Scotia government opposed Confederation.  Quebec governments have sought dissolution.  At various times people in Alberta and British Columbia have come to the conclusion that they would be better off on their own.  One cannot live in the past and one cannot live with a permanent sense of grievance.  It is debilitating and keeps us from solving real problems that exist.

Grace Sparkes:  During the Confederation debates I believed that if we joined Canada, Newfoundlanders would never again own the soil we walk upon. With strong leadership we may have had a chance to govern ourselves. I am now 91 years old and have yet to be convinced that I was wrong.  I still keep an active interest in politics but I think the answer to this question really has to come from the younger generation.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 22 no 2
1999






Last Updated: 2018-07-31

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Entrevue : Richard Cashin et Grace Sparkes


Pour marquer l’anniversaire de l’entrée de Terre-Neuve dans la Confédération, la société historique de Terre-Neuve a organisé un symposium intitulé Rencontres avec le loup les 19 et 20 mars 1999. Les invités incluaient des participants aux négociations qui ont conduit à l’entrée dans la Confédération, des universitaires, d’anciens politiciens, des écrivains, des étudiants et plus de 300 observateurs. L’union au Canada suscite encore des débats et de vives émotions à Terre-Neuve. Grace Sparkes est une ancienne journaliste, une opposante à l’entrée dans la Confédération et la première femme à s’être présentée lors d’élections à l’Assemblée législative de Terre-Neuve après l’union. Richard Cashin a été député à la Chambre des communes de 1962 à 1968, puis président du Newfoundland Fisherman, Food and Allied Workers Union de 1969 à 1981. M. Cashin et Mme Sparkes ont été interviewés par Gary Levy en mars 1999.

Quelle situation politique et économique prévalant à Terre-Neuve a conduit à la suspension du gouvernement responsable? Quel effet cela a-t-il eu sur la population?

Grace Sparkes : Nous avons traversé la Crise de 1929 comme le reste du monde, mais l’économie de Terre-Neuve avait toujours connu ses hauts et ses bas. On ne pouvait pas toujours y définir la richesse et la pauvreté comme on le faisait ailleurs. Par exemple, mon père possédait deux ou trois navires de pêche qui pouvaient employer jusqu’à 25 pêcheurs pour aller sur les Grands Bancs. L’exploitation de ces navires lui coûtait environ 30 000 $ par saison. Parfois, ces navires rentraient vides, ce qui voulait dire que les pêcheurs lui devaient de l’argent. Il effaçait leur dette et essayait de se reprendre l’année suivante. De tels arrangements étaient fréquents et, par conséquent, peu de gens s’estimaient pauvres.

Côté politique, la situation était très mauvaise. Je crois que la Grande-Bretagne s’est tout simplement débarrassée de nous. À l’époque, il était difficile de mettre la main sur l’information. Comme beaucoup de gens, il a fallu un certain temps avant que j’apprenne que le gouvernement responsable avait été suspendu. Lorsque je l’ai appris, je me souviens avoir éprouvé un profond désespoir et les événements qui ont suivi ont montré que mes craintes étaient fondées.

La commission nommée a agi de façon très dictatoriale. Elle n’aimait pas la critique et les demandes d’information étaient accueillies par des refus catégoriques. On nous disait qu’il n’était pas dans notre intérêt de savoir ce qui se passait.

Richard Cashin : Je suis d’une famille très politisée. Mon oncle, le major Peter Cashin, et mon père s’intéressaient tous deux énormément à la politique. C’est pourquoi, même si j’étais trop jeune pour prendre part aux débats qui ont précédé l’union, je m’en souviens très bien. J’ai également étudié cette période à l’université.

Il est clair que les événements ont suscité la colère. Nous sommes le seul Dominion à avoir renoncé volontairement à un gouvernement responsable. Le pays risquait de se retrouver en défaut de paiement de ses dettes et le gouvernement avait perdu la confiance de la population en raison de la corruption et des scandales.

