Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
Keep Calm, And Carry On: Business Continuity Planning In Parliaments
Tommy Lynch

For several years a group of legislatures have been working together to create guidance that will help similar organisations in considering business continuity planning necessary to maintain operations in the event of unexpected events or a crisis. In this article, the author outlines the progress of the work and explains how interested parties can get hold of the resulting guide which will be available from January 2019.

In May 2014, the Clerk of the Scottish Parliament, Sir Paul Grice, met with his counterparts in Ottawa where the topic of business continuity cropped up. It became clear during the discussion that there would be mutual benefit if the House of Commons and the Scottish Parliament began sharing information on strategic plans, resources and approaches to business continuity.

Over the following months there were conference calls, regular email correspondence and the bilateral sharing of information between Ottawa and Edinburgh soon expanded to include representatives from the Canadian Senate, the UK Houses of Parliament in London, Provincial Legislative Assemblies based in Toronto and Victoria and, most recently, the House of Representatives in Wellington, New Zealand.

As we shared information, there were clearly areas of overlap. Moreover, some legislatures had particular areas of strength that other participants could learn and benefit from. Representatives from most of these organisations agreed to meet in Toronto in June 2015 to continue our discussion and gave our group a name – Legislative Assemblies Business Continuity Network or LABCoN.

Our first set of meetings focussed on direct comparison of our approaches to business continuity. We shared stories, noted our successes, and also lessons learned from work that could have gone better. The group created a questionnaire based on the international standard for business continuity, ISO 22301.

The Toronto meetings were very positive and the group, as well as sharing expertise and enthusiasm for business continuity, also hit it off personally. The extent of what we learned over those two days drove home the value of this information exchange to the group – there are undoubtedly other legislatures that could benefit from the knowledge and experience of participants if it could be captured and shared in some fashion.

Over the following months we agreed that creating a business continuity guide specifically for legislatures was the way forward. The guide would be based on sound business continuity planning processes. We believed real value could be gained from exploring legislature-specific aspects of what has worked well and instances where things haven’t quite turned out as planned.

Martin Fenlon formally of the UK Houses of Parliament and now working as a consultant, created our technical guide. His draft was reviewed by the group at a three-day meeting in Edinburgh in August 2016 where we also discussed what other areas could and should be included in our guide. Training on incident communications and incident management occurred during this gathering as well sessions where we explored how to look after the welfare of Members, staff and visitors at a Parliament after a disruptive event.

One of the main outputs from the Edinburgh meetings, in addition to the technical element of the guide, was a determination that each of us to concentrate on capturing “case study” information to help show the resources, approaches, challenges and benefits that business continuity thinking and planning could bring to a legislature.

When meeting in Victoria, British Columbia in August 2017, the group reveiewed this material and also had the opportunity to explore the planning and resources that BC’s Legislative Assembly use in its earthquake planning. Moreover, we discussed the impact of the 2001 Nisqually earthquake with colleagues from the Washington State Legislature in Olympia; these staff had to carry out extensive repair work to their capitol building and decant their Chambers during that time.

The most recent LABCoN conference, in Ottawa during July 2018, focussed on completing content for the guide. In addition to the technical BC chapter, it includes also includes chapters on:

  • Governance & Resources
  • Planning Approach
  • Assessing Business Continuity plans

With the content of the guide now complete, we are applying the finishing touches to give it a bit of style, translating it into French and creating a hub website for the work we have been doing. The website will also have information to allow people interested in LABCoN to contact the authors and ask questions about what has been set out. We are aiming to “publish” this guide in early 2019 and LABCoN members will be using contacts established by their own organisations to advertise the availability of the guide.

All participants in LABCoN have benefitted from our discussions, sharing information and the opportunity to work across legislatures with colleagues in a very specialized area. As Michelle Hegarty, Assistant Chief Executive for the Scottish Parliament, offered: “I hope that the information in our guide can help other legislatures plan for the delivery of their services and make their overall operations more robust, not just for their benefit but to also demonstrate that to politicians and to the public. I think all of us who have been involved with the work have learnt a lot and we look forward to making that available to others”

Next Steps

LABCoN members would love to hear from other legislatures if this guide interests them and for feedback on how the guide can be improved over time. LABCoN is also keen to continually improve the quantity and quality of knowledge and information available on legislature-specific aspects of business continuity, resilience and other related topics. Depending upon interest and feedback, LABCoN may schedule a conference focussed on education for interested legislatures, later in 2019.

