Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

HomeContact UsFranais

PDF
Honouring Indigenous Languages Within Parliament
Robert-Falcon Ouellette

Canada has two official languages, but neither one is one of the original languages of this land. As an Indigenous parliamentarian who speaks Cree, the author believed it was important to be able to make substantive statements in parliament in this language. This language informed the principle of his worldview and the worldview of some of his constituents. In 2017, the existing standing orders and policies of the House of Commons prevented his address in Cree from being translated to his fellow MPs. Despite receiving advice to use one of Canadas two official languages, the author decided to continue with his speech as planned. Subsequently, he raised a prima facie case that his rights as a parliamentarian had been violated and worked with the Regulations Committee (PROC) to change the standing orders. In this article, he explains his thoughts about this issue and reveals how he came to a decision to challenge the status quo in an effort to be true to himself and his people.

When the great mystery breathed life into creation, man and all animals were created. When this occurred, there was treaty between all living things that they would live in a manner which recognized their mutual sacrifice and benefits. To make these treaties they communicated in a common language and were reciprocally understood; the otter could speak with the birds, the moose with fish and man with all animals. To speak and to be understood is central to treaty. It is central to the ideals of relationship.

After 153 years, the Canadian House of Commons now allows for the translation of the original languages of Canada. The ability to speak a language and be understood is central to the ideals of democracy. If we speak and no one is able to understand us then we are effectively silenced and have no influence over the manner in which others impact us or the ability to influence others. There is no relationship.

Nemacomacuntik Tansai Nemeyatanye atawapamtikok.

These words have power. These words tell a story and make a statement of values. It is a statement of worldview. A worldview is the principles of a people; it allows us to make sense of the world around us. We create a community of traditions and customs from myths, legends, stories, family, community and examples set by communal leaders. A worldview allows a people who self-identify to create a system of logic; it allows objects to fit within a paradigm, generates behaviour and helps a people to interpret their experiences. I start almost all my speeches in parliament and in front of large crowds with this simple phrase.

When I was first elected in 2015 I had a number of objectives; a vision of what I would do as an MP. I wanted to make a difference, to improve the lives of my fellow citizens of Winnipeg, to have influence. I also knew that I did not want to be catalogued as just that Indigenous guy or just that Indigenous MP. I thought long and hard about where and how I could best have influence. I asked and was placed on the finance committee. I wanted to advocate for all my fellow citizens in Parliament, to be their voice. Not all the citizens in Winnipeg Centre are Indigenous. We have Filipino people, Muslims, environmentalists, Mennonites, the homeless, poor people, the middle class, activists and, yes, also Indigenous peoples.

This is my baggage. It was also the path to using my language, the Cree language in Parliament. In 2017 there was violence in a number of Indigenous communities against Indigenous girls, and young women. I felt that since I was a leader I needed to take a stand against this violence and address the violence in a manner that would be noticed. The only problem was that we often hear from the political class that society should stop violence, and among Indigenous peoples, stop the lateral violence among our peoples. Elders, teachers, politicians, and activists will frequently say No to the violence, yet the violence continues.

I felt the way to reach young people would be to do a speech in Cree, talk about the violence and our need to be kind to each other, and renew our treaty within our communities. I prepared my text, including an English version. I called the Whips office and arranged a moment to give the speech during Members Statements before Question Period.

I was surprised to learn that even though I had given the parliamentary interpretation services ample warning and provided an English version of my text there would be no interpretation services offered. The standing orders and existing policies did not permit the use of another language in the House of Commons. I would be required to give my speech in English or in French; I would need to use one of Canadas two official languages. The staff from the Whips office contacted me and asked that I use English or French; my staff asked that I use English or French. I feel I was asked to use English and French because people were afraid of what the reaction might be. I was told that the Speaker would not allow me to finish my speech, as it was against the rules. I was told that the opposition would use this incident to play games in Parliament to upset the government. I was told to speak white.

On the night of May 3, 2017, I lay awake in my apartment thinking about what I should do. I thought about the possible consequences of going against the wishes of the Whips office. I had already been punished with curtailed speaking rights in the House and no travel with parliamentary committees in the previous year for trying to represent my citizens. By the morning, I prayed, smudged, conducted a pipe ceremony and I thought about the words of an Elder named George who said to me when I was running for office that My words are my honour and my words are the people.