La population avait l’impression que la perte du gouvernement responsable était un coup bas donné par des étrangers. Cependant, il faut situer les choses dans leur contexte historique. Dès le début de l’histoire de Terre-Neuve, les Irlandais qui se sont installés dans les petits ports isolés éparpillés le long de la côte étaient des gens rudes et indisciplinés à l’esprit indépendant. Il leur manquait l’aristocratie terrienne que l’on retrouvait en Nouvelle-Écosse à la même époque et, en plus, il n’existait à Terre-Neuve pratiquement aucune forme de gouvernement local. Les institutions et les valeurs démocratiques faisaient cruellement défaut. Les efforts déployés au fil des ans par Coker et d’autres eurent plus de succès, mais les réformes démocratiques qu’ils préconisaient n’ont pu survivre au bouleversement politique engendré par la Crise de 1929.

Y a-t-il eu une conspiration pour amener Terre-Neuve à s’unir au Canada?

Richard Cashin : Peter Cashin, qui a été l’un des grands orateurs de l’histoire de Terre-Neuve, a présenté cet argument devant la convention. Il en était convaincu et je suppose que, d’une certaine manière, une série d’événements et de situations se sont conjugués pour rendre l’union au Canada quasi inévitable. Il y avait la dette de Terre-Neuve; la Grande-Bretagne était en train de liquider son empire; les hommes d’affaires canadiens convoitaient les ressources du Labrador. D’une certaine manière, l’union était inévitable, mais j’ignore s’il y a eu une « conspiration » dans le sens strict du terme.

Grace Sparkes : Peter Cashin avait tout à fait raison. Je me souviens que, pendant la guerre, nous avions invité un officier canadien haut gradé à dîner à la maison et il m’avait renversé lorsqu’il m’avait demandé si j’aimerais devenir canadienne. La façon dont les membres de la Commission du gouvernement ont été nommés, la façon dont la délégation terre-neuvienne a été rabrouée par la Grande-Bretagne, la façon dont l’union au Canada a été ajoutée parmi les options lors du référendum, tout tend à étayer la thèse de la conspiration. Des individus comme Charlie Burchell, qui était commissaire au Commerce du Canada, ont travaillé en sous-main pour favoriser cette option.

Une union avec les États-Unis a-t-elle été envisagée?

Richard Cashin : J’ai toujours pensé que l’« union économique », comme on disait, était une habile diversion. Quelques personnalités de premier plan, comme Ches Crosbie et le jeune Don Jamieson, appuyaient cette idée, mais ils n’ont jamais attiré plus d’une poignée de sympathisants. Les États-Unis n’ont jamais entamé de négociations avec eux parce que cela aurait été perçu comme une ingérence dans les affaires de la Grande-Bretagne. Cette option ne pouvait être retenue que si nous revenions d’abord à un gouvernement responsable et que, plus tard, nous décidions de nous unir aux États-Unis.

Grace Sparkes : Je n’ai jamais très bien compris ce qu’ils voulaient. Je me souviens d’une réunion des partisans du gouvernement responsable où nous avions invité Don Jamieson à prendre la parole. J’avais alors décidé de noter soigneusement par écrit les grandes lignes de leur projet. Jamieson était un grand orateur et il a prononcé un bon discours, mais lorsque j’ai relu mes notes, je n’y ai rien trouvé. Jamieson avait parlé pendant près d’une heure sans rien expliquer de son option.

Je pense que le mouvement pour l’union économique était composé surtout de marchands de St. John’s qui capitalisaient sur le sentiment très favorable aux États-Unis qui prévalait à l’époque. L’armée américaine avait donné un sérieux coup de pouce à l’économie de Terre-Neuve et les gens associaient automatiquement États-Unis et prospérité.

Qu’avez-vous pensé des débats et des résultats lors des deux référendums?

