Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
LEGISINFO A Single Window on Legislation Before Parliament
Peter Niemczak; Katie Hobbins

Peter Niemczak, from the Parliamentary Research Branch, and Katie Hobbins, from the Information and Documentation Branch, were members of the team that developed LEGISINFO. The team currently includes Peter Niemczak, Karen Nordrum, Janet Brooks, Denis Fournier, Megan Furi, Catherine Green, Robert LeRiche, Hélène Platt and Gilles Villeneuve.

As more parliamentary information, including Hansard and the full text of bills, went onto the internet during the 1990s, it became increasingly difficult to find basic information about what was happening in Parliament. To meet this problem the Library of Parliament has developed a web based tool that is now available to everyone on the Parliamentary Internet Site. The development and implementation of this tool, known as LEGISINFO, is described in the following article.

Before LEGISINFO, research on legislation before Parliament was a frustrating and time-consuming process.  The problem was not a lack of data; on the contrary, much relevant information could be identified.  The text of bills, government news releases and backgrounders, legislative summaries and histories, and important speeches on bills – all these existed, in print or electronic formats or both.  The problem was that they were dispersed across a large number of locations.  There was no single, user-friendly directory or compilation that brought together all the data relating to a particular bill.

For example, a simple inquiry about a bill’s status, might be of interest to a lawyer, academic, politician, public interest group, policy maker, and many others.  People wishing to obtain up-to-date information could pay a private legal enterprise to research the matter; or they could visit the Parliamentary Internet site and read the Status of House Business to track the bill’s progress in the House of Commons, following this with a review of the Progress of Legislation to determine the status of the bill as it passed through the Senate.  If they found that the bill had received Royal Assent, further research would be required in the Canada Gazette, Part II, to determine whether the Act had yet come into force.

Several groups, including the Library of Parliament, the Law Clerk of the Senate and various private enterprises, had tried at one time or another to create products or services that would provide a single point of access to information about federal legislation.  While many of these had merit, none was entirely satisfactory. Some were not comprehensive enough to support detailed research; others involved a fee-for-service arrangement or had been discontinued.

The Proposal

By early 2000, the requirement for a single window on federal legislation currently before  Parliament was widely recognized.   One of the organizations that stood to benefit most from such a product was the Library of Parliament, which provides information and research services to federal politicians responsible for creating, reviewing, amending and approving that legislation.  It was evident to Library staff that the creation of a unified point of access to various sources of available information would enable the Library to provide better service to its parliamentary clients and would also reduce staff time spent on researching and retrieving documentation.

In late 2000, discussions between two areas of the Library – the Parliamentary Research Branch and the Information and Documentation Branch – led to the development of a proposal for the future LEGISINFO.  Based on consultations among staff and input from the Library’s clients, as well as research into other systems and feedback from technical advisors, the proposal outlined a Web-based application that would meet key criteria.  It had to be user-friendly, bilingual, cost-effective, and capable of being easily updated on a day-to-day basis.  The proposal called for a multi-phased release of the application, beginning with Library personnel and later expanding to parliamentarians and eventually to the general public.  Senior management at the Library approved the concept in early 2001, and work began on developing a test version.

From Concept to Test Version

To make the application as user-friendly as possible, the development team decided to model the new application on the design of the existing “Bills” page of the Parliamentary Internet site.  This would give the Library’s current clients a familiar and simple navigation menu, and would not require them to learn new terminology or a different system of categorization.

The Bills menu allows users directly to choose the category of bill they are looking for: a bill introduced in the Senate, or in the House of Commons; by a member of the Government, or by a private Member; in the current session of Parliament, or a previous session. Once the user makes that initial choice, he or she is presented with a list of bills within the chosen category.  When the user selects a particular bill, LEGISINFO shows a list of links to all the available and relevant information, including:

  • the text of the bill, as originally introduced and as amended during its progress through both Houses;
  • its current status; major speeches in Parliament about the bill;
  • the actual or expected date of its coming into force;
  • departmental material (news releases and backgrounders);
  • the legislative summary prepared by the Library of Parliament;
  • suggestions for related reading; and more.

In other words, the user has access in two clicks to a single, comprehensive and up-to-date source of information.  Users also have the option of using a simple search engine to search for a specific bill by number or title.

In terms of visual design, the development team wanted to ensure a simple and uniform “look and feel” throughout LEGISINFO.  The layout of the pages and the organization of the data were made consistent, both within the application itself and with other pages of the Parliamentary Internet.  This approach helps to streamline navigation so that users can quickly locate the information they require.

