Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
Parliamentary Book ShelfParliamentary Book Shelf
André Grenier

Parlementarisme et Francophonie, edited by Éric Montigny and François Gélineau

This edited volume is a result of an international symposium on francophone parliaments, Plurielle et fière de l’être: la Francophonie parlementaire, organized by Laval University’s Research Chair on Democracy and Parliamentary Institutions. It took place in the Legislative Council Room of the Québec National Assembly on February 25 and 26, 2011, with over 200 in attendance.

The Francophonie (with a capital F) refers to the institutional structure governing relations among French-speaking states. The parliaments of these states and federations are eligible for membership in an interparliamentary and international cooperative assembly, the Assemblée parlementaire de la Francophonie.

The roughly 70 member parliaments are highly diverse both in how they are organized and how they conduct themselves. Until 2011, no real comparative study of this diversity had been carried out, hence the symposium in Québec City. The aim was to catalogue the various parliamentary practices within the Francophonie, explore the differences between the parliaments and identify where they are similar.

For this summary, we first focus on Canada’s various legislatures that were discussed in oral and written contributions (the Parliament of Canada, the Québec National Assembly and the Legislative Assembly of New Brunswick). We then turn our attention to the Parliament of the French Republic and to the Swiss Federal Assembly.

Chapter 1 deals with the Parliament of Canada. From the outset, author Éric Montigny states that the executive branch plays a leading role in Parliament, the government, through its House leaders, controls the legislative agenda. Then there is the prime minister, who enjoys the powers of an elected monarch. As the head of the government, he is able to make many public appointments: judges (including provincial superior court justices), senior federal public servants, senators and so forth.

In a minority parliament, the opposition parties have significant influence over the fate of the government’s legislative program, obliging the government to negotiate passage of its bills one by one. Minority governments occur relatively frequently in Canada; there have been roughly a dozen since 1867.

The author argues that the principle of responsible government in Canada blurs the lines between the executive and the legislative. However, this does not prevent the opposition from exercising meaningful control over the government and the public service, for which it has a number of institutional tools at its disposal.

Chapter 2 looks at Québec’s parliamentary system. Professor Réjean Pelletier views ministerial responsibility as paradoxically leading to the government’s non-responsibility before the Assembly. In his view, this results in unwavering support for the government by the members of the ruling party due to party discipline. The many powers that were at one time exercised by the Queen or King have been handed not to the Assembly, but to the Premier. As a result, the government enjoys tremendous control over the legislature. According to Professor Pelletier, in Québec there is not a cooperation of legislative and executive powers, but rather a blending of powers. He cites the UK Parliament as a legislature that Québec’s parliamentarians can use as a model for making changes to Question Period and to issues surrounding party discipline.

Chapter 3 focusses on the Legislative Assembly of New Brunswick. Author Roger Ouellette writes that the members of the Legislative Assembly in Fredericton must adhere to strict party discipline. He cites the 2011 report Proposals for Legislative Reform in New-Brunswick, which recommends that the Assembly consider adopting the UK’s three-line-whip system. However, Professor Ouellette expresses some doubt as to the possibility of reforming free votes given the conventions regarding responsible government in Canada.

The parliamentary systems of several European states and countries are similar to what is in place in Canada, Québec and New Brunswick in that the executive branch predominates over parliament. This is the conclusion of the chapters focussing on the Belgian Federal Parliament, the Parliament of the French-speaking Community of Belgium, Luxembourg’s Chamber of Deputies and the Parliament of the French Republic.

In the case of France, Professor Armel Le Divallec writes in Chapter 9 that both assemblies in Paris—the Senate and the National Assembly—serve mostly as a check on the government’s power, essentially limiting it.

The executive exercises significant influence to oversee and direct assembly business. It dominates the Conference of Presidents, which is responsible for parliamentary planning. The government can also rely on the support of a disciplined majority in the National Assembly. Party discipline is the rule for both the majority and opposition parties.

Reforms introduced in 2008-2009 focussed on reducing the priority given since 1958 to government business. Under this reform, one out of four weeks of sitting are now dedicated to assembly business to oversee government and evaluate policies. However, Professor Le Divallec does not believe that this reform will affect the overall balance between the presidency, the government and Parliament. Since 1958, the presidency of the Republic has played a dominant role in the political system, except during periods of cohabitation where the president and the parliamentary majority are in opposition.

