Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
Parliamentary Politics Runs in the Family: The Squires
Sean Dawe

In 1930, Sir Richard Squires was halfway through his second, non-consecutive term as Prime Minister of Newfoundland when his wife, Lady Helena Squires, was elected as the Member of the House of Assembly for the district of Lewisporte.

Not only was this the first time a woman was ever voted into the House of Assembly of Newfoundland, it was also the first instance of the spouse of any sitting Prime Minister in the British Empire being elected to the legislature and sitting beside their partner.

During Sir Richard’s first term as PM (1919-1923), both he and Lady Helena, proved to be obstacles to the Woman’s Suffrage League. It wasn’t until Squires was ousted from office that his predecessor, Sir Frederick Alderice, introduced and passed legislation that granted women the right to vote in 1925. It is quite ironic that the first woman to be sworn in as a MHA was Squires’ wife.

Lady Squires was rather quiet during her short time in the House and only a few instances of her speaking have been recorded in Hansard. Her husband’s time in politics, however, proved far more contentious. A combination of the Great Depression, allegations of corruption, and a subsequent riot in April 1932 forced the Prime Minister to dissolve his government. In the ensuing 1932 General Election, both Sir and Lady Squires lost their seats. Neither returned to active politics after being defeated.

Sir Richard died in St. John’s on March 26, 1940. Lady Helena passed away in Toronto on March 21, 1959.

Sean Dawe

Information Management Division
Newfoundland & Labrador House of Assembly


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 42 no 1
2019






Last Updated: 2019-07-15

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Faire de la politique en couple : Richard et Helena Squires
Sean Dawe

En 1930, sir Richard Squires en était à la moitié de son deuxième mandat non consécutif comme premier ministre de Terre-Neuve quand son épouse, lady Helena Squires, a été élue députée de Lewisporte à la Chambre d’assemblée de Terre-Neuve.

Non seulement était-ce la première fois qu’une femme était élue députée de Terre-Neuve, mais c’était également la première fois dans l’Empire britannique que l’épouse d’un premier ministre en exercice était élue députée et siégeait en même temps que lui.

Pendant le premier mandat de sir Richard à titre de premier ministre (de 1919 à 1923), lui et lady Helena ont tous les deux mis des bâtons dans les roues de la Ligue des suffragettes. Ce n’est que lorsque sir Richard a été chassé du pouvoir que son prédécesseur, sir Frederick Alderice, a déposé et fait adopter une loi qui donnait le droit de vote aux femmes en 1925. Il est bien ironique que la première femme à prêter serment comme députée ait été l’épouse de sir Richard.

Le court mandat de lady Helena n’a pas suscité de remous. Selon le hansard, elle n’est intervenue que quelques fois à la Chambre d’assemblée. La carrière de son époux, par contre, a soulevé de vives controverses. La Grande Dépression, des allégations de corruption et l’émeute subséquente d’avril 1932 ont forcé le premier ministre à dissoudre le gouvernement. Sir Richard et lady Helena ont ensuite tous deux perdu leur siège pendant les élections générales de la même année. Ni l’un ni l’autre n’a jamais réintégré le milieu de la politique active après cette défaite.

Sir Richard est décédé à St. John’s le 26 mars 1940. Lady Helena est pour sa part décédée le 21 mars 1959 à Toronto.

Sean Dawe

Division de la gestion de l’information
Chambre d’assemblée de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 42 no 1
2019






Dernière mise à jour : 2019-07-15