In order to be truly effective, LEGISINFO would require constant – even daily – updating, so that the information it provided would be current and reliable.  At the same time, it was important to keep the ongoing workload to a minimum.  For these reasons, LEGISINFO was designed around a database, as opposed to using HTML format.  The database design allows the team to make changes to the information whenever required without having to manually update HTML and republish the revised documents.  In addition, the team took advantage of as many opportunities as possible to automate functions in the application.  This approach enables the Library to control not only the workload involved in maintaining LEGISINFO, but also the costs.

By April 2001, Library staff had modified and populated an existing database to create a test version of the application. LEGISINFO was ready for its first on-line evaluation.

Launch and Expansion

LEGISINFO was officially launched internally by the Library on May 22, 2001.  The response was very positive; both the Library’s researchers and reference staff appreciated the fact that LEGISINFO was easy to use and regularly updated.  As increasing numbers of staff began to use the application, the Library’s parliamentary clients became aware of the product and began to request access to it.  When the requests had grown from occasional queries to a sustained chorus, the development team decided it was time to offer LEGISINFO directly to all the Library’s clients on Parliament Hill, via the wider Parliamentary Intranet.

In the fall of 2001, the LEGISINFO coordinators met with representatives of the Senate and the House of Commons to discuss the idea of making LEGISINFO available throughout the Parliamentary Precinct.  To assist them in reviewing the product, they were given access to a test version for three weeks.  The feedback from representatives of both Houses included suggestions for minor improvements, which the development team found very valuable.

One aspect of LEGISINFO that benefited notably from these suggestions was the section on Major Speeches.  Originally, this section contained only the speeches of a bill’s sponsors and those of the opposition critic.  In light of comments from parliamentary users, it was decided to extend this section by adding links to speeches made during second reading by representatives of the other political parties.  This was a labour-intensive revision, but it added significantly to the usefulness of the product.  At the same time, the development team added links to news releases posted on the Web sites of all five major political parties.

The most frequently asked question became, “When will this service be available to the public?”

Once these changes had been implemented on a test server and approved by the Library, the Senate and the House of Commons, LEGISINFO was set to move to the Parliamentary Intranet.  Its official launch at this wider level took place on February 18, 2002.  New users were alerted and oriented through electronic mail, a printed brochure and drop-in training sessions.  The product rapidly became a popular destination for parliamentary users, and with its success came new pressures for its wider accessibility.

Moving to the Internet

The next step in LEGISINFO’s development thus became its move to the publicly accessible Parliamentary Internet site.  After monitoring and reviewing the application’s operation over a six-month period, the Library decided in late 2002 that the product had been sufficiently tested and fine-tuned and was suitable for public use.

Certain operational issues, however, needed to be addressed before LEGISINFO could move to the Internet.  One of these concerned a media monitoring service that the Library provides to clients in the Parliamentary Precinct.  On the Parliamentary Intranet, that service is accessible via a link from LEGISINFO.  It could not be put on the public Parliamentary Internet site, however, because the newsfeeds are obtained from  private-sector publishers and are licensed for distribution to a specified group of users.  In order to continue providing parliamentarians and their staff with this service, the Library decided to create two versions of LEGISINFO: an enhanced version for users of the Parliamentary Intranet, and a modified version (without some options such as the media monitoring service) that would be made publicly available on the Internet.

Some aspects of LEGISINFO’s content were also modified to make the product more useful to the general public.  Given that many of the application’s new users would be unfamiliar with both LEGISINFO in particular and the legislative process in general, the development team believed it essential to add a Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) component to the public version.  The FAQ document was created to address the needs of the non-expert user and provides answers to questions such as “How do I use the Search function?” and “What are the Journals?”  To ensure that the material would be accurate and informative without being too technical, the development team collaborated with procedural experts in the Senate and the House of Commons in preparing the questions and answers.

After a four-week trial run on the Parliamentary Internet site, LEGISINFO had its public launch on February 11, 2003.  The public reaction was gratifying: the number of users, along with the positive comments, far exceeded the team’s expectations both during the first week and beyond.  LEGISINFO is now one of the most popular pages on the Parliamentary Internet site.

Lessons Learned

Quite aside from LEGISINFO’s value as a research tool to countless users across Canada and elsewhere, its creation and fine-tuning have been an education in product development at the Library of Parliament.

