Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
Parliamentary BookshelfParliamentary Bookshelf
Michael Powell

Tragedy in the Commons: Former Members of Parliament Speak Out About Canada’s Failing Democracy, by Alison Loat and Michael MacMillan, Random House of Canada Limited, Toronto, 2014, 288 p

It’s very easy to find writing that looks at the health of Canada’s parliamentary system, but up to now there has been very little that spoke to the parliamentarians who worked in the system. Alison Loat and Michael MacMillan seek to fill this gap with Tragedy in the Commons.

The book, a synthesis of the Samara Institute’s exit interviews with 80 former Members of Parliament, features an impressively broad group of politicians, including some who retired by choice and others who experienced electoral defeat, along with a former Prime Minister and Ministers from different governments, as well as backbenchers who left office still wet behind the ears or long in the tooth. Structurally, the book devotes chapters to the stages of a parliamentarian’s career: entering politics; the various parts of elected office; and, ultimately, the return to civilian life. A concluding chapter offers thoughts on how to improve our governance from their experiences.

A few clear themes emerge. First, the authors remind us that being a Member of Parliament is a job without an instruction manual. Once elected, MPs find themselves dropped quickly into the deep end, with little orientation for a demanding job that has often brought them to a new city away from their families. There’s even little guidance for running a constituency office.

Second, those interviewed felt that they often had too little voice in the political system, subjugated by a top-down party system that limited their ability to act independently in the interests of their constituents. MPs could have been placed on committees for which they had no expertise or shuffled to another in mid-term; there were constant expectations to be a good soldier and partake in the partisan circuses the public has come to expect. For example, Gary Merasty, a Liberal elected in Saskatchewan in 2006, was frustrated enough to resign before completing a term, feeling he could do more good as a civilian.

Third, there are different perspectives on what the role of an elected representative should be. Two camps emerge: delegates vs. trustees. The former act as the direct voice of constituents in Ottawa on an ongoing basis; the latter act based on their own judgement, having been empowered to act by proxy - little captures the difference between Reform and Liberal MPs from the class of ‘93 better than these two camps.

It is clear that MPs feel constrained by the absence of much direct power. But it’s equally interesting to discover places where MPs find the system works. Party caucuses, for example, were cited as a way of holding cabinet ministers to account. Both Conservatives and Liberals indicated that successful policy must first make its way through a party’s MPs at caucus. At times, on issues such as post-secondary education, a caucus could push the government to do more. A full caucus is decentralized and consultative by definition, mostly free from party control.

Complaining about the centralization of power in leaders’ offices is nothing new in Ottawa. Jean Chrétien was known as “The Friendly Dictator” in the early 2000s and Stephen Harper’s reputation for centralizing control in the Prime Minister’s Office is well-known. Every new government seems to promise a new and more collaborative approach to parliament; but each successive long-serving government tends to take top-down control to unprecedented levels. If anything, perhaps we should be surprised that MPs themselves are surprised at this state of affairs in Ottawa.

Tragedy in the Commons looks very specifically at the experiences of former MPs, but it raises questions that the general public must grapple with. Are Canadians comfortable with party-driven politics that keep MPs on a short leash? Popular perception seems to be that we are not: voter turnout continues to decline and even retired MPs are reluctant to think of themselves as “politicians.” And yet little changes.

The book draws its title from a famous essay by ecologist Garrett Hardin, which lamented how collective action problems can result in everyone ultimately suffering. Such problems are only ever really solved when all participants agree that something needs to change and actually endeavour to fix it. MPs who were interviewed want change, but appeared unwilling to make a sustained effort to bring about that change. Perhaps the real tragedy in the Commons is that their constituents, the public, seem resigned to accept this inaction.

Michael Powell
Government Affairs and Research Associate, Impact Public Affairs


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 37 no 2
2014






Last Updated: 2019-07-15

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Sur les rayonsSur les rayons
Michael Powell

Tragedy in the Commons: Former Members of Parliament Speak Out About Canada’s Failing Democracy, Alison Loat et Michael MacMillan, Toronto, Random House of Canada Limited, 2014, 288 p.

Les écrits sur la santé du système parlementaire canadien ne manquent pas, mais jusqu’ici, il existait très peu d’ouvrages consacrés aux parlementaires qui œuvrent à l’intérieur du système. Alison Loat et Michael MacMillan ont cherché à remédier à cette lacune en publiant Tragedy in the Commons.

