Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
Engaging Youth Through Social Media
Linda Reid, MLA

The last two decades have witnessed a decline in voter turnout, most noticeably among young voters. During this same period, the use of cell phones and digital and social media has increased dramatically. Effective use of social media tools has the exciting potential to connect young voters with political decision-makers and to help rebuild the relationship between citizens, elected officials and parliamentary democracy. This article offers some new ideas about how to engage with young people.

Before turning to how a variety of social media tools can be used to engage voters, I would like to quickly sketch out the challenges we face engaging young people and getting them out to vote.

The national trend of declining voter turnout is most pronounced among young Canadians. For example in the 2008 federal election, 36% of people aged 18-24 voted and the last election in my province in 2009 had lower numbers still: only 27% of eligible youth aged 18-24 voted. Youth participation is slightly higher in other countries: 51% of American youth aged 19 to 29 voted in 2008; and 44% of 18-24 year olds in the UK cast ballots in 2010.

A lot of research has been done on this topic. The overall conclusion is that young people are not voting because they feel distanced from the operations of the political system and because they lack a clear understanding of how the political system and parliamentary democracy function.

To encourage youth to participate in the electoral process BC’s Chief Electoral Officer recommends that BC legislators consider allowing provisional registration of individuals when they are 16 years old. While youth would remain unable to vote until they turn 18, provisional registration could allow Elections BC to work with schools and the driver licensing programs to ensure the maximum number of students are registered voters before leaving high school. In addition to this proposed change in the rules for voter registration I look forwards to seeing how the use of online voter registration and online voting can also facilitate the engagement of youth and increase overall voting levels.

In the past the BC Legislative Assembly and Elections BC have partnered to use digital media to increase youth engagement. In 2009 a project called “Democracy on Location” was launched to recognize and celebrate the second annual United Nations International Day of Democracy. Students were invited to create a two-minute video about democracy in their lives at school, home or with their friends.  The winning video — “Why Should Youth Care About Democracy?” — was created by four students from Burnaby North Secondary School. The winning students travelled to Victoria to be interviewed for Hansard TV, toured the Parliament Buildings, to learn about parliamentary democracy and learn about professional video production and broadcasting. The winning video was posted on the Elections BC website and on the Legislative Assembly website and played on Hansard Television.

Since disengagement and under-education are, in part, an explanation for low voter turnout and youth disaffection with politics then there is a clear role for elected officials to encourage youth participation. New tools, like Twitter, Youtube, Linkedin and QR codes provide exciting engagement and teaching opportunities for parliamentarians.

In British Columbia traditional outreach activities in our constituencies include speaking to school groups, participating in youth parliaments, engaging with youth organizations and encouraging youth participation during election campaigns. Today, Members of the Legislative Assembly are also working to bring politics alive through a variety of social media platforms.

Close to 50 of BC’s 85 MLAs how have active Facebook pages and an even greater number of MLAs use Twitter to communicate with constituents. Members use these platforms to post photos of events they host and to share video clips of the statements they make in the House. I even book meetings with constituents using Twitter!

Both Facebook and Twitter allow Members to converse with voters about issues of concern. For example, Private Members and Ministers in British Columbia, host “Twitter town halls” that encourage old and young alike to voice their concerns and engage with their elected representative. As part of these town halls British Columbians are encouraged to ask MLAs questions or express opinions on Twitter. By using a specific hash tag, the tweets are compiled and Members can engage in an online discussion and answer questions. Town halls hosted by Members have focused on local issues but are also used to interact with all British Columbians on province-wide issues like education and job creation.

In autumn 2011, our Committees Office launched a Facebook page to keep the public up to date with information and photos about the work of BC’s parliamentary committees. Information about up-coming meetings and reports, about committee public consultation processes, and pictures from committee meetings are posted online. In addition to print ads about committee public consultations, online advertisements and ads on Facebook are also being used to reach out as many British Columbians as possible.

During the annual budget consultation last fall members of the Select Standing Committee of Finance and Government Services posted tweets with pictures and comments about what they heard on their tour of the province in an effort to engage youth.

MLAs also make use of blogs to update constituents and engage with citizens. Many Members make regular postings about their work in the House and events in the community. In some cases these blogs also include an opportunity for constituents to comment on posts — another new way digital tools can be used to interact with constituents.

There are other online networking tools that are also useful for Parliamentarians to get connected with young people in their communities.

The use of QR codes is increasingly popular in British Columbia. QR, or quick response, codes are a type of bar code that can be read by smart phones, which many young people have. By placing QR code on a document, or on my business card, access to additional information is simplified — just scan the code and the designated webpage will load. These codes have also been used by the Clerk of Committees Office on print advertising for public consultations taking place. By including the codes in the ads citizens are quickly directed to an online form where they can share their views.

We only need to watch the evening news to see how social media tools can mobilize young people to get involved in politics.

Linkedin is also a great, and free, networking tool available to parliamentarians. Though my online profile I am able to connect with students, employers and businesses in my community.

