Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
New and Notable Titles


“Fighting talk - The threat to MPs from the public is greater than ever.” Economist 433 (9163), October 5, 2019.

  • Women and ethnic-minority MPs suffer the worst abuse.

Bercow, John. “Rules of behaviour and courtesies in the House of Commons.” House of Commons - Issued by the Speaker and the Deputy Speakers, November 2019: 18p.

  • This pamphlet has been agreed by the Speaker and the Deputy Speakers and is intended to help Members, particularly those new to the House, in understanding the behaviour expected in the Chamber of the House of Commons and in Westminster Hall. While open to change, these rules are important in maintaining the good order of proceedings and the civility of debate – so that all Members are able to participate and be heard with respect.

Feldman, Charlie. “Beyond Charter statements: Constitutional communications in the parliamentary context.” Journal of Parliamentary and Political Law / Revue de droit parlementaire et politique - Special Issue – Canada’s Constitutional & Governance Challenges After 150 Years / numéro hors-série – Les Défis Constitutionnels et de Gouvernance du Canada Après 150 ans, 2018 : 37-66.

  • The parliamentary record is replete with historical and contemporary expressions of concern by federal legislators regarding the constitutionality of proposed enactments. Yet, little research appears to explore how parliamentarians’ constitutional knowledge is developed - both generally and in relation to specific enactments - within the parliamentary context.

Finnis, John. “The unconstitutionality of the Supreme Court’s prorogation judgment.” Policy Exchange, September 28, 2019: 22p.

  • The Supreme Court’s judgment in Miller/Cherry [2019] UKSC 41 holds that Parliamentary sovereignty needs to be judicially protected against the power of the Government to prorogue Parliament. But the Judgment itself undercuts the genuine sovereignty of Parliament by evading a statutory prohibition – art. ? of the Bill of Rights 1689 – on judicial questioning of proceedings in Parliament. This paper shows that the Judgment was wholly unjustified by law. It wrongly transfers the conventions about prorogation into the domain of justiciable law. The Judgment is an inept foray into high politics and should be recognised as a historic mistake, not a victory for fundamental principle.

Jenkin, Bernard. “The role of the Speaker is changing.” The House Magazine. 1665 (42), October 28, 2019: 22-3.

  • Speakers now have to consider the impact of their personal public profile and how this relates to their responsibilities.

Girling, Kimberly, Gibbs, Katie. “Evidence in action - An analysis of information gathering and use by Canadian parliamentarians.” Evidence for Democracy, November 2019: 48p.

  • In the current study, the authors conducted a series of one-on-one interviews with Canadian Members of Parliament (MPs) to investigate how they gather and use information. The study aimed to better understand how MPs use research and evidence in their work, identify potential gaps in the process, and determine new ways that scientists, researchers, and experts could support MPs.

Harman, Harriet (Chair). “Democracy, freedom of expression and freedom of association: Threats to MPs.” House of Commons Joint Committee on Human Rights, First Report of Session 2019-20 HC 37, October 18, 2019: 68p.

  • Freedom of association and freedom of expression are fiercely protected rights…yet MPs are regularly threatened with physical violence and are subject to harassment and intimidation whilst going about their wider public duties. This undermines our democracy and demands action.

Ie, Kenny William. “Cabinet committees as strategies of prime ministerial leadership in Canada, 2003–2019.” Commonwealth & Comparative Politics, 57 (4), November 2019: 466-86.

  • Cabinet committees are key elements in parliamentary government, yet they are understudied. This article examines recent uses of cabinet committees in Canada as strategic instruments of their chief architects: prime ministers…

Norton, Philip. “Post-legislative scrutiny in the UK Parliament: Adding value.” The Journal of Legislative Studies, 25 (3) - Committees in Comparative Perspective, September 2019: 340-57.

  • Legislatures appoint committees for different purposes. Both Houses of the UK Parliament separate legislative committees from non-legislative, or select, committees. Each is unusual in that it utilises select committees to engage in post-legislative scrutiny. The author examines why each engages in this type of scrutiny, given competing demands for limited resources…

Norton, Philip. “Is the House of Commons too powerful?” The 2019 Bingham Lecture in Constitutional Studies, University of Oxford. Parliamentary Affairs 72 (4), October 2019: 996-1013.

  • …in this lecture, the author proposes, first, to sketch the development of the Westminster model of government and detail how that determines the relationship of Parliament to the executive and to the people. The author then develops a theses that, in the period from the 1970s to last year, Parliament was stronger than at any time previously in modern British politics in its relationship to the executive, but not to the people, and that over the past 12 months the relationship to both government and the people is threatened in terms of what we expect of the institution within the Westminster model of government.

O’Brien, Gary William. “Discovering the Senate’s fundamental nature: Moving beyond the Supreme Court’s 2014 opinion.” Canadian Journal of Political Science / Revue canadienne de science politique 52 (3), September/septembre 2019 : 539-55.

