Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
Speaker's Ruling
Robert Bruce

Recognition of Official Opposition: Speaker Robert Bruce, Yukon Legislative Assembly, December 9, 1996

Background: In the last election two opposition parties, the Yukon Party and the Liberal Party had an equal number of seats. On December 5, 1996, the member for Riverside, Jack Cable, raised the question of who should be the Official Opposition in the House. The member for Porter Creek North, John Ostashek, also spoke on this issue. In making his decision the Speaker relied upon the Standing Orders of the Yukon Legislative Assembly, the precedents of the Yukon Legislative Assembly, the relevant Yukon Statutes, and the precedents of the House of Commons of Canada.

The reason for using the precedents of the House of Commons is that Standing Order 1 of the Yukon Legislative Assembly states: "In all cases not provided for in these Standing Orders or by sessional or other orders, the practices and procedures of the House of Commons of Canada, as in force at the time, shall be followed, so far as they may apply to this Assembly."

 

The Ruling (Speaker Robert Bruce): The first basic issue to be addressed is whether there is a requirement that an Official Opposition be recognized in this House. The Yukon Legislative Assembly has given recognition to either the Official Opposition or the Leader of the Official Opposition in several places in the Standing Orders and in the Legislative Assembly Act. The Chair, therefore, must assume that the Assembly intends that there should be an Official Opposition. This is backed by Speaker Parent of the House of Commons in a ruling he made on February 27, 1996. Speaker Parent said:

The position of Leader of the Official Opposition is firmly anchored in our parliamentary system of government through practice and the implementation of various statutes and rules of procedure. The importance of the Official Opposition and its leader has been commented on both in Canada and in other countries with Westminster style Parliaments for well over a century.1

The second basic issue is who makes the decision as to who the Official Opposition will be. There seems to be no disagreement that this is the responsibility of the Speaker. Both the Member for Riverside and the Member for Porter Creek North indicated they felt the Speaker should make the decision. Also, again referring to the Speaker Parent decision:

The designation of the official opposition has never been decided on the floor of the House of Commons. As Speaker, I am entrusted with the responsibility of ensuring the orderly conduct of business in the House. To do so, I must now determine, in light of the tie situation and the point of order raised, which party shall form the official opposition.2

The Member for Riverside did qualify his remarks by saying that the House was not required to leave the matter up to the Speaker. He quite correctly said that the House could either deal with the matter directly or refer it to a committee such as the Standing Committee on Rules, Elections and Privileges. However, he also said that the Speaker had the option to follow the 1963 precedent of the House of Commons and to refer the matter, on his own initiative, to the Standing Committee on Rules, Elections and Privileges. This is a misinterpretation of the 1963 precedent as it is only the House itself that can make such a reference. Speaker Macnaughton, the Speaker of the House of Commons at that time, did suggest that a certain matter be referred to a committee but that reference did not occur until the House passed a motion to that effect.

The Member for Riverside asked that consideration be given to setting up a rotation of Official Opposition status between the Liberal Party Caucus and the Yukon Party Caucus. He went on to suggest that the Speaker should broker a rotational arrangement between the two caucuses.

The Chair would agree to respect an arrangement made between the two caucuses but it would be up to the two caucuses themselves to come to an agreement. It would not be appropriate for the Chair to take an active role in negotiations between the caucuses. During the time that the Member for Riverside and the Member for Porter Creek North were discussing the point of order on December 5, the Chair did not hear either member indicate that they had reached or were working to reach an agreement on rotating Official Opposition status.

To repeat, if the two opposition caucuses make some kind of arrangement that does not violate any rules of the House, the Chair will respect that arrangement. However, no member should expect that the Chair will take on the role of a negotiator.

The result is that the Chair must select one of the opposition caucuses as the Official Opposition. The problem which arises is that there are few criteria for making such a decision. The standard deciding factor, of course, is the number of seats; however, here both parties in opposition have the same number of seats. Another factor sometimes relied on is party status. Members who were elected as nominees of a registered political party are more likely to receive official opposition status than a group of independents. In this case, both the Yukon Party Caucus and the Liberal Party Caucus are equal.

Assessments of party policies cannot be used to make this decision. Speaker Parent of the House of Commons was very clear on this point when asked to select the Reform Party over the Bloc Québécois as the Official Opposition in the House of Commons.