Youtube provides a unique way to interact with and inspire younger voters. Both the Government of BC and a number of MLAs in my province share information using online video clips. The Government website showcases local businesses and provincial parks whereas some Members tape their monthly updates and post them online for all constituents to see. Members also post clips from Hansard to demonstrate to their constituents the work that takes place in the House.

There are numerous ways digital and social media tools can be used to facilitate interaction between young people, parliamentarians and the political system. Designing youth-friendly tools and providing youth with an opportunity to provide feedback to legislators on issues that touch their lives are important components of fueling civic engagement and voting practice is crucial to developing a connection between British Columbians and their Legislature.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 35 no 4
2012






Last Updated: 2016-07-26

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
La mobilisation des jeunes par les médias sociaux
Linda Reid, député provinciale

Au cours des deux dernières décennies, la participation électorale a subi un déclin, en particulier chez les jeunes. Durant la même période, l’utilisation du téléphone cellulaire et des médias numériques et sociaux s’est accrue de façon spectaculaire. Le recours efficace aux médias sociaux possède le potentiel excitant de tisser des liens entre les jeunes électeurs et les décideurs politiques et d’aider à rétablir les relations entre les citoyens, les élues et la démocratie parlementaire. L’auteure propose de nouvelles idées sur la manière de dialoguer avec les jeunes.

Avant d’expliquer comment exploiter les outils des médias sociaux pour mobiliser les électeurs, j’aimerais décrire rapidement les obstacles qui se présentent lorsqu’on cherche à communiquer avec les jeunes et à les inciter à voter.

C’est chez les jeunes Canadiens que le déclin de la participation électorale est le plus prononcé. Par exemple, lors des élections fédérales de 2008, seulement 36 % des personnes de 18 à 24 ans ont voté. Lors des dernières élections dans ma province, en 2009, le taux de participation de cette tranche de la population était encore plus bas : 27 % seulement. La participation électorale des jeunes est un peu plus élevée dans d’autres pays : 51 % des jeunes Américains de 19 à 29 ans ont voté en 2008, et 44 % des jeunes de 18 à 24 ans ont voté aux élections de 2010 au Royaume-Uni.

Nombre de recherches ont été effectuées sur ce sujet. La conclusion générale est que les jeunes ne votent pas parce qu’ils ne se sentent pas interpellés par les opérations du régime politique et parce qu’ils ne comprennent pas clairement le fonctionnement du régime politique et de la démocratie parlementaire.

Pour encourager les jeunes à participer au processus électoral, le directeur général des élections de la Colombie-Britannique a recommandé aux législateurs de la province de permettre l’inscription provisoire des jeunes dès l’âge de 16 ans. Il serait toujours impossible aux jeunes de voter avant l’âge de 18 ans, mais l’inscription provisoire permettrait à Elections British Columbia de collaborer avec les écoles et le programme de délivrance des permis de conduire afin qu’un nombre maximum d’étudiants soient inscrits sur la liste électorale avant de terminer leurs études secondaires. En plus de cette proposition de changement aux règles d’inscription sur la liste électorale, il me tarde de voir de quelle manière le vote et l’inscription en ligne peuvent aussi encourager la participation des jeunes et augmenter le taux de participation électoral de la population en général.

Par le passé, l’Assemblé législative de la Colombie-Britannique et Elections BC ont établi un partenariat visant à encourager la participation des jeunes au moyen des médias numériques. En 2009, un projet nommé « Democracy on Location » (La démocratie sur place) a été lancé afin de célébrer la deuxième Journée internationale de la démocratie des Nations Unies. On a invité les étudiants à créer des vidéos de deux minutes au sujet de la démocratie dans leur école, à la maison ou avec leurs amis. La vidéo gagnante, « Why Should Youth Care About Democracy? » (Pourquoi les jeunes devraient-ils s’intéresser à la démocratie?), a été créée par quatre étudiants de l’école secondaire Burnaby North. Les gagnants se sont rendus à Victoria, où une entrevue à Hansard TV et une visite des édifices du Parlement leur ont permis d’en apprendre davantage sur la démocratie parlementaire et sur la production et la diffusion vidéo professionnelles. La vidéo gagnante a été affichée sur le site Web d’Elections BC et le site Web de l’Assemblée législative, et a été diffusée sur Hansard TV.

Puisque l’indifférence et le manque d’éducation expliquent en partie les faibles taux de participation électorale et le désintérêt des jeunes à l’égard de la politique, il revient aux élus d’encourager les jeunes à voter. De nouveaux outils, comme Twitter, YouTube, LinkedIn et les codesQR, constituent des moyens de communication et de sensibilisation intéressants pour les parlementaires.

En Colombie-Britannique, les activités de sensibilisations habituelles dans les circonscriptions consistent à faire des présentations devant des groupes d’étudiants, à participer aux parlements jeunesse, à collaborer avec des organismes de jeunes et à encourager la participation des jeunes pendant les campagnes électorales. Aujourd’hui, les députés de l’Assemblée législative tentent également de faire vivre la politique à l’aide de différents médias sociaux.