Contact Information

Since its creation, LABCON has been supported by the following legislatures:

Visit our website at: www.labcon.network


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 41 no 4
2018






Last Updated: 2019-11-29

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Rester calme, et persévérer : Planification de la continuité des opérations dans les parlements
Tommy Lynch

Depuis plusieurs années, un groupe d’assemblées législatives travaillent de concert pour créer des lignes directrices qui aideront les organisations de leur nature à planifier la continuité des opérations essentielles en cas d’événements imprévus ou de crises. Dans cet article, l’auteur fait le point sur ces travaux et explique comment les parties intéressées peuvent se procurer le guide qui sera disponible à partir de janvier 2019.

En mai 2014, le greffier du Parlement écossais, Sir Paul Grice, a rencontré ses homologues à Ottawa, où le sujet de la continuité des opérations a été abordé. Au cours de la discussion, il est devenu évident qu’il serait mutuellement avantageux que la Chambre des communes et le Parlement écossais commencent à échanger de l’information sur les plans stratégiques, les ressources et les approches en matière de continuité des opérations.

Au cours des mois qui ont suivi, les conférences téléphoniques, la correspondance régulière par courriel et l’échange bilatéral d’information entre Ottawa et Édimbourg ont rapidement gagné en ampleur, et de nouveaux participants s’y sont joints : des représentants du Sénat canadien, des Chambres du Parlement britannique à Londres, des assemblées législatives provinciales situées à Toronto et Victoria et, plus récemment, de la Chambre des représentants de Wellington en Nouvelle-Zélande.

Au fur et à mesure que nous partagions l’information, nous constations des chevauchement sur certains sujets. De plus, certaines assemblées législatives possédaient des forces particulières qui pouvaient être utiles et instructives à d’autres participants. Les représentants de la plupart de ces organisations ont convenu de se réunir à Toronto en juin 2015 pour poursuivre leurs discussions; nous avons aussi à ce moment choisi le nom de notre groupe – le Réseau des Assemblées législatives sur la continuité des opérations ou LABCoN.

Notre première série de réunions s’est concentrée sur la comparaison directe de nos approches en matière de continuité des opérations. Nous avons échangé des anecdotes, noté nos réussites et fait part des leçons tirées de nos expériences, lorsqu’elles ont laissé à désirer. Le groupe a créé un questionnaire basé sur la norme internationale pour la continuité des opérations, ISO 22301.

Les réunions à Toronto ont été très positives et les membres du groupe, outre leur expertise et leur enthousiasme communs pour la continuité des opérations, se sont aussi bien entendus personnellement. L’étendue de ce que nous avons appris au cours de ces deux jours nous a fait comprendre la valeur de cet échange d’information pour le groupe, et nous avons songé qu’il y a sans aucun doute d’autres assemblées législatives qui pourraient bénéficier de nos connaissances et de notre expérience, si elles pouvaient être consignées et communiquées.

Au cours des mois qui ont suivi, nous avons convenu que la création d’un guide de continuité des opérations destiné spécifiquement aux assemblées législatives constituait la voie à suivre. Le guide serait fondé sur des processus solides de planification de la continuité des opérations. Nous croyions qu’il serait vraiment utile d’explorer les aspects propres aux assemblées législatives qui ont bien fonctionné et les cas où les choses ne se sont pas vraiment déroulées comme prévu.

Martin Fenlon, un ancien membre des Chambres du Parlement britannique qui est maintenant consultant, a créé notre guide technique. Son ébauche a été revue par le groupe lors d’une réunion de trois jours à Édimbourg, en août 2016, pendant laquelle nous avons également discuté des autres domaines qui pourraient et devraient être inclus dans notre guide. La formation sur la communication et la gestion des incidents s’est également déroulée au cours de cette rencontre, où nous avons exploré comment veiller au bien être des députés, du personnel et des visiteurs d’un Parlement en cas d’événement perturbateur.

