Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
Parliamentary Book ShelfParliamentary Book Shelf
Gary O'Brien

George Bergougnous, Presiding Officers of National Parliamentary Assemblies, (Geneva: Inter-Parliamentary Union, 1997), pp. xiii, 120

The study of the Speakership is important for a number of reasons. If parliamentary procedure is essentially the method by which a legislature’s constitutional responsibilities are discharged, examining the issues presiding officers face, particularly from an historical perspective, helps us trace constitutional and parliamentary development.

It is quite interesting for example to compare Alpheus Todd’s 1840 treatise The Practice and Privileges of the Two Houses of Parliament, where he discusses the incident in Lower Canada in 1827 when the Governor of the province refused to approve Joseph Louis Papineau as Speaker, to W.F. Dawson’s Procedure in the Canadian House of Commons, written in 1962 and shortly after the Pipe-Line Debate where he describes how the Speaker was caught in the middle between the desire of the opposition to have essential information and the clash of unrestricted debate vs. government subservience. These two books give snap-shots of the office at different periods of constitutional development and re-enforce the fact that the Speakership is one that continues to evolve and change as the political system does.

If one wants to take a more behavioural approach, by studying decisions of legislatures, including Speakers’ decisions, we may be studying the value patterns of society. For those looking at the Speakership this way, there is a belief that legislatures generally represent the public psychologically and reflect its goals and attitudes. Certainly, the studies by Allan Kornberg are in this vein. A third reason why it is important is the need to compare. This approach is clearly a learning process, based somewhat on abstract thinking, but it is only by comparing that we can really understand what is relative about institutions like the Speakerships and what may be universal.

It is difficult to study the Speaker from a world-wide perspective. It has been successfully done with Speakers whose legislatures have the same constitutional basis (for example, Philip Laundy’s The Office of Speaker in the Parliaments of the Commonwealth, 1984), but the challenges of trying to assess and make sense of the office taking into consideration the variety of states - industrialized, developing, "closed", "open", big and small - are formidable.

Bergougnous has made an excellent contribution to the literature on the Speaker. It is fitting that the IPU brings this book out, given that its membership comprises nearly 80% of the world’s state organizations. The study is based on the responses received from a 1995 Questionnaire, sent to all of its 135 members.

It focuses on (i) the status of the Speaker, including their term of office, and where they stand within and outside the House (ii) their functions both in terms of administrative and procedural responsibilities; and (iii) the place of the Speaker in the institution.

While it provides useful comparative data on a variety of questions concerning the office, such as the various procedures for electing a Speaker and what roles different Speakers play in organizing Parliament’s work, the book’s strongest points are that it presents various models of presiding officers and concludes with a valuable description of what is basically common in all presiding offices throughout the world.

He reminds us there is (i) the British model whose role is essentially one of arbitrator, (ii) the American model where the Speaker plays an active role in organizing parliamentary life and work (iii) the continental European model which takes a collegiate attitude towards the office and reflects the political groups or parties belonging to the Assembly (iv) the model being followed in the new democracies, particularly in Eastern Europe, which reflects many of the patterns of the continental model but provides for more committed politicians than simply arbitrators of parliamentary life (v) the socialist regime model where the Speaker is not to be a neutral judge but instead an active protagonist in the legislature on behalf of their party and (vi) the model being used in developing countries which are variations of the British and continental models.

Two areas where the book may have been more helpful were first, a more thorough analysis of the sociological aspects of the offices and second, the role for the Speaker in protecting the rights of legislators. The sociological aspects of the office are important since Mr. Bergougnous makes the point that the influence of the Speaker in legislative assemblies throughout the world may be growing. This is due not only to institutional change, but also to the personality of the Speaker. Yet we don’t really have their true portrait here. What are their goals? Do they wish to defend the status quo in parliaments, or are they reformers wishing to improve public esteem towards government institutions? How do they compare demographically, occupationally and ethnically to their colleagues and to their constituents? How do they see their role and who are their reference groups?

The failure of the book to provide these answers is clearly a methodological one since the questionnaire focused largely on the institutional characteristics of the office as opposed to its more normative traits. Likewise, the failure to look closely at the Speakerships from a "rights" based approach is also a methodological one. The book was specifically structured in describing the functions of the Speaker. Undoubtedly, functionalism is useful in studying legislatures - it is after all the approach both Montesquieu and Baghot used - but is only one way to conceptualize an office like the Speaker.

George Bergougnous, who is administrator of the French National Assembly and currently Head of the Legal Department of the French Constitutional Council, and the IPU are to be congratulated for the publication of this valuable book.

 

Gary O’Brien
Principal Clerk, Committees and Private Legislation DirectorateThe Senate


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 20 no 3
1997






Last Updated: 2020-03-03

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish
Sur les rayonsSur les rayons
Gary O'Brien

George Bergougnous, La présidence des assemblées parlementaires nationales, Genève, Union interparlementaire, 1997, xiii- 120 p.

L’étude de la présidence est importante à bien des égards. Dans la mesure où la procédure parlementaire est essentiellement le moyen par lequel une assemblée s’acquitte de ses responsabilités constitutionnelles, l’examen des questions auxquelles font face les présidents, notamment dans une perspective longitudinale ou historique, nous aide à retracer notre histoire constitutionnelle et parlementaire.

