Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
CPA Activities - The Canadian SceneCPA Activities - The Canadian Scene


New Nunavut Speaker

On May 28, 2019, Baker Lake MLA Simeon Mikkungwak strongwas elected Speaker of the Nunavut Assembly. Mr. Mikkungwak, who was elected in a secret ballot over MLAs Paul Quassa, Tony Akoak and Pat Angnakak, replaces former Speaker Joe Enook who passed away in March.

“Having served as Deputy Speaker for our late Speaker, I am deeply touched,” Mr. Mikkungwak said. “My colleagues, it’s evident that we will work well together on behalf of Nunavummiut. I also humble myself for being elected as Speaker.”

First elected in 2013 and re-elected in 2017, in addition to his role as Deputy Speaker, Mr. Mikkungwak also served as Chairperson of the Committee of the Whole.

Prior to entering politics Mr. Mikkungwak worked as an inspector for the Kivalliq Inuit Association, an alcohol and drug specialist for Nunavut’s Department of Health and Social Services, a court interpreter, and deputy mayor of Baker Lake.

New Alberta Speaker

Olds-Didsbury-Three Hills MLA Nathan Cooper was selected Speaker of the 30th Alberta legislature on May 21, 2019 in a secret ballot over Edmonton-Manning MLA Heather Sweet, who served as deputy chair of committees in the previous assembly. Mr. Cooper, who at 39 is the youngest Alberta Speaker in more than 80 years, has a reputation in the Assembly for his sense of humour and his love of parliamentary procedure.

“I think the thing that I hope to do is strike the right balance of being a Speaker who has a keen sense of when to interject and when to allow the members of the assembly to continue in the cut and thrust of debate,” he told reporters, noting he would “try his very best Dad voice” when dealing with unruly MLAs.

Mr. Cooper said he planned to apply the rules consistently while hoping debates would be “vigorous, thoughtful and amicable.”

While working to remain order in Assembly, Mr. Cooper explained that he did not view the legislature as a workplace like any other. “This is the peaceful way we do battle,” he said of Assembly debates. “We are doing battle for ideas in democracy.”

New PEI Speaker

Souris-Elmira MLA Colin LaVie was elected Speaker of the PEI Assembly on June 13, 2019 in a secret ballot over MLA Hal Perry. Mr. Perry became deputy speaker. Speaker LaVie, who replaces retiring Speaker Francis “Buck” Watts, said his admiration for Speaker Watts and other previous Speakers inspired him to seek the chair.

First elected as a Progressive Conservative MLA in 2011, Speaker LaVie has won re-election twice. While sitting in Opposition, he served as critic for fisheries and agriculture, and as the Opposition whip.

“I want to thank you all for showing me your support,” Speaker LaVie said following his election. “It’s a real honour to sit in the Speaker’s chair…. Everyone is equal inside these rails.”

A local lobster fisher, Speaker LaVie is very active in his community. He serves as Chief of the Souris Fire Department and is a long-time volunteer with the Eastern Kings Sportsplex.

New Clerk of the Alberta Assembly

On May 24, 2019, Speaker Cooper appointed Shannon Dean as the new Clerk of the Alberta Assembly. Dean, who is the first woman to be named to the position, replaces Merwan Saher.

After earning a Bachelor of Commerce from the University of Alberta in 1987, Ms. Dean attended Osgoode Hall Law School at York University and graduated in 1991.

During her more than 20 years at the Alberta Assembly, Ms. Dean has held numerous positions including Senior Parliamentary Counsel, Law Clerk, and Director of House Services. She also served as Acting Clerk following former Clerk Rob Reynoldsretirement.

Noting her extensive experience working in non-partisan roles for the Assembly, Speaker Cooper said he believes the Legislative Assembly Office should be “very pleased to work under the leadership of Ms. Dean.”


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 42 no 2
2019






Last Updated: 2019-10-21

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Activités de lActivités de l'APC - La scène canadienne


Nouveau président de l’Assemblée du Nunavut

Le 28 mai 2019, Simeon Mikkungwak, député de Baker Lake, a été élu président de l’Assemblée du Nunavut. M. Mikkungwak l’a emporté sur les députés Paul Quassa, Tony Akoak et Pat Angnakak à l’issue d’un scrutin secret. Son prédécesseur est Joe Enook, décédé en mars.

