Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
Remembering the War of 1812
Kerry Abel

This year, the Canadian government has decided to commemorate the War of 1812 bicentennial by recognizing key battles and heroes in re-enactments and other events, restoring various heritage sites pertinent to the war, and honouring a number of military regiments with connections to the militias of the war era. This article looks at the history of the War and how it has been perceived by the various parties who participated.

Two hundred years ago, an anxious American president reluctantly signed a declaration of war on Great Britain. Indeed, on the face of it, James Madison was sensible to be concerned. His new nation was in a state of political and financial disarray. Its army and navy was miniscule in comparison to the British war machine, which was in high gear fighting against Napoleon and the French. But in the nearly thirty years since the conclusion of the American War of Independence, British authorities had never fully reconciled themselves to the loss of thirteen of their colonies in North America and had been pursuing policies that angered raw, youthful American sensitivities.

American frontiersmen alleged that the British were sending agents into the Ohio country to stir up the Indians against American expansion. American politicians and merchant-shipping men complained that the British were stopping American ships on the open seas and unlawfully removing American citizens under the pretence that these men were still British subjects because of their place of birth. And a growing population of Irish immigrants, scarred by the experiences of the 1798 Irish rebellion, fanned the flames of anti-British sentiment. The time had come, the chorus sang, to force the British to recognize the sovereign nationhood of the United States of America once and for all.

But how could that be done with a professional navy of only five frigates, ill-equipped either to challenge the formidable Royal Navy with its thousand warships, or to interfere with any reasonable expectation of success against British commercial shipping? Or with a professional army of only about 10,000 men, a mere handful on any European battlefield? Instead the War Hawks suggested they could humble Britain by conquering her colony of Canada. Here the odds were much more clearly in the Americans’ favour.

Canada, consisting of two provinces of Upper and Lower Canada, was thinly settled, poorly defended, and economically weak. Above all, the majority of settlers in the western districts were of American origins and undoubtedly would be only too pleased to welcome an American army as liberators from the shackles of British rule. A “holiday campaign” said one; a “mere matter of marching” claimed Thomas Jefferson. Of course, the Americans had tried and failed to conquer Canada in 1775, and in twenty years of war against the French in Europe, the British army was now three times the size it had been then. That sober assessment was lost, however, in the enthusiasms of Republican propaganda. The Republicans carried the day in Congress and on June 18, 1812, Federalist president Madison signed his country into war.

The American strategy was to focus on three main fronts: they would cross the Niagara River and take the British fortifications and defences along that river; they would occupy the Detroit hinterland and invade the southwest to eliminate the Indian “menace”; and they would revive the Revolutionary War strategy of invading Lower Canada via the Lake Champlain route, first taking Montreal, then Quebec, the only real military stronghold of the British in Canada. It would be primarily a land war, but to facilitate supply lines (and to prevent the British from supplying their own troops) a small fleet of lake vessels would be required to take control of lakes Erie and Ontario.

As it turned out, the trajectories of war followed somewhat different directions. The British sent their navy to cut off American shipping and supplies at eastern seaboard ports, resulting in a series of skirmishes along the Atlantic coast involving both professional navies and “privateers”. A northern frontier opened when the British took control of Fort Michilimackinac, an American outpost at a strategic point overlooking the outlet of Lake Michigan into Lake Huron. A southern front was opened late in the war when, for strategic reasons, the British sent troops to take control of Louisiana (which the Americans had recently purchased from the French). In the east, the British took control of about 160 kilometres of coastline in what was then called Massachusetts, now a part of Maine, occupying the territory (apparently to the satisfaction of its residents) for a good part of the last year of the war. And of course, the conquest of Canada turned out to be more than a “mere matter of marching”.

The real impact of the war was felt most directly and personally in Upper Canada. American troops made periodic forays across the border in the Niagara region and through Detroit, engaging forces consisting of British regulars (professional soldiers), Indian warriors, and some Canadian militiamen who were required by law to serve. Key battles were fought at places such as Queenston Heights (1812); Stoney Creek, Moraviantown on the Thames, and Crysler’s Farm (1813); and Lundy’s Lane (1814).

