Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
Parliamentary Book ShelfParliamentary Book Shelf
Mary Janigan

Gendered News: Media Coverage and Electoral Politics in Canada by Elizabeth Goodyear-Grant, UBC Press, Vancouver, 2013, 246p.

In early February, Liberal MP Chrystia Freeland rose to ask her first question in the House of Commons. For most new MPs, that initiation is usually a proud, if intimidating, milestone. For Freeland, who had won a tough Toronto by-election in November, it was a test of fortitude. The former business journalist was asking about the prospects for Canada’s economic recovery when the Conservative heckling commenced. The Speaker interceded twice but the mostly male voices jeered more loudly. On her third try, Freeland finished a truncated query. Shortly after a federal minister replied with a stock answer, Vancouver Observer journalist D. Matthew Millar offered his advice: “Put on your “big girl” voice for [for Question Period],” he tweeted, “the Hon. Members water glasses are shattering.”[sic]

It has been almost a century since women won the right to vote in federal elections – but the quest for equality remains elusive. Barriers to women’s participation in politics have toppled as party brass, fundraisers, riding association members and voters increasingly view them as desirable candidates. But, as Queen’s University political scientist Elizabeth Goodyear-Grant explains, women’s representation in federal and provincial governments remains “stubbornly short” of the 30 per cent of legislative seats generally required for women to make a difference in politics. What accounts for this continuing disparity? Through an analysis of television coverage of the party leaders in the 2000 federal election and print coverage of candidates in the 2006 election, Goodyear-Grant examines the media’s “important role in shaping voters’ perceptions of female leaders and candidates and of the political world generally, thus influencing voters’ support for female politicians.”

The result is an important look at a relatively unexplored topic: the complicated relationships among the media, the politicians and the voters. The media do not come out well. Goodyear-Grant argues that the mainstream media present women as different from their male colleagues in far more “insidious” ways than Freeland experienced. She maintains that men dominate the news media, journalists reflect that culture, and the resulting gendered news contributes to the idea that femaleness “is different, alien to politics, or even unwelcome in politics.” In effect, the media have unwittingly adopted the broader culture’s mental frameworks that organize their beliefs and knowledge about gender. Then they filter events through a schema in which politics is viewed as a masculine world – and news stories rely heavily on masculine language, symbols and metaphors.

Goodyear-Grant does not pretend to have easy answers for this dilemma in which the voters, the media and the politicians themselves play roles. She could not consider the vital role that social media now plays – and certainly should play – in upsetting the balance in these relationships, allowing politicians to bypass media filters. She is also naïve and occasionally wrong about the way that journalists operate, especially on Parliament Hill. Indeed, she should have posed a few basic questions to journalists to balance her interviews with politicians on how they handled and occasionally manipulated the effect of their gender on their media coverage.

Despite those flaws, Gendered News remains a worthy eye-opener. Goodyear-Grant teases out findings from the 2000 Canadian Election Study of television coverage by four networks, as well as data from the McGill Media Observatory on print coverage of the 2006 campaign by seven major newspapers. She found gender equity in visibility in televised news and print. But there is no similar balance in how women and men were covered. In 2000, 70 per cent of the news coverage of New Democratic Party leader Alexa McDonough depicted her as attacking her opponents, while the coverage of the four male party leaders was not similarly skewed. McDonough’s sound bites were also remarkably longer when she attacked, in contrast to the treatment of her male peers.

Such selective treatment was damaging. Using that election study from 2000 and a media reception look at Toronto voters, Goodyear-Grant finds that this distorted depiction of the usually cool-headed McDonough hurt her; male party leaders were generally not penalized for such attacks. (Prime Minister Jean Chrétien did go too far, however, when he combined verbal attacks with aggressive body language.) Goodyear-Grant argues that when women attack, it contradicts cultural norms: “It is all the more newsworthy, because it is surprising and atypical.”

There are other wake-up calls. The televised coverage of McDonough usually focused on her activities or campaign trail events – as opposed to polls that might have flagged her viability as a candidate. McDonough was more associated with so-called soft issues such as health care as opposed to hard issues such as the economy – although the media could have simply picked up on the NDP’s campaign focus. Perhaps most worrisome, every story that provided journalistic interpretations of McDonough’s message in the television lead-ins and wrap-ups failed to offer “evidence or reasoning to substantiate the interpretive content.” The number for men was “significantly lower.”

In the 2005-2006 election, women candidates faced glaringly sexist references of their personal lives in print coverage, including their childlessness and marital status. Women did, however, receive less personal coverage when they built up a reputation as competent politicians. Happily, there was no statistically significant difference in the coverage of the professional qualifications of male and female candidates. As well, the tone of news stories on the electoral prospects of female and male candidates did not differ. When the coverage of challengers was isolated from that of incumbents, however, female candidates were more associated with soft issues than male challengers. Journalists have seemingly absorbed gender stereotypes.