One key aspect of the product’s development was the effective use of in-house resources. Given that the Library  already had staff who could provide the skills required for the project – research capabilities; experience in Web creation and management; in-depth knowledge of relevant information resources; database expertise – the LEGISINFO team decided to use those resources rather than hiring or purchasing from outside.  This approach resulted not only in reduced costs but also in a collaborative attitude that brought together employees from two different branches in a successful cross-disciplinary effort.  The project’s success has enabled the Library to strengthen its internal relations as well as serve a wider external public.

Another key aspect was the need to ensure that LEGISINFO would be a low-maintenance application.  Although the Library planned to create and implement a significant new product, it did not wish to hire additional staff to provide ongoing maintenance.  Thanks to its largely automated functions, LEGISINFO does not constitute the full-time job of any member of the coordinating team. It can be run smoothly with an average effort of no more than a few hours per week for any of the individuals involved.

The phased implementation process used to develop and launch LEGISINFO on the three progressively more accessible sites was another important contributor to the project’s success.  It allowed the development team, managers and stakeholders to assess the application thoroughly at each step, and to test each recommended modification prior to implementation.  This incremental approach made for a higher-quality product and more satisfied users.

Looking Ahead

Success generates further enthusiasm and new goals.  The project’s future is still expanding.  LEGISINFO can and will continue to evolve to meet the needs of its growing numbers of clients.   Suggestions from users for new areas for development include the following: 

  • a list of bills due for debate in the House of Commons and the Senate;
  • a single Web page showing where every bill stands in the legislative process;
  • tables showing the number of days that each bill has been debated;
  • statistical data on the number of bills approved by Parliament;
  • statistical data on the coming into force of Acts;
  • a list of committees of the House of Commons and the Senate, detailing the bills they have studied and the current status of those bills;
  • lists of various categories of bills, organized by sponsor;
  • information on the status of private Members’ bills in the House of Commons and the Senate;
  • a publicly accessible e-mail link to the LEGISINFO coordinators.

The LEGISINFO team also has ideas for expanding the application, when additional resources can be made available.  These include: 

  • a list of bills organized by subject;
  • a link to the explanatory notes provided in many bills;
  • links to the time allocation and closure motions relating to a specific bill;
  • a list of the Acts affected by a specific bill, with a further link to the Department of Justice Web site for each statute;
  • a system for tracking and archiving information on motions (including report stage motions and special motions concerning the business of the Senate or House of Commons) related to specific bills;
  • an automated e-mail notification system that would let subscribers know each time LEGISINFO is updated with respect to a specific bill in which they are interested.

If many of the new features outlined above were added to LEGISINFO, this application would be positioned as a comprehensive legislative information source similar to Thomas (http://thomas.loc.gov/) at the U.S. Library of Congress.  Some of the proposed additions could be made fairly easily.  Others, however, have significant resource implications.  The suggested publicly accessible e-mail link to the LEGISINFO coordinators, for example, might result in a torrent of questions and comments that could divert resources away from other tasks.  The LEGISINFO team will set priorities in light of input from the Library’s management, users and stakeholders, and determine how the various additions would fit into the LEGISINFO framework.

Although LEGISINFO started out as a small project with limited resources, it has developed into a significant and popular research tool for a wide range of users.1  At the same time, it is a model for successful cross-disciplinary cooperation and team-based action.

Notes

1. On November 3, 2003 LEGISINFO received an honorary mention for the 2003 Agatha Bystram Award for leadership in information management. This is an award presented annually by the Council of Federal Libraries.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 27 no 1
2004






Last Updated: 2018-07-31

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
LEGISINFO : un guichet unique pour la recherche sur les projets de loi étudiés par le Parlement
Peter Niemczak; Katie Hobbins

Peter Niemczak fait partie de la Direction de la recherche parlementaire et a été membre de l’équipe qui a mis au point LEGISINFO et Katie Hobbins, de la Direction de l’information et de la documentation, ont fait partie de l'équipe qui a mis sur pied LEGISINFO.  L'équipe comprend actuellement de Peter Niemczak, Karen Nordrum, Janet Brooks, Denis Fournier, Megan Furi, Catherine Green, Robert LeRiche, Hélène Platt et Gilles Villeneuve.

