Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
Parliamentary Book ShelfParliamentary Book Shelf
Gary Levy

At the Heart of Gold: The Yukon Commissioner’s Office 1898-2010, by Linda Johnson, The Legislative Assembly of Yukon, 2012, 332 p.

One of Canada’s smallest jurisdictions, Yukon is also one of the most active in the promotion of its legislative history which, like the Territory itself, has been long and colourful. Linda Johnson was Yukon Archivist for 20 years, and later College Archivist at Yukon College. She is author of With the People Who Live Here: The History of the Yukon Legislature, 1909 – 1961, published in 2009.

This book is about the men and women who have held office as Yukon Commissioner since 1898. As present Commissioner Doug Phillips notes “The term Commissioner could refer to anything from a guard at the Parliament Building to the head of the RCMP to any number of positions in between.” (p. 315). The Office has evolved over the years and is now similar to the office of Lieutenant Governor in a province.

The first part of the book consists of a series of mini biographies of 15 Commissioners from 1898 to 1962. Many were closely aligned with the Liberal or Conservative Party, depending on who was in office in Ottawa. Most were transplants from the southern provinces but all fell under the “Spell of the Yukon”. A few went on to federal politics like George Black (1912-1918) who later served as a member of Parliament and Speaker of the House of Commons in the 1930s. James Ross (1901-1902) became an MP and then a Senator. In the process of learning about their lives the reader becomes familiar with all the great themes of Yukon history from the Gold Rush to mining to pipelines to aboriginal land claims.

The second part of the book focuses on the men and women who served as Commissioner since 1962. They are a more diverse lot including the first woman, Ione Christensen, and the first Aboriginal, Judy Gingrell. At the time this book was started, all the Commissioners appointed since 1962 were still alive and nine of them were interviewed. The biographies are edited extracts from these interviews. These oral histories are refreshingly frank as many Commissioners do not hesitate to recount their failures and shortcomings as well as their successes.

Each oral history covers more or less the same ground with information about their early lives, family lives and, of course their years in office. This format makes interesting reading but the problem with oral history becomes clear when we look at the issue of achieving responsible government.

The struggle for responsible government, whereby the Commissioner went from being the head of government to a ceremonial figure was a struggle as was the case much earlier in Upper and Lower Canada. No blood was shed in Yukon but between 1978 and 1980 there were four Commissioners (Arthur Pearson, Frank Fingland, Ione Christensen and Doug Bell) two resignations and a flurry of charges and counter charges as elected assemblymen clashed with appointed Commissioners for control of the Territory. The situation was further complicated by two change in governments in Ottawa so that there were half a dozen Ministers of Northern and Indian Affairs during this three year period.

Each Commissioner discusses the move to responsible government but each has his or her own perspective on how it happened and who deserves the credit or blame. It is difficult for the uninformed reader to separate fact from opinion. The definitive history of responsible government in the Yukon remains to be written.

Despite this problem the collection of Yukon stories is a valuable addition to the literature on the Canadian north. Several generations of Commissioners, Speakers and Clerks deserve credit for supporting the oral history project and seeing it used for this valuable and entertaining publishing project.

Gary Levy
Editor


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 35 no 4
2012






Last Updated: 2020-03-03

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Sur les rayonsSur les rayons
Gary Levy

At the Heart of Gold: The Yukon Commissioner’s Office 1898-2010 de Linda Johnson L’Assemblée législative du Yukon, 2012, 332 p.

Bien qu’il soit l’une des entités politiques les plus petites du point de vue de la population et du nombre de sièges de son assemblée législative, le Yukon est néanmoins l’une des plus actives sur le plan de la promotion de son histoire parlementaire, qui, tout comme le territoire lui-même, est riche et haute en couleur. Linda Johnson a été archiviste du Yukon pendant 20 ans, puis archiviste au Collègue du Yukon. Elle a publié en 2009 le livre With the People Who Live Here: The History of the Yukon Legislature, 1909-1961.

