Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
CPA Activities: The Canadian SceneCPA Activities: The Canadian Scene


Commonwealth Youth Parliament

From November 6 to 10, 2016, the Legislative Assembly of British Columbia hosted the 8th Commonwealth Youth Parliament, the first time that this event has been held in Canada.

The Commonwealth Youth Parliament is an exciting annual program created to support young people in their development as potential future parliamentarians. Opportunities are provided for participants to learn about the fundamentals of parliamentary democracy, network with other young leaders, and apply their talents and experience in a parliamentary setting.

Fifty-two youth, aged 18 to 29, from 22 countries, and representing seven Commonwealth Parliamentary Association regions attended. Eleven Canadian delegates represented eight Canadian CPA branches. They were: Andriy Krugliak and Avery Roberge-Eadie (Alberta); Zoé Duhaime, Sheridan Hawes and Sky Losier (British Columbia); Mackenzie Taylor (New Brunswick); Josh Tordiff (Northwest Territories); Sheldon Paul (Ontario); Connor Mycroft (Prince Edward Island); Gabriel Laurence-Brook (Quebec); and Stefanie Panesar (House of Commons).

Six Commonwealth parliamentarians served as Mentors to the Youth Parliamentarians, including: Spencer Chandra Herbert, MLA, and Jodie Wickens, MLA, from the Legislative Assembly of British Columbia; Jessica Littlewood, MLA, Legislative Assembly of Alberta; Kate Forbes, MSP, Scottish Parliament; Adam Marshall, MP, New South Wales Legislative Assembly; and Chathura Sandeepa Senaratne, MP, Parliament of Sri Lanka.

Each Mentor was assigned to either the government or opposition to provide support and guidance. The Youth Parliamentarians appreciated the “wisdom and counsel” of the Mentors, noting that they were “fantastic” and “inspirational.” In addition to coaching the Youth Parliamentarians, the Mentors also participated on panel discussions, sharing their personal experiences on topics such as the role of a Member of Parliament; Question Period; the media; and campaign planning and the electoral process.

During House Proceedings, Youth Parliamentarians delivered statements introducing themselves and their home jurisdictions, and spoke about issues and events at the forefront of their minds. During heated and passionate Question Periods, the Opposition raised issues including health care, the environment, advanced education, relationships with indigenous peoples, and foreign affairs. The Youth Parliamentarians also introduced various Bills, and debated, proposed amendments to, and passed the Youth Apprenticeship and Internship Act.

A unique feature of this Commonwealth Youth Parliament was the representation of women in leadership roles. For the first time since this became an annual CPA program in 2012, both the Premier and Opposition Leader were women.

In her closing remarks, one Youth Parliamentarian, Rea Vanterpool from the British Virgin Islands, had this message for her fellow Youth Parliamentarians:

As I listened to the issues raised by fellow youth parliamentarians, from human rights violations to the neglect of aging populations, I was reminded of how different our life experiences are. Our diversity shows up not only in our parents or our culture but also through issues facing our jurisdictions. It is apparent in our personalities, our interests, our abilities and our weaknesses. When we truly celebrate all the ways that we are different, we can more fully appreciate how partnerships can bring about change.

The 9th Annual Commonwealth Youth Parliament will be hosted by the British Virgin Islands House of Assembly in 2017.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 39 no 4
2016






Last Updated: 2017-08-03

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Activités de l’APC : La scène canadienneActivités de l’APC : La scène canadienne


Parlement des jeunes du Commonwealth

L’Assemblée législative de la Colombie-Britannique a accueilli la 8e édition du Parlement des jeunes du Commonwealth du 6 au 10 novembre 2016. C’était la première fois que cet événement se tenait au Canada.

Le Parlement des jeunes du Commonwealth est un programme annuel passionnant qui a été créé pour aider les jeunes à développer leur potentiel en tant que futurs parlementaires. Les participants ont la possibilité d’apprendre à connaître les principes fondamentaux de la démocratie parlementaire, de faire du réseautage avec d’autres jeunes leaders et de mettre leurs talents et leur expérience en pratique dans un contexte parlementaire.

