Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
The 225th Anniversary of Quebec’s Parliamentary Institutions
Christian Blais

To celebrate and commemorate the 225th anniversary of Quebec’s parliamentary institutions, the National Assembly launched an exhibit entitled “1792. La naissance d’un Parlement.” In this article, the author presents some highlights from the exhibit and explains why cartoons were such a central part of it.

On April 4, 2017, in Quebec’s Parliament Building, National Assembly President Jacques Chagnon officially launched the celebrations marking the 225th anniversary of Quebec’s parliamentary institutions. In his speech, he noted, “It’s not every day that we take the time to recall the extent to which the National Assembly, its authority, its areas of jurisdiction and all the powers it now holds are the result of events that played out here 225 years ago and helped shape democracy in Quebec.” [translation]

Other parliamentarians then took the floor. Ms. Rita de Santis, Minister responsible for Access to Information and the Reform of Democratic Institutions; Ms. Carole Poirier, Chief Official Opposition Whip and MNA for Hochelaga-Maisonneuve; and Mr. Benoit Charette, member of the Second Opposition Group and MNA for Deux-Montagnes, spoke about pivotal moments in our parliamentary history.

Exhibit: 1792. La naissance d’un Parlement

The official launch of celebrations marking the 225th anniversary of Quebec’s parliamentary institutions also marked the opening of an exhibit entitled “1792. La naissance d’un Parlement.” The exhibit, located in the National Assembly’s visitor centre, paints a picture of the parliamentary history of Lower Canada from 1792 to 1841. Visitors will discover that the major issues of our democracy were debated in Lower Canada’s House of Assembly. They will also learn that the prerogatives that the members of the National Assembly exercise today were won by the members of the House of Assembly of Lower Canada, who refused to cave in.

The 1792. La naissance d’un Parlement exhibit revolves around comic strips. Why comic strips? Because the first comic strip to come out of Quebec and the first election to be held in the province took place in the same year. In fact, this first comic strip is about the 1792 election. It is a cartoon entitled “À tous les électeurs [to all voters],” which seeks to win support for merchants from the Haute-Ville de Québec riding. To boot, two candidates, Mathew Macnider and William Grant, were responsible for printing this cartoon. Both won and were elected to the first Parliament of Lower Canada. The only surviving original copy of the 1792 cartoon is featured in the exhibit.

Other rare and precious artifacts featured in the exhibit relate to the political and parliamentary history of Lower Canada. For example, visitors can see the handwritten proceedings of the 1792–1793 parliamentary session, the 1793 bylaws of the House of Assembly of Lower Canada, a globe dating from 1792–1805, several 18th- and 19th-century ceintures fléchées, an election poster supporting the election of Montreal patriots in 1827, and an original copy of the 92 Resolutions.

Some of the objects—like the head from the bust of King George III, the first monument erected in Montreal in 1766—have a unique story. During the American invasion in 1775, it was painted black and a rosary made of potatoes was hung around the king’s neck, with a cross bearing the inscription: “Behold the pope of Canada and the English fool.” Shortly afterwards, the bust was thrown down a well in the Place d’Armes. It was recovered in 1834.

These magnificent pieces come from the National Assembly’s collections, and from the Stewart Museum, the Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts, Library and Archives Canada, the McCord Museum, McGill University, the Musée Pierre-Boucher, the City of Quebec and the Ministry of Culture and Communications.

The exhibit also includes multimedia presentations and a timeline. Visitors can learn more about the origins of our democratic history. A capsule entitled L’histoire du Bas-Canada en 60 secondes [the Story of Lower Canada in 60 seconds] provides a one minute summary! The 1792. La naissance d’un Parlement exhibit runs until April 4, 2018. Those unable to visit in person can view the online version on the National Assembly’s website at http://www.bibliotheque.assnat.qc.ca/ expositionsvirtuelles/index.html.

1792 : à main levée – a comic book

On April 5, 2017, at the Salon international du livre de Québec, National Assembly President Jacques Chagnon launched the comic book entitled 1792 : à main levée. “Whether you’re simply curious, passionate about history or comics, or both, you’ll be delighted by this captivating book,” he said.

