Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
Parliamentary Bookshelf: ReviewsParliamentary Bookshelf: Reviews
Matthew Hayday

Le Canada français et la Confédération: Fondements et bilan critique. Jean-François Caron and Marcel Martel, eds, University of Laval Press, Québec, 2016, 174 p.

With the 150th anniversary of Confederation fast approaching, a wave of scholarship is encouraging us to reflect on this formative period of Canada’s history, and the evolution of the country over the past century and a half. In Le Canada français et la Confédération, edited by historian Marcel Martel and political scientist Jean-François Caron, a group of six scholars interrogate what the original Confederation deal was supposed to mean in terms of linguistic and cultural duality, and how this dynamic has evolved since the 1860s. While in many respects this collection represents a synthesis of existing scholarship, it provides a useful primer on French-speaking Canadians’ relationship to Confederation, and their varied experiences of the system of federalism. At the same time, it inadvertently exposes the ongoing gap between Canada’s English and French scholarly communities, as many of the findings discussed here echo those of historian Arthur Silver’s excellent 1982 book, The French-Canadian Idea of Confederation.

The first three essays in the collection treat the Acadian, Québécois and French-Canadian minority communities’ roles in the process leading to Confederation and their expectations of this agreement. Legal scholar Gaétan Migneault attempts to determine the perceptions held by Acadians of Confederation, given that none were part of the negotiations, and no newspapers or archives existed to record their views. Migneault attempts to challenge the perception that Acadians were ignorant of the entire process. His argument hinges on the results of the Acadian counties in the 1865 and 1866 New Brunswick elections, both of which returned anti-Confederation candidates. For Migneault, these results were not necessarily the result of other, local issues, but rather may have reflected concerns about the rights of Acadians under the Confederation deal. He bases his arguments on other petitions and speeches from the periods right before, and right after, the Confederation negotiations, which suggest that education and language rights were among the Acadians’ concerns.

Caron and Martel’s chapters in this section largely reflect efforts to communicate existing scholarly knowledge (from English-language scholars) to a francophone audience. Caron’s chapter argues that although John A. Macdonald’s preference for a unitary system ended up shaping the federal government’s approach to federalism in the decades immediately following 1867, there were many key supporters of a two-nations, or at least decentralized, federation in the formative stages of Confederation. Proponents of this approach included all key parties in Quebec, but also, as Paul Romney has argued, Reform leader George Brown, and most of the Maritime delegates. However, as Marcel Martel’s chapter demonstrates, a desire for a deux-nations approach did not mean that Quebec’s representatives were strongly concerned with Ontario’s francophone minorities (who were absent from the negotiations). Indeed, as Silver’s work proved, Quebec politicians prioritized provincial rights and autonomy, and sought to guard against the possibility of federal intervention to protect linguistic and religious rights. It was only much later after Confederation that French-Canadian nationalist thought began to shift and to promote the idea of two founding nations and francophone rights elsewhere in the country.

The second section of the collection considers the long-term ramifications of federalism for francophones in Canada. Stéphanie Chouinard provides a detailed overview of how the rights of Acadians have evolved, and demonstrates that, unlike in other provinces, federalism has served to reinforce the rights of this substantial minority. The demographic weight of Acadians made them key players in the politics of the province. Political will, rather than judicial compulsion, explains the rapid growth of Acadian rights since the 1960s. While economic slowdowns do jeopardize the scope of language rights, they remain far beyond all other francophone minorities in the country.

Réjean Pelletier and Jean-François Caron disagree on the impacts of Confederation on Quebec. Pelletier largely plays the role of pessimist, repeating the standard arguments of alarmists (and separatists) that Confederation and the system of federalism has failed to protect Quebec’s language rights. To make this case, he both cites Supreme Court decisions that struck down parts of Bill 101 (and subsequent language legislation) and employs a selective reading of statistical data on language use in the home (by percentage of the entire population) to claim that French is still in great peril. He ignores the fact, and Caron points out, that the use of English has also declined over the decades, and it is other languages that have risen. In contrast, Caron argues that, overall, Canadian federalism has allowed a great deal of autonomy for independent action by the government of Quebec, and has permitted asymmetry within the federation. Quebec’s governments, he notes, could have invoked the notwithstanding clause more than they have, if there was a political will for more draconian language laws. Indeed, the courts have invoked Quebec’s Charter of Rights as much as the Canadian one in striking down sections of the language laws. Perhaps the status of English in North America, and the world more broadly, he suggests, is more to blame for the decisions made by Quebecers (both francophones and recent immigrants) regarding language use than the provisions of the Constitution. Philip Resnick concludes the volume with some reflections about the challenges posed by forces such as globalization, immigration, and the shift of Canada’s economic centre away from Quebec to the future of dualism and the French fact in Canada.

