Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
New and Notable Titles


A selection of recent publications relating to parliamentary studies prepared with the assistance of the Library of Parliament (April 2019 - May 2019)

Bédard-Rubin, Jean-Christophe. “Senate reform and the political safeguards of Canadian federalism in Québec.” Constitutional Forum constitutionnel 28 (1), 2019: 19-27.

  • …in light of the Trudeau government’s new Senate appointment policy and institutional reform, the meaning and the role of the Senate in Canada’s constitutional architecture might change. The Senate reform could transmute what was a politically moribund institution into a genuine political safeguard of Canadian federalism. The path is neither straightforward nor ineluctable, but recent events seem to suggest that Québec, at least, is willing to step into that newly-opened door. The aim of this article is to chronicle this change by focusing on Québec’s recent attempts to channel its political grievances through the Senate.

Brown, Jennifer. “Protests around Parliament.” Briefing Paper 03658 - House of Commons Library, May 2, 2019: 17p.

  • This briefing paper provides an overview of the current provisions on protests around Parliament, including a background of previous legislation, and controversies and legal cases arising from different provisions over the years.

Campagnolo, Yan. “Cabinet immunity in Canada: the legal black hole.” McGill Law Journal / Revue de droit de McGill 63 (2), December/décembre 2017: 315-74.

  • Fifteen years ago, in Babcock v. Canada (A.G.), the Supreme Court of Canada held that section 39 of the Canada Evidence Act, which deprives judges of the power to inspect and order the production of Cabinet confidences in litigation, did not offend the rule of law and the provisions of the Constitution. The aim of this article is to revisit this controversial ruling and challenge the Supreme Courts reasoning … the author argues that section 39 is an unlawful privative clause, a form of legal black hole, which offends the rule of law and the provisions of the Constitution.

Campagnolo, Yan. “Cabinet secrecy in Canada.” Journal of Parliamentary and Political Law / Revue de droit parlementaire et politique 12 (3), February/février 2019: 583-613.

  • The term ‘Cabinet secrecy’ refers to the political and legal rules that protect the confidentiality of Cabinet deliberations and documents in Westminster jurisdictions. This article reflects the notes of a three-hour introductory course on Cabinet secrecy taught at the Department of Justice Canada from 2011 to 2017.

Johnston, Neil, Kelly, Richard. “Recall elections.” UK House of Commons Library Briefing Paper 5089, March 19, 2019: 39p.

  • Recall is used to describe a process where the electorate in an area can trigger a special election to remove an elected representative before the end of their term. A recall procedure was introduced in the UK in 2015. It only applies to Members of Parliament.

Martin, Andrew Flavelle. “The Attorney General’s forgotten role as legal advisor to the legislature: a comment on Schmidt v Canada (Attorney General).” UBC Law Review 52 (1), January 2019: 201-26.

  • ...in law - if not in reality - the Attorney General is a legal advisor to the House of Commons. This role is not just forgotten, it is inherently problematic. The problem arises because the Attorney General is in a joint retainer, providing legal advice to both the executive and the House of Commons, but is unable to meet the ethical requirements of a joint retainer. However, this problem does not justify, and cannot effect, a judicial elimination of that role. The decision in Schmidt presents an opportunity to examine this forgotten role, in order to resolve its problem or to recommend its proper elimination.

Martin, Andrew Flavelle. “The Minister’s Office lawyer: a challenge to the role of Attorney General?” Journal of Parliamentary and Political Law / Revue de droit parlementaire et politique 12 (3), February/février 2019: 641-58.

  • As legal counsel in the Prime Minister’s Office [PMO] of Stephen Harper, Ben Perrin was the archetype of a new legal role in government: the Minister’s Office lawyer. The PMO lawyer, a particularly notable iteration of the Minister’s Office lawyer, understands himself as a practicing lawyer representing the government as client. In doing so, he appears to pose an inherent and fundamental role challenge to the lawyers traditionally representing government: the Attorney General and her delegates, the government lawyers of the bureaucracy. How then, might this challenge be resolved?

Moore, Christopher. “A fully realized Senate.” Literary Review of Canada 27 (2), March 2019: 4-5.

  • The upper chamber is finally doing what it’s supposed to do.

Newson, Nicola. “Parliamentary freedom of speech and the rule of law debate on 23 May 2019.” UK House of Lords Library Briefing, 15 May 2019: 10p.

  • On 23 May 2019, the House of Lords is due to debate a motion moved by Lord Brown of Eaton-under Heywood (Crossbench) that ‘this House takes note of the potential conflict between the right of members to speak freely in Parliament and the obligation under the rule of law to obey court orders’. Lord Brown is a former justice of the Supreme Court. The purpose of this briefing is not to go into detail about any specific cases that have occurred. Rather, it explores the underlying principles and sets out the findings of parliamentary committees that have previously examined the subject.

