Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
CPA Activities - The Canadian SceneCPA Activities - The Canadian Scene


New NWT Speaker

On October 24, Mackenzie Delta MLA Frederick Blake Jr. was acclaimed as Speaker of the Northwest Territories’ Legislative Assembly.

Speaker Blake said he planned to promote the value of NWT’s consensus style of government by aiming to travel more to smaller communities and particularly by focusing on visiting youth in schools.

“Everyone has a voice in this legislature,” Speaker Blake said in an interview with local media. “It’s not like parties where you have to toe the line.” He contended that a non-partisan system gives members a better position from which to represent community interests and that he hoped to support this system as Speaker.

Mr. Blake vowed that his door would always be open and that he would work to support the Assembly’s members any way he could.

First elected in 2011, prior to serving as an MLA, Speaker Blake was the Chief and Mayor of Tsiigehtchic from 2007-2011. He also served as the President of the Gwich’ya Gwich’in Council in Tsiigehtchic, on the Board of Directors for the Gwich’in Tribal Council, and on the Board of Directors for the Gwich’in Development Corporation and the Gwich’in Settlement Corporation.

New Newfoundland and Labrador Speaker

On November 2, St. George’s-Humber MHA Scott Reid was elected Speaker of the Newfoundland and Labrador Assembly in a secret ballot victory over former Speaker Perry Trimper, who was attempting to regain the position after stepping down from cabinet.

Mr. Reid, who had previously vied for the role in 2016, told reporters “it is a great honour to be in this position.”

Raised in Jeffrey’s on Newfoundland’s West Coast, Mr. Reid earned degrees at Memorial University of Newfoundland (MUN), before receiving his PhD at the University of Ottawa. He worked as a researcher in the Government Members’ Office in 1989, before advancing to senior positions in government including director of communications and director of research. He also worked for the federal government and taught courses at MUN in the Department of Political Science and the Faculty of Business.

First elected in a 2014 by-election, Mr. Reid was re-elected in 2015 and 2019.

Lewisporte-Twillingate MHA Derek Bennett was named deputy speaker in a motion put forward by Premier Dwight Ball.

New House of Commons Speaker

Nipissing-Timiskaming Liberal MP Anthony Rota was elected the 37th Speaker of the House of Commons on December 5, 2019. He was selected after achieving majority support in the Commons on a preferential ballot that also included incumbent Speaker Geoff Regan, and MPs Joël Godin, Bruce Stanton, and Carol Hughes.

Noting he is the first MP of Italian descent to hold the position, Speaker Rota told MPs: “I’m here to serve you and make sure that everything runs well for all of us, so that we can conduct the business of Parliament and make sure that it works well. My promise is to be fair... to be nonpartisan, and to do my best in this House, at your service.”

First elected in 2004, Speaker Rota noted he had experienced three minority parliaments as an MP and vowed to be available to all his colleagues. He also intends to regularly invite small groups of MPs to meet to better get to know each other and promised to install a suggestion box to encourage members to submit ideas to improve the House of Commons.

Prior to his time in Parliament Speaker Rota served as a North Bay city councillor. After being defeated in the 2011 election, he became a sessional lecturer in Nipissing University’s political science department and served as Director of Governmental Relations.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 42 no 4
2020






Last Updated: 2020-03-03

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Activités de lActivités de l'APC - La scène canadienne


Nouveau Président aux Territoires du Nord-Ouest

Le 24 octobre, le député de Mackenzie Delta, Frederick Blake Jr., a été élu par acclamation au poste de Président de l’Assemblée législative des Territoires du Nord-Ouest.

M. Blake a déclaré qu’il entend promouvoir l’importance du gouvernement par consensus aux Territoires du Nord-Ouest en se rendant plus souvent dans les petites collectivités et plus particulièrement en visitant les jeunes dans les écoles.