  • In the 2014 reference, the Supreme Court sought to discover the Senate’s ‘essential nature’ in order to determine what reforms parliament could legislate unilaterally. Making use of a classification model found in comparative and historical studies, the Court concluded that the Senate was a ‘complementary legislative body of sober second thought.’ This article re-examines the Court’s narrow definition of the Senate’s perceived role and presents evidence that its essential characteristics are direct continuations of various pre-Confederation design principles. Limiting a description of its architecture to a single model that eclipses all other roles the Senate may play shifts the debate on Senate reform, which in the recent past has laid emphasis on resolving the conflict among the models embedded in the upper chamber’s essential characteristics. The article concludes by reviewing previous constitutional initiatives that aimed at bringing those models more in tune with modern Canada and by making suggestions about how reform proposals could better succeed.

Von Tunzelmann, Alex. “The British Parliament’s ultimate weapon.” Foreign Policy 234, Fall 2019: 72-3.

  • Why does the House of Commons fetishize a golden mace?

Walker, Aileen, et al. “How public engagement became a core part of the House of Commons select committees.” Parliamentary Affairs 72 (4), October 2019: 965-86.

  • This article explores the role of public engagement by select committees of the House of Commons. It shows that committees’ public engagement activity has been transformed since 1979, when departmental select committees were introduced…


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 42 no 4
2020






Last Updated: 2020-03-03

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Nouveaux titres d’intérêt


« Fighting talk: The threat to MPs from the public is greater than ever », Economist, vol. 433, no 9163, 5 octobre 2019.

  • Article expliquant que les députés de sexe féminin et ceux issus de minorités ethniques subissent les pires abus.

Bercow, John. Rules of behaviour and courtesies in the House of Commons, Chambre des communes, document produit par le Président et les viceprésidents, novembre 2018, 18 p.

  • Cette publication, dont le contenu a été approuvé par le Président et les viceprésidents, vise à aider les députés, et plus particulièrement ceux qui font leur entrée à la Chambre, à savoir quels comportements ils doivent adopter dans l’enceinte de la Chambre des communes et à Westminster Hall. Même si elles peuvent être modifiées, ces règles sont importantes, car elles permettent de maintenir l’ordre lors des délibérations et la courtoisie dans le cadre des débats afin que tous les députés puissent participer et se faire entendre avec respect.

Feldman, Charlie. « Beyond Charter statements: Constitutional communications in the parliamentary context », Journal of Parliamentary and Political Law / Revue de droit parlementaire et politique - Special Issue – Canada’s Constitutional & Governance Challenges After 150 Years / numéro hors-série – Les défis constitutionnels et de gouvernance du Canada après 150 ans, 2018, p. 37-66.

  • Le registre parlementaire regorge d’exemples où des législateurs fédéraux d’hier et d’aujourd’hui expriment leurs préoccupations concernant la constitutionnalité de mesures législatives proposées. Or, peu d’études semblent explorer dans quelle mesure les connaissances constitutionnelles des parlementaires ont évolué au fil du temps – tant de façon générale qu’en ce qui concerne des lois en particulier – dans le contexte parlementaire.

Finnis, John. « The unconstitutionality of the Supreme Court’s prorogation judgment », Policy Exchange, 28 septembre 2019, 22 p.

  • Le jugement rendu par la Cour suprême dans l’affaire Miller/Cherry ([2019] UKSC 41) indique que la souveraineté parlementaire doit être protégée judiciairement contre le pouvoir du gouvernement de proroger le Parlement. Cela dit, le jugement luimême compromet la souveraineté réelle du Parlement en contournant une interdiction légale – l’article 9 du Bill of Rights de 1689 – selon laquelle les tribunaux ne peuvent pas remettre en question les délibérations du Parlement. Selon cet article, le jugement était tout à fait injustifié en droit puisqu’il rend justiciables, à tort, les conventions relatives à la prorogation. En rendant ce jugement, la Cour suprême s’est immiscée de façon maladroite dans la haute politique, et cet arrêt devrait être reconnu comme étant une erreur historique, et non une victoire marquant un principe fondamental.

Jenkin, Bernard. « The role of the Speaker is changing », The House Magazine, vol. 42, no 1665, 28 octobre 2019, p. 22 et 23.

  • Cet article explique que les Présidents doivent maintenant tenir compte de l’incidence de leur image publique personnelle et les répercussions que cela peut avoir sur leurs responsabilités.

Girling, Kimberly et Gibbs, Katie. « Evidence in action - An analysis of information gathering and use by Canadian parliamentarians », Evidence for Democracy, novembre 2019, 48 p.

  • Dans le cadre de leur étude, les auteures ont effectué une série d’entrevues individuelles avec des députés canadiens pour savoir comment ils recueillent des renseignements et les utilisent. Cette étude visait à mieux comprendre comment les députés utilisent les recherches et les données probantes dans le cadre de leur travail, à cerner les lacunes potentielles du processus et à trouver de nouvelles façons, pour les scientifiques, les chercheurs et les experts, d’appuyer les députés.