The book echoes the 1792 cartoon entitled “À tous les électeurs.” The National Assembly has used the comic strip – the ninth art – to recount key points in the parliamentary history of Lower Canada.

Four cartoonists, namely Vincent Giard, Réal Godbout, VAN (Vanessa Lalonde) and VoRo (Vincent Rioux) were recruited by the National Assembly. The choice of these talented artists was guided by the desire to pull together a sample of artists who are representative of the diversity of comic strips in Quebec today. In the book 1792 : à main levée, they tell us about the first general election in 1792, the language debate, the political engagement of Pierre-Stanislas Bédard and the adoption of the 92 Resolutions.

Short texts, abundantly illustrated, describing the highlights of the parliamentary history of Lower Canada precede each of the four comic strips. The cartoonists then reconstruct the “key moments” of these parliamentary stories, paying particular attention to atmosphere, emotion and setting the scene. The editorial approach, developed by Michel Giguère, a comic strip consultant, makes it possible to make a variety of profiles and styles complement each other. The last section of the book takes the form of a catalogue raisonné. Certain works of art from the 19th century, which served as inspiration for the cartoonists, are presented opposite story boards, pencil sketches and final inked versions from the book.

History buffs and comic strip lovers can purchase this impressive book in bookstores across Quebec or online from the Publications du Québec website.

Other commemorative projects

Various activities will complement the celebrations marking the 225th anniversary of our parliamentary institutions. For example, the National Assembly will revive a tradition established by Eugène-Étienne Taché, the designer of the Parliament Building, that of inscribing the names of historical figures on the wood panelling inside the building.

The first floor of the Parliament Building features individuals from the time of Lower Canada. While the collection includes patriots and bureaucrats, the figures who stand out the most are moderate reformists. The individuals commemorated include individuals who demonstrated an attachment to British parliamentary institutions and who defended the interests of the French Canadian nation.

Taché’s choices reflect his father’s political values. Étienne-Paschal Taché was a patriot who defended French Canadians in the political institutions of his day. It is also interesting to note that most of the politicians whose names are inscribed in the wood panelling opposed the constitutional reforms proposed by Lord Durham, who recommended the merger of Upper Canada and Lower Canada.

It is in keeping with that original plan that the names of MNAs William Grant and Augustin- Norbert Morin as well as legislative councilors Thomas Dunn and Joseph-Octave Plessis will be added to those already inscribed in the wood panels. To mark the occasion, short biographies of the parliamentarians of Lower Canada whose names are inscribed in the woodwork of the Parliament Building will be published in a brochure that will also be available on the National Assembly’s website.

Finally, to cap the celebrations marking the 225th anniversary of our parliamentary institutions, the President will install a time capsule in the Parliament Building. The capsule will contain various objects for future generations. It will be opened in 2092, the 300th anniversary of the 1792 election. Its contents will be known to only a few individuals. The mystery surrounding the capsule and its contents will arouse interest and fascination.

The National Assembly is once again showing originality and boldness! Future generations will have to take up the challenge so that they, too, can celebrate Quebec’s parliamentary history and, above all, keep this tradition of historical, legal and political culture alive in the National Assembly.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 40 no 2
2017






Last Updated: 2017-08-03

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Le 225e anniversaire des institutions parlementaires du Québec
Christian Blais

Pour célébrer et commémorer le 225e anniversaire des institutions parlementaires du Québec, l’Assemblée nationale a lancé une exposition intitulée « 1792. La naissance d’un Parlement. » Dans cet article, l’auteur présente des faits saillants de l’exposition et explique pourquoi les caricatures y occupent une place centrale.

Le 4 avril 2017, à l’hôtel du Parlement de Québec, le président de l’Assemblée nationale, M. Jacques Chagnon a procédé au lancement officiel des célébrations du 225e anniversaire des institutions parlementaire du Québec. Dans son discours, il a souligné que « ce n’est pas tous les jours, en effet, que nous pouvons nous rappeler à quel point l’Assemblée nationale, son autorité, ses champs de compétences et tous les pouvoirs qui y sont maintenant rattachés sont tributaires de ce qui s’est joué chez nous il y a 225 ans et qui a façonné notre démocratie québécoise ».

