Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
Parliamentary Book ShelfParliamentary Book Shelf
David Gussow

Parliament and the people: the reality and the public perception b Philip Laundy Published by Ashgate Publishing Company, 1997

From 24 to 27 February 1995 the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association, in association with Wilton Park, the conference organisers, sponsored a conference at Wiston House in Sussex on the theme ‘Parliament and the People: Making Democratic Institutions more Representative, Responsible and Relevant’. Philip Laundy has summarised the papers presented at the conference along with the discussions that ensued into a relatively short but handy reference work.

The book comprises eleven chapters which essentially parallel the themes of the presentations; each chapter giving a summary of what the presenter or presenters had to say. This comprises the bulk of the text. Within each chapter the author then has captured the essence of the discussion that followed each presentation and has interspersed throughout the text his own incisive observations. He has presented conclusions at the end of each chapter as well as a concluding chapter to summarise the results.

There are four appendices included in the book, two of which are quite substantial. Both directly relate to one chapter; one is a British report on standards in public life, and the other is a Canadian committee report on the registration of lobbyists.

The book is a handy reference tool for parliamentarians and those connected with parliaments to learn more of the problems associated with parliamentary democracies, particularly the perception that the public has of parliaments and parliamentarians. It touches on various topics in the separate chapters.

For those wishing to understand the importance of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association the chapter on "Enhancing Professionalism through the Work of Parliamentary Associations" gives an excellent description of its role.

Chapter six: "Ensuring Ethical Standards in Public Life" went to the very heart of the overall theme of the conference. The presenter was a member of the Nolan Committee set up by the British Prime Minister in 1994, and their first report was published after the conference in May of 1995. (The full text is included in Appendix 1.) A code of conduct was one of the main items of discussion. It’s interesting to note that the report of the Joint Committee of the Canadian Parliament on a code of conduct has not yet been implemented.

The chapter on "The Role of Political Parties" has an interesting presentation and discussion on the control that parties and the leadership have on the members in their legislatures. It basically was contrasting the British parliamentary system with the congressional system in the United States. It suggests that party discipline is predominant in the former, whereas that is not the case in the latter. It was felt that the looser control of parties could only exist where there is a separation of powers between the legislature and the executive.

The last chapter that I want to mention is "Direct Democracy: The Way Forward?" It mainly deals with referenda, mostly in California and New Zealand, the presenter being an MP from New Zealand. One point that was brought out as well which connected it to the chapter on political parties was the suggestion that under the parliamentary system, governments have come to be regarded as elective dictatorships. Which certainly could be the perception for majority governments with disciplined parties.

I personally would have liked to see more on second chambers as a solution to the problem of making parliaments more representative and responsible, especially with their membership elected on the basis of proportional representation. At the moment, there is no perceived representative public check on the executive between elections in a majority government situation. This would be both in the federal parliament and the provincial legislatures. The only representative check would be privately in caucus. Controversial legislation has gone through parliament and some legislatures in recent years, such as the GST or NAFTA federally and legislation with respect to funding of municipalities provincially; in both Ontario and Quebec. A second chamber, constituted on the basis of proportional representation, in those cases, would at the least, have changed the perception of the public and maybe the reality too.

It’s always fun to look for possible errors in fact. I was only able to find one. The author was talking about the Charlottetown Accord – the ‘package deal’ constitutional amendment voted on in a referendum in 1992. It was suggested that it was "defeated in nearly every province" whereas it actually passed in four (including the largest one, Ontario) and was defeated in six. This was a minor detail in a good informative book. I would recommend it, for those who participated in the conference wishing to renew the topics covered, for those who were interested in attending and did not do so and of course, for all of those who are only now aware of it. Few solutions were discovered to the many problems that all parliamentarians have to struggle with but just setting forth the problems is a valuable first step.

David Gussow

Ottawa, Ontario


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 20 no 4
1997






Last Updated: 2020-03-03

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish
Sur les rayonsSur les rayons
David Gussow

 Parliament and the People: The Reality and the Public Perception, par Philip Laundy Publié par Ashgate Publishing Company, 1997

Du 24 au 27 février 1995, l’Association parlementaire du Commonwealth a, en collaboration avec Wilton Park, organisateurs de la conférence, parrainé à Wiston House dans le Sussex une conférence sur le thème suivant : «Le Parlement et le peuple : comment améliorer la représentativité, la responsabilité et la légitimité des institutions démocratiques». Dans un ouvrage de référence relativement bref, mais commode, Philip Laundy résume les communications de la conférence ainsi que les discussions auxquelles elles ont donné lieu.