Popular vote has been suggested by some as being a logical factor for the Chair to consider. It has been rejected by most Speakers required to make rulings similar to this one. For example, Speaker Parent quoted Speaker Dysart of New Brunswick. On December 16, 1994, she said:

Basing a decision on factors outside Parliament opens the door or invites future decisions with no basis in parliamentary precedents or practice. With the one noted exception, the Official Opposition has been determined by the number of seats held by the party, not by the popular vote.3

The exception was a decision of Speaker Amerongen in Alberta in 1983 when, immediately following a general election, he paid some heed to popular vote in making a decision about who would be the Official Opposition. Although popular vote has been rejected as a factor in every Speaker’s decision after 1983, there are some who say it may have its place.

But popular vote is limited at best to the start of a legislature following a general election and then only as a supplemental factor. That is, if two or more parties are tied in standing, the Speaker may turn to the popular vote as the tie-breaker.4

The Chair cannot take popular vote into account because the direction to the Chair is that, in the absence of Yukon rules or precedents, direction should be taken from House of Commons practices and precedents. If the House wishes to develop any guidelines for future Speakers to follow in similar situations it might give consideration to whether, as a last resort, popular vote could be considered as a deciding factor when a decision is required immediately following a general election.

There are a number of other factors which have been suggested for the Chair to consider including the gender of the members in each caucus, the mixture of rural and urban members and the presence or absence of leaders of registered political parties in the opposition caucuses. These kinds of factors cannot be relied upon by the Chair because their use would mean making political judgments about the qualities of various members and that would endanger the impartial position of the Chair.

In many other jurisdictions, including the House of Commons, incumbency has been a key factor in Speakers’ decisions. The difficulty in applying it to the situation now before the Yukon Legislative Assembly is that these precedents are not totally comparable. They deal with situations in which a party with Official Opposition status falls into a tie with another party during the lifetime of a Parliament or Legislature.

In the Yukon Legislative Assembly today, there is one opposition party caucus which, prior to the election, formed the government. There is another opposition party caucus which, prior to the election, was a third party in the House. Neither are incumbents as the Official Opposition.

The Chair, then, has determined to make a decision in this matter which reflects the spirit and intent of the House of Commons’ reliance on incumbency as a deciding factor. It is the Chair’s judgment that that spirit and intent is best satisfied by selecting an opposition party caucus which formed the government prior to an election to be the Official Opposition over an opposition party caucus that was a third party in the House prior to the election. That means that the Yukon Party Caucus will be the Official Opposition and that the Member for Porter Creek North will be the Leader of the Official Opposition. This decision is made in respect to the proceedings in this Chamber. Decisions on matters such as caucus funding and space allocation are made in another forum.

The Chair wishes the House to recognize that, although the Yukon Party Caucus is now recognized as the Official Opposition, it still must be kept in mind that there are two caucuses in opposition with three members apiece. The Chair will ensure that both opposition caucuses and all members in both opposition caucuses are treated appropriately in such matters as order of speaking. As an example, during Question Period, the Leader of the Official Opposition will continue to be given the first two questions each day but the Leader of the Third Party will now be given the next two questions rather than just one.

The Chair urges the House to give consideration to certain Standing Orders which clearly do not reflect the current makeup of the House. In particular, Standing Order 14.2 must be reviewed and amended to ensure that both opposition caucuses receive equitable treatment on private members’ day.

 

Notes

1. House of Commons, Debates, February 27, 1996.

2. Ibid.

3. New Brunswick Legislative Assembly, Debates, December 16, 1994.

4. Professor Stewart Hyson, "Determining the Official Opposition in New Brunswick and the House of Commons," Canadian Parliamentary Review, vol. 19 (Autumn 1996) p. 2-6.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 20 no 1
1997






Last Updated: 2019-11-29

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish
Décision d’un président
Robert Bruce

Égalité dans l’opposition, Président Robert Bruce, Assemblée législative du Yukon, le 9 décembre 1996.

Contexte : Aux dernières élections générales, deux partis d’opposition, le Parti du Yukon et le Parti libéral, ont remporté un nombre égal de sièges. Le 5 décembre 1996, le député de Riverside, (Jack Cable), a demandé lequel des deux partis allait former l’opposition officielle à la Chambre. Le député de Porter Creek-Nord, (John Ostashek), est également intervenu à ce sujet. En rendant sa décision, la présidence s’est référée au Règlement de l’Assemblée législative du Yukon, aux précédents de l’Assemblée législative du Yukon, à la législation du Yukon et aux précédents de la Chambre des communes du Canada.

Si elle s’est référée aux précédents de la Chambre des communes, c’est que l’article 1 du Règlement de l’Assemblée législative du Yukon prévoit que, dans les cas non prévus par le Règlement ou par des ordres sessionnels ou autres, les pratiques et les procédures de la Chambre des communes du Canada s’appliquent dans la mesure du possible.