D’autres parlementaires ont ensuite pris la parole. Mme Rita de Santis, ministre responsable de la Réforme des institutions démocratiques; Mme Carole Poirier, whip en chef de l’opposition officielle et députée d’Hochelaga- Maisonneuve; et M. Benoit Charette, du deuxième groupe d’opposition et député de Deux-Montagnes, ont parlé des moments charnières de notre histoire parlementaire.

Une exposition : 1792. La naissance d’un Parlement

Le lancement officiel des célébrations du 225e anniversaire des institutions parlementaire du Québec a été l’occasion d’inaugurer l’exposition 1792. La naissance d’un Parlement. Cette exposition, située dans le centre des visiteurs du parlement, brosse un portrait de l’histoire parlementaire du Bas-Canada de 1792 à 1841. Les visiteurs sont amenés à constater que les grands enjeux de notre démocratie ont été l’objet de débats à la Chambre d’assemblée du BasCanada; ils comprennent aussi que les députés de l’Assemblée nationale exercent aujourd’hui les prérogatives que les députés bas-canadiens ont exigées sans jamais courber l’échine.

Le design de l’exposition 1792. La naissance d’un Parlement baigne dans l’univers de la bande dessinée. Pourquoi la bande dessinée? Parce que la BD québécoise et les premières élections ont le même âge! Plus encore, cette première bande dessinée a pour sujet les élections de 1792. Il s’agit d’un placard intitulé À tous les électeurs qui a pour objectif de mousser la candidature des marchands du comté de la Haute-Ville de Québec. Pour comble, deux candidats, Mathew Macnider et William Grant, sont à l’origine de cet imprimé. Tous deux se feront d’ailleurs élire et seront de la première cohorte de députés. En vedette est exposé le seul et unique exemplaire original de la bande dessinée de 1792, À tous les électeurs.

D’autres artéfacts rares et précieux relatent l’histoire politique et parlementaire du Bas-Canada. Entre autres, le visiteur peut y voir les procès-verbaux manuscrits de la session parlementaire de 1792-1793, le règlement de la Chambre d’assemblée du Bas-Canada de 1793, un globe terrestre datant des années 1792-1805, des ceintures fléchées des XVIIIe et XIXe siècles, une affiche électorale moussant l’élection des patriotes de Montréal en 1827, et une copie originale des 92 Résolutions.

Parmi ces objets, certains ont une histoire particulière. Par exemple, il y a la tête du buste de George III, qui est le premier monument érigé à Montréal en 1766. Pendant l’invasion américaine en 1775, des inconnus la barbouillent de noir et lui passent un collier de patates autour du cou, avec une croix portant l’inscription : « Voilà le pape du Canada et le sot anglais ». Peu après, ce buste est jeté au fond d’un puits de la place d’Armes. Il est retrouvé en 1834.

Ces pièces magnifiques proviennent des collections de l’Assemblée nationale, mais aussi du Musée Stewart, du Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, du Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal, de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, du Musée McCord, de la Bibliothèque de l’Université McGill, du Musée Pierre-Boucher, de la Ville de Québec et du ministère de la Culture et des Communications.

À cela s’ajoutent des animations multimédias et une ligne du temps. Les visiteurs peuvent ainsi en apprendre davantage sur les origines de notre histoire démocratique. Une capsule intitulée L’histoire du Bas- Canada en 60 secondes résume le sujet, et ce, en une minute top chrono! L’exposition 1792. La naissance d’un Parlement est présentée jusqu’au 4 avril 2018; elle est également diffusée en ligne dans le site Internet de l’Assemblée nationale : http://www.bibliotheque.assnat. qc.ca/expositionsvirtuelles/index.html

La bande dessinée 1792 : à main levée

Au Salon international du livre de Québec, le 5 avril 2017, le président, M. Jacques Chagnon, a lancé le recueil de bandes dessinées 1792 : à main levée. « Que vous soyez simplement curieux, passionné d’histoire ou de bandes dessinées ou que vous déteniez tous ces titres à la fois, vous serez comblé en parcourant cet ouvrage captivant », a-t-il affirmé.