Richard Cashin : Lorsque le deuxième référendum a penché du côté de l’entrée dans la Confédération, mon père et mon oncle ont hissé un drapeau rose et un drapeau vert en signe de protestation et de deuil. Ma famille était contre la Confédération, mais, si nous analysons leurs raisons, nous constatons que c’est surtout le processus qui était en cause.

Notre dignité était diminuée par la façon dont nous entrions dans la Confédération. Il aurait été nettement préférable que nous revenions à un gouvernement responsable, puis que nous entamions des négociations avec le Canada en nous présentant comme un Dominion entièrement autonome. Je ne sais pas si les résultats auraient été très différents, mais on ne peut pas revenir sans cesse aux erreurs qui ont pu se produire dans le déroulement du processus.

Grace Sparkes : Pendant les campagnes référendaires, j’ai prononcé de nombreux discours contre la Confédération. J’ai aussi écrit des douzaines de discours pour d’autres. Nous parcourions l’île et je me souviens de réunions très animées. À certains endroits, la population ne comprenait pas vraiment ce qui était en jeu. Ailleurs, les gens avaient été hypnotisés par le discours de Joey Smallwood sur les pensions et les allocations familiales canadiennes. Les forces de la Confédération semblaient disposer d’une réserve inépuisable de fonds. On avait l’impression que chaque fois que nous tenions une réunion, un avion survolait l’endroit pour lâcher des dépliants pro-Confédération. Parfois, nos réunions étaient troublées par des manifestations bruyantes tenues à l’extérieur de la salle. Des années plus tard, j’ai rencontré un homme qui m’a avoué avoir reçu 5 000 $ pour perturber la tenue d’une de nos réunions.

Le vote s’est-il divisé selon la religion, la région ou la classe sociale?

Richard Cashin : Certains facteurs religieux ont certainement joué. En général, les catholiques irlandais étaient contre la Confédération et ce n’était pas uniquement parce que l’archevêque avait adopté cette position. L’élite de St.  John’s aussi, tant protestante que catholique, était opposée à la Confédération. Les éléments de la société qui étaient plus près du Canada ou qui avaient beaucoup d’échanges commerciaux avec la Nouvelle-Écosse y étaient en général favorables, comme l’étaient les ports isolés. Les femmes semblaient être majoritairement favorables à la Confédération.

En étudiant la répartition du vote, il ne faut pas perdre de vue que M. Smallwood était un populiste. Son message n’était pas très différent de celui du CCF (Fédération du Commonwealth coopératif) à l’époque. La Bonavista Platform du Fishermen’s Protective Union était parue avant le manifeste de Regina. M. Smallwood avait modelé son programme sur celui des socio-démocrates et sa première plate-forme était très attrayante pour les travailleurs. M. Smallwood était également un grand communicateur et un excellent organisateur. Il avait porté son message chez les gens qui se sentaient coupés de St. John’s.

Grace Sparkes : Les orangistes ont certainement travaillé en faveur de la Confédération. Les catholiques romains, en particulier le Monitor, y étaient en général opposés. Il est vrai que beaucoup de femmes étaient favorables à la Confédération. Je me demande parfois combien d’entre elles ont été influencées par l’idée de pouvoir commander hors taxe dans le catalogue Eaton.

Les premières élections, en 1949, n’ont-elles pas été plutôt décevantes après toutes les années de débat animé sur l’entrée dans la Confédération?

Richard Cashin : Le débat sur la Confédération a mis fin au débat politique à Terre-Neuve pendant une décennie. Les libéraux dirigés par M.  Smallwood sont arrivés au pouvoir et l’opposition, formée par les forces du gouvernement responsable, a été incapable de présenter une position cohérente. Peter Cashin avait été élu comme député indépendant. En 1951, il s’est hissé à la tête du Parti progressiste-conservateur, mais il n’a jamais réussi à défaire Smallwood. En 1957, après la défaite des libéraux fédéraux, l’affrontement de John Diefenbaker et de Joey Smallwood sur l’article 29 des Conditions de l’union a aidé ce dernier à se maintenir au pouvoir.