But Goodyear-Grant goes astray when she asserts that the news media reflect the male-dominated hierarchies in newsrooms who want to attract advertisers with an audience of affluent, older, white males. The news may be a function of culturally skewed selection and the media hierarchy does remain top-heavy with men. But editors and journalists, male and female, are far more concerned about beating their competitors to a story than placating advertisers. There are usually sturdy walls between publishers and editors – although they can be breached. As well, contrary to her assertion, television reporters do write their own copy. Finally, she should have applied even more skepticism to the complaints of former Prime Minister Kim Campbell: after all, Campbell did pose holding her judicial robes in front of her bare shoulders; and much of her ire was aimed at coverage that examined her professional credentials.

Last February, when Freeland faced jeers, she remained composed – and chided the Conservatives. Within minutes of journalist Millar’s tweet, before Question Period even ended, she shot back: “This is 2014!” Millar apologized. Goodyear-Grant suggests that female politicians, their male allies and political parties should “take every opportunity to challenge prevailing (masculine) norms.” Perhaps that prompt apology represents progress. But this scholarly book indicates that damaging gendered assumptions still underpin Canada’s media and political worlds – and they do influence the voters.

Mary Janigan
Journalist and Author of Let The Eastern Bastards Freeze in the Dark: The West Versus The Rest Since Confederation


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 37 no 2
2014






Last Updated: 2019-07-15

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Sur les rayonsSur les rayons
Mary Janigan

Gendered News: Media Coverage and Electoral Politics in Canada par Elizabeth Goodyear-Grant, UBC Press, Vancouver, 2013, 246 p.

Début février, la députée libérale Chrystia Freeland pose sa première question aux Communes. Pour la plupart des députés, c’est un moment fort de la carrière. Pour Freeland, qui a remporté de justesse en novembre une élection partielle à Toronto, c’est un baptême du feu. L’ancienne chroniqueuse économique est en train de demander quelles sont les perspectives de reprise économique quand les rangs conservateurs se mettent à la chahuter. Le Président intervient deux fois, mais les voix pour la plupart masculines n’en crient que plus fort. À sa troisième tentative, Freeland doit tronquer sa question. Après la réponse toute faite d’un ministre, D. Matthew Millar, un journaliste du Vancouver Observer, lui conseille ceci : « Prends ta voix de « grande fille » pour la période de questions », lui gazouille-t-il, « les verres d’eau des honorables députés volent en éclat (sic) ».

Il y aura bientôt un siècle que les femmes peuvent voter aux élections fédérales, mais la lutte pour l’égalité n’est pas finie. Les obstacles à leur participation à la politique sautent depuis que les pontes des partis, les collecteurs de fonds, les associations de circonscription et les électeurs les considèrent comme des candidats souhaitables. Mais, comme l’explique Elizabeth Goodyear-Grant, politologue de l’Université Queen’s, la représentation féminine au fédéral comme au provincial reste « obstinément inférieure » au tiers des sièges, masse critique jugée nécessaire pour changer les choses en politique. À quoi est due cette tenace inégalité? En analysant la couverture télévisuelle des chefs de parti aux élections fédérales de 2000 et celle des élections de 2006 dans la presse écrite, Goodyear-Grant montre « jusqu’à quel point les médias façonnent l’idée que les électeurs se font des femmes chefs de parti et candidats et du monde politique en général, influant ainsi sur le soutien accordé aux femmes. »

C’est un regard neuf sur un sujet relativement inexploré : les relations compliquées entre médias, politiciens et électeurs. Les médias ne s’en sortent pas bien. Goodyear-Grant soutient que les médias grand public présentent les femmes comme différentes de leurs collègues masculins de façons beaucoup plus insidieuses que dans le cas de Freeland. Selon elle, les hommes dominent les médias d’information et, comme les journalistes s’imprègnent de cette culture, il en résulte une vision masculine de l’actualité qui véhicule l’idée que la féminité « est différente, étrangère à la politique, voire indésirable ». En fait, les médias adoptent à leur insu les schèmes de pensée de la culture ambiante, lesquels ordonnent leurs croyances et leurs connaissances au sujet de la femme. Ils sont ainsi amenés à voir la politique comme un monde d’hommes, d’où l’omniprésence dans leurs reportages d’expressions, de métaphores et de symboles masculins.

Goodyear-Grant ne prétend pas apporter de solutions faciles à ce dilemme où les électeurs, les médias et les politiciens eux-mêmes jouent un rôle. Elle passe sous silence la capacité qu’ont les réseaux sociaux de renverser ce rapport de forces en permettant de contourner les filtres médiatiques. Elle fait aussi preuve de naïveté et se trompe à l’occasion au sujet des façons de faire des journalistes, notamment sur la Colline du Parlement. Elle aurait dû poser quelques questions pointues aux journalistes de manière à nuancer ce que des politiciens lui ont dit en entrevue sur la façon dont ils traitent et manipulent à l’occasion leur appartenance sexuelle dans les médias.