Dans les années 1990, au fur et à mesure qu’augmentait la documentation parlementaire présentée sous forme électronique et sur Internet, y compris le hansard et le texte intégral des projets de loi, il devenait de plus en plus difficile de trouver des renseignements de base sur les travaux du Parlement. Afin de résoudre ce problème, la Bibliothèque du Parlement a élaboré un outil Web que peut maintenant utiliser quiconque navigue sur le site Internet parlementaire. L’article qui suit décrit l’élaboration et la mise en œuvre de cet instrument, appelé LEGISINFO.

Avant l’existence de LEGISINFO , la recherche sur les projets de loi examinés par le Parlement exigeait beaucoup de temps et causait maintes frustrations. Le problème ne résidait pas dans le manque de données; au contraire, on pouvait trouver de nombreux renseignements pertinents. Le texte des projets de loi, les communiqués de presse et les documents d’information du gouvernement, les historiques et les résumés législatifs ainsi que les discours importants, tout cela existait sous forme imprimée et/ou électronique. Le problème tenait plutôt à l’éparpillement des renseignements en une multitude d’endroits. Il n’existait ni répertoire ni compilation unique et facile à consulter de toutes les données sur un projet de loi particulier.

Prenons, par exemple, une simple demande de renseignement au sujet du stade franchi par un projet de loi — renseignement qui pouvait intéresser un avocat, un universitaire, un politicien, un groupe de défense de l’intérêt public, un décideur et de nombreuses autres personnes. On pouvait, d’une part, engager une entreprise juridique du secteur privé pour obtenir de l’information à jour; on pouvait également visiter le site Internet parlementaire et lire l’État des travaux de la Chambre afin de suivre le projet de loi à la Chambre des communes, puis examiner le Progrès de la législation afin de le suivre au Sénat. Si l’on apprenait que le projet de loi avait reçu la sanction royale, il fallait encore consulter la partie II de la Gazette du Canada afin de déterminer si la loi était entrée en vigueur.

Plusieurs entités, entre autres la Bibliothèque du Parlement, le légiste du Sénat et diverses entreprises privées, avaient tenté, à un moment ou à un autre, de créer des produits ou services offrant un seul point d’accès à l’information sur la législation fédérale. Bon nombre de ces produits présentaient des avantages, mais aucun n’était entièrement satisfaisant. Certains n’étaient pas suffisamment complets pour permettre une recherche exhaustive, alors que d’autres nécessitaient un paiement pour les services fournis ou avaient été supprimés.

Conception de la proposition

Au début de 2000, on reconnaissait largement la nécessité d’un guichet unique pour les textes de loi fédéraux à l’étude devant le Parlement. L’une des entités qui avait le plus à gagner d’un tel produit était la Bibliothèque du Parlement, qui fournit de l’information et des services de recherche aux politiciens fédéraux qui élaborent, examinent, modifient et approuvent ces textes de loi. Il était évident pour le personnel de la Bibliothèque que la création d’un point unique d’accès aux différentes sources de renseignements disponibles permettrait à la Bibliothèque d’offrir un meilleur service à ses clients parlementaires, tout en réduisant le temps consacré par ses employés à chercher et à extraire de la documentation.

À la fin de 2000, des discussions entre deux secteurs de la Bibliothèque du Parlement — la Direction de la recherche parlementaire et la Direction de l’information et de la documentation — ont mené à l’élaboration d’une proposition sur le futur LEGISINFO . Par suite de consultations au sein du personnel et de commentaires de clients, outre des recherches dans d’autres systèmes et des remarques de conseillers techniques, on a décrit une application Web répondant à des critères clés. Elle devait être conviviale, bilingue, économique et susceptible d’être mise à jour facilement sur une base quotidienne. La proposition prévoyait une mise en exploitation en plusieurs étapes, d’abord à l’intention du personnel de la Bibliothèque, puis des parlementaires et, enfin, du grand public. La haute direction de la Bibliothèque a approuvé le concept au début de 2001 et les travaux ont débuté en vue du développement d’une version d’essai.

Du concept à la version d’essai

Afin de rendre l’application aussi conviviale que possible, l’équipe de développement a décidé de s’inspirer de la configuration de la page existante des « projets de loi » sur le site Internet parlementaire. De cette façon, les clients de la Bibliothèque retrouveraient un menu de navigation simple et familier et n’auraient pas à apprendre une nouvelle terminologie ou un système de catégorisation différent.