Sept régions de l’Association parlementaire du Commonwealth étaient représentées par 52 jeunes de 18 à 29 ans venant de 22 pays. Onze délégués canadiens représentaient huit sections canadiennes de l’APC. Il s’agit de : Andriy Krugliak et Avery Roberge-Eadie (Alberta); Zoe Duhaime, Sheridan Hawes et Sky Losier (ColombieBritannique); Mackenzie Taylor (NouveauBrunswick); Josh Tordiff (Territoires du NordOuest); Sheldon Paul (Ontario); Connor Mycroft (ÎleduPrinceÉdouard); Gabriel LaurenceBrook (Québec); Stefanie Panesar (Chambre des communes).

Six parlementaires du Commonwealth ont joué le rôle de mentors auprès des jeunes parlementaires. Il s’agit de : Spencer Chandra Herbert et Jodie Wickens, députés à l’Assemblée législative de la ColombieBritannique; Jessica Littlewood, députée à l’Assemblée législative de l’Alberta; Kate Forbes, députée au Parlement de l’Écosse; Adam Marshall, député à l’Assemblée législative des NouvellesGalles du Sud; Chathura Sandeepa Senaratne, député au Parlement du Sri Lanka.

Les mentors ont été affectés au gouvernement et à l’opposition pour fournir de l’aide et de l’encadrement. Les jeunes parlementaires se sont dits reconnaissants « de la sagesse et des conseils » des mentors, qu’ils ont qualifiés de « fantastiques » et d’« inspirants ». En plus de guider les jeunes parlementaires, les mentors ont participé à des discussions en groupe pendant lesquelles ils ont parlé de leur expérience personnelle sur des sujets comme le rôle de député, la période des questions, les médias, la planification des campagnes et le processus électoral.

Pendant les délibérations, les jeunes parlementaires ont fait des déclarations au cours desquelles ils se sont présentés et ont parlé de leur lieu d’origine ainsi que des enjeux et des événements qui sont au centre de leurs préoccupations. Pendant les périodes des questions, qui ont été animées et passionnées, l’opposition a abordé des sujets comme les soins de santé, l’environnement, l’enseignement postsecondaire, les relations avec les Autochtones et les affaires étrangères. Les jeunes parlementaires ont aussi présenté divers projets de loi. Ils ont notamment débattu de la Loi sur l’apprentissage et les stages pour les jeunes (« Youth Apprenticeship and Internship Act »), à laquelle ils ont apporté des amendements et qu’ils ont adoptée.

Cette édition du Parlement des jeunes du Commonwealth avait pour particularité la représentation des femmes dans les rôles de leadership. Pour la première fois depuis la création de ce programme annuel de l’APC en 2012, ce sont des femmes qui jouaient le rôle de premier ministre et de leader de l’opposition.

Rea Vanterpool, une jeune parlementaire des îles Vierges britanniques, a lancé le message suivant à ses homologues lorsqu’elle a prononcé ses dernières observations :

J’écoutais les sujets abordés par mes jeunes collègues parlementaires, qui allaient des violations des droits de la personne à l’indifférence envers le vieillissement de la population, et je me disais que nos expériences personnelles sont vraiment très différentes. Notre diversité ne transparaît pas seulement à cause de nos parents ou dans notre culture, mais elle est aussi présente dans les enjeux auxquels nos régions font face. Elle se manifeste dans notre personnalité, nos intérêts, nos aptitudes et nos faiblesses. Quand nous mettrons vraiment en valeur toutes nos différences, nous comprendrons mieux comment les partenariats peuvent changer les choses.

La 9e édition annuelle du Parlement des jeunes du Commonwealth sera organisée par la Chambre d’assemblée des îles Vierges britanniques en 2017.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 39 no 4
2017






Dernière mise à jour : 2017-03-03