Overall, while many of the arguments in this volume are familiar ones (at least, for scholars of Confederation and federalism), this relatively thin volume provides a very good overview of francophone perceptions of the objectives and impacts of the Confederation pact. It will be a useful primer for those not already familiar with the literature, and a good overview of contemporary debates about Canadian federalism and cultural and linguistic rights. The essays are well-written and accessible, and include a good mix of detailed overviews and provocative arguments, which hopefully will spur additional scholarship in this area.

Matthew Hayday

Associate Professor (History), University of Guelph


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 39 no 4
2017






Last Updated: 2017-03-03

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Sur les rayonsSur les rayons
Matthew Hayday

Le Canada français et la Confédération : Fondements et bilan critique. Jean-François Caron et Marcel Martel, Presses de l’Université Laval, Québec, 2016, 174 pages

À l’aube du 150e anniversaire de la Confédération, bon nombre de nouveaux ouvrages d’érudition nous invitent à réfléchir à cette période formatrice de l’histoire du Canada et à l’évolution du pays au long du siècle et demi qui suivit. Dans Le Canada français et la Confédération, édité par Marcel Martel, historien et Jean-François Caron, politicologue, un groupe de six intellectuels s’interroge sur ce que l’accord sur la confédération était censé accomplir sur le plan de la dualité linguistique et culturelle et sur l’évolution de cette dynamique depuis les années 1860. Bien qu’à maints égards l’ouvrage ne soit qu’une synthèse de ce que l’on sait déjà en la matière, il constitue une bonne introduction sur la relation des Canadiens francophones avec la Confédération et la gamme de leurs expériences du fédéralisme. Il expose par ailleurs indirectement le gouffre de plus en plus vaste qui sépare les milieux universitaires francophone et anglophone au Canada; en effet, bon nombre de ses observations rappellent celles de l’historien Arthur Silver dans son excellent ouvrage The French-Canadian Idea of Confederation, publié en 1982.

Les trois premiers essais du recueil s’intéressent au rôle des communautés minoritaires acadienne, québécoise et canadienne-française dans les processus qui aboutirent à la confédération et à leurs attentes à son égard. Le juriste Gaétan Migneault cherche à cerner la perception des Acadiens de la Confédération étant donné qu’ils n’étaient pas partie aux négociations et qu’en l’absence de journaux et d’archives, il n’en reste aucune trace officielle. Migneault remet en question la perception selon laquelle le processus s’est passé entièrement à leur insu. Son argument repose sur les résultats des élections néo-brunswickoises de 1865 et 1866 dans les circonscriptions acadiennes, remportées toutes deux par un candidat anti-confédération. Selon Migneault, ces résultats n’étaient pas nécessairement attribuables à d’autres enjeux locaux, mais bien aux préoccupations à propos des droits des Acadiens selon les modalités de la confédération. Il fonde ses arguments sur d’autres pétitions et discours durant les périodes précédant et suivant les négociations qui portent à croire que l’éducation et les droits langagiers faisaient partie des préoccupations des Acadiens.