On May 4, 2017 I started giving my speech in Cree, I said:

anohcihk nsww cimowina kiphtnaw ita oskya-iyiniw-iskwwak -nipahihck hp -k-shki-wsakatahohcik. kosi k-itahkamikan mkwc ayisiyiniwak -kanawpahkcik mna -masinipihcikcik. kosi tpitaw k-h-ispayik. kita-nkatawyihtamahk piko k-h-isi-pamihitoyahk, kiynaw ayisiyiniw k-ititoyahk. niya niwcikpawstn ma mswa-ayn atosktamkwin (Moose Hide Campaign) kwa ispayin ta-wihtamahk ma kah-kitimkhikiwina, ta-kistyimyahkik kahkiyaw iskwwak. nikwsak, nisikosak, nitawmwak, nitnis, mna nittmak miyosiwak; shkithwak, tah-tapyimisowak, skihiwwak, kistyimowak, tpwyihtkosiwak, shki-atoskwak. kitak-mancihihcik, kitak-mancihikocik oyasiwwin, kosi namya smk kita-kitimahihcik, namya smk ka-nisiwancihihcik.

Recently in the Prairies, two high profile violent events occurred where young indigenous women were killed and severely hurt. These events occurred while people stood by and recorded these incidents. The freedom of the violence calls into question our own humanity. I am a supporter of the Moose Hide Campaign and it is time that we raise indigenous women above our current beliefs. My aunts, cousins, daughter, and friends are beautiful. They are courageous, humble, intelligent, loving, respectful, honest, hard-working. They deserve additional protection of our laws so people think twice before they destroy lives.

It was one of the hardest moments in my life. I would leave the translation and interpretation up to the creator; I had no control over others, only my actions. As I gave my speech in Cree I could hear my fellow MPs laughing. They were expecting a speech in English or French, so they were naturally wondering what I was talking about. It was a very serious topic and it deserved attention. After I spoke, I was asked by my good colleagues what I had said, as no one had understood. I questioned later if I had actually spoken; if the words which left my mouth really mattered. I was upset because the people of Winnipeg Centre and Indigenous peoples from across Canada had not sent me to Ottawa to be silent, but rather to ensure a different voice was heard and to present a different worldview. I had been silenced by the institution.

Later as I went about my weekend, my anger grew towards the injustice. Other Elders had previously asked me to ensure that our ceremonies would be in the House of Commons, that our drum would be heard. Yet my voice had been silenced. I felt that my parliamentary privileges had been ignored and trampled upon. I decided this needed to change, but I needed to use the institution and make a point of privilege. I went to see the Chief of Staff for the Whip, who then sent me to the House Leaders office. They preferred that I would not make my point of privilege as they were having difficult negotiations on legislation and they were afraid it would derail important government legislation. Every few days I would return and ask when I could make my point. It should be remembered that points of privilege must be made as soon as possible, closest to the moment when a violation occurred. I persisted and I kept asking and eventually, on June 8, 2017, I was told I could make my case of prima facie. It was almost a month later.

The institution of Parliament is formidable. Individual MPs have very little weight; you must fight to be heard. It is stressful because of the multiple roadblocks placed in your path. Even the simple act of smudging in my office has been a difficult effort; there have been many back-and-forths between the Chief Fire Warden and me. It is hard to be an MP and it is particularly hard to be an Indigenous MP. There are great expectations placed on your shoulders and you are placed within a large institution which has its own worldview. It can consume you. This battle in the House of Commons was a basic human rights fight. It is harder than you think to battle every day on a physical and emotional level. Yet, here I am, and here the House of Commons still stands. The institution has grown in stature through the effort of reconciliation of worldviews.

When translation was eventually permitted for the first time on January 28, 2019, I said in the media: This is something Ive been fighting for now for two years almost, and to have the opportunity of having Indigenous languages translated I think is a significant and very symbolic and important measure [towards] including Indigenous Canadians; to tell Indigenous Canadians that they are full citizens.

