Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
Parliamentary Bookshelf: ReviewsParliamentary Bookshelf: Reviews
David M. Brock

Made in Nunavut: An Experiment in Decentralized Government, Jack Hicks and Graham White, University of British Columbia Press, Vancouver, 2015, 375 p.

When Jack Anawak publicly spoke out in 2003 against a Cabinet decision to transfer public service positions from his community of Rankin Inlet to Baker Lake, he was a minister in the Government of Nunavut (GN). His statement was a clear breach of the convention of Cabinet solidarity; Anawak was subsequently stripped of his ministerial portfolios and removed from the Executive Council. I was then in my first professional job, working in the GN’s Cabinet office. The incident remains, for me, a live example of Canadian constitutional conventions applied and debated in public. It is also a striking example of two decades of political quarrels in Nunavut over the policy of ‘decentralization’.

Nunavut’s decision to organize its territorial government with a “radically decentralized or deconcentrated organizational model” is this book’s “central theme” (12). How decision makers and administrators arrived at and implemented this political and administrative arrangement is described in considerable detail. It is brought to life by examining debates over the promise, design, cost, application, and evaluation of decentralization. What results is really the most comprehensive documentation to date of the creation of a new territorial government in Canada’s eastern Arctic.

The story unfolds chronologically. It begins with the closing phases of negotiating the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement (NLCA), which included Article 4 to establish a public government for all residents of the eastern Arctic rather than a self-government only for Inuit, and runs through 2014 with the most recent available statistics on the GN public service. Approximately 20 pages are devoted early on to terminology and a survey of the comparative literature on deconcentrated public administrations; however brief, this overview sets a crucial context for the reader to understand how politicians, bureaucrats and eventually consultants could themselves interpret, reinterpret, and sometimes misinterpret what is ‘decentralization’.

Fully 50 per cent of this book is devoted to the period 1993 – 1999; that is, after the signing of the NLCA through until the opening of the GN. It was during this time that political and bureaucratic actors – occupying committees, offices, secretariats, divisions, and commissions - did research, wrote reports, attended meetings, attended more meetings, and debated what one official called ‘the impossible’ - the creation of a new sub-national government in Canada.

The book’s narrative and analysis is of a style characteristic of these learned authors: excruciatingly well-documented, faithful yet skeptical, and speckled with wry anecdotes.

In totality though, I must express disappointment with Made in Nunavut. In doing so, I realize that I’m probably expressing a deeper frustration with decades of studies on the politics of the Canadian North. Made in Nunavut is yet another atheoretical description of northern people, institutions and events.1 As with so many earlier book length studies of northern politics, no attempt is made to use these cases to advance our theoretical understanding of public administration or political science. What does the Nunavut experience with decentralization tell us about principal-agent theory? How about theories of policy failure? Or the literature on implementation?

A purely descriptive account would perhaps be less disconcerting if the authors did not present such a bold thesis.

Key to the argument of Hicks and White is the closing sentence of the first chapter: “Overall, decentralization has proved at least as successful (or unsuccessful, depending on one’s degree of pessimism) as the GN as whole and that lack of competence, vision, and leadership among Nunavut’s political and bureaucratic elite has far more to do with the GN’s problems than does decentralization” (23).

This thesis statement sets a double burden of proof upon the authors. They need to prove that (a) decentralization is over subscribed as the primary cause of policy failure in Nunavut, and (b) that it is the shortcomings of ‘the players’ (their term) that are to blame for the GN’s problems. Let’s employ the evidence rendered by Hicks and White to examine these two claims.

Is decentralization a leading cause of policy failure or is it emblematic of deeper problems? First, prospective readers should be warned before reaching page 237 that it takes a bit of context setting before this question is directly addressed. When the thesis is confronted head on, the authors contend, for elected politicians, “decentralization was first and foremost about jobs” (238). They cite numerous examples where the political debate turned - not on bringing government closer to the people - but rather on the sharing of ‘political gold’, in the form of well-paying public service positions allocated across Nunavut to ‘decentralized communities’.

Policy failure in Nunavut is often reflexively blamed on decentralization, but the authors show there is little casual evidence to support these claims. For example, the entire government has struggled to attract civil servants in the licensed professions and technical fields, regardless of position location (e.g., 266 and 306). Issues with recruitment as well as staff housing and training have persisted in Iqaluit as much as in the decentralized communities. Even with a deconcentrated distribution of public service positions across the territory, the authors rightly point out that government decisions are still made by a small number of individuals in Iqaluit: the Executive Council. No quantity of clerks and technicians working across Nunavut’s communities could compete with the power of Cabinet government (282).