The Americans seized the capital of York twice; when they looted and burned it in the spring of 1813, the British retaliated by marching into Washington and burning key public buildings there, including the residence thereafter increasingly referred to as the White House. Through the autumn of 1814, the inhabitants of the Thames Valley could only watch in horror and despair as raids on their homes and farms destroyed their pioneer building efforts and their livelihoods. Nevertheless, the Americans never held any British territory for any length of time. It was too difficult to supply armies so far from home and the ravages of disease made camp life hell. Instead, the pattern of the war became a series of American forays into British North America followed by a series of marches back into the republic.

The population of Upper Canada was less than enthusiastic about participating in the war, but there was rather more support for the effort in Lower Canada. Leaders of the church and the professional classes were eager to show their allegiance to the British and took an active part in encouraging men to join militia units. Army officer Charles de Salaberry was given command of a light infantry troop (“voltigeurs”) that distinguished itself at the Battle of Châteauguay in the autumn of 1813, putting an end to the American attempt to invade through the Lake Champlain/Richelieu River route.

So much local legend, popular myth, and armchair wisdom has evolved over the years among both Canadians and Americans about the War of 1812 that most contemporary professional historical writing addresses the myths as much as the realities. Special interest groups on both sides of the border have promoted their own particular ideas about the war in order to promote patriotism of various stripes. In Canada, the Family Compact began to disseminate its version of events soon after the war. Later in the nineteenth century, local historical societies in Ontario encouraged a vision of the war that emphasized loyalty to the British Empire, while a group of women’s rights activists celebrated the role of women in the war. In the United States, commemorations of the War of 1812 were a useful device to unify the nation after the devastation of the Civil War. History was written, rewritten, and massaged to suit the needs and purposes of the day.

The war gave both sides heroes and heroines. The Americans have naval officers James Lawrence (“Don’t give up the ship”) and Oliver Perry (the Battle of Lake Erie), Andrew Jackson (the Battle of New Orleans), and Dolley Madison. Canadians have British General Isaac Brock, French-Canadian army officer Charles de Salaberry, and Laura Secord. Both sides celebrate the Shawnee leader Tecumseh. Uncle Sam and “The Star Spangled Banner” are important legacies for Americans. And both sides attribute the victories of the war to ordinary citizens fighting as militiamen. Of course, both sides also claim victory: the Americans because they ultimately did succeed in forcing British recognition of their nationhood, and the Canadians because they prevented an American conquest.

More sober contemporary historians point out that the Canadian militia played a relatively minor role in the war and the untrained and ill-equipped American volunteers were often more trouble than help to the professionals. Poor generalship and flawed strategies hampered both sides. The Maritime colonies and a few individuals in Upper Canada reaped substantial financial benefits from the war, while settlers in the western districts of Upper Canada paid a terrible price as their homes and crops were destroyed to prevent food supplies from reaching armies on both sides. Upper Canadians in particular were torn by divided loyalties; some fought actively for the American cause.

Perhaps it was the Aboriginal peoples who paid the most terrible price of the war. For years preceding the War of 1812, the nations west of the Appalachians had been fighting to stop American expansion into their homelands. Dubious treaties and land surrenders had been obtained and the collapse of Aboriginal economies and societies was beginning. Into this dire situation came the Shawnee brothers Tecumseh and Tenskwatawa, one a politician and warrior, the other a visionary and religious leader. They proposed a grand confederacy of the indigenous nations to strengthen their position against the Americans. With the American war clouds gathering, Tecumseh met with Lieutenant Governor Francis Gore and General Isaac Brock and decided that his people’s interests could best be served through an alliance with the British who promised to recognize their territorial claims when the war was won. Tecumseh’s warriors made major contributions to the war effort in its early phases. Tragically, Tecumseh was killed at the Battle of Moraviantown (the Thames) on October 5, 1813 and the remaining members of the confederacy ultimately failed to maintain his dream.

