Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
CPA Activities: The Canadian SceneCPA Activities: The Canadian Scene


On February 27, 2003 Ted Staffen, Member for Riverdale North, was elected Speaker of the Yukon Legislative Assembly.  Mr. Staffen was born in Nipawin, Saskatchewan.

Mr. Staffen was first elected to the Assembly in the general election of November 4, 2002. He has a background in the public sector, having worked as a legislative researcher for the Yukon government. He has also served as Executive Assistant to cabinet ministers and as director of research to cabinet. In the 1970s Mr. Staffen was the community co-ordinator for the Lysyk inquiry into the building of the Alaska Highway gas pipeline.

Mr. Staffen has private sector experience as a business owner, a venture capital co-ordinator, a business facilitator and business consultant in the energy, forestry and mining sectors in the Yukon, the NWT and Alaska. He has been a founding director of several companies in the Yukon and Alaska. He has also done contract research with the Arctic Institute of North America on northern sustainable development.

Mr. Staffen holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in Political Science from Simon Fraser University. He served two terms as Director of the Whitehorse Chamber of Commerce. He has chaired the Yukon Sourdough Rendezvous, the Yukon Quest, and the Social Assistance Appeal Committee.

Canadian Presiding Officers’ Conference

The 20th Canadian Presiding Officers’ Conference was held in Toronto, from January 23 - 26, 2003.  Conference host, Ontario Speaker Gary Carr, welcomed the delegates for two days of business sessions.  The delegates were also hosted to a reception by Ontario’s Lieutenant Governor, James K. Bartleman, in the Lieutenant Governor’s Suite.

There were six topics presented at the conference:

“Relocating Legislatures for Special Sittings:  The New York City Session of U.S. Congress”.  The Chair of this session was Speaker Bev Harrison (New Brunswick); the presenter was Gary O’Brien, Deputy Clerk of the Senate.

The second topic, “Security at the Legislative Assembly of Ontario”, was presented by Ontario’s Sergeant-at-Arms, Dennis Clark.  Chairing the session was Claude DesRosiers (Ontario).

The topic of the third session, “Parliamentary Reform: Responding to Concerns of a Democratic Deficit” was chaired by Michel Bissonnet, MNA (Quebec) while the topic was presented by William Corbett, Clerk of the House of Commons.

The fourth topic to be presented was “Parliamentary Assemblies and New Technologies: Issues, Pitfalls, and Future Prospects”.  This was chaired by Dr. John Weisbeck, MLA (British Columbia).  Presenting the topic was François Beaulne, MNA (Quebec). There was a special presentation by Alfons Schöeps, Director of European Operations, State Legislative Leaders Foundation and Executive Director, Partnership of Parliaments.

The topic of the fifth business session was “Masters of Our Own House – Judicial Consideration of Parliamentary Privilege in the Northwest Territories”. Chairing this session was Speaker George Hickes (Manitoba) and presenting the topic was Katherine Peterson, Law Clerk (Northwest Territories).

The sixth presentation was made by Neil Finkelstein (Blake, Cassels & Graydon – Ontario) on the very timely “Parliamentary Privilege and the Courts in Canada”.  Chairing this final topic was Speaker Carr.

New Executive Secretary to the Canadian Branch of CPA

The new Executive Secretary to the Canadian Branch of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association is Carol Chafe.  For the last five years she was Executive Secretary to the Canada-United States Inter-Parliamentary Group.  She has also served as Clerk of various House of Commons committees, most recently the Special Committee on non-medical use of drugs. She replaces Maija Adamson who has been Executive Secretary since 2000.

Upcoming Events

The next meeting of the Canadian Regional Council will be held in Ottawa on June 7, 2003.

The CPA Regional Conference will be held in Victoria from July 12-18 this year.

The Regional Seminar will take place in Iqaluit from October 16-19, 2003.

The International CPA Conference will take place in Bangladesh on October 3 - 14, 2003.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 26 no 1
2003






Last Updated: 2020-03-03

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Activités de l’APC : la scène canadienneActivités de l’APC : la scène canadienne


Le 27 février, Ted Staffen, député de Riverdale Nord, a été élu président de l’Assemblée législative du Yukon. Né à Nipawin, en Saskatchewan, M. Staffen a déménagé au Yukon en 1969.

Il a été élu pour la première fois député à l’Assemblée législative du Yukon lors des élections générales du 4 novembre 2002.

M. Staffen connaît bien le secteur public; il a, en effet, été chargé de recherche législative au gouvernement du Yukon. Il a aussi été adjoint exécutif de ministres et directeur de la recherche du cabinet. Dans les années 1970, M. Staffen a été coordonnateur communautaire de la commission Lysyk sur la construction du Gazoduc transalaskien.