Norton, Philip. “Power behind the scenes: the importance of informal space in legislatures.” Parliamentary Affairs 72 (2), April 2019: 245-66.

  • Studies of legislatures focus on what happens in formal space, principally the chamber and committee rooms. Such studies are necessary, but not sufficient, for explaining behaviour within legislatures and its consequences. The use of space for members to interact informally with one another - informal space - can contribute to the institutionalisation of a legislature through facilitating autonomy. Such space provides an arena for socialisation, information exchange, lobbying and mobilising political support. This article examines the significance of informal space, drawing on the experience of the UK Parliament.

Taylor of Bolton, Baroness (Chair). “Parliamentary scrutiny of treaties.” House of Lords Select Committee on the Constitution - 20th Report of Session 2017-19, Ordered to be printed 24 April 2019 and published 30 April 2019., HL Paper 345: 52p.

  • Treaty-making is a significant responsibility of the Government…Parliament’s scrutiny of treaties is based on the Ponsonby rule, established nearly 100 years ago and subsequently set out in the Constitutional Reform and Governance Act 2010. These provisions limit Parliament’s scrutiny to a 21 sitting day period after the Government lays a completed, signed treaty before both Houses. No systematic scrutiny of treaties currently takes place prior to signature…To address the shortcomings in Parliament’s scrutiny of treaties, we recommend that a new treaty scrutiny select committee be established…

Thomas, Paul G. “Moving toward a new and improved Senate.” Institute for Research on Public Policy IRRP Study No. 69, March 2019: 40p.

  • The Senate of Canada has changed significantly as a result of the 2014 decision by Justin Trudeau, then leader of the Liberal party, to remove Liberal senators from the parliamentary caucus; and by his introduction, as prime minister, of a new procedure for the selection of senators...the author concludes that further changes are needed to carry forward the present renewal. These include the establishment of a business committee to plan and organize the work of the Senate and the development of a set of criteria, perhaps enshrined in the Senate’s rules, to guide it in determining whether to delay, amend or defeat a government bill.

Walker, Charles (Chair). “The House’s power to call for papers: procedure and practice.” House of Commons Procedure Committee - Ninth Report of Session 2017-19, HC 1904, 15 May 2019: 37p.

  • One of the powers of the House of Commons is a power to ‘call for papers’: that is, to require Ministers to produce documents and information to assist the House in discharging its functions. The right of the House to demand papers on this basis has never been challenged. In theory the power is capable of being exercised without limitation, but the House has, through practice, established certain limits: the power is not used to obtain papers which are not in the Government’s possession or which are of a personal nature. Although limited at present by the House’s established practice, the power could in the future be limited by a resolution of the House, by statutory provision or by judicial intervention.

Walfish, Simcha. “Responsible government in the age of secrecy: Parliamentary privilege and national security information.” Journal of Parliamentary and Political Law / Revue de droit parlementaire et politique 12 (3), February/février 2019: 829-62.

  • ...the National Security and Intelligence Committee of Parliamentarians Act - is an attempt to resolve the legal status of secret information by enabling parliamentarians to access previously unseen information, while, at the same time, inscribing into law that residual power to withhold information. The author argues that the Act constitutes a major revision to the lex parliamenti, the law governing Parliament.

Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 42 no 2
2019






Last Updated: 2019-10-21

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Nouveaux titres d’intérêt


Choix d’articles dans le domaine des études parlementaires (avril à mai 2019)

Bédard-Rubin, Jean-Christophe. « Senate reform and the political safeguards of Canadian federalism in Québec » [La réforme du Sénat et les protections politiques du fédéralisme canadien au Québec], Constitutional Forum constitutionnel 28 (1), 2019: p. 19-27.

  • À la lumière de la nouvelle politique de nomination au Sénat et de la réforme institutionnelle du gouvernement Trudeau, la signification et le rôle du Sénat dans l’architecture constitutionnelle du Canada pourraient changer. La réforme du Sénat pourrait transformer une institution politiquement moribonde en une véritable gardienne politique du fédéralisme canadien. La voie à suivre n’est ni facile ni inéluctable, mais les récents événements laissent entendre que le Québec, du moins, est prêt à exploiter cette nouvelle ouverture. Cet article fait la chronique de ce changement, en s’intéressant aux récentes tentatives du Québec de faire entendre ses revendications politiques par la voix du Sénat.

Brown, Jennifer. « Protests around Parliament » [Les manifestations autour du Parlement], Briefing Paper 03658 – Bibliothèque de la Chambre des communes [du Royaume-Uni], 2 mai 2019: 17 pages.

  • Ce document d’information livre un aperçu des dispositions actuelles relatives aux manifestations à proximité du Parlement, y compris un tour d’horizon des lois antérieures, des controverses et des causes judiciaires liées à diverses dispositions au fil des ans.