As Parlementarisme et Francophonie shows, some countries in the Francophonie have political systems that strike a better balance between the government and parliament. Switzerland is one such example. In Chapter 7, Ruth Lüthi and Pierre-Hervé Freléchoz write that the bicameral Federal Assembly occupies a strong position within the country’s political system. Roughly 20% of the bills passed into law are private members’ bills, and this figure is on the rise. As well, the Parliament in Bern sometimes makes substantial changes to government bills. Lastly, any federal budget item can be amended via a proposal from one of the two parliamentary finance committees.

Switzerland’s political system is not a parliamentary one, even though the authors of Parlementarisme et Francophonie refer to it as such in their conclusion (see pages 336 onward); neither is it a presidential system. Francophone authors such as Georges Burdeau and Philippe Lauvaux have called it a “directorial government,” meaning that the Federal Assembly and the Federal Council (the Cabinet) exercise only one state function: the government function. There are several ways in which the Swiss political system differs substantially from the Westminster model:

  • significant separation of legislative and executive powers
  • Parliament cannot bring down the government
  • the government does not have the power to dissolve Parliament
  • government members are elected by Parliament for the life of that Parliament

In all, the volume edited by Gélineau and Montigny discusses 20 parliaments in the Francophonie, including the legislative bodies of several African countries. Simply from a numerical standpoint, this is a significant sample given the number of sovereign countries (30) and federated states (provinces, cantons – a total of 11) where French is an official or co-official language.

Each chapter broadly describes a legislature, either bicameral or unicameral. Contributors to the symposium and the volume were invited to present and analyze the workings of one, two or even several assemblies. They were provided with an analytical framework to use, focussing on four major themes:

  • institutional and historical background
  • parliamentary organization
  • procedure
  • parliamentary oversight

This volume helps fill a gap. Not until now has there been a political science monograph providing such a broad survey of Francophone parliaments. Of course, over the years the Assemblée parlementaire de la Francophonie has produced a catalogue of parliamentary procedures and practices (the Recueil des procédures et des pratiques parlementaires), which provides information on 33 legislatures, with contributions from officials within the legislatures in question. This document, available only in electronic format, contains chapters presenting the information under 10 major themes.

Sections in the chapters of Parlementarisme et Francophonie focus on placing national or subnational legislatures within a broader institutional context. Most of the authors present their country’s French-speaking community and its history, institutions, the status of the French language and so forth.

The volume does not contain a summary chapter. Despite the completeness of the national contributions, it definitely lacks a thorough comparative analysis. However, the authors do state that they wish to see a follow-up to their work. They conclude by recommending that further research be conducted into the factors that promote parliamentary reform and institutional arrangements.

André Grenier

Research Service

Québec National Assembly Library


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 36 no 3
2013






Last Updated: 2019-11-29

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Sur les rayonsSur les rayons
André Grenier

Parlementarisme et Francophonie, sous la direction de Éric Montigny et François Gélineau

Cet ouvrage résulte d’un colloque international intitulé Plurielle et fière de l’être : la Francophonie parlementaire. Le colloque en question a été organisé à l’initiative de la Chaire de recherche sur la démocratie et les institutions parlementaires de l’Université Laval. Il s’est tenu les 25 et 26 février 2011 à la salle du Conseil législatif de l’Assemblée nationale du Québec. Plus de 200 personnes y ont participé.

Le terme Francophonie avec un F majuscule désigne le dispositif institutionnel qui façonne les rapports entre les pays francophones. Les parlements des États et des États fédérés francophones peuvent adhérer à une assemblée de coopération interparlementaire et internationale, l’Assemblée parlementaire de la Francophonie.

Parmi les quelque 70 parlements qui sont membres de l’organisation, on constate une grande diversité, tant sur le plan organisationnel que sur le plan de la procédure. Or, jusqu’en 2011, cette diversité n’avait pas fait l’objet d’un véritable exercice comparatif. Le colloque de Québec s’est tenu justement pour combler ce manque. Il visait à dresser un inventaire des pratiques parlementaires au sein de la Francophonie, à expliquer la diversité qui règne entre les parlements et à établir des axes de convergence.

Dans la présente synthèse, nous avons choisi de mettre l’accent d’abord sur les parlements de l’ensemble canadien qui ont fait l’objet de contributions orales et écrites (le Parlement fédéral, l’Assemblée nationale du Québec et l’Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick). Nous traiterons ensuite du Parlement de la République française et de l’Assemblée fédérale de la Suisse.