The rest is now part of the history of Canada. This case led to a study by the Regulations (PROC) Committee and the hard work by colleagues on all sides to change the standing orders. It was not a battle that I undertook alone. I would like to thank David Graham, a Jewish MP from Quebec who never let the committee stop the important work it was doing and MP Chris Bittle who pushed our House Leader to ensure that parliamentary procedure was respected and that the standing orders were changed. A great thank you to Professor Karen Drake for the arguments and writings which allowed the case of prima facie to be made. On a personal note, this has been a very proud moment in my life, but also my most difficult. It is extremely stressful, pushing against large institutions, feeling alone, and being the point of the arrow.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 42 no 2
2019






Last Updated: 2019-10-21

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Honorer les langues autochtones au Parlement
Robert-Falcon Ouellette

Le Canada a deux langues « officielles », mais aucune d’elles ne compte parmi les langues originelles de ce territoire. En tant que parlementaire autochtone d’expression crie, l’auteur estime important de pouvoir prononcer des déclarations de fond, au Parlement, en cri. Cette langue participe de sa vision du monde et de celle d’une partie de ses électeurs. En 2017, le règlement et les politiques de la Chambre des communes ne permettaient pas que ses allocutions en cri soient traduites pour ses collègues députés. Bien qu’il ait été averti d’utiliser l’une des deux langues officielles du Canada, l’auteur a décidé de poursuivre son allocution comme prévu. Par la suite, il a soulevé une question de privilège pour violation de ses droits de parlementaire et s’est employé à modifier le règlement, en collaboration avec le Comité d’examen de la réglementation (PROC). Dans cet article, il expose son point de vue sur la question et explique comment il en est venu à la décision de contester l’ordre établi par honnêteté envers lui-même et son peuple.

Le Grand Mystère a insufflé la vie à toute la création, hommes et animaux. Un traité a été scellé entre tous les êtres vivants, les engageant à vivre de manière à reconnaître leur sacrifice et leurs bienfaits mutuels. Pour conclure ce traité, ils ont communiqué dans une langue commune et se comprenaient mutuellement. La loutre parlait à l’oiseau, l’orignal parlait au poisson et l’homme, à tous les animaux. La capacité de parler et d’être compris est essentielle pour conclure un traité. Elle est au cœur des idéaux de relation.

Après 153 ans, la Chambre des communes du Canada permet maintenant la traduction des langues originelles de ce pays. La possibilité de parler une langue et d’être compris est essentielle aux idéaux de démocratie. Si personne ne nous comprend, nous perdons la voix au chapitre et toute capacité de moduler l’influence des autres ou notre influence sur autrui. Il n’y a pas de relation.

Nemacomacuntik Tansai Nemeyatanye atawapamtikok.

Ces mots sont puissants. Ils racontent une histoire et énoncent des valeurs. Ils décrivent une vision du monde. La vision du monde représente les principes d’un peuple. Elle nous permet de trouver un sens au monde qui nous entoure. Nous créons une communauté de traditions et de coutumes à partir de mythes, de légendes, de récits, de familles, de collectivités et d’exemples fournis par les dirigeants de nos communaut és. Une vision du monde permet à un peuple qui s’y identifie de créer un système logique. Elle permet aux objets de s’intégrer à l’intérieur d’un paradigme, de générer des comportements et aide un peuple à interpréter ses expériences. Je commence presque toutes mes allocutions au Parlement et devant de vastes auditoires par cette simple phrase.

Lors de mon élection, en 2015, je me suis fixé différents objectifs, une vision de ce que voulais accomplir comme député. Je voulais changer les choses, améliorer la vie de mes concitoyens de Winnipeg, exercer une influence. Je savais aussi que je ne voulais pas être catalogué juste comme « un Autochtone » ou « le député autochtone ». J’ai réfléchi longuement aux domaines dans lesquels je pourrais agir et aux moyens de le faire. J’ai été affecté au comité des finances, comme je l’avais demandé. Je voulais parler au nom de tous mes concitoyens au Parlement, être leur porte-parole. Les citoyens de Winnipeg-Centre ne sont pas tous autochtones. Ils sont philippins, musulmans, environnementalistes, mennonites, sans-abri, pauvres, de classe moyenne, activistes et – oui – autochtones.

C’est ce qui constitue mon bagage. C’est aussi ce qui m’a amené à parler dans ma langue, le cri, au Parlement. En 2017, des filles et des femmes autochtones ont été victimes de violence dans des communautés autochtones. J’ai estimé que, comme dirigeant, je devais prendre position contre cette violence, de manière à être entendu. Le seul problème est que, souvent, la classe politique dit que la société doit mettre un terme à la violence et que les Autochtones doivent cesser d’exercer une violence latérale entre eux-mêmes. Des Aînés, des enseignants, des politiciens, des activistes dénoncent souvent la violence; pourtant, elle continue.

