Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
Parliamentary Politics Runs in the Family: The Halldorsons
Heidi Rees

Elin Salome Halldorson was the first female elected from a rural riding and the second woman to be elected to the Manitoba Legislature. She was also the first female of Icelandic descent to be elected in Manitoba. Salome, as she was known, was born in Lundar, Manitoba in 1887, shortly after her parents emigrated from Iceland. Salome studied at Wesley College, the University of Manitoba and completed post-graduate studies in the United States and France. She taught languages at a private Icelandic school in Winnipeg where she was also the principal and dean.

Salome was elected as the Member of the Legislative Assembly for St. George in the 1936 provincial election. During her campaign, she gained popularity by speaking in French, Icelandic, English or German, depending on her audience. A strong believer in the Social Credit movement, she was one of five candidates who won a seat; she later became the president of the Manitoba Social Credit League. She was defeated in the next general election in 1941 by Skuli Sigfusson.

However, another Halldorson defeated Sigfusson in the following provincial election. Salome’s younger brother, Christian Halldorson, was first elected in 1946 and served three terms as the representative for St. George until his death in 1956. Unlike Salome, Christian was a member of the Liberal-Progressive party. Christian was born in Lundar in 1891 and was educated at the Manitoba Agricultural College. He served in World War I and upon his return he worked in the insurance industry prior to his election.

Heidi Rees

Head of Government Publications & Library Systems

Manitoba Legislative Library


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 42 no 3
2019






Last Updated: 2019-11-29

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
La politique parlementaire dans la famille : les Halldorsons
Heidi Rees

Elin Salome Halldorson est la première femme élue dans une circonscription rurale et la deuxième femme élue au Parlement du Manitoba. Elle est également la première femme d’origine islandaise élue au Manitoba. Mme Halldorson, que tous appelaient Salome, naît à Lundar, au Manitoba, en 1887 peu après que ses parents immigrent d’Islande. Elle étudie au Wesley College, à l’Université du Manitoba, puis poursuit des études supérieures aux États-Unis et en France. Elle enseigne les langues dans une école islandaise privée de Winnipeg, dont elle devient directrice et doyenne.

Salome est élue députée de St. George à l’Assemblée législative lors de l’élection provinciale de 1936. Pendant sa campagne, elle gagne le cœur de ses électeurs en s’adressant à eux en français, en anglais, en islandais ou en allemand, selon son auditoire. Défenderesse passionnée du mouvement du Crédit social, elle compte parmi les cinq candidats de ce mouvement à avoir obtenu un siège; elle deviendra plus tard la chef du Crédit social du Manitoba. C’est en 1941, à l’élection générale suivante, qu’elle est défaite par Skuli Sigfusson.

M. Sigfusson est cependant défait à la l’élection provinciale suivante par un autre membre de la famille Halldorson : le frère cadet de Salome, Christian Halldorson, élu pour la première fois dans la circonscription de St. George en 1946 et réélu pour un total de trois mandats, soit jusqu’à son décès en 1956. M. Halldorson n’a toutefois pas les mêmes allégeances que sa sœur et se fait élire sous la bannière du Parti libéral-progressiste. Il naît à Lundar en 1891 et poursuit des études au Collège de l’agriculture du Manitoba. Appelé à servir pendant la Première Guerre mondiale, il travaille dans le domaine de l’assurance de l’après-guerre jusqu’à son élection.

Heidi Rees

Chef du Service des publications gouvernementales et des Systèmes de gestion de bibliothèque

Bibliothèque de l’Assemblée législative du Manitoba


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 42 no 3
2019






Dernière mise à jour : 2019-11-29