Le menu permet à l’utilisateur de choisir directement le type de projet de loi qu’il recherche : un projet de loi présenté au Sénat ou à la Chambre des communes; par un membre du gouvernement ou par un député; au cours de la session actuelle ou d’une session précédente. Après avoir fait son choix initial, l’utilisateur se voit offrir une liste des projets de loi dans la catégorie en question. Lorsque son choix s’est arrêté sur un projet de loi particulier, LEGISINFO lui fait voir une liste des liens vers toutes les sources disponibles et pertinentes, notamment :

  • le libellé du projet de loi tel qu’il a été présenté et amendé au cours de sa progression dans les deux chambres;
  • l’étape où il en est;
  • les principaux discours au Parlement à son sujet;
  • la date réelle ou prévue de son entrée en vigueur;
  • la documentation ministérielle (les communiqués de presse et les documents d’information);
  • le résumé législatif préparé par la Bibliothèque du Parlement;
  • des suggestions de lectures connexes;
  • d’autres éléments d’information.

Autrement dit, l’utilisateur accède en deux clics à une source d’information unique, exhaustive et à jour. Il peut aussi utiliser un moteur de recherche simple afin de retrouver un projet de loi au moyen de son numéro ou de son titre.

Sur le plan visuel, l’équipe de développement voulait une présentation simple et uniforme dans l’ensemble de LEGISINFO . La mise en page et l’organisation des données obéissent à une démarche cohérente, tant au sein de l’application que par rapport aux autres pages du site Internet parlementaire. Cette approche simplifie la navigation et permet aux utilisateurs de localiser rapidement les renseignements dont ils ont besoin.

Pour être vraiment efficace, LEGISINFO allait nécessiter des mises à jour constantes — voire quotidiennes — de façon à présenter des renseignements fiables et à jour. Il importait également de maintenir à un niveau minimum la charge de travail connexe. C’est pourquoi on a construit LEGISINFO autour d’une base de données au lieu d’utiliser un format HTML. La conception de la base de données permet à l’équipe de modifier l’information selon les besoins sans devoir mettre à jour manuellement des fichiers HTML et republier des documents révisés. En outre, on a saisi toutes les occasions d’automatiser les fonctions de l’application, une formule qui permet à la Bibliothèque de contrôler non seulement la charge de travail liée à l’entretien de LEGISINFO , mais également les coûts.

En avril 2001, le personnel de la Bibliothèque avait modifié et chargé une base de données existante afin de créer la version d’essai de l’application. LEGISINFO était prêt pour sa première évaluation en ligne.Lancement et expansion

La Bibliothèque a officiellement lancé LEGISINFO à l’interne le 22 mai 2001. La réaction a été très positive : tant les attachés de recherche que le personnel de la référence ont apprécié la facilité d’utilisation et les mises à jour régulières de LEGISINFO. Comme de plus en plus d’employés utilisaient l’application, les clients parlementaires de la Bibliothèque ont eu vent du produit et ont commencé à demander d’y avoir accès eux-mêmes. Lorsque les demandes ont perdu leur caractère occasionnel pour devenir un concert soutenu, l’équipe de développement a décidé qu’il était temps d’offrir LEGISINFO directement à tous les clients de la Bibliothèque sur la Colline du Parlement via l’Intranet parlementaire.

À l’automne 2001, les coordonnateurs de LEGISINFO ont rencontré des représentants du Sénat et de la Chambre des communes afin d’examiner la possibilité de rendre LEGISINFO accessible dans toute la Cité parlementaire. Pour les aider à examiner le produit, on leur a fourni une version d’essai pendant trois semaines. Les représentants des deux chambres ont, par la suite, suggéré des améliorations mineures que l’équipe de développement a trouvées très utiles.

L’un des aspects de LEGISINFO qui a profité notablement de ces suggestions est la section « Discours importants ». À l’origine, cette section contenait uniquement les discours des parrains des projets de loi et ceux des porte-parole officiels de l’opposition. À la lumière des observations des utilisateurs parlementaires, on a décidé d’élargir cette section en créant des liens avec les discours prononcés à l’étape de la deuxième lecture par les représentants des autres partis politiques. Il s’agissait de révision exigeante en main-d’œuvre, mais qui a grandement ajouté à l’utilité du produit. Parallèlement, l’équipe de développement a ajouté des liens vers les communiqués de presse affichés sur les sites Web des cinq grands partis politiques.