J’ai pensé qu’un moyen de sensibiliser les jeunes était de prononcer un discours en cri, de parler de la violence et de la nécessité de faire preuve de bonté entre nous et de renouveler notre traité au sein de nos communautés. J’ai rédigé le texte en cri ainsi qu’une version anglaise. J’ai appelé au bureau du whip et fixé un moment pour livrer mon allocution au cours des déclarations des députés, avant la période des questions

J’ai eu la surprise d’apprendre que, bien que j’aie donné un long préavis aux services d’interprétation parlementaire et fourni une version anglaise de mon allocution, les services d’interprétation ne seraient pas offerts. Le règlement et les politiques existantes ne permettaient pas l’usage d’une autre langue à la Chambre des communes. Je devais livrer mon allocution en anglais ou en français. Je devais utiliser l’une des deux « langues officielles » du Canada. Le bureau du whip a communiqué avec moi pour me demander de parler en anglais ou en français. Mon personnel m’a fait la même demande. Je pense que c’était par crainte des réactions. On m’a dit que le Président ne me laisserait pas terminer mon allocution, que c’ était contraire aux règles. On m’a dit que l’opposition exploiterait cet incident pour disputer une joute parlementaire et contrarier le gouvernement. On m’a demandé de « parler blanc ».

La nuit du 3 mai 2017, j’étais éveillé et je réfléchissais à ce que je devais faire. J’ai pensé à ce qui pourrait arriver si je ne répondais pas aux demandes du bureau du whip. J’avais déjà été puni d’avoir voulu représenter mes citoyens par une réduction de mon droit de parole à la Chambre et l’interdiction de voyager avec les comités parlementaires, l’année précédente. Au matin, j’ai prié, je me suis purifié et j’ai accompli une cérémonie du calumet. J’ai pensé aux paroles que m’avait dites George, un Aîné, lorsque je m’étais porté candidat : « Mes paroles représentent mon honneur; mes paroles représentent mon peuple. »

Le 4 mai 2017, j’ai commencé mon allocution en cri. J’ai déclaré :

anohcihkî nîswâw âcimowina kipêhtênaw ita oskâya-iyiniw-iskwêwak ê-nipahihck âhpô ê-kî-sôhki-wîsakatahohcik. êkosi kî-itahkamikan mêkwâc ayisiyiniwak ê-kanawâpahkêcik mîna ê-masinipihcikêcik. êkosi tâpitaw kâ-âh-ispayik. kita-nâkatawêyihtamahk piko kâ-âh-isi-pamihitoyahk, kiyânaw ayisiyiniw kâ-ititoyahk. niya niwîcikâpawîstên ôma môswa-ayân atoskâtamâkêwin (Moose Hide Campaign) êkwa ispayin ta-wihtamahk ôma kah-kitimâkêhikiwina, ta-kistêyimâyahkik kahkiyaw iskwêwak. nikâwîsak, nisikosak, nitawêmâwak, nitânis, mîna nitôtêmak miyosiwak; sôhkitêhêwak, tah-tapêyimisowak, sâkihiwêwak, kistêyimowak, tâpwêyihtâkosiwak, sôhki-atoskêwak. kitakî-manâcihihcik, kitakî-manâcihikocik oyasiwêwin, êkosi namôya sêmâk kita-kitimahihcik, namôya sêmâk ka-nisiwanâcihihcik.

Récemment, dans les Prairies, de jeunes femmes autochtones ont été assassinées ou grièvement blessées, victimes de deux événements violents largement médiatisés. Des gens étaient présents et ont enregistré ces événements. Cette violence gratuite met en cause notre propre humanité. J’appuie la campagne Moose Hide. Il est temps de dépoussiérer nos croyances sur les femmes autochtones. Mes tantes, mes cousines, ma fille et mes amies sont magnifiques. Elles sont courageuses, humbles, intelligentes, affectueuses, respectueuses, honnêtes et vaillantes. Elles méritent que nos lois leur offrent une meilleure protection, afin de dissuader ceux qui voudraient détruire des vies.