Harman, Harriet (présidente). « Democracy, freedom of expression and freedom of association: Threats to MPs », Comité mixte des droits de la personne de la Chambre des communes, premier rapport de la session 20192020, HC 37, 18 octobre 2019, 68 p.

  • La liberté d’association et la liberté d’expression sont des droits que l’on protège farouchement. Pourtant, les députés sont régulièrement menacés de violence physique et sont victimes de harcèlement et d’intimidation dans le cadre de leurs fonctions officielles. De tels gestes minent notre démocratie, et il est nécessaire d’intervenir.

Ie, Kenny William. « Cabinet committees as strategies of prime ministerial leadership in Canada, 2003–2019 »,Commonwealth & Comparative Politics, vol. 57, no 4, novembre 2019, p. 466-486.

  • Les comités du cabinet jouent un rôle clé au sein d’un gouvernement parlementaire, et pourtant, ils sont rarement étudiés. Cet article porte sur le recours récent, au Canada, aux comités du Cabinet comme instruments stratégiques de leurs principaux architectes, en l’occurrence les premiers ministres.

Norton, Philip. « Post-legislative scrutiny in the UK Parliament: Adding value »,The Journal of Legislative Studies, vol. 25, no 3 - Committees in Comparative Perspective, septembre 2019, p. 340-357.

  • Les législatures forment des comités à diverses fins. Les deux Chambres du Parlement du Royaume-Uni séparent les comités législatifs des comités non législatifs, aussi appelés comités spéciaux. Chaque Chambre procède de façon atypique puisqu’elle se sert des comités spéciaux pour effectuer une étude après l’adoption d’une loi. L’auteur examine les raisons pour lesquelles chaque Chambre effectue ce type d’étude, étant donné les demandes de toute part et les ressources limitées.

Norton, Philip. « Is the House of Commons too powerful? », The 2019 Bingham Lecture in Constitutional Studies, Université Oxford. Parliamentary Affairs, vol. 72, no 4, octobre 2019, pages 996-1013.

  • Dans cet exposé, l’auteur propose d’abord d’expliquer brièvement comment le modèle de gouvernement de Westminster a vu le jour et décrit en détail en quoi cela détermine les relations du Parlement avec l’exécutif et la population. L’auteur expose ensuite sa thèse. Selon lui, au cours de la période ayant commencé dans les années 1970 et s’étant terminée l’an dernier, les relations du Parlement avec l’exécutif étaient plus solides qu’à tout autre moment de l’histoire moderne de la politique en Grande-Bretagne, mais il en allait autrement de ses relations avec la population. Or, pendant les 12 derniers mois, la relation du Parlement avec le gouvernement et la population s’est retrouvée menacée en raison des attentes que nous entretenons à l’égard de cette institution d’après le modèle de Westminster.

O’Brien, Gary William. « Discovering the Senate’s fundamental nature: Moving beyond the Supreme Court’s 2014 opinion », Canadian Journal of Political Science / Revue canadienne de science politique, vol. 52, no 3, September/septembre 2019, p. 539-555.

  • Dans le renvoi de 2014, la Cour suprême a cherché à découvrir la « nature essentielle » du Sénat pour déterminer quelles réformes le Parlement pourrait légiférer unilatéralement. S’inspirant d’un modèle de classification que l’on trouve dans des études comparatives et historiques, la Cour a conclu que le Sénat était un « corps législatif complémentaire de second examen objectif ». Le présent article réexamine la définition étroite que la Cour donne du rôle que l’on semble attribuer au Sénat et démontre que les caractéristiques essentielles de la Chambre haute sont le prolongement direct de divers principes conceptuels qui remontent avant la Confédération. En limitant la description de son architecture à un modèle unique qui fait fi de tous les autres rôles que le Sénat peut jouer, on déplace le débat sur la réforme du Sénat qui, dans un passé récent, a surtout visé à résoudre les conflits entre les modèles sur lesquels se fondent les caractéristiques essentielles de la Chambre haute. L’auteur termine par un examen des initiatives constitutionnelles antérieures qui visaient à harmoniser davantage ces modèles avec le Canada moderne et par des suggestions sur la façon dont les propositions de réforme pourraient mieux réussir.

Von Tunzelmann, Alex. « The British Parliament’s ultimate weapon. »Foreign Policy, no 234, automne 2019, p. 72 et 73.

  • Article expliquant pourquoi la Chambre des communes est aussi attachée à une masse en or.

Walker, Aileen, et coll. « How public engagement became a core part of the House of Commons select committees »,Parliamentary Affairs, volume 72, no 4, octobre 2019, p. 965-986.

  • Cet article examine le rôle que jouent les comités spéciaux de la Chambre des communes dans la mobilisation citoyenne. Il montre que les activités de mobilisation citoyenne des comités ont évolué depuis 1979, lorsque les premiers comités ministériels spéciaux ont été créés.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 42 no 4
2020






Dernière mise à jour : 2020-03-03