Les chapitres de Caron et Martel dans cette section consistent en grande partie à communiquer à un public francophone les observations et constatations trouvées dans les ouvrages de langue anglaise sur la question. Le chapitre de Caron fait valoir que malgré le fait que la préférence de John A. Macdonald pour un système unitaire finit par informer l’approche fédérale envers le fédéralisme dans les décennies suivant 1867, il existait dans les stades embryonnaires de la Confédération des partisans d’une fédération de deux nations, ou à tout le moins décentralisée. Tous les chefs québécois en étaient, à l’instar de George Brown, chef du parti réformiste, et de la majorité des délégués des maritimes. Comme le démontre le chapitre de Marcel Martel, cependant, l’adhésion des représentants du Québec à l’approche des deux nations ne signifie pas pour autant qu’ils se souciaient particulièrement du sort des minorités francophones de l’Ontario (qui n’étaient pas partie aux négociations). En effet, comme le démontre l’ouvrage de Silver, les politiciens du Québec accordaient la priorité aux droits provinciaux et à l’autonomie et cherchaient à se mettre à l’abri de toute éventuelle intervention fédérale de manière à protéger les droits linguistiques et religieux. Seulement bien après la confédération le nationalisme canadien-français a-t-il pris une nouvelle dimension et s’est-il mis à incorporer l’idée de deux nations fondatrices et des droits des francophones ailleurs au Canada.

La deuxième partie du recueil s’intéresse aux conséquences à long terme du fédéralisme sur les francophones au Canada. Stéphanie Chouinard donne un survol détaillé de l’évolution des droits des Acadiens et démontre en quoi le fédéralisme a eu pour effet de renforcer les droits de cette minorité conséquente. Les Acadiens avaient un rôle de premier plan dans la province compte tenu de leur poids démographique. Ce n’est pas sous pression de la magistrature, mais bien grâce à la volonté de la classe politique que les Acadiens ont si bien réussi à faire valoir leurs droits depuis les années 1960. Bien que les droits langagiers au Nouveau-Brunswick soient limités dans leur portée par les ralentissements économiques, ils demeurent bien plus vigoureux que ceux des autres minorités francophones au Canada.

Réjean Pelletier et Jean-François Caron ne s’entendent pas sur les impacts de la Confédération sur le Québec. Pelletier joue le rôle de pessimiste, répétant l’argument typique des alarmistes (et des séparatistes) selon lequel la confédération et le fédéralisme n’ont pas su protéger les droits langagiers au Québec. Il étaye son argument sur les décisions de la Cour suprême invalidant certaines dispositions de la loi 101 (et d’autres lois sur les langues) et fait une interprétation sélective des données statistiques sur les langues parlées au foyer (exprimé en pourcentage de la population générale) pour affirmer que le français est toujours en grand danger. Il ne tient pas compte du fait que signale Caron, soit que l’emploi de l’anglais se fait lui aussi de moins en moins fréquent depuis les dernières décennies et que ce sont les autres langues qui ont pris du terrain. Caron, lui, fait valoir que le fédéralisme canadien a conféré au gouvernement du Québec l’autonomie nécessaire pour poser des gestes indépendants et a permis une grande asymétrie sur le territoire canadien. Il fait remarquer que les gouvernements du Québec auraient pu invoquer la disposition de dérogation plus souvent qu’ils ne l’ont fait s’il y avait la volonté politique d’adopter des lois plus draconiennes. Peut-être que la place de l’anglais en Amérique du Nord et dans le reste du monde, poursuit-il, a-t-elle une plus grande influence sur la langue employée par les Québécois (autant les francophones que les récents immigrants) que les dispositions de la Constitution. Philip Resnick clôt l’ouvrage avec certaines réflexions sur les difficultés présentées par la mondialisation, l’immigration et le ralentissement économique du Québec comparativement aux autres régions du pays, et sur l’avenir du dualisme et du fait français au Canada.

Tout compte fait, si bon nombre de ses arguments sont déjà bien connus (du moins des spécialistes de la confédération et du fédéralisme), cet ouvrage relativement léger donne néanmoins un bon aperçu des perceptions des francophones des objectifs et des résultats de l’accord sur la confédération. C’est une entrée en matière utile pour ceux qui connaissent moins bien la question; elle donne un bon aperçu des débats d’actualité sur le fédéralisme canadien et les droits culturels et linguistiques. Les essais sont bien rédigés et accessibles et sont assortis d’un bon équilibre de résumés détaillés et d’arguments qui donnent à réfléchir, ce qui devrait encourager de nouvelles recherches en la matière.

Matthew Hayday

Professeur agrégé (histoire), Université de Guelph


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 39 no 4
2017






Dernière mise à jour : 2017-03-03