Hicks and White convincingly demonstrate that decentralization is too often a scapegoat for policy failure in Nunavut.

The second claim made by Hicks and White is that the real reason for the GN’s problems is “lack of competence, vision, and leadership among Nunavut’s political and bureaucratic elite.” The authors establish no problem definition or criteria to examine what constitutes insufficient competence, vision, and leadership. Moreover, two-thirds of the book is completed before this part of the thesis is tested.

In the last three chapters, those focused on the implementation and evaluation of decentralization, a number of the author’s observations refute their own thesis. For example, the authors contend: “Whatever the GN’s policy successes and failures, it cannot be said that its political and bureaucratic leadership lacked a clear, comprehensive, and ambitious programmatic philosophy” (240). Hicks and White observe that “the GN may be faulted for inadequacies in implementation but at least clear, strong policy goals were enshrined in legislation” (243). No one would dispute that there have been policy failures, “[b]ut these discouraging outcomes have not occurred for want of trying” (246). When it was pointed out early in the first government of Paul Okalik (1999-2004) that there was no dedicated minister or administrative body to oversee the decentralization effort, the Premier established a secretariat in his own department, led first by a senior official who went on to become a federal cabinet minister, and then by one who is currently the government’s Secretary to the Cabinet.

Sometimes the analysis is simply contradictory. The “limited impact” of a 2002 consultant’s report is apparently “a reflection of the pervasive lack of critical thinking” in the territorial government (284). And yet, in the very next paragraph, the authors explain how, in the same month the report was issued, a deputy minister began to organize a workshop of senior managers affected by decentralization to discuss ways to learn how best to operate in a decentralized organizational structure (284). Moreover, in response to another consultant’s report on decentralization, issued nearly a decade later, the GN effectively abandoned “the original objectives underpinning the decentralized model” (300). Is all of this political and bureaucratic attention characteristic of “malaise” and “a clerk’s mentality” (287), or is it evidence of institutional learning and a willingness to adapt?

Perhaps other causes of policy failure noted by the authors deserve more rigorous testing. Alternative or competing explanations include insufficient investment in training and telecommunications infrastructure as well as unrealistically high expectations for the establishment of the GN.

This is no plea for abstraction. It is a desire to see the study of northern political institutions employ rigorous methodology to support its conclusions, and to use institutions such as decentralization or consensus government to question existing theories of government. Not doing the former risks influencing public opinion in a way that is unjust, even if unintended. Not doing the latter risks an unproductive and unrewarding narrowing of the study of northern politics.  

David M. Brock
Deputy Secretary to Cabinet, Priorities & Planning
with the Government of the Northwest Territories.
*The views expressed here are his own.

  1. Henderson, Ailsa: Nunavut: Rethinking Political Culture(University of British Columbia Press, 2007).

Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 39 no 3
2016






Last Updated: 2020-03-03

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Sur les rayonsSur les rayons
David M. Brock

Made in Nunavut : An Experiment in Decentralized Government, Jack Hicks and Graham White, University of British Columbia Press, Vancouver, 2015, 375 pages

Jack Anawak faisait partie du cabinet du gouvernement du Nunavut lorsqu’il a publiquement dénoncé, en 2003, la décision du cabinet de déménager à Baker Lake des bureaux de la fonction publique alors situés dans sa localité, Rankin Inlet. Ayant ainsi rompu la solidarité ministérielle, il fut démis de ses fonctions et expulsé du conseil exécutif. J’occupais à l’époque le premier poste de ma carrière au cabinet du gouvernement du Nunavut. J’estime encore aujourd’hui que cet événement, qui déclencha un grand débat public, est un bel exemple de l’application concrète des conventions constitutionnelles canadiennes. C’était également une manifestation frappante de deux décennies de différends au Nunavut dans le dossier de la politique dite de décentralisation.

La décision du Nunavut de structurer son gouvernement selon un modèle « radicalement décentralisé ou déconcentré » constitue le « thème central » de l’ouvrage (12). La façon dont les décisionnaires et administrateurs en sont arrivés à dresser et à mettre en oeuvre un tel arrangement politique et administratif est décrite dans les plus menus détails. Le récit est illustré par une description des débats qui ont eu lieu au sujet des promesses qui avaient été faites concernant la structure du programme de décentralisation, son coût, sa mise en oeuvre et son évaluation. Le résultat final est un des ouvrages les plus complets jamais réalisés sur la création d’un nouveau gouvernement territorial dans l’Arctique de l’Est canadien.