L’ouvrage, qui fait la synthèse des entrevues de départ menées par le Samara Institute auprès de 80 ex parlementaires, donne la parole à un nombre impressionnant d’hommes et de femmes politiques qui sont à la retraite par choix et parce qu’ils ont subi une défaite électorale, un ex premier ministre et des ministres issus de différents gouvernements de même que des députés d’arrière-ban qui ont renoncé à la vie politique alors qu’ils n’avaient pas encore le nombril sec ou alors qu’ils avaient déjà atteint un âge vénérable. Sur le plan de la structure, l’ouvrage consacre un chapitre aux différentes étapes de la carrière d’un parlementaire : l’entrée en politique, les différents aspects d’une charge d’élu et, finalement, le retour à la vie civile. Le dernier chapitre propose des pistes de réflexion sur la façon d’améliorer notre gouvernance à la lumière de l’expérience de ces élus.

Quelques thèmes précis se dégagent. Premièrement, les auteurs nous rappellent que la charge de député vient sans mode d’emploi. Une fois élus, les députés sont rapidement jetés dans l’arène, sans grande préparation pour ce travail exigeant qui les oblige à s’installer dans une nouvelle ville loin de leur famille. Ils n’ont guère plus d’encadrement pour organiser leur bureau de circonscription.

Deuxièmement, les ex parlementaires interrogés estiment qu’ils sont souvent impuissants à se faire entendre dans le cadre politique, assujettis qu’ils sont au système autocratique des partis qui limite leur capacité d’agir par eux-mêmes dans l’intérêt de leurs électeurs. Les députés peuvent être affectés à des comités dont le champ d’expertise leur est complètement étranger ou être mutés à un autre comité en milieu de mandat; on s’attend immanquablement à ce qu’ils soient de bons soldats et participent aux mêlées partisanes dont nous avons l’habitude. Par exemple, Gary Merasty, un député libéral élu en Saskatchewan en 2006, était si frustré qu’il a démissionné avant de terminer son mandat, parce qu’il estimait qu’il pouvait faire davantage de bien en tant que simple citoyen.

Troisièmement, les points de vue divergent quant au rôle que devrait jouer un représentant élu. Il y a deux camps distincts : les délégués et les mandataires. Les premiers agissent toujours comme les porte-parole des électeurs à Ottawa; les deuxièmes agissent suivant leur propre jugement, puisqu’ils y sont habilités par procuration. Peu saisit la différence entre les députés réformistes et les députés libéraux de la classe de 1993 mieux que ces deux camps.

Il est clair que les députés se sentent limités par l’absence de pouvoir direct. Il est tout aussi intéressant par ailleurs de découvrir les contextes dans lesquels les députés estiment que le système fonctionne. Les caucus de partis, par exemple, sont vus comme des occasions d’obliger les ministres à rendre des comptes. Les conservateurs et les libéraux affirment qu’une politique fructueuse doit d’abord être entérinée par les députés du parti réunis en caucus. Il arrive parfois que sur des questions comme l’enseignement postsecondaire, le caucus fasse pression sur le gouvernement pour qu’il fasse davantage. Un caucus plénier est décentralisé et consultatif par définition et, pour l’essentiel, il échappe au contrôle du parti.

Les plaintes au sujet de la centralisation des pouvoirs dans les bureaux des chefs de parti n’ont rien de nouveau à Ottawa. Jean Chrétien était connu comme le gentil dictateur dès le début des années 2000, et la tendance de Stephen Harper à centraliser les décisions au Cabinet du premier ministre, est de notoriété publique. Chaque nouveau gouvernement semble promettre l’adoption d’une nouvelle approche plus concertée à l’égard du Parlement, mais chaque gouvernement qui reste au pouvoir longtemps a tendance à resserrer le contrôle autocratique pour le porter à des niveaux sans précédent. En réalité, nous devrions être surpris de voir que les députés eux mêmes s’étonnent de cette situation à Ottawa.

Tragedy in the Commons s’intéresse très précisément à l’expérience d’ex-députés, mais il soulève des questions auxquelles le grand public doit réfléchir. Les Canadiens sont-ils à l’aise avec un système politique principalement dominé par les partis, qui laisse si peu de marge de manœuvre aux députés? La perception populaire semble indiquer qu’ils ne le sont pas : la participation électorale continue à diminuer et même les députés à la retraite sont peu enclins à se considérer comme « des hommes ou des femmes politiques ». Pourtant, la situation ne change guère.

Le titre de l’ouvrage s’inspire d’un célèbre essai de l’écologiste Garrett Hardin, qui déplorait le fait que les problèmes d’action collective finissent parfois par être néfastes pour tout le monde. Ces problèmes ne peuvent vraiment être réglés que si tous les participants s’entendent pour dire qu’il faut changer des choses et s’emploient effectivement à le faire. Les députés interrogés veulent des changements, mais semblent peu disposés à mettre les efforts nécessaires pour concrétiser ces changements. Peut-être que la véritable tragédie aux Communes, c’est que leurs électeurs, c’est-à-dire le public, semblent résigner à accepter ce refus d’agir.

Michael Powell
Adjoint aux affaires gouvernementales et à la recherche, Impact Public Affairs


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 37 no 2
2014






Dernière mise à jour : 2018-07-31