Près de 50 des 85 députés de l’Assemblée législative ont une page Facebook, et encore un plus grand nombre d’entre eux utilisent Twitter pour communiquer avec leurs électeurs. Les députés emploient ces plateformes pour publier des photos prises lors d’activités qu’ils organisent et pour partager les vidéos des déclarations qu’ils font à la Chambre. Je me sers même de Twitter pour fixer des rendez-vous avec mes électeurs!

Facebook et Twitter permettent aux députés de discuter avec les électeurs au sujet de questions qui les intéressent. Par exemple, les députés et les ministres de la Colombie-Britannique organisent des « assemblées publiques » sur Twitter auxquelles peuvent participer les jeunes et les plus vieux pour faire connaître leurs préoccupations et dialoguer avec leur représentant élu. Au cours de ces « rencontres », on invite les électeurs à poser des questions aux députés et à exprimer leurs opinions sur Twitter. À l’aide de mots-clics définis, les gazouillis sont compilés par sujet et les députés peuvent amorcer une discussion en ligne et répondre aux questions. Les « assemblées » organisées par les députés portent sur des questions locales, mais sont également l’occasion d’interagir avec tous les électeurs sur des enjeux touchant l’ensemble de la province, comme l’éducation et la création d’emplois.

À l’automne 2011, le Bureau des comités a ouvert une page Facebook pour tenir le public au fait des travaux des comités parlementaires de la Colombie-Britannique en publiant des photos et de l’information. On fait paraître en ligne des renseignements sur les réunions et les rapports de comités à venir et sur les processus de consultation, et on diffuse des photos prises au cours des réunions des comités. En plus d’imprimer des avis de consultation publique des comités, on utilise la promotion en ligne et des annonces sur Facebook pour joindre le plus grand nombre de Britanno-Colombiens possible.

Au cours des consultations budgétaires annuelles tenues l’automne dernier, les membres du Comité permanent restreint des finances et des services gouvernementaux ont publié sur Twitter des photos et des commentaires sur ce qu’ils avaient entendu un peu partout dans la province afin d’attiser l’intérêt des jeunes.

Les députés utilisent également des blogues pour informer les électeurs et communiquer avec les citoyens. Nombre d’entre eux publient régulièrement des billets au sujet de leur travail à la Chambre et des activités organisées dans leur collectivité. Dans certains cas, les électeurs peuvent commenter les billets. Voilà une autre manière d’utiliser les outils numériques afin d’interagir avec les électeurs.

D’autres outils de réseautage en ligne se révèlent utiles pour les parlementaires soucieux de prendre contact avec les jeunes de leur collectivité.

En Colombie-Britannique, on a de plus en plus recours aux codes QR (« quick response », pour décodage rapide). Il s’agit d’un type de code à barres que peuvent lire les téléphones intelligents, appareils que de nombreux jeunes possèdent. L’ajout du code QR à un document ou sur une carte professionnelle simplifie l’accès à de l’information supplémentaire. Il suffit, en effet, de lire le code pour que la page Web pertinente s’affiche. Le Bureau du greffier des comités a placé des codes QR sur les avis de consultation publique imprimés. Grâce à ces codes dans les documents de promotion, les citoyens sont rapidement dirigés vers un formulaire en ligne avec lequel ils peuvent exprimer leur opinion.

Il suffit de regarder les nouvelles du soir pour constater à quel point les médias sociaux peuvent servir à inciter les jeunes à se mobiliser et à participer à la politique.

LinkedIn constitue, pour les parlementaires, une excellente ressource de réseautage gratuite. Grâce à mon profil en ligne, je peux communiquer avec des étudiants, des employeurs et des entreprises de ma collectivité.

YouTube offre une façon particulière d’interagir avec les jeunes électeurs et de les inspirer. Le gouvernement de la Colombie-Britannique et un certain nombre de députés de ma province diffusent de l’information au moyen de vidéos en ligne. Le gouvernement met en valeur sur son site Web des entreprises locales et des parcs provinciaux, tandis que des députés publient des vidéos tous les mois pour faire le point sur des dossiers. D’autres diffusent également des vidéos des délibérations de la Chambre pour montrer à leurs électeurs le travail accompli à la Chambre.

Il existe donc de nombreuses façons d’utiliser les outils numériques et les médias sociaux pour favoriser les interactions entre les jeunes, les parlementaires et le régime politique. Pour encourager l’engagement civique, il est important, entre autres, de concevoir des outils axés sur les jeunes et d’offrir à ces derniers des occasions de faire connaître aux parlementaires leurs opinions sur des enjeux qui leur tiennent à cœur. Il est crucial de se pencher sur les pratiques électorales afin de resserrer les liens entre les Britanno-Colombiens et leur parlement.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 35 no 4
2012






Dernière mise à jour : 2017-08-03