La réunion d’Édimbourg a permis non seulement d’élaborer l’élément technique du guide, mais aussi de décider que chacun d’entre nous devait se concentrer sur la collecte d’« études de cas » qui mettraient en lumière les ressources, les idées, les défis et les avantages que la réflexion et la planification en matière de continuité des opérations peuvent apporter à une assemblée législative.

En août 2017, lors d’une réunion à Victoria, en Colombie-Britannique, le groupe a examiné le matériel ainsi recueilli et a eu l’occasion de se familiariser avec les méthodes et les ressources que l’Assemblée législative de la Colombie Britannique utilise dans sa planification en cas de séisme. De plus, nous avons discuté des répercussions du tremblement de terre de Nisqually en 2001 avec des collègues de l’Assemblée législative de l’État de Washington à Olympia; ces employés ont dû effectuer d’importants travaux de réparation à leur Capitole et délaisser leurs Chambres pendant cette période.

La plus récente conférence de LABCoN, qui s’est tenue à Ottawa en juillet 2018, était axée sur la finalisation du contenu de ce guide. En plus du chapitre technique de la Colombie-Britannique, il comprend également des chapitres sur :

  • La gouvernance et les ressources
  • L’approche de planification
  • L’évaluation des plans de continuité des opérations

Le texte du guide étant maintenant terminé, nous sommes en train de peaufiner le volume pour lui donner un peu de style, de le traduire en français et de créer un site Internet central réunissant le travail que nous avons accompli. Le site Internet contiendra également des informations permettant aux personnes intéressées par LABCoN de contacter les auteurs et de leur poser des questions sur le contenu. Nous avons l’intention de « publier » ce guide au début de 2019 et les membres de LABCoN utiliseront les contacts établis par leurs propres organisations pour faire savoir que le guide est disponible.

Tous les participants de LABCoN ont tiré profit de nos discussions, du partage d’information et de l’occasion de travailler avec des collègues de différents domaines très spécialisés au sein des assemblées législatives. Michelle Hegarty, directrice générale adjointe du Parlement écossais, a dit à ce sujet : « J’espère que l’information contenue dans notre guide pourra aider d’autres assemblées législatives à planifier la prestation de leurs services et à rendre leurs activités plus rigoureuses, non seulement dans leur intérêt, mais aussi pour en faire la démonstration aux politiciens et au public. Je pense que tous ceux d’entre nous qui ont participé à ce travail ont beaucoup appris et nous avons hâte de mettre tout cela à la portée des autres. »

Prochaines étapes

Les membres de LABCoN aimeraient que d’autres assemblées législatives leur fassent part de leur intérêt pour ce guide et de leurs commentaires sur d’éventuelles améliorations à y apporter. LABCoN tient à améliorer continuellement la quantité et la qualité des connaissances et de l’information disponibles sur les aspects de la continuité des opérations, de la résilience et des autres sujets connexes qui sont spécifiques aux assemblées législatives. Si l’intérêt manifesté et la rétroaction reçue le justifient, LABCoN pourrait, en 2019, organiser une conférence sur l’éducation pour les assemblées législatives intéressées.

Coordonnées des personnes-ressources.

Depuis sa création, LABCON est soutenu par les assemblées législatives suivantes :

  • La Chambre des communes du Canada – labcon@parl.gc.ca
  • Le Sénat du Canada – labcon@sen.parl.gc.ca
  • L’Assemblée législative de la Colombie-Britannique – labcon@leg.bc.ca
  • La Chambre des représentants de la Nouvelle-Zélande – labcon@parliament.govt.nz
  • L’Assemblée législative de l’Ontario – labcon@ola.org
  • Le Parlement écossais – labcon@parliament.scot

Visitez notre site Internet au www.labcon.network.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 41 no 4
2018






Dernière mise à jour : 2019-10-21