Malgré ces défauts, Gendered News reste une lecture éclairante. Goodyear-Grant interprète les résultats des études sur la couverture médiatique des élections de 2000 et de 2006. Elle constate qu’à la télévision comme dans la presse écrite l’égalité entre les sexes est formellement observée. Mais tout est dans la manière. En 2000, 70 % des reportages sur la cheffe du Nouveau Parti démocratique Alexa McDonough la dépeignent comme agressive envers ses adversaires, qualificatif qu’on ne retrouve pas dans les reportages sur ses concurrents masculins. De plus, les extraits sonores de McDonough sont sensiblement plus longs quand elle attaque, ce qui n’est pas le cas pour ses adversaires masculins.

Cette sélectivité est nuisible. Sur la base de l’étude de 2000 et de la réaction des électeurs torontois à la couverture médiatique, Goodyear-Grant constate que cette représentation tendancieuse d’une personne habituellement posée comme McDonough lui a nui. En général, les attaques de ses adversaires masculins ne leur sont pas reprochées. (Le premier ministre Chrétien est cependant allé trop loin quand il a joint à l’agressivité verbale l’agressivité gestuelle.) Goodyear-Grant soutient que lorsque les femmes attaquent, elles heurtent les normes culturelles : « C’est d’autant plus intéressant que c’est surprenant et atypique. »

Ce n’est pas tout. La couverture télévisuelle de McDonough porte habituellement sur sa campagne et non sur les sondages qui confortaient sa viabilité électorale. McDonough est associée aux enjeux émotifs comme les soins de santé plutôt qu’aux enjeux rationnels comme l’économie – alors que les médias auraient pu faire pleins feux sur le programme électoral du NPD. Chose peut-être encore plus troublante, chaque fois que les journalistes interprètent le message de McDonough en début ou fin de reportage, ils « n’apportent pas de preuves ou d’arguments à l’appui de leurs dires ». Dans le cas des hommes, c’est sensiblement différent.

Aux élections de 2005-2006, les candidates font l’objet dans les journaux d’allusions nettement sexistes à leur vie personnelle, notamment à leur situation de famille et au fait qu’elles n’ont pas d’enfants. La couverture devient toutefois moins personnelle quand elles acquièrent une certaine réputation comme femme politique. Il n’y a heureusement pas de différence statistiquement signifiante dans la couverture des qualifications professionnelles ou des perspectives électorales des candidats et des candidates. Cependant, quand il n’est question que des candidats qui cherchent à déloger un député sortant, les candidates sont associées davantage aux enjeux émotifs. Les journalistes semblent avoir fait leurs les stéréotypes sexuels.

Mais Goodyear-Grant se trompe quand elle affirme que les médias d’information reflètent la direction essentiellement masculine des salles de nouvelles qui souhaite attirer des annonceurs avec un auditoire composé d’hommes blancs, riches et d’un certain âge. Sans doute le biais culturel fausse la couverture médiatique et la hiérarchie reste dominée par les hommes, mais les rédacteurs et les journalistes, hommes et femmes, cherchent avant tout à damer le pion à leurs concurrents qu’à plaire aux annonceurs. Les cloisons entre éditeurs et rédacteurs sont solides, bien qu’elles ne sont pas impénétrables. Puis, contrairement à ce qu’elle affirme, les journalistes de la télévision rédigent leurs propres textes. Enfin, elle aurait dû faire preuve de plus de scepticisme à l’endroit des plaintes de l’ancienne première ministre Kim Campbell: après tout, Campbell s’est fait photographier avec sa tenue judiciaire devant ses épaules nues et sa colère visait surtout les reportages concernant ses aptitudes professionnelles.

Lorsqu’elle a été chahutée en février dernier, Freeland a gardé son sang-froid et semoncé les conservateurs. Quelques minutes après le gazouillis de Millard, avant même la fin de la période de questions, elle lui a rétorqué : « On est tout de même en 2014! » Millar lui a présenté ses excuses. Selon Goodyear-Grant, il faudrait qu’en politique, les femmes, leurs alliés masculins et les partis « ne ratent jamais l’occasion de contester les normes régnantes (masculines) ». Peut-être faut-il voir dans les excuses aussitôt présentées un progrès. Mais cet ouvrage d’érudition montre que stéréotypes sexuels continuent d’avoir cours dans les médias et le monde politique et qu’ils exercent une influence sur les électeurs.

Mary Janigan
Journaliste et auteure de Let The Eastern Bastards Freeze in the Dark: The West Versus The Rest Since Confederation


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 37 no 2
2014






Dernière mise à jour : 2018-07-31