Le chapitre premier du volume porte donc sur le Parlement du Canada. L’auteur, Éric Montigny, y note d’emblée que l’exécutif joue un rôle de premier plan au sein du Parlement. Ainsi, le gouvernement contrôle par la voie de ses leaders parlementaires l’ordre du jour législatif. Le premier ministre quant à lui dispose de pouvoirs dignes d’un monarque élu. Le chef du gouvernement détient un pouvoir de nomination à de nombreuses charges publiques. Il nomme les juges, y compris ceux des cours supérieures dans les provinces, les hauts fonctionnaires fédéraux, les sénateurs, etc.

En situation de gouvernement minoritaire, les partis d’opposition exercent une influence importante sur le sort du programme législatif du gouvernement. Celui-ci doit négocier l’adoption de ses projets de loi au cas par cas. Les gouvernements minoritaires sont relativement fréquents au Canada. En effet, cette situation s’est présentée à une douzaine de reprises depuis 1867.

Selon l’auteur, le principe du gouvernement responsable au Canada conduit à une confusion entre l’exécutif et le législatif. Cela n’empêche pas l’opposition d’exercer un contrôle véritable sur les activités du gouvernement et de l’Administration. Elle dispose de plusieurs moyens institutionnels à cette fin.

Le chapitre 2 a pour objet le parlementarisme au Québec. Le professeur Réjean Pelletier s’y montre d’avis que la responsabilité ministérielle conduit de façon paradoxale à la non-responsabilité du gouvernement devant la Chambre. Cette situation résulterait de l’appui indéfectible qui est assuré au gouvernement par les députés du parti au pouvoir et de la discipline de parti. Les nombreuses attributions qui relevaient jadis de la reine ou du roi ont été transmises dans les faits, non pas au Parlement, mais au premier ministre. Le gouvernement exerce donc une emprise très importante sur le Parlement. Selon l’auteur, il existe au Québec non pas une collaboration des pouvoirs législatif et exécutif, mais plutôt une fusion des pouvoirs. Pelletier cite le Parlement du Royaume-Uni comme une législature qui pourrait inspirer les députés québécois au sujet de changements futurs à la procédure de la période de questions, tout comme à ce qui est relié à la discipline de parti.

Le chapitre 3 est consacré à l’Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick. L’auteur, Roger Ouellette, écrit que les députés qui siègent à Frédéricton sont sujets à une discipline de parti stricte. Il cite le rapport Proposals for Legislative Reform in New-Brunswick de 2011, qui recommande que l’on considère l’adoption à l’Assemblée législative du système de three-line-whip en vigueur au Royaume-Uni. Le professeur Ouellette énonce cependant des doutes sur la possibilité de mettre en œuvre une réforme relative aux votes libres, compte tenu des conventions sur le gouvernement responsable au Canada.

La situation du parlementarisme dans plusieurs États et pays du continent européen ressemble à celle que l’on trouve au Canada, au Québec et au Nouveau-Brunswick. L’exécutif est donc en position dominante par rapport au Parlement. C’est ce que l’on peut conclure des chapitres qui portent sur le Parlement fédéral belge, le Parlement de la Communauté française de Belgique, la Chambre des députés du Luxembourg et le Parlement de la République française.

Dans le cas de la France, le professeur Armel Le Divallec soumet au chapitre 9 que les deux assemblées qui siègent à Paris, soit le Sénat et l’Assemblée nationale, participent surtout de manière négative à la direction des affaires. Ce sont donc essentiellement des institutions de limitation du pouvoir du gouvernement.

L’exécutif conserve des prérogatives importantes pour contrôler et pour diriger le travail des assemblées. Il domine en outre la Conférence des présidents, soit l’instance qui est chargée de la planification des travaux. Le gouvernement peut également compter sur l’appui d’une majorité disciplinée à l’Assemblée nationale. La discipline de parti est la règle, et ce, autant dans le camp de la majorité que dans celui de l’opposition.

Une réforme introduite en 2008-2009 a porté notamment sur la réduction de la priorité générale qui était accordée depuis 1958 aux travaux d’origine gouvernementale. Ainsi, cette réforme établit qu’une semaine de séances sur quatre est consacrée désormais aux initiatives des assemblées pour le contrôle du gouvernement et pour l’évaluation des politiques. Armel Le Divallec ne croit pas cependant que cette réforme modifiera l’équilibre général existant entre la présidence, le gouvernement et le Parlement. Depuis 1958, la présidence de la République constitue l’élément dominant du système politique, sauf en période de cohabitation du président avec une majorité parlementaire qui lui est opposée.