The other major Aboriginal contribution to the war came to the British courtesy of John Norton, a former British soldier of Scots-Cherokee ancestry who had been selected by Joseph Brant of the Six Nations at Grand River as his successor. Brant, who had been instrumental in allying a number of warriors from New York with the British in the American Revolutionary War, had died in 1807. Norton carried on his policies of supporting the British in return for their support for various Six Nations’ interests. Norton rallied a formidable fighting force of Six Nations warriors who played a key role at important battles such as Queenston Heights and Lundy’s Lane. Another group of warriors from Kahnawake and other Quebec villages also supported the British in return for promises to meet their needs.

While the Treaty of Ghent (ratified by the Americans on February 16, 1815) essentially recognized the status quo ante bellum, it would be unfair to conclude that the war changed nothing. The British negotiators abandoned their initial demands that the Americans recognize an Indian territory in the Ohio country; after the war, the Americans simply continued their program of Indian removals and territorial expansion. Upper Canadians who had suffered under the American campaigns of burning and looting would never again feel sympathetic towards the perpetrators; a new mental boundary had been drawn. Eventually, of course, new physical boundaries were also drawn with the extension of the line along the 49th parallel.

In its plans to celebrate the war’s bicentennial, the Canadian government tells us that the war was a key moment in the formation of the Canadian nation and the beginning of a “proud military tradition.” Clearly, the government’s program, like all of the other past attempts to celebrate the war, is an exercise in generating patriotic fervour. The unique features this time around are the attempts to make the story of the war more regionally, ethnically, and culturally inclusive. We are to celebrate the modern military as much as the brave deeds of brave ancestors. And the bicentennial promoters must attempt to balance the old anti-American sentiments against the pro-American interests of contemporary politics and commerce. It will be a tall order, but then, the story of the War of 1812 has proven infinitely elastic.

As the celebrated Canadian military historian C.P. Stacey wrote in 1958 the War of 1812 is one of those episodes in history that makes everybody happy, because everybody interprets it in his own way:

The Americans think of it primarily as a naval war in which the pride of the Mistress of the Seas was humbled… Canadians think of it equally pridefully as a war of defence in which their brave fathers, side by side, turned back the massed might of the United States and saved the country from conquest. And the English are the happiest of all, because they don’t even know it happened.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 35 no 3
2012






Last Updated: 2018-07-31

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Commémoration de la guerre de 1812
Kerry Abel

Cette année, le gouvernement du Canada a décidé de commémorer le bicentenaire de la guerre de 1812 en soulignant, par des reconstitutions historiques et d’autres activités, l’importance de certains héros et de certaines batailles, en restaurant plusieurs sites patrimoniaux liés à cette guerre et en rendant honneur à des régiments qui possèdent des liens avec les milices de l’époque. Le présent article fait l’historique de cette guerre et décrit comment elle a été perçue par les différents participants.

Il y a 200 ans, un président américain anxieux signait à contrecœur une déclaration de guerre à la Grande-Bretagne. James Madison avait, en effet, toutes les raisons d’être inquiet. Sa nouvelle nation traversait une crise politique et financière. Son armée et sa marine étaient minuscules comparativement à la machine de guerre britannique qui combattait à plein régime Napoléon et les Français. Les Britanniques ne s’étaient jamais réellement résignés à la perte de 13 de leurs colonies d’Amérique du Nord et, au cours des presque 30 années qui ont suivi la fin de la guerre de l’Indépendance, ils ont sans cesse mené des politiques qui piquaient au vif ces jeunes et fringants États-Unis d’Amérique.

Aux dires des pionniers américains, les Britanniques envoyaient des agents en Ohio pour inciter les Autochtones à s’opposer à l’expansion américaine. Des politiciens et des commerçants de la marine marchande des États-Unis se plaignaient que les Britanniques interceptaient des bateaux de leur pays en eaux