Décision du Président Robert Bruce : La première question est de savoir s’il faut une opposition officielle à l’Assemblée législative du Yukon. Or, comme il est souvent fait mention de l’opposition officielle ou du chef de l’opposition officielle dans le Règlement et dans la Loi sur l’Assemblée législative, la présidence doit supposer que l’Assemblée entend qu’il y ait une opposition officielle. Le Président Parent de la Chambre des communes abonde dans ce sens dans la décision qu’il a rendue le 27 février 1996 :

« Le poste de chef de l’opposition officielle est fermement ancré dans notre régime parlementaire par la coutume et la mise en œuvre de divers statuts et règles de procédure. L’importance de l’opposition officielle et de son chef est bien mise en évidence au Canada et à l’étranger par l’existence plus que centenaire de parlements à la Westminster »1.

La deuxième question est de savoir quel parti formera l’opposition officielle. Personne ne semble contester que cette décision relève de la présidence. Les députés de Riverside et de Porter Creek-Nord ont tous deux déclaré que la décision incombait à la Présidence. Permettez-moi de citer à nouveau le Président Parent:

« La désignation de l’opposition officielle n’a jamais été faite sur le parquet de la Chambre des communes. À titre de Président, il est de mon devoir d’assurer la bonne conduite des travaux à la Chambre. À cet effet, je me dois, à la lumière des circonstances et du rappel au Règlement, de déterminer maintenant quel parti doit être appelé à former l’opposition officielle »2.

Le député de Riverside a nuancé sa position en soutenant que la Chambre n’était pas tenue de soumettre la question à la Présidence. Il a déclaré avec raison que la Chambre pouvait régler la question directement ou la renvoyer à un comité comme le Comité permanent du Règlement, des élections et des privilèges. Il a cependant ajouté que la Présidence pouvait elle-même, en vertu du précédent établi à la Chambre des communes en 1963, renvoyer la question au Comité permanent du Règlement, des élections et des privilèges. Or, il s’agit là d’une mauvaise interprétation du précédent de 1963, puisque seule la Chambre est habilitée à faire un tel renvoi. Le Président de la Chambre des communes à l’époque, M. Macnaughton, a indiqué qu’une certaine question pouvait être renvoyée à un comité, mais qu’il fallait que la Chambre adopte une motion en ce sens.

Le député de Riverside a demandé qu’on envisage la possibilité de faire alterner la fonction d’opposition officielle entre le Parti libéral et le Parti du Yukon. Il a proposé que la présidence aide les deux partis à conclure un accord d’alternance.

La présidence respecterait un accord intervenu entre les deux partis, mais il faudrait qu’ils s’entendent entre eux, la présidence ne devant pas jouer un rôle actif dans les négociations entre deux partis. Lorsque les députés de Riverside et de Porter Creek-Nord discutaient du rappel au Règlement le 5 décembre, la présidence n’a entendu ni l’un ni l’autre dire qu’ils avaient conclu ou qu’ils cherchaient à conclure un accord d’alternance à la fonction d’opposition officielle.

Je répète, si les deux partis d’opposition concluaient un accord qui ne viole pas le Règlement de la Chambre, la présidence le respecterait. Cependant, personne ne doit s’attendre à ce que la présidence joue le rôle de négociateur.

La présidence doit donc choisir comme opposition officielle l’un des partis d’opposition. L’ennui, c’est qu’il y a peu de critères susceptibles de la guider dans ce choix. Il y a bien le critère classique du nombre de sièges, mais les deux partis d’opposition sont à égalité. On invoque aussi parfois le statut de parti : les députés qui sont élus comme candidats d’un parti politique enregistré ont plus de chances d’obtenir le statut d’opposition officielle qu’un groupe de députés indépendants. Or, à cet égard, il n’y a pas de différence entre le Parti du Yukon et le Parti libéral.

Le programme politique des deux partis ne saurait non plus servir de critère. Le Président Parent de la Chambre des communes a été très clair à ce sujet lorsqu’on lui a demandé de choisir le Parti réformiste plutôt que le Bloc québécois comme opposition officielle à la Chambre des communes.