Le récit est arrangé chronologiquement. Il commence par les dernières étapes de la négociation de l’Accord sur les revendications territoriales du Nunavut (ARTN) — dont l’article 4 prévoit l’établissement d’un gouvernement public pour tous les résidents de l’Arctique de l’Est plutôt qu’un gouvernement autonome seulement pour les Inuits — et termine avec les derniers chiffres sur la fonction publique du Nunavut en 2014. Une vingtaine de pages au début de l’ouvrage est dévouée à la terminologie et à un recueil des analyses comparatives des administrations publiques déconcentrées; ce survol, aussi succinct soit-il, fournit un contexte important aux lecteurs, leur permettant de mieux comprendre comment les politiciens, les bureaucrates et ensuite les consultants ont tous pu avoir une interprétation différente, parfois même erronée, de la décentralisation au fil des ans.

La moitié de l’ouvrage s’intéresse à la période de 1993 à 1999, soit de la signature de l’ARTN jusqu’à la formation du gouvernement du Nunavut. C’est durant cette période que les politiciens et les bureaucrates — siégeant alors à divers comités et commissions et relevant de divers bureaux, secrétariats et divisions — ont fait leur recherche, rédigé leurs rapports, tenu leurs réunions et débattu du projet qu’un cadre aurait qualifié d’irréalisable : la création d’un nouveau gouvernement infranational au Canada.

Les analyses et narrations sont du même niveau que ceux que l’on retrouve dans les ouvrages d’autres éminents auteurs; elles sont bien étayées, fidèles, mais sceptiques et assorties d’anecdotes savoureuses.

Cela dit, dans l’ensemble, je dois me dire déçu de Made in Nunavut. Je reconnais toutefois que c’est probablement l’expression de la profonde frustration que j’éprouve à l’égard des études de la politique dans le Nord canadien réalisées ces dernières décennies. Made in Nunavut n’est qu’une description athéorique supplémentaire des populations nordiques, de leurs institutions et des événements tels qu’ils se sont déroulés1. Comme dans bien d’autres ouvrages le précédant, on ne tente même pas d’extrapoler les faits décrits pour tenter d’agrandir la base de connaissances en matière d’administration publique ou de science politique. Que nous dit l’expérience du Nunavut avec la décentralisation au sujet de la théorie de l’agence? Comment explique-t-on l’échec politique? Et où sont les écrits sur la mise en oeuvre?

Peut-être qu’un récit purement descriptif n’aurait pas été si déconcertant si la théorie de ses auteurs n’était pas aussi audacieuse.

La dernière phrase du premier chapitre cerne bien l’argument central de Hicks et White : « Dans l’ensemble, la décentralisation s’est avérée au moins aussi réussie (ou ratée, selon le degré de pessimisme) que le gouvernement du Nunavut en général, dont les problèmes sont bien plus attribuables à l’incompétence et au manque de vision et de leadership de l’élite politique et bureaucratique du Nunavut qu’à la décentralisation. »(23).

La thèse énoncée par les auteurs les amène à devoir satisfaire aux deux propositions suivantes : a) la décentralisation est trop souvent considérée comme étant la cause première de l’échec politique au Nunavut; b) les difficultés éprouvées par le gouvernement territorial sont attribuables aux lacunes des « acteurs » (pour reprendre le terme employé par les auteurs). Examinons ces deux propositions à la lumière des éléments de preuve avancés par Hicks et White.

La décentralisation est-elle la cause première de l’échec de la politique ou se pourrait-il qu’il existe d’autres causes profondes? D’entrée de jeu, signalons aux lecteurs avant qu’ils en arrivent à la page 237 qu’il importe de se remettre en contexte avant de chercher à élucider la question. Lorsqu’ils en viennent à démontrer leur thèse, les auteurs affirment qu’aux yeux des politiciens élus, « la décentralisation était avant tout une question d’emploi » (238). Ils illustrent par maints exemples toutes les fois où le débat politique s’est éloigné de l’idée du rapprochement entre le gouvernement et la population pour s’intéresser davantage au partage des retombées politiques sous la forme de postes bien rémunérés dans la fonction publique répartis dans les collectivités dites décentralisées du Nunavut.

L’échec de la politique au Nunavut est souvent attribué à la décentralisation par automatisme, mais les auteurs montrent que cette position est difficile à justifier dans les faits. Par exemple, le gouvernement a eu beaucoup de mal à recruter des employés dans les professions décernant des permis d’exercice et les domaines techniques, et ce, quelle que soit la situation géographique du poste (266 et 306). Des problèmes persistent au niveau du recrutement, du logement des employés et de la formation autant à Iqaluit que dans les collectivités décentralisées. Malgré la répartition déconcentrée des postes de la fonction publique sur l’ensemble du territoire, les auteurs signalent, à raison, que les décisions sont néanmoins prises par un petit groupe de personnes à Iqaluit : le Conseil exécutif. Les commis et les techniciens travaillant en région, quel que soit leur nombre, n’auront jamais autant de pouvoir qu’un gouvernement de cabinet (282).