Chronologie des événements qui ont amené Terre-Neuve à entrer dans la Confédération
1933 La Grande-Bretagne forme la Commission Amulree sur l’avenir politique de Terre-Neuve.
16 février 1934 L’autonomie gouvernementale est suspendue et un groupe de personnes est nommé au sein d’une commission chargée de gouverner le Dominion jusqu’à ce qu’il soit économiquement autonome et que la population demande une nouvelle forme de gouvernement.
1939-1945 Seconde Guerre mondiale. Les Américains installent de nombreuses bases militaires à Terre-Neuve.
Juin 1946 Élection des 45 membres de la convention nationale qui doit étudier l’évolution de la situation financière et économique et formuler des recommandations sur la forme d’un futur gouvernement.
Octobre 1946 Défaite de la motion de Joey Smallwood visant à envoyer des délégués de la convention à Ottawa discuter d’une entrée dans la Confédération.
Février 1947 Une motion semblable à celle de 1946 est adoptée et des discussions ont lieu à Ottawa pendant l’été de 1947.
6 novembre 1947 Un projet de conditions d’union est soumis à la convention pour discussion.
Janvier 1948 La convention décide de tenir un référendum, mais une motion visant à inclure l’entrée dans la Confédération parmi les options est défaite par 29 voix contre 16.
2 mars 1948 Le gouvernement britannique annonce qu’un référendum aura lieu et que l’une des options sera l’entrée dans la Confédération canadienne. Les autres options sont le maintien de la Commission de gouvernement pendant cinq ans et un retour au gouvernement responsable.
3 juin 1948 Résultats du premier référendum : gouvernement responsable, 45 %; Confédération, 41 %, Commission de gouvernement, 14 %.
22 juillet 1948 Résultats du deuxième référendum : Confédération, 52 %, gouvernement responsable, 48%.
Octobre 1948 Négociations, à Ottawa, des conditions finales d’union au Canada.
11 décembre 1948 Signature des conditions d’union.
31 mars 1949 Terre-Neuve devient la dixième province du Canada.

Grace Sparkes : Une fois le référendum perdu, il ne restait que peu d’espoir à l’opposition. Dans ma circonscription, Burin, qui était très favorable à la Confédération, il semblait qu’il n’y aurait même pas de candidat, c’est pourquoi je me suis laissée inscrire comme candidate. Je me présentais comme PC — protestataire canadienne — mais j’ai été défaite. Je me suis à nouveau présentée en 1951, puis à deux reprises lors d’élections fédérales, lorsque l’opposition avait de la difficulté à trouver des candidats. Pendant une des campagnes électorales, j’étais enseignante et j’avais demandé un congé d’un mois pour faire campagne. À la place d’une lettre d’acceptation, j’ai reçu une lettre de renvoi.

Les Terre-Neuviens ont-ils vu un changement immédiat dans leur vie après leur entrée dans la Confédération?

Richard Cashin : Je crois que le changement a été radical. Imaginez un peu ce que peut représenter la mise en œuvre instantanée d’un système d’aide sociale entièrement nouveau. Tout le monde a commencé à recevoir des chèques d’allocations familiales, de pensions de vieillesse, de prestations aux anciens combattants et le reste. Terre-Neuve avait son propre système d’aide sociale, mais les taux canadiens étaient beaucoup plus généreux. Les ports isolés qui avaient existé dans une sorte de cinquième dimension, sans routes ni électricité, ont rapidement vu les changements. L’Université Memorial a été créée et beaucoup d’autres changements sont survenus.