Certains estiment qu’il serait logique que la présidence prenne pour critère les suffrages exprimés. Or, ce critère a été rejeté par la plupart des Présidents appelés à prendre une décision semblable. Par exemple, le Président Parent a cité ce que la Présidente Dysart du Nouveau-Brunswick a déclaré le 16 décembre 1994 :

« Fonder une décision sur des facteurs extérieurs au Parlement, c’est ouvrir la voie ou faire une invite à des décisions futures qui ne trouvent pas leur fondement dans les précédents ni la coutume parlementaires. Sauf pour une exception célèbre, l’opposition officielle dépend du nombre de sièges détenus par un parti et non du vote populaire que celui-ci a obtenu ».3

L’exception en question, c’est la décision rendue par le Président Amerongen en Alberta en 1983 lorsque, tout de suite après des élections générales, il s’en est remis aux suffrages exprimés pour décider quel parti formerait l’opposition officielle. Bien que les suffrages exprimés aient été rejetés comme critère dans toutes les décisions rendues depuis, il y en a qui prêtent à ce critère une certaine validité.

Mais [les suffrages exprimés ne peuvent] être pris en considération, au mieux, qu’au début d’une législature, après des élections générales et uniquement comme facteur supplémentaire. Si deux partis ou plus se retrouvaient à égalité, le Président pourrait considérer les suffrages exprimés pour départager les partis.4

La présidence ne peut donc pas prendre en compte les suffrages exprimés parce que, en l’absence de règles ou de précédents yukonnais, le Règlement stipule qu’elle doit se référer aux pratiques et aux précédents de la Chambre des communes. Si la Chambre décidait d’élaborer des lignes directrices susceptibles de guider les Présidents futurs dans des situations semblables, elle pourrait envisager la possibilité que les suffrages exprimés puissent, en dernier recours, servir de critère lorsqu’il s’agit de prendre une décision tout de suite après des élections générales.

On a proposé divers autres critères comme le rapport, au sein de chaque caucus, entre les hommes et les femmes ou entre les députés ruraux et urbains, ou la présence ou l’absence du chef à l’Assemblée. La présidence ne peut pas s’en remettre à des critères de ce genre parce qu’elle serait alors obligée de porter des jugements politiques sur les qualités des divers députés, ce qui compromettrait son impartialité.

Dans beaucoup d’assemblées, y compris la Chambre des communes, l’antériorité a joué un rôle clé dans les décisions de la présidence. L’application de ce critère à notre situation est malaisée parce que ces précédents ne sont pas parfaitement applicables. Ils se rapportent à des situations où un parti ayant le statut d’opposition officielle finit par se trouver à égalité avec un autre parti pendant une même législature.

À l’Assemblée législative du Yukon, il y a actuellement un parti d’opposition qui, avant les élections, formait le gouvernement tandis que l’autre parti d’opposition était, toujours avant les élections, le troisième parti à la Chambre. Ni l’un ni l’autre ne formaient l’opposition officielle.

La présidence a donc choisi de se conformer à l’esprit et à l’intention qui animent la Chambre des communes lorsqu’elle s’en remet au critère de l’antériorité. C’est pourquoi elle accorde le statut d’opposition officielle au parti d’opposition qui formait le gouvernement avant les élections plutôt qu’au parti d’opposition qui était le troisième parti à la Chambre avant les élections. Il s’ensuit que le Parti du Yukon sera l’opposition officielle et que le député de Porter Creek-Nord sera le chef de l’opposition officielle. Cette décision vaut pour ce qui se passe dans cette Chambre. Les décisions relatives aux budgets et à l’attribution des locaux relèvent d’une autre instance.

Bien que le Parti du Yukon soit dorénavant l’opposition officielle, la présidence demande à la Chambre de toujours se rappeler qu’il y a deux partis d’opposition comptant chacun trois députés. La présidence veillera à ce que les deux partis d’opposition et tous leurs membres soient traités comme il convient par rapport à des questions comme l’ordre de parole. Par exemple, pendant la période de questions, le chef de l’opposition officielle pourra continuer chaque jour de poser les deux premières questions, mais le chef du troisième parti pourra dorénavant tout de suite après en poser deux plutôt qu’une seule.

La Présidence engage la Chambre à se pencher sur les articles du Règlement qui ne cadrent manifestement pas avec la composition actuelle de la Chambre. Il faut, en particulier, réviser l’article 14.2 pour s’assurer que les deux caucus d’opposition bénéficient d’un traitement équitable les jours réservés aux affaires émanant des députés.

Notes

1. Chambre des communes, Débats, 27 février 1996.

2. Ibid.

3. Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick, Débats, 16 décembre 1994.

4. Professeur Stewart Hyson, « Désignation de l’opposition officielle au Nouveau-Brunswick et à la Chambre des communes», Revue parlementaire canadienne, vol. 19, automne 1996, pp. 2-6.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 20 no 1
1997






Dernière mise à jour : 2019-10-21