Parlementarisme et Francophonie montre que certains pays de la Francophonie ont un système politique dans lequel existe un meilleur équilibre entre le gouvernement et le Parlement. C’est le cas de la Suisse. Au chapitre 7, Ruth Lüthi et Pierre-Hervé Freléchoz mentionnent que l’Assemblée fédérale – formée en réalité de deux Chambres – occupe une position forte à l’intérieur du système politique de ce pays. Ainsi, environ 20 % des projets de loi qui sont adoptés procèdent de l’initiative parlementaire. Cette tendance est d’ailleurs à la hausse. De plus, le Parlement de Berne effectue parfois des changements importants aux projets de lois du gouvernement. Enfin, n’importe quel poste du projet de budget fédéral peut être modifié sur proposition de l’une des deux commissions parlementaires des finances.

Le système politique suisse n’est pas un régime parlementaire, bien que les auteurs de Parlementarisme et Francophonie le caractérisent de cette façon dans leur conclusion (voir pages 336 et suivantes). Ce n’est pas non plus un régime présidentiel. Dans la littérature francophone, tant Georges Burdeau que Philippe Lauvaux l’ont qualifié de « gouvernement directorial », ce qui signifie notamment que l’Assemblée fédérale et le Conseil fédéral (le Cabinet) interviennent dans l’exercice d’une fonction étatique unique, la fonction gouvernementale. Plusieurs caractéristiques distinguent de façon appréciable le système politique suisse du modèle de Westminster :

  • la séparation des pouvoirs législatif et exécutif est importante;
  • le Parlement ne peut provoquer la chute du gouvernement;
  • le gouvernement n’a pas de droit de dissolution;
  • les membres du gouvernement sont élus par le Parlement pour toute la durée d’une législature.

Au total, l’ouvrage publié sous la direction de MM. Gélineau et Montigny traite de 20 parlements de la Francophonie, y compris les corps législatifs de plusieurs pays africains. D’un point de vue simplement numérique il s’agit d’un échantillon important, si on la met en relation avec la liste des États souverains (30 États) et des États fédérés (provinces, cantons – au total 11 entités), dans lesquels le français est une langue officielle ou co-officielle.

Chacun des chapitres décrit de façon large un parlement, qu’il soit bicaméral ou monocaméral. Les collaborateurs du colloque et de la publication ont été invités à présenter et à analyser le fonctionnement d’une ou deux ou même de plusieurs assemblées. Une grille d’analyse a été soumise à ces personnes. La grille portait sur quatre grands thèmes :

  • le plan institutionnel et historique;
  • l’organisation parlementaire;
  • la procédure;
  • le contrôle parlementaire.

Le livre comble en partie une lacune. En effet, il n’y avait pas jusqu’à maintenant de monographie de science politique qui portait sur un inventaire aussi large des parlements francophones. Certes, l’Assemblée parlementaire de la Francophonie a produit au cours des dernières années le Recueil des procédures et des pratiques parlementaires qui fournit de l’information sur 33 parlements. Cet ouvrage est le fruit du travail de fonctionnaires au sein des parlements en question. Diffusé uniquement en format électronique, il comprend des chapitres qui regroupent l’information sous 10 grands thèmes.

Une partie des chapitres de Parlementarisme et Francophonie est consacrée à situer les parlements nationaux ou infranationaux dans un contexte institutionnel plus large. Par ailleurs, la plupart des auteurs présentent la communauté francophone de leur pays, son histoire, ses institutions, le statut de la langue française, etc.

L’ouvrage ne comprend pas de chapitre de synthèse. Malgré la richesse des contributions nationales, il manque en définitive une analyse comparative fouillée. Les auteurs mentionnent néanmoins leur souhait qu’une suite soit donnée à ce travail. Ils suggèrent en conclusion que l’on fasse porter la recherche ultérieure sur les facteurs qui favorisent les réformes parlementaires et les arrangements institutionnels.

André Grenier

Service de la recherche

Bibliothèque de l’Assemblée nationale


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 36 no 3
2013






Dernière mise à jour : 2018-07-31