Ce livre fait écho à la bande dessinée À tous les électeurs, réalisée en 1792. À dessein, l’Assemblée nationale utilise ce même moyen d’expression – soit le neuvième art – afin de raconter les faits saillants de l’histoire parlementaire du Bas-Canada.

Quatre bédéistes, soit Vincent Giard, Réal Godbout, VAN (Vanessa Lalonde) et VoRo (Vincent Rioux) ont été recrutés par l’Assemblée nationale. La sélection de ces artistes de talent a été guidée par la volonté de constituer un échantillon de créateurs représentatif de la pluralité de la bande dessinée québécoise de notre époque. Dans le livre 1792 : à main levée, ils nous racontent les premières élections générales en 1792, le débat sur les langues, l’engagement politique de Pierre- Stanislas Bédard et l’adoption des 92 Résolutions.

De courts textes, abondamment illustrés, précèdent chacune des quatre bandes dessinées afin de raconter les faits saillants de l’histoire parlementaire du Bas- Canada. Les bédéistes ont ensuite reconstitué les « moments clés » de ces histoires parlementaires, mettant l’accent sur l’atmosphère, l’émotion, la mise en scène. La démarche éditoriale, élaborée par Michel Giguère à titre d’expert-conseil en BD, a permis de transformer la diversité des profils et des styles en complémentarité. Enfin, la dernière section du livre, prend la forme d’un catalogue raisonné. Une sélection d’oeuvres d’art du XIXe siècle, ayant servi de sources d’inspiration aux bédéistes, sont présentées en vis-à-vis des découpages, des crayonnés et des encrages de l’album.

Les amants de l’histoire et les amoureux de la bande dessinée pourront se procurer cette publication de prestige dans les librairies, partout à travers le Québec, ou la commander en ligne dans le site Internet des Publications du Québec.

D’autres projets commémoratifs

Diverses activités compléteront le programme de célébrations du 225e anniversaire de nos institutions parlementaires. Parmi elles, l’Assemblée nationale ravive une tradition établie par le concepteur de l’hôtel du Parlement, Eugène-Étienne Taché : celle de graver le nom personnages historiques dans les boiseries du parlement.

Au premier étage de l’édifice du Parlement, figure une série de personnages de l’époque du Bas-Canada. S’y trouvent des patriotes et des bureaucrates, cependant les réformistes modérés ont la part belle. Sont d’abord commémorés ceux qui ont su faire preuve d’attachement aux institutions parlementaires britanniques et ceux qui ont été favorables à l’épanouissement de la nation canadienne-française.

Les choix de Taché reflètent les valeurs politiques de son père. Étienne-Paschal Taché était un patriote qui a défendu les Canadiens français au sein des institutions politiques de son temps. En toile de fond aussi, en réponse à Durham, qui est à l’origine de l’Union du Bas et du Haut-Canada, la majorité des hommes politiques qui se retrouvent sur les boiseries se sont opposés à cette formule constitutionnelle.

C’est en respectant ce plan d’ensemble original que les noms des députés William Grant et Augustin- Norbert Morin ainsi que des conseillers législatifs Thomas Dunn et Joseph-Octave Plessis seront ajoutés à l’ensemble. Pour l’occasion, une courte biographie des parlementaires du Bas-Canada gravés sur les boiseries de l’hôtel du Parlement sera publiée dans une brochure. Elle pourra aussi être consultée en ligne dans le site Internet de l’Assemblée nationale.

Pour finir, lors de la clôture des célébrations du 225e anniversaire de nos institutions parlementaires, la présidence procédera à l’installation d’une capsule temporelle dans le parlement. Cette capsule renfermera divers objets destinés aux générations futures. Son ouverture aura lieu lors du 300e anniversaire des élections de 1792, soit en 2092. Son contenu ne sera connu que d’un nombre limité de personnes. Cette part de mystère entourant la capsule et son contenu suscitera intérêt et fascination.

Une fois encore, l’Assemblée nationale fait preuve d’originalité et d’audace! Le défi est donc lancé aux générations suivantes afin qu’elles célèbrent elles aussi les pans de l’histoire parlementaire du Québec et, surtout, qu’elles maintiennent vivante à l’Assemblée nationale cette tradition de culture historique, juridique et politique.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 40 no 2
2017






Dernière mise à jour : 2017-08-24