La question le plus fréquemment posée est alors devenue : « Quand ce service sera-t-il offert au public? »

Après la mise en œuvre de ces changements sur un serveur d’essai et l’obtention de l’approbation de la Bibliothèque, du Sénat et de la Chambre des communes, LEGISINFO pouvait maintenant être ajouté à l’Intranet parlementaire. Son lancement officiel à ce niveau élargi a eu lieu le18 février 2002. On a mis les nouveaux utilisateurs au courant du produit au moyen du courrier électronique, d’un dépliant imprimé et de brèves séances de formation. Le site est rapidement devenu une destination populaire pour les utilisateurs parlementaires, un succès qui a créé de nouvelles pressions en vue de rendre le produit encore plus accessible.

Vers Internet

L’étape suivante du développement de LEGISINFO a été son inclusion dans le site Internet parlementaire accessible au public. Après avoir supervisé et revu le fonctionnement de l’application sur une période de six mois, la Bibliothèque a décidé, à la fin de 2002, que le produit avait été suffisamment testé et réglé pour être mis à la disposition du public.

Il fallait toutefois résoudre certains problèmes opérationnels avant que LEGISINFO puisse être intégré au site Internet. L’un d’eux avait trait à un service de surveillance des médias offert par la Bibliothèque aux clients de la Cité parlementaire. Sur l’Intranet parlementaire, ce service est accessible au moyen d’un lien de LEGISINFO, mais ce lien ne pouvait être reproduit dans le site destiné au public, car les articles sont obtenus auprès de distributeurs de nouvelles du secteur privé et ne peuvent être distribués qu’à un groupe précis d’utilisateurs. Afin de continuer à offrir ce service aux parlementaires et à leur personnel, la Bibliothèque a décidé de créer deux versions de LEGISINFO : une version améliorée pour les utilisateurs de l’Intranet parlementaire et une version modifiée (privée de certaines options comme le service de surveillance des médias) offerte au public sur le site Internet.

On a également modifié certains aspects du contenu de LEGISINFO afin de rendre le produit plus utile pour le grand public. Comme on s’attendait à ce que bon nombre des nouveaux utilisateurs soient peu familiers avec LEGISINFO en particulier et avec le processus législatif en général, l’équipe de développement a jugé essentiel d’ajouter une composante Foire aux questions (FAQ) à la version publique. On a donc créé le document FAQ afin de répondre aux besoins des utilisateurs non initiés et pour répondre à des questions telles que « Comment utiliser la fonction “recherche”? » et « Que sont les Journaux? ». Pour faire en sorte que le matériel soit exact et informatif sans devenir trop technique, l’équipe de développement a collaboré avec des experts de la procédure du Sénat et de la Chambre des communes pour préparer les questions et réponses.

Après un essai de quatre semaines sur le site Internet parlementaire, LEGISINFO a été mis à la disposition du public le 11 février 2003. La réaction de ce dernier a été gratifiante : le nombre d’utilisateurs, ainsi que les commentaires positifs, ont dépassé de loin les attentes de l’équipe au cours de la première semaine et par la suite. LEGISINFO constitue maintenant l’une des pages les plus populaires du site Internet parlementaire.

Leçons de l’expérience

Mise à part la valeur de LEGISINFO comme outil de recherche pour d’innombrables utilisateurs partout au Canada et ailleurs, sa création et son réglage de précision ont beaucoup appris au personnel de la Bibliothèque du Parlement sur le développement de produits.

Un aspect clé du développement de ce produit a été l’utilisation efficace des ressources internes. Puisque la Bibliothèque comptait déjà du personnel ayant les compétences voulues pour le projet — des capacités de recherche; de l’expérience dans la création et la gestion de sites Web; une connaissance en profondeur des sources pertinentes d’information; une expertise des bases de données —, l’équipe de LEGISINFO a décidé de mettre ces ressources à contribution plutôt que d’en engager de nouvelles ou d’acheter des services à l’extérieur. Cette approche a permis non seulement de réduire les coûts, mais également de susciter une attitude de collaboration parmi les employés de deux directions différentes qui se sont tendu la main dans un fructueux effort interdisciplinaire. La réussite du projet a permis à la Bibliothèque de renforcer ses relations internes tout en élargissant ses services à sa clientèle externe.