Grace Sparkes : Oui, il y a évidemment eu des changements. Pratiquement toutes nos grandes industries se sont effondrées. Il y avait jusque-là une industrie du vêtement et des fonderies à Terre-Neuve, mais, devant la concurrence venue du Canada, elles ont disparu et les emplois avec elles. Nous avons été inondés de produits et de services venus du continent. Un autre changement qui s’est fait très lentement a été, bien sûr, la perte de contrôle sur nos pêcheries.

Dans une perspective historique, comment décririez-vous l’héritage laissé par Joey Smallwood?

Richard Cashin : Joey Smallwood était un homme qui avait un projet. Ce projet, c’était d’unir le Canada et Terre-Neuve. Il s’est conduit comme se conduisent parfois les visionnaires, c’est-à-dire avec énergie, entêtement et dogmatisme. Il aurait été parfaitement à l’aise dans une société révolutionnaire comme l’Argentine péroniste. Il avait également toutes les connaissances et les compétences qu’il fallait pour s’acquitter de la tâche à accomplir, c’est-à-dire convaincre les Terre-Neuviens d’adhérer à son projet. Une fois qu’il a accompli la tâche à laquelle il avait consacré tant d’énergie et de temps, il s’est tourné vers d’autres projets, parfois avec moins de bonheur. Peut-être est-il resté au pouvoir trop longtemps. Peut-être s’est-il écarté de certains de ses idéaux de départ, face aux syndicats, par exemple. Peut-être aussi a-t-il négligé de préparer sa propre relève. Mais ce sont là des fautes courantes chez les gens ayant son caractère.

Grace Sparkes : Lorsque je pense à Joey Smallwood, son caractère impitoyable et vindicatif me vient tout de suite à l’esprit. Il utilisait tous les moyens nécessaires pour parvenir à ses fins. S’il découvrait qu’un adversaire était en difficulté financière, il lui offrait de l’argent ou un emploi en échange de son soutien. Lorsqu’il ne pouvait pas se rallier quelqu’un, il avait recours aux menaces et à l’intimidation. J’étais journaliste à l’époque et je suis convaincue que, s’il en avait eu le pouvoir, il m’aurait jetée en prison parce que je critiquais son gouvernement. Nous l’appelions le « petit Batista », d’après le dictateur cubain des années 1950. Il a écrit à plus d’une reprise à la rédaction de mon journal pour demander mon renvoi. Heureusement, John Curry, le propriétaire du St. John’s Daily News ne s’est jamais laissé intimider par ses menaces.

Terre-Neuve aurait-elle pu s’en tirer seule en 1949, ou encore aujourd’hui?

Richard Cashin : On ne peut que spéculer sur le passé, mais je n’ai jamais souscrit à la vision romantique voulant que, si nous avions été laissés à nous-mêmes, nous aurions réussi à créer une société idyllique qui aurait échappé aux nombreux problèmes que nous vivons aujourd’hui. Lorsque des gens avancent une telle affirmation, je leur rappelle que le dénigrement de la Confédération semble être un élément de notre patrimoine commun. Le premier gouvernement de la Nouvelle-Écosse s’était opposé à la Confédération. Des gouvernements du Québec ont cherché à la dissoudre. À différentes époques, les populations de l’Alberta et de la Colombie-Britannique sont arrivées à la conclusion qu’elles seraient mieux si elles étaient détachées du reste du Canada. On ne peut pas vivre dans le passé et on ne peut pas vivre avec un sentiment permanent de frustration. C’est débilitant et cela empêche de régler les véritables problèmes.

Grace Sparkes : Pendant les débats sur l’entrée dans la Confédération, j’estimais que si cela se faisait, les Terre-Neuviens ne posséderaient plus jamais le sol sur lequel ils marchaient. J’ai aujourd’hui 91 ans et on ne m’a pas encore convaincue que je me trompais. Je reste très intéressée par la politique, mais je crois que c’est aux générations plus jeunes qu’il faut poser cette question.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 22 no 2
1999






Dernière mise à jour : 2018-07-31