Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
Know Your Mace: New Brunswick
Kenda Clark-Gorey

It wasn’t until 1937, the year of King George VI’s coronation, that the Province of New Brunswick received its mace. By this time, the Parliament in Ottawa and seven provincial legislatures had long since possessed a mace of their own.

On February 15, 1937, Lieutenant Governor Murray MacLaren wrote to inform Premier A.A. Dysart it was his honour to present the Legislative Assembly with a mace. According to the synoptic reports, the Premier accepted the gift on February 18, 1937 in the Legislative Assembly Chamber after the Lieutenant Governor presented the Throne Speech. The Premier initially had suggested that the mace precede His Honour to the Assembly Chamber; however, His Honour was too modest and preferred that the gift be presented in his absence after the speech.

Made of sterling silver by the Goldsmiths and Silversmiths Co., Ltd. of London, England, symbolic and decorative elements include: the Royal Arms on the top of the cushion of the crown, the Arms of the Province of New Brunswick and the first seal of the Province on either side of the head of the mace, the Royal Monogram G.R. VI on both sides of the head, and purple violets (the Provincial floral emblem), red spruce (the chief product of the Province) and maple leaves (showing the connection between the Province and the Dominion of Canada) on the staff.

Kenda Clark-Gorey

Legislative Librarian,
Legislative Assembly of New Brunswick


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 40 no 3
2017






Last Updated: 2017-11-08

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
À propos de la masse : Nouveau-Brunswick
Kenda Clark-Gorey

Ce n’est qu’en 1937, année du couronnement du roi George VI, que la province du Nouveau-Brunswick a reçu sa masse. Le Parlement à Ottawa et sept autres assemblées législatives provinciales avaient la leur depuis longtemps.

Le 15 février 1937, le lieutenant-gouverneur, Murray MacLaren, a écrit au premier ministre A.A. Dysart qu’il aurait l’honneur de présenter une masse à l’Assemblée législative. Selon les rapports synoptiques, le premier ministre a accepté le cadeau le 18 février 1937 dans la Chambre de l’Assemblée législative après la présentation du discours du Trône par le lieutenant-gouverneur. Le premier ministre avait initialement suggéré que la masse précède Son Honneur jusqu’à la Chambre d’Assemblée; cependant, Son Honneur étant trop modeste a préféré que le cadeau soit présenté en son absence, après le discours.

Fabriquée en argent fin par la Goldsmiths and Silversmiths Co., Ltd. de Londres, en Angleterre, la masse comporte plusieurs symboles et ornements : les armoiries royales sur le coussin de la couronne, les armoiries de la province du Nouveau-Brunswick d’un côté de la tête de la masse et le premier Grand Sceau de la province de l’autre, le monogramme royal GVIR sur les deux côtés de la tête ainsi que des violettes cuculées (l’emblème floral de la province), une épinette rouge (le principal produit de la province) et des feuilles d’érable (marquant le lien entre la province et le Dominion du Canada) sur la hampe.

Kenda Clark-Gorey
Bibliothécaire parlementaire, Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 40 no 3
2017






Dernière mise à jour : 2017-11-08