« Tout le monde a le droit de se faire entendre à l’Assemblée législative », atil déclaré lors d’une entrevue avec les médias locaux. « Ce n’est pas une affaire de parti, où il faut respecter la position officielle. » Il a affirmé que dans un régime non partisan, les députés sont mieux placés pour représenter les intérêts des collectivités, et a ajouté qu’il espère pouvoir appuyer un tel régime à titre de Président.

M. Blake a promis que sa porte sera toujours ouverte et qu’il s’efforcera d’appuyer les députés de toutes les façons possibles.

M. Blake a été élu pour la première fois en 2011. Avant d’être député à l’Assemblée législative, il a été chef et maire de Tsiigehtchic de 2007 à 2011. Il a également été le président du Gwich’ya Gwich’in Council de Tsiigehtchic et il a siégé au conseil d’administration du Gwich’in Tribal Council, de la Gwich’in Development Corporation et de la Gwich’in Settlement Corporation.

Nouveau Président à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

Le 2 novembre, le député de St. George’s-Humber, Scott Reid, a été élu Président de la Chambre d’assemblée de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador par scrutin secret. Il a remporté la victoire sur l’ancien Président, Perry Trimper, qui tentait d’obtenir de nouveau ce poste après avoir quitté le Cabinet.

M. Reid, qui a été dans la course pour occuper ce rôle en 2016, a déclaré aux journalistes que c’est un grand honneur pour lui d’être devenu Président.

M. Reid, qui a grandi à Jeffrey, sur la côte ouest de Terre-Neuve, a obtenu des diplômes de l’Université Memorial de Terre-Neuve ainsi qu’un doctorat de l’Université d’Ottawa. Il a travaillé comme attaché de recherche au bureau des députés ministériels en 1989, et il a ensuite occupé des postes de plus haut niveau au gouvernement, dont celui de directeur des communications et de directeur de la recherche. Il a également travaillé au gouvernement fédéral et enseigné à l’Université Memorial, au Département de sciences politiques et à la Faculté d’administration des affaires.

Élu pour la première fois en ???? lors d’une élection partielle, M. Reid, a été réélu en 2015 et en 2019.

Le député de Lewisporte-Twillingate, Derek Bennett, a été nommé viceprésident dans le cadre d’une motion proposée par le premier ministre, Dwight Ball.

Le nouveau Président de la Chambre des communes

Le 5 décembre 2019, le député libéral de Nipissing–Timiskaming Anthony Rota a été élu 37e Président de la Chambre des communes. Il a été nommé après avoir obtenu l’appui de la majorité de ses pairs dans le cadre d’un scrutin préférentiel; les autres aspirants au poste étaient le Président sortant Geoff Regan et les députés Joël Godin, Bruce Stanton et Carol Hughes.

Soulignant qu’il est le premier député d’origine italienne à occuper ce poste, le Président Rota a déclaré aux députés : « Je suis ici pour vous servir et pour m’assurer que tout se déroule correctement afin que nous puissions tous contribuer au bon déroulement des affaires du Parlement. Je promets d’être juste et non partisan et de servir les députés et la Chambre du mieux que je peux. »

Élu député pour la première fois en 2004, le Président Rota a signalé qu’il a siégé au sein de trois Parlements minoritaires et qu’il s’engage à être à la disposition de tous ses collègues. Il prévoit en outre inviter périodiquement de petits groupes de députés à des rencontres pour qu’ils apprennent à mieux se connaître, et il promet de faire installer une boîte à suggestions afin d’encourager les députés à soumettre leurs idées pour améliorer le fonctionnement de la Chambre des communes.

Avant d’être élu au Parlement, le Président Rota a été conseiller municipal de la Ville de North Bay. Après sa défaite aux élections de 2011, il a été chargé de cours à temps partiel au département de sciences politiques de l’Université Nipissing, où il a également été directeur des relations gouvernementales.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 42 no 4
2020






Dernière mise à jour : 2020-03-03