M. Staffen a acquis son expérience du secteur privé en tant qu’entrepreneur, coordonnateur du capital de risque, facilitateur du commerce et consultant dans les domaines de l’énergie, des forêts et des mines au Yukon, aux T.N.-O. et en Alaska. Il a aussi été directeur fondateur de plusieurs entreprises au Yukon et en Alaska. Il a été mandaté par l’Institut arctique de l’Amérique du Nord pour effectuer des recherches sur le développement durable du Nord.

M. Staffen est titulaire d’un baccalauréat ès arts en sciences politiques de l’Université Simon Fraser. Il a été deux fois directeur de la Chambre de commerce de Whitehorse. Il a aussi présidé le Yukon Sourdough Rendezvous, le Yukon Quest et le Comité d’appel en matière d’aide sociale. Il a été actif dans le mouvement bénévole : administrateur de la Yukon Visitors Association, cotrésorier de Canards Illimités et président de la Yukon Amateur Boxing Association.

Conférence des président(e)s d’assemblée du Canada

La vingtième conférence des président(e)s d’assemblée du Canada s’est déroulée à Toronto, du 23 au 26 janvier. L’hôte de la conférence, le président de l’Assemblée législative de l’Ontario, Gary Carr, a accueilli les délégués venus assister à deux jours complets de séances de travail intéressantes. Les délégués ont aussi été invités à une réception donnée par le lieutenant-gouverneur de l’Ontario, James K. Bartleman, dans les bureaux de ce dernier.

La conférence s’est divisée en six sujets qui ont suscité des discussions animées après chaque présentation. Voici les sujets des séances :

« Le transfert des assemblées législatives pour des séances spéciales : la session du Congrès des États-Unis à New York ». La première séance a été présidée par Bev Harrison, président de l’Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick. Gary O’Brien, sous-greffier du Sénat, a été le présentateur.

La deuxième séance s’intitulait « La sécurité à l’Assemblée législative de l’Ontario ». Elle a été présidée par Claude DesRosiers (Ontario) et a comporté une présentation audiovisuelle de Dennis Clark, sergent d’armes de l’Assemblée législative de l’Ontario.

La troisième séance, dont le thème était « La réforme parlementaire: comment réagir aux inquiétudes concernant le déficit démocratique », a été dirigée par Michel Bissonnet, membre de l’Assemblée nationale du Québec. Le présentateur a été William Corbett, greffier de la Chambre des communes.

La quatrième séance, « Les Assemblées parlementaires et les nouvelles technologies : enjeux, écueils et perspectives d’avenir », a été présidée par John Weisbeck, député de l’Assemblée législative de la Colombie-Britannique). François Beaulne, membre de l’Assemblée nationale du Québec, s’est chargé de la présentation. Il y a eu une présentation spéciale d’Alfons Schöps, directeur des opérations européennes, de la State Legislative Leaders Foundation, et directeur exécutif, Partnership of Parliaments.  

La cinquième séance s’intitulait « Maîtres chez nous – étude du privilège parlementaire dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest du point de vue juridique ». La séance a été dirigée par George Hickes, président de l’Assemblée législative du Manitoba. La présentatrice était Katherine Peterson, greffière légiste (Territoires du Nord-Ouest).

Finalement, la sixième séance a été l’occasion pour Neil Finkelstein (Blake, Cassels & Graydon, Ontario) de discuter d’un sujet fort à-propos, « Le privilège parlementaire et les tribunaux au Canada ». La séance a été présidée par le président Gary Carr.

Nouvelle secrétaire administrative de la Section canadienne de l’APC

La nouvelle secrétaire administrative de la Section canadienne de l’Association parlementaire du Commonwealth est Carol Chafe. Pendant les cinq dernières années, elle a été secrétaire administrative du Groupe interparlementaire Canada É.-U. Elle a aussi agi à titre de greffière de plusieurs comités de la Chambre des communes, le plus récent étant le Comité spécial sur la consommation non médicale de drogues ou médicaments. Elle remplace Maija Adamson, qui était la secrétaire administrative de la Section canadienne depuis 2000.

À venir

La prochaine réunion du Conseil régional canadien aura lieu à Ottawa le 7 juin.

La conférence régionale de l’APC se déroulera à Victoria du 12 au 18 juillet.

Le colloque régional se tiendra à Iqaluit du 16 au 19 octobre.

La conférence internationale de l’APC aura lieu au Bangladesh du 3 au 14 octobre.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 26 no 1
2003






Dernière mise à jour : 2018-07-31