Ce fut l’un des moments les plus difficiles de ma vie. J’ai laissé la traduction et l’interprétation aux soins du Créateur. Je pouvais contrôler mes actions, mais pas la réaction des autres. Pendant que je livrais mon discours en cri, j’entendais rire mes collègues. Ils s’attendaient à une allocution en anglais ou en français. Ils se demandaient naturellement de quoi je parlais. Le sujet était grave et méritait leur attention. Quand j’ai eu fini, mes collègues m’ont demandé ce que j’avais dit; personne n’avait compris. Je me suis ensuite demandé si j’avais réellement parlé; si les mots qui étaient sortis de ma bouche avaient eu un quelconque impact. J’étais contrarié, car les gens de Winnipeg-Centre et les Autochtones du Canada ne m’avaient pas envoyé à Ottawa pour demeurer silencieux, mais pour veiller à ce qu’une voix différente soit entendue et présenter une vision du monde différente. J’ai été réduit au silence, par l’institution.

Vers la fin de la semaine, mon ressentiment envers cette injustice avait augmenté. D’autres Aînés m’avaient demandé auparavant de veiller à ce que nos cérémonies soient accueillies à la Chambre des communes, que le son de notre tambour soit entendu. Or, ma voix avait été réduite au silence. J’ai estimé que mon privilège parlementaire avait été bafoué. J’ai décidé qu’il fallait que ça change, mais je devais passer par l’institution et soulever une question de privilège. J’ai rencontré le chef de cabinet du whip, qui m’a dirigé vers le bureau du leader parlementaire. On préférait que je ne soulève pas ma question de privilège, parce que des négociations difficiles étaient en cours au sujet d’une loi et que ma question de privilège risquait de faire achopper une loi importante du gouvernement. Périodiquement, après quelques jours, je redemandais si je pouvais présenter ma question. Il faut savoir que les questions de privilège doivent être soulevées aussitôt que possible après l’atteinte au privilège. J’ai persist é avec mes demandes et j’ai finalement appris que je pourrais présenter ma question de privilège le 8 juin 2017, près d’un mois plus tard.

Le Parlement est une institution redoutable. Les députés, individuellement, ont très peu de poids. Ils doivent lutter pour se faire entendre. C’est une entreprise stressante, en raison des nombreux obstacles placés sur leur chemin. Même l’autorisation de tenir une simple cérémonie de purification dans mon bureau m’a exigé un effort pénible et de nombreuses interactions avec le chef de la protection incendie. La vie de député est difficile, en particulier pour un député autochtone. De grandes attentes sont placées en eux, qui doivent évoluer dans une grande institution, qui a sa propre vision du monde. Ce travail peut être épuisant. Cette lutte à la Chambre des communes était essentiellement une lutte pour les droits fondamentaux de la personne. Ces batailles quotidiennes sont physiquement et émotionnellement plus difficiles qu’elles ne le paraissent. Pourtant, je suis encore là, tout comme la Chambre des communes. L’institution a gagné en stature par un effort de rapprochement des points de vue.

Lorsque la traduction a été finalement permise pour la première fois, le 28 janvier 2019, j’ai dit aux médias : « C’est une cause pour laquelle je me suis battu depuis presque deux ans. Je pense que la traduction des langues autochtones est une mesure d’inclusion importante et très symbolique pour les Canadiens autochtones, qui leur dit qu’ils sont des citoyens à part entière. »

Le reste fait maintenant partie de l’histoire canadienne. Cette affaire a mené à une étude du Comité d’examen de la réglementation (PROC) et à de grands efforts des collègues des deux côtés de la Chambre pour changer le règlement. Ce n’est pas une lutte que j’ai livrée seul. Je tiens à remercier David Graham, député juif du Québec, qui n’a jamais permis que le Comité cesse le travail important qu’il avait entrepris, et le député Chris Bittle, qui a poussé notre leader parlementaire à veiller à ce que la procédure parlementaire soit respect ée et que le règlement soit modifié. Un grand merci à la professeure Karen Drake, pour les arguments et les documents qui m’ont permis de soulever ma question de privilège. Ce fut pour moi un moment de grande fierté, mais aussi l’épisode le plus difficile de ma vie. Il est très stressant de s’opposer, seul, à de grandes institutions, et d’être la pointe de la flèche.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 42 no 2
2019






Dernière mise à jour : 2019-10-21