Il est intéressant, par exemple, de comparer The Practice and Privileges of the Two Houses of Parliament d’Alpheus Todd (1840) et Procedure in the Canadian House of Commons de W.F. Dawson (1962), étant donné que Todd raconte ce qui s’est passé au Bas-Canada quand le gouverneur rejeta en 1827 la nomination de Louis-Joseph Papineau à la présidence et que Dawson décrit comment, lors du fameux débat sur le pipeline, le président s’est trouvé déchiré entre une opposition désireuse de faire toute la lumière sur la question et un gouvernement déterminé à imposer sa volonté. Ces deux ouvrages donnent un aperçu de la présidence à différentes périodes de son évolution constitutionnelle et font ressortir que c’est une institution qui ne cesse de changer en même temps que le système politique lui-même.

Lorsqu’on choisit plutôt d’examiner les comportements ou les décisions des assemblées et des présidents, on se trouve à étudier l’échelle de valeurs d’une société. Ceux qui envisagent la présidence sous cet angle croient que les assemblées reflètent la psychologie du public ainsi que ses objectifs et ses attitudes. C’est dans cette veine que s’inscrivent de toute évidence les ouvrages d’Allan Kornberg. Un troisième avantage des études sur la présidence, c’est qu’elles permettent de faire des comparaisons. Il s’agit alors d’un processus d’apprentissage un peu abstrait, mais c’est seulement en comparant qu’on peut, dans une institution comme la présidence, faire la part entre le particulier et l’universel.

Il est difficile d’étudier la présidence d’un point de vue mondial. On l’a fait avec succès dans le cas des présidents d’assemblées qui ont la même base constitutionnelle (par exemple, The Office of Speaker in the Parliaments of the Commonwealth de Philip Laundy, 1984), mais les défis que posent l’évaluation et la compréhension de la présidence compte tenu de la diversité des États (industrialisés ou en développement, «fermés » ou « ouverts » , petits ou grands) sont de taille.

Bergougnous apporte une solide contribution à la documentation sur la question. Il est de mise que l’Union interparlementaire publie cet ouvrage puisque ses membres représentent près de 80p.100 des États du monde. L’étude est fondée sur les réponses au questionnaire envoyé aux 135 membres de l’Union en 1995. Elle porte sur a) le statut des présidents, y compris la durée de leur mandat et leur position à l’intérieur et à l’extérieur de l’assemblée; b) leurs fonctions et leurs responsabilités en matière d’administration et de procédure; et c) leur place au sein de l’institution.

Bien qu’elle fournisse des données comparatives utiles sur divers aspects de la présidence, comme la procédure d’élection du président et son rôle dans l’organisation des travaux parlementaires, l’étude a surtout le mérite de présenter divers modèles de présidence et d’offrir à la fin une description précieuse de ce qui est commun à toutes les présidences du monde.

L’auteur nous rappelle qu’il y a a) le modèle britannique, où le président est essentiellement un arbitre; b) le modèle américain, où le président joue un rôle actif dans l’organisation de la vie et des travaux parlementaires; c) le modèle européen, où la présidence est de nature collégiale et reflète les différents groupes ou partis politiques représentés à l’Assemblée; d) le modèle suivi dans les démocraties naissantes, notamment en Europe de l’Est, qui emprunte plusieurs traits au modèle européen, mais où le président tend à être un politicien engagé plutôt qu’un simple arbitre de la vie parlementaire; e) le modèle socialiste, où le président est appelé à être non pas un juge impartial, mais un défenseur des intérêts de son parti au sein de l’assemblée; et f) le modèle en usage dans des pays en développement, qui s’inspire à la fois des modèles britannique et européen.

L’ouvrage aurait dû cependant fournir une analyse plus approfondie des aspects sociologiques de la présidence et du rôle du président dans la protection des droits des législateurs. Les aspects sociologiques de la présidence sont importants puisque M.Bergougnous fait observer que l’influence du président dans les assemblées législatives est probablement en expansion à l’échelle mondiale. Ce changement ne tient pas seulement à l’évolution de la fonction, mais à la personnalité de ses titulaires. Or, l’auteur ne nous brosse pas un vrai portrait des présidents. Quels sont leurs objectifs? Veulent-ils défendre le statu quo parlementaire ou sont-ils des réformateurs cherchant à faire mieux apprécier par le public les institutions gouvernementales? Comment se comparent-ils sur les plans démographique, professionnel et ethnique à leurs collègues et à leurs commettants? Comment envisagent-ils leur rôle et qui sont leurs groupes de référence?

Si l’étude laisse ces questions sans réponse, c’est pour des raisons méthodologiques puisque le questionnaire portait surtout sur les caractéristiques institutionnelles de la fonction plutôt que sur ses traits plus normatifs. C’est également la méthodologie qui explique que l’auteur n’examine pas de près les présidences du point de vue de la défense des droits des parlementaires. L’auteur cherchait expressément à décrire les fonctions de la présidence. Sans aucun doute, le fonctionnalisme est utile dans l’étude des assemblées -- après tout, c’est la méthode de Montesquieu et de Baghot --, mais ce n’est qu’une des façons de conceptualiser une institution comme la présidence.

Il convient de féliciter George Bergougnous, administrateur de l’Assemblée nationale française et chef du Contentieux du Conseil constitutionnel français, ainsi que l’Union interparlementaire pour avoir publié un ouvrage aussi précieux.

Gary O’Brien

Greffier principal

Direction des comités et de la législation privée

Le Sénat


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 20 no 3
1997






Dernière mise à jour : 2018-07-31