Ce livre-ci porte sur les hommes et les femmes qui ont occupé le poste de commissaire du Yukon depuis 1898. Comme le note le commissaire actuel, Doug Phillips, « le terme “commissaire” peut renvoyer à toute sorte de postes, allant de gardien de sécurité au Parlement au chef de la GRC » (p. 315). La charge a évolué au fil du temps et ressemble aujourd’hui à celle de lieutenant-gouverneur d’une province.

La première partie du livre contient de courtes biographies des 15 commissaires de 1898 à 1962. Bon nombre d’entre eux étaient affiliés de près au Parti libéral ou au Parti conservateur, selon le parti au pouvoir à Ottawa lors de leur nomination. La plupart provenaient des provinces du Sud, mais ils ont tous succombé aux charmes du Yukon. Quelques-uns ont poursuivi leur carrière en politique fédérale, comme George Black (1912-1918), qui est devenu député et président de la Chambre des communes au cours des années 1930. James Ross, commissaire de 1901 à 1902, est devenu député puis sénateur. Au fil de ces biographies, le lecteur en apprend davantage sur les grands thèmes de l’histoire du Yukon, de la ruée vers l’or à l’exploitation minière, en passant par les pipelines et les revendications territoriales des Autochtones.

La deuxième partie du livre porte sur les titulaires de cette charge depuis 1962. Ce groupe est plus diversifié et comprend la première femme commissaire, Ione Christensen, et la première Autochtone à occuper le poste, Judy Gingrell. Au moment de la rédaction du livre en 2010, tous les commissaires nommés après 1962 étaient encore en vie, et l’auteure s’est entretenue avec neuf d’entre eux. Les passages qui leur sont consacrés s’appuient sur le contenu de ces entretiens. Ces récits oraux sont d’une honnêteté rafraichissante : de nombreux commissaires n’hésitent pas à aborder tant leurs échecs et leurs lacunes que leurs réussites.

Chaque commissaire parle relativement des mêmes sujets, soit leur enfance, leur vie de famille et, bien entendu, leurs années en poste. Ce modèle rend la lecture intéressante, mais le problème des récits oraux devient apparent lorsqu’il est question de l’obtention d’un gouvernement responsable.

La lutte pour l’obtention d’un gouvernement responsable, à l’issue de laquelle le commissaire a perdu son rôle de chef de gouvernement pour ne devenir qu’une figure symbolique comme les lieutenants-gouverneurs, ressemble à celle qui a eu lieu bien des années auparavant dans le Haut-Canada et le Bas-Canada. Au Yukon, il n’y a pas eu versement de sang, mais, entre 1978 et 1980, quatre personnes ont occupé le poste de commissaire (Arthur Pearson, Frank Fingland, Ione Christensen et Doug Bell). Deux d’entre elles ont démissionné et les accusations et les contre-accusations fusaient de toutes parts alors que les députés élus disputaient le contrôle du territoire au commissaire nommé. La situation a été exacerbée par deux changements de gouvernement à Ottawa, ce qui signifie que plusieurs personnes se sont succédé au poste de ministre des Affaires indiennes et du Nord au cours de ces trois années.

Au cours des entretiens, chaque commissaire aborde la question de la transition vers un gouvernement responsable selon sa propre perspective, chacun donnant sa version des faits et attribuant le blâme ou l’honneur à différentes personnes. Il est difficile pour un lecteur non averti de distinguer les opinions des faits. L’histoire officielle du gouvernement responsable du Yukon n’a toujours pas été écrite.

Malgré tout, ce recueil d’histoires du Yukon est un ajout inestimable à la littérature du Nord du Canada. Il faut féliciter plusieurs générations de commissaires, de présidents et de greffiers d’avoir gardé vivante l’histoire orale du territoire pour que l’on puisse la publier dans un livre aussi précieux et divertissant.

Gary Levy
Directeur
Revue parlementaire canadienne


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 35 no 4
2012






Dernière mise à jour : 2018-07-31