Le livre comprend onze chapitres qui correspondent essentiellement aux thèmes des communications, chacun contenant un résumé de ce que le ou les intervenants avaient à dire. Voilà pour l’essentiel du texte. Dans chaque chapitre, l’auteur résume le débat auquel la communication a donné lieu tout en y allant de ses propres observations incisives. Il présente des conclusions à la fin de chaque chapitre et résume les résultats dans le dernier chapitre.

L’ouvrage contient quatre annexes, dont deux assez volumineuses se rapportent directement à un chapitre. Il s’agit, d’une part, d’un rapport britannique sur les normes dans la vie publique et, d’autre part, du rapport d’un comité canadien sur l’enregistrement des lobbyistes.

C’est un outil de référence où les parlementaires et leurs collaborateurs peuvent se renseigner sur les problèmes associés aux démocraties parlementaires, notamment l’image de marque des parlements et des parlementaires. Divers sujets y sont abordés.

Pour ceux qui veulent en savoir plus long sur l’Association parlementaire du Commonwealth, le chapitre «Enhancing Professionalism Through the Work of Parliamentary Associations» contient une excellente description de son rôle.

Le chapitre 6, «Ensuring Ethical Standards in Public Life», va droit au cœur du thème de la conférence. L’auteur de la communication a fait partie du comité Nolan que le premier ministre britannique a établi en 1994 et qui a publié son premier rapport après la conférence en mai 1995. (Le texte intégral se trouve à l’Annexe I.) Le code d’éthique était un des grands sujets de discussion. Fait intéressant à noter, il n’a pas encore été donné suite au rapport du Comité mixte du Parlement canadien sur un code d’éthique.

Le chapitre intitulé «The Role of Political Parties» porte sur le contrôle que les partis et leurs dirigeants exercent sur les élus. Il s’agit essentiellement d’une comparaison entre le régime parlementaire britannique et le régime présidentiel américain, l’auteur suggérant que la discipline de parti joue un rôle nettement plus grand dans le premier que dans le second. Le relâchement de la discipline de parti ne serait possible que lorsqu’il y a division des pouvoirs entre le législatif et l’exécutif.

Le dernier chapitre dont je veux faire état s’intitule «Direct Democracy: The Way Forward?». Il porte principalement sur les référendums, surtout en Californie et en Nouvelle-Zélande, l’auteur de la communication étant député néo-zélandais. Faisant écho au chapitre sur les partis politiques, l’auteur suggère que, dans le régime parlementaire, les gouvernements en viennent à être considérés comme des dictatures élues. C’est certainement l’impression que pourraient donner les gouvernements majoritaires appuyés sur des partis disciplinés.

J’aurais aimé pour ma part qu’il soit davantage question de la seconde chambre comme moyen d’améliorer la représentativité et la responsabilité des parlements, surtout si ses membres sont élus à la proportionnelle. À l’heure actuelle, on a l’impression que, en cas de gouvernement majoritaire, le public n’a aucun droit de regard représentatif sur l’exécutif entre les élections. Il en serait ainsi au niveau fédéral comme au niveau provincial. Le seul droit de regard représentatif s’exercerait à huis clos au sein du caucus. Des mesures controversées ont été adoptées ces dernières années, notamment la TPS ou l’ALENA au niveau fédéral et des lois sur le financement des municipalités en Ontario et au Québec. Dans ces cas, une seconde chambre composée de membres élus à la proportionnelle aurait à tout le moins changé la perception du public et peut-être aussi la réalité.

Il est toujours amusant de relever des erreurs de fait. J’en ai trouvé une seulement. En parlant de l’Accord de Charlottetown, le projet de modification constitutionnelle soumis à référendum en 1992, l’auteur affirme qu’il a été «rejeté dans presque toutes les provinces» alors qu’il a été accepté dans quatre provinces (dont la plus grosse, l’Ontario). Il s’agit d’un détail mineur dans un livre par ailleurs informatif. Je le recommande aux participants à la conférence qui veulent se rafraîchir la mémoire sur les sujets qui y ont été abordés, à ceux qui auraient voulu y assister mais qui en ont été empêchés et, bien entendu, à tous ceux qui viennent d’apprendre qu’elle a eu lieu. Bien que les participants n’aient pas trouvé de solutions aux nombreux problèmes auxquels sont confrontés tous les parlementaires, le seul fait de définir les problèmes est un bon pas en avant. L’auteur doit en être félicité.

 David Gussow

Ottawa


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 20 no 4
1997






Dernière mise à jour : 2018-07-31