Campagnolo, Yan. « Cabinet immunity in Canada: the legal black hole » [L’immunité du Cabinet au Canada : un trou noir juridique], McGill Law Journal / Revue de droit de McGill 63 (2), December/décembre 2017 : p. 315-374.

  • Il y a 15 ans, dans la cause Babcock c. Canada (A.G.), la Cour suprême du Canada a déclaré que l’article 39 de la Loi sur la preuve au Canada, qui empêche les juges d’examiner les renseignements confidentiels du Cabinet et d’en ordonner la production dans une instance, respecte la primauté du droit et les dispositions de la Constitution. Cet article propose une nouvelle lecture de cette décision litigieuse et conteste le raisonnement de la Cour L’auteur allègue que l’article 39 constitue une disposition privative contraire à la loi, une forme de trou noir juridique, à l’encontre de la règle de droit et des dispositions de la Constitution.

Campagnolo, Yan. « Cabinet secrecy in Canada » [Le secret ministériel au Canada]. Journal of Parliamentary and Political Law / Revue de droit parlementaire et politique 12 (3), February/février 2019 : p. 583-613.

  • Le terme « secret ministériel » fait référence aux règles politiques et juridiques qui protègent la confidentialité des discussions et des documents du Cabinet dans les gouvernements fondés sur le modèle de Westminster. Cet article est inspiré des notes d’un cours d’initiation de trois heures sur le secret ministériel du Cabinet offert au ministère de la Justice du Canada de 2011 à 2017.

Johnston, Neil, Kelly, Richard. « Recall elections » [Les plébiscites de révocation], Bibliothèque de la Chambre des communes [du Royaume-Uni], Briefing Paper 5089, 19 mars 2019: 39 pages.

  • La révocation est un processus par lequel les électeurs d’une région donnée peuvent déclencher une élection spéciale pour destituer un élu avant la fin de son mandat. Le processus de révocation a été instauré au Royaume-Uni en 2015 et ne concerne que les députés.

Martin, Andrew Flavelle. « The Attorney General’s forgotten role as legal advisor to the legislature: a comment on Schmidt v Canada (Attorney General) » [Le rôle oublié du procureur général comme conseiller juridique de la législature : commentaire sur l’affaire Schmidt c. Procureur général du Canada], UBC Law Review 52 (1), janvier 2019: p. 201-226.

  • En droit – sinon en réalité –, le procureur général est véritablement un conseiller juridique pour la Chambre des communes. Ce rôle n’est pas simplement oublié; il est intrinsèquement problématique. Le problème vient de ce que le procureur général a un mandat conjoint. Il fournit des avis juridiques tant au pouvoir exécutif qu’à la Chambre des communes, tout en étant incapable de satisfaire aux exigences éthiques de son mandat conjoint. Cependant, ce problème ne justifie ni ne peut entraîner la suppression judiciaire de ce rôle. La décision Schmidt est l’occasion d’examiner ce rôle oublié, afin de régler le problème ou de recommander la suppression de ce rôle.

Martin, Andrew Flavelle. « The Minister’s Office lawyer: a challenge to the role of Attorney General? » [L’avocat du Cabinet : une remise en question du rôle du procureur général?], Journal of Parliamentary and Political Law / Revue de droit parlementaire et politique 12 (3), February/février 2019 : p. 641-658.

  • Conseiller juridique du Cabinet du premier ministre (CPM) à l’époque de Stephen Harper, Ben Perrin a été l’archétype d’un nouveau rôle juridique au gouvernement, celui de l’avocat du Cabinet. L’avocat du CPM, variante notable de l’avocat du Cabinet, est un avocat praticien qui sert le gouvernement comme un client. Ce rôle semble remettre en question celui que jouaient les avocats représentant traditionnellement le gouvernement : le procureur général et ses délégués, les avocats gouvernementaux de la bureaucratie. Quelle est la solution à ce problème?

Moore, Christopher. « A fully realized Senate » [Un Sénat pleinement épanoui], Literary Review of Canada 27 (2), mars 2019, p. 4-5.

  • La Chambre haute fait finalement ce qu’elle est censée faire.

Newson, Nicola. « Parliamentary freedom of speech and the rule of law debate on 23 May 2019 » [La liberté d’expression des parlementaires et le débat sur la règle de droit du 23 mai 2019], document de la Bibliothèque de la Chambre des lords, 15 mai 2019: 10 pages.

  • Le 23 mai 2019, la Chambre des lords doit discuter d’une motion déposée par lord Brown of Eaton-under Heywood (indépendant) selon laquelle « la Chambre est saisie du conflit potentiel entre le droit des députés de parler librement au Parlement et l’obligation, selon la règle de droit, de se plier aux ordonnances des tribunaux ». Lord Brown est un ancien juge de la Cour suprême. Ce document d’information n’a pas pour but d’examiner en détail des cas particuliers, mais plutôt d’étudier les principes fondamentaux et d’exposer les conclusions des comités parlementaires qui ont étudié la question.