Hicks et White réussissent à convaincre que la décentralisation est trop souvent le bouc émissaire de l’échec politique au Nunavut.

Les auteurs font ensuite valoir que les problèmes au Nunavut sont en fait attribuables « à l’incompétence et au manque de vision et de leadership de l’élite politique et bureaucratique du Nunavut ». Ils ne dressent cependant aucune définition, aucun critère, leur permettant d’élucider ce qui constitue un manque de compétence, de vision et de leadership. De surcroît, il faut attendre le dernier tiers de l’ouvrage pour que cet élément de la thèse soit mis à l’épreuve.

Dans les trois derniers chapitres qui s’intéressent à la mise en oeuvre et à l’évaluation de la décentralisation, les auteurs font un certain nombre d’observations qui contredisent leur propre thèse. Notamment : « Quels que soient les échecs et les réussites de la politique au Nunavut, on ne peut pas dire que les dirigeants politiques et hauts fonctionnaires n’étaient pas animés d’une philosophie programmatique claire, bien réfléchie et ambitieuse (240). » Ils disent aussi : « Si l’on peut reprocher au gouvernement du Nunavut certaines lacunes dans la mise en oeuvre, il a au moins inscrit des objectifs stratégiques clairs et rigoureux dans sa législation. (243) » Si l’échec de la politique ne fait aucun doute, les auteurs affirment que « les résultats décourageants ne sont pas attribuables à un manque d’effort de la part des décideurs » (246). Lorsqu’on a fait remarquer très tôt dans le mandat du premier gouvernement de Paul Okalik (1999-2004) l’absence de ministre ou d’organe administratif responsable de la décentralisation, le premier ministre a fondé un secrétariat relevant de son propre ministère dirigé par un cadre supérieur qui devint par la suite ministre fédéral, succédé par la personne qui occupe actuellement le poste de secrétaire du cabinet.

Il arrive même que l’analyse se contredise. L’« impact limité » d’un rapport d’expert-conseil commissionné en 2002 serait « à l’image de l’absence totale de pensée critique » au sein du gouvernement territorial (284). À peine un paragraphe plus loin, cependant, les auteurs rapportent que le mois même de la publication du rapport, un sous-ministre a commencé à établir un groupe de travail de cadres supérieurs concernés par la décentralisation afin de cerner les meilleurs moyens de fonctionner dans une structure organisationnelle décentralisée (284). De plus, en réponse au rapport sur la décentralisation d’un deuxième expert-conseil publié pratiquement une décennie plus tard, le gouvernement du Nunavut a « renoncé aux objectifs dont le modèle de décentralisation était assorti à l’origine » (300). Toute l’attention que les politiciens et les fonctionnaires ont consacrée à la question est-elle caractéristique d’un « malaise » et d’une « mentalité de commis » (287), ou est-elle plutôt le signe d’une évolution institutionnelle et d’une disposition à s’adapter?

Peut-être que les autres facteurs cités par les auteurs comme ayant éventuellement contribué à l’échec politique sont dignes d’une attention particulière. D’autres explications possibles tiennent compte d’un manque d’investissement dans la formation et l’infrastructure des télécommunications ainsi que des attentes peu réalistes que l’on s’était faites lorsqu’on envisageait la création du gouvernement du Nunavut.

Tâchons donc de ne pas nous perdre dans les abstractions. Idéalement, nous devrions d’une part nous assurer d’employer une méthodologie rigoureuse lorsque nous examinons la question des institutions politiques du Nord afin de bien étayer nos conclusions, et de l’autre, examiner les concepts comme la décentralisation et le gouvernement de consensus dans l’optique de remettre en question les théories établies de gouvernement, faute de quoi nous courons le risque, d’une part, d’influencer injustement l’opinion publique, même sans le vouloir, et de l’autre, d’appauvrir l’étude de la politique dans le Nord au point de la rendre inintéressante et stérile.

David M. Brock
Sous-secrétaire du Cabinet, Priorités et planification
Gouvernement des Territoires-du-Nord-Ouest
*Les opinions exprimées sont celles de l’auteur.

  1. Henderson, Ailsa: Nunavut: Rethinking Political Culture (University of British Columbia Press, 2007).

Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 39 no 3
2016






Dernière mise à jour : 2018-07-31