Un autre aspect clé du projet a été la nécessité de faire en sorte que LEGISINFO demeure une application à faible niveau d’entretien. La Bibliothèque envisageait de créer et de mettre en œuvre un important nouveau produit, mais elle ne voulait pas engager de personnel additionnel pour l’entretien courant. Grâce à ses fonctions largement automatisées, LEGISINFO ne nécessite l’intervention à plein temps d’aucun des membres de l’équipe de coordination. L’outil peut être géré sans difficulté moyennant un effort d’au plus quelques heures par semaine de la part des responsables.

La démarche utilisée pour développer et lancer LEGISINFO sur les trois sites à tour de rôle a constitué un autre facteur important dans la réussite du projet. Cela a permis à l’équipe de développement, aux gestionnaires et aux parties prenantes d’évaluer minutieusement l’application à chaque étape et de procéder à l’essai de chaque modification recommandée avant de la mettre en œuvre. Il en est résulté un produit de meilleure qualité et une plus grande satisfaction des utilisateurs.

À l’horizon

Le succès engendre un nouvel enthousiasme et de nouveaux objectifs. Les perspectives d’avenir du projet continuent de s’étendre. LEGISINFO peut continuer d’évoluer, et le fera effectivement, afin de satisfaire aux besoins de ses clients de plus en plus nombreux. Les utilisateurs ont suggéré, entre autres, les nouvelles avenues suivantes :

  • une liste des projets de loi devant être débattus à la Chambre des communes et au Sénat;
  • une seule page Web indiquant où en est chaque projet de loi dans le processus législatif;
  • des tableaux montrant le nombre de jours pendant lesquels chaque projet de loi a été débattu;
  • des statistiques sur le nombre de projets de loi approuvés par le Parlement;
  • des statistiques sur l’entrée en vigueur des lois;
  • une liste des comités de la Chambre des communes et du Sénat indiquant les projets de loi qu’ils ont étudiés et l’étape où en sont ces projets de loi;
  • des listes des différentes catégories de projets de loi, présentées par parrain;
  • de l’information sur l’étape où en sont les projets de loi d’initiative parlementaire à la Chambre des communes et au Sénat;
  • un lien permettant au public de communiquer par courrier électronique avec les coordonnateurs de LEGISINFO.

L’équipe de LEGISINFO a aussi ses propres idées pour l’élargissement de l’application, si des ressources additionnelles se libèrent. Entre autres :

  • une liste des projets de loi organisée par sujet;
  • un lien vers les notes explicatives contenues dans de nombreux projets de loi;
  • des liens vers les motions d’attribution de temps et de clôture touchant un projet de loi particulier;
  • une liste des lois modifiées par un projet de loi particulier, ainsi qu’un lien avec le site Web du ministère de la Justice pour chaque loi;
  • un système pour retracer et archiver l’information sur les motions (y compris les motions à l’étape du rapport et les motions spéciales concernant les travaux du Sénat ou de la Chambre des communes) liées à des projets de loi particuliers;
  • un système automatisé de notification par courrier électronique qui avertirait les clients chaque fois que LEGISINFO est mis à jour en ce qui touche un projet de loi particulier auquel ils sont intéressés.

Si l’on ajoutait bon nombre de ces nouvelles caractéristiques à LEGISINFO, l’application deviendrait une source exhaustive d’information législative s’apparentant à Thomas (http://thomas.loc.gov), de la Library of Congress des États-Unis. Il serait relativement facile d’ajouter certains éléments proposés; par contre, d’autres auraient d’importantes répercussions sur les ressources. Par exemple, le lien du public par courrier électronique avec les coordonnateurs LEGISINFO pourrait susciter un torrent de questions et de commentaires susceptibles d’éloigner les ressources des autres tâches. L’équipe de LEGISINFO fixera les priorités à la lumière du point de vue de la direction, des utilisateurs et des parties prenantes de la Bibliothèque, et elle déterminera de quelle manière les différents ajouts cadreraient dans la configuration de LEGISINFO.

À l’origine un modeste projet disposant de peu de ressources, LEGISINFO s’est transformé en un outil de recherche important et populaire auprès d’un large éventail d’utilisateurs.1 Il constitue en même temps un modèle en matière de coopération interdisciplinaire et de travail d’équipe.

Notes

1. Le 3 novembre 2003, LEGISINFO a reçu une mention d’honneur lors de la remise du prix Agatha-Bystram pour souligner l’initiative en matière de gestion de l’information. Ce prix est décerné annuellement par le Conseil des bibliothèques du gouvernement fédéral.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 27 no 1
2004






Dernière mise à jour : 2018-07-31