Norton, Philip. « Power behind the scenes: the importance of informal space in legislatures » [Le pouvoir en coulisses : l’importance des espaces informels dans les législatures], Parliamentary Affairs 72 (2), avril 2019: p. 245-266.

  • Les études des législatures s’intéressent à ce qui se passe dans les espaces officiels, surtout la Chambre et les salles des comités. Bien que nécessaires, ces études ne suffisent pas à expliquer les comportements au sein des législatures et leurs conséquences. L’utilisation d’espaces permettant les interactions informelles entre les députés peut favoriser l’institutionnalisation d’une législature en encourageant l’autonomie. Ces espaces informels sont un lieu de socialisation, d’échange d’information, de lobbyisme et de mobilisation d’appuis politiques. Cet article examine l’importance des espaces informels, en s’inspirant de l’expérience du Parlement britannique.

Taylor of Bolton, Baroness (présidente). « Parliamentary scrutiny of treaties » [L’examen des traités par les parlementaires], Comité restreint de la Chambre des lords sur la Constitution – Vingtième rapport de la session 2017-19, imprimé le 24 avril 2019 et publié le 30 avril 2019, HL Paper 345: 52 pages.

  • La conclusion de traités est une responsabilité importante du gouvernement. L’examen attentif des traités par le Parlement se fonde sur la règle de Ponsonby, établie il y a près de 100 ans et énoncée par la suite dans la Constitutional Reform and Governance Act 2010 [Loi sur la gouvernance et la réforme de la Constitution]. Ces dispositions restreignent l’examen du Parlement à une période de 21 jours de séance suivant le dépôt devant les deux Chambres, par le gouvernement, d’un traité signé. Actuellement, les traités ne font pas l’objet d’un examen détaillé systématique avant leur signature… Pour combler les lacunes dans l’examen des traités par le Parlement, nous recommandons la création d’un comité restreint chargé d’étudier les nouveaux traités.

Thomas, Paul G. « Moving toward a new and improved Senate » [Vers un Sénat nouveau et amélioré], Institut de recherche en politiques publiques, étude no 69 de l’IRPP, mars 2019: 40 pages.

  • Le Sénat du Canada a changé considérablement depuis la décision prise en 2014 par Justin Trudeau, alors chef du Parti libéral, de retirer les sénateurs libéraux du caucus parlementaire, et son instauration, comme premier ministre, d’une nouvelle méthode de sélection des membres du Sénat. L’auteur conclut que d’autres changements sont nécessaires pour mener à bien l’actuel renouvellement, comme la création d’un comité des affaires chargé de planifier et d’organiser les travaux du Sénat et l’établissement d’un ensemble de critères, qui pourrait être intégré dans les règles du Sénat et servirait à guider sa décision de repousser, de modifier ou de rejeter un projet de loi du gouvernement.

Walker, Charles (président). « The House’s power to call for papers: procedure and practice » [Le pouvoir de la Chambre d’ordonner la production de documents : procédure et usages], Comité de la procédure de la Chambre des communes [du Royaume-Uni] – Neuvième rapport de la session 2017-19, HC 1904, 15 mai 2019: 37 pages.

  • En autres pouvoirs, la Chambre des communes a celui d’ordonner aux ministres de produire des documents et de l’information pour aider la Chambre à s’acquitter de ses fonctions. Le droit de la Chambre de solliciter ces documents dans ce contexte n’a jamais été contesté. En principe, ce pouvoir peut être exercé sans réserve, mais la Chambre a fixé certaines limites, acquises de l’expérience : ce pouvoir ne sert pas à obtenir des documents qui ne sont pas en la possession du gouvernement ou qui sont de nature personnelle. Bien qu’il soit actuellement balisé par les usages de la Chambre, ce pouvoir pourrait être limité par une résolution de la Chambre, une disposition législative ou une intervention judiciaire.

Walfish, Simcha. « Responsible government in the age of secrecy: Parliamentary privilege and national security information » [Un gouvernement responsable à l’ère du renseignement secret : le privilège parlementaire et le renseignement sur la sécurité nationale ], Journal of Parliamentary and Political Law / Revue de droit parlementaire et politique 12 (3), February/février 2019: p. 829-862.

  • La Loi sur le Comité des parlementaires sur la sécurité nationale et le renseignement tente de régler la question du statut juridique du renseignement secret en ouvrant aux parlementaires l’accès à de l’information inédite, tout en inscrivant dans la loi le pouvoir résiduaire de retenir l’information. L’auteur allègue que la Loi constitue une révision majeure de la lex parliamenti, la loi régissant le Parlement.

Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 42 no 2
2019






Dernière mise à jour : 2019-10-21