Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

HomeContact UsFrançais
An Incomplete List of the Ghosts of Queen’s Park
Elena Senechal-Becker

War Hero Charles Rutherford

David Bogart, a communications officer with the Legislative Assembly’s parliamentary protocol office, often leads tours of the building. In a conversation with journalists from the Toronto Star he revealed that he once had a medium on tour who sensed a spirit named Charles. Further research led Bogart to conclude that the spirit haunting the legislature was none other than Charles Rutherford.

Born in Colbourne, Ontario, in 1892, Rutherford was a member of the 23rd Battalion during the First World War. He earned multiple military medals during his service, including the Victoria Cross for bravery. Known for his sharp wit and ability to lead assault parties, he was also the last surviving Canadian soldier to receive the medal of valour for the Great War. Some have qualified him as a “regimental soldier,” and others as a scowling man in a red military uniform. He is rumored to haunt the main staircase.

An Unknown Number of Female Asylum Patients

Way back in 1849, King’s College became the University of Toronto, and the building standing where the Legislature now sits was converted into a Lunatic Asylum for women called the Auxiliary Female Asylum. Even though the Asylum was completely razed to make way for the new building that would become the Legislative Assembly, some of the Asylum was used to construct the foundation of Queen’s Park. Many visitors have reported sightings of ghostly female figures – sometimes alone and sometimes in small groups of up to four. One of them is known to be malevolent; residing in the fourth-floor attic, she has been described as “frenetic and disturbed,” and those most in touch with their psychic tendencies have reportedly heard her screams.

Speaker Richard Scott

At the end of the first-floor east hallway, visitors might stumble upon the ghost of Richard Scott, an Assembly Speaker who died in 1913. His role as Speaker lasted only a few weeks in December of 1871, before he accepted another offer to be Commissioner of Crown Lands within the provincial cabinet. It is therefore unknown as to why he would haunt the Legislative Assembly buildings; but

These spirits in these sightings are just a few of many reported in the building’s long history of hauntings. However, sightings appear to have decreased over the years and there have been very few recent sightings of ghosts on record. As time passes and these stories and the lives of the people thought to be involved are forgotten, memories of the Queen’s Park ghosts may become as ephemeral as the catching a glimpse of something strange out of the corner of your eye.

Sources:

https://torontolife.com/food/urban-decoder-history-5/

https://qormuseum.org/soldiers-of-the-queens-own/rutherford-charles-smith/

http://www.thesearchergroup.ca/haunting-queens- park/

https://www.thestar.com/news/canada/2011/10/28/getting_to_know_the_ghosts_of_queens_park.html


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 42 no 4
2020






Last Updated: 2020-03-03

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Esquisses des parlements et de leur passé : liste partielle des fantômes de Queen’s Park
Elena Senechal-Becker

Le héros de guerre Charles Rutherford

David Bogart, un agent de communications du bureau du protocole parlementaire de l’Assemblée législative, dirige souvent des visites guidées de l’édifice. Lors d’une conversation avec des journalistes du Toronto Star, il a révélé qu’un médium avait senti la présence d’un esprit nommé Charles lors d’une visite. Après avoir poussé ses recherches, Bogart est arrivé à la conclusion que l’esprit ayant élu domicile à l’Assemblée législative n’était nul autre que Charles Rutherford.

Né à Colbourne, en Ontario, en 1892, Rutherford a fait partie du 23e Bataillon durant la Première Guerre mondiale. Il a reçu de nombreuses médailles militaires durant son service, dont la Croix de Victoria pour bravoure. Connu pour son esprit vif et sa capacité de diriger des groupes d’assaut, il a aussi été le dernier ancien combattant canadien survivant à recevoir la médaille de la vaillance militaire pour la Grande Guerre. Certaines personnes l’ont décrit comme un « soldat du régiment », d’autres comme un homme renfrogné à l’uniforme militaire rouge. On dit qu’il hanterait l’escalier principal.

l’asile

En 1849, le King’s College est devenu l’Université de Toronto, et l’ancien édifice où se trouve actuellement l’Assemblée législative a été converti en un asile pour aliénées appelé l’Auxiliary Female Asylum. Bien que l’asile ait été complètement rasé pour faire place au nouveau bâtiment qui deviendrait l’Assemblée législative, une partie de sa pierre calcaire a été utilisée pour la construction des fondations de l’édifice de Queen’s Park. Nombre de visiteurs ont déclaré avoir aperçu des spectres de femmes parfois seules, parfois en petits groupes de quatre au plus. L’une d’elles est connue pour sa malveillance; elle erre dans le grenier du quatrième étage, et on la dit « agitée et perturbée ». Les personnes les plus conscientes de leurs tendances psychiques auraient entendu ses cris.

Le Président Richard Scott

Au bout du corridor Est du premier étage, les visiteurs pourraient tomber sur le fantôme de Richard Scott, un Président de l’Assemblée législative décédé en 1913. Il n’a occupé cette fonction que quelques semaines, en décembre 1871, avant d’accepter un autre poste, celui de commissaire aux terres de la Couronne au sein du Cabinet provincial. On ignore toujours pourquoi il hanterait les édifices de l’Assemblée législative, mais…

Ce ne sont là que quelques-uns des nombreux esprits qui se seraient manifestés dans la longue histoire des apparitions dans cet édifice. Ces apparitions semblent avoir diminué au fil des ans; très peu ont été signalées ces derniers temps. À mesure que l’histoire et la vie des personnes dont il s’agirait tombent dans l’oubli, les souvenirs des revenants de Queen’s Park deviendront peut-être aussi éphémères que les manifestations étranges que les gens, du coin de l’œil, apercevront un bref instant dans l’édifice.

Sources en anglais seulement

https://torontolife.com/food/urban-decoder-history-5/

https://qormuseum.org/soldiers-of-the-queens-own/rutherford-charles-smith/

http://www.thesearchergroup.ca/haunting-queens-park/

https://www.thestar.com/news/canada/2011/10/28/getting_to_know_the_ghosts_of_queens_park.html


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 42 no 4
2020






Dernière mise à jour : 2020-03-03