« Je suis profondément touché de succéder à notre regretté président, après l’avoir servi comme vice-président, a déclaré M. Mikkungwak. Chers collègues, il ne fait aucun doute que nous saurons travailler efficacement ensemble, comme représentants des Nunavummiut. J’accepte avec humilité cette élection au poste de président. »

Élu pour une première fois en 2013 et de nouveau en 2017, M. Mikkungwak a été vice-président de l’Assemblé et président du comité plénier.

Avant de faire le saut en politique, M. Mikkungwak a été inspecteur pour la Kivalliq Inuit Association, spécialiste en alcoolisme et toxicomanies pour le ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Nunavut, interprète judiciaire et maire suppléant de Baker Lake.

L’Assemblée législative de l’Alberta a un nouveau président

Le 21 mai 2019, Nathan Cooper, député d’Olds-Didsbury-Three Hills, a été élu président de la 30e législature de l’Alberta lors d’un scrutin secret. Il l’a emporté sur Heather Sweet, députée d’Edmonton-Manning et ancienne vice-présidente de comités de l’Assemblée précédente. M. Cooper, qui, à 39 ans, est le plus jeune président de l’Assemblée albertaine depuis plus de 80 ans, est reconnu à l’Assemblée pour son sens de l’humour et sa passion pour la procédure parlementaire.

« Ce que je souhaite accomplir comme président est de trouver un juste équilibre entre les situations où il faut s’interposer et celles où il faut laisser la joute oratoire suivre son cours », a-t-il déclaré aux journalistes, ajoutant qu’il prendrait « sa plus belle voix autoritaire pour ramener à l’ordre les députés indisciplinés ».

M. Cooper entend appliquer les règles uniformément, tout en espérant que les débats seront « animés, réfléchis et pacifiques ».

Tout en s’efforçant de maintenir l’ordre à l’Assemblée, M. Cooper a expliqué que, pour lui, la législature n’est pas un lieu de travail comme les autres. « C’est une lutte pacifique, a-t-il déclaré au sujet des débats à l’Assemblée. C’est un choc des idées au nom de la démocratie. »

Nouveau président à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard

Le 13 juin 2019, le député provincial de Souris-Elmira, Colin LaVie, a été élu président de l’Assemblée de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard à l’issue d’un scrutin secret qui l’opposait au député Hal Perry, lui-même nommé vice-président. Succédant à Francis « Buck » Watts, il attribue son désir d’accéder à la présidence à l’admiration qu’il voue au président Watts et à d’autres prédécesseurs.

Le président LaVie a été élu en tant que député progressiste-conservateur pour la première fois en 2011, puis réélu à deux reprises. Il a d’ailleurs été whip et porte-parole en matière de pêches et d’agriculture lorsqu’il était dans l’opposition.

« Je tiens à remercier chacun d’entre vous pour votre soutien, a déclaré le président LaVie après son élection. C’est un véritable honneur d’occuper le fauteuil du président [...] Ici, tout le monde est sur un pied d’égalité. » [TRADUCTION]

Le président LaVie est un pêcheur local de homard, qui se montre très actif dans son milieu. En effet, il est chef du service d’incendie de Souris et bénévole de longue date au Eastern Kings Sportsplex.

Nouvelle greffière de l’Assemblée de l’Alberta

Le 24 mai 2019, le président Cooper a nommé Shannon Dean au poste de greffière de l’Assemblée. Première femme à occuper ce poste, Mme Dean succède à Merwan Saher.

Après avoir obtenu un baccalauréat en sciences commerciales de l’Université de l’Alberta, en 1987, Mme Dean a fréquenté l’Osgoode Hall Law School de l’Université York et a obtenu son diplôme en 1991.

Au cours de sa carrière de plus de 20 ans à l’Assemblée de l’Alberta, Mme Dean a occupé différents postes, dont conseillère parlementaire principale, juriste et directrice des Services de la Chambre. Elle a aussi été greffière suppléante après le départ à la retraite du greffier Rob Reynolds.

En soulignant sa vaste expérience dans des rôles non partisans pour l’Assemblée, le président Cooper a dit croire que les membres du Bureau de l’Assemblée législative devraient être « ravis de travailler sous la direction de Mme Dean ».


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 42 no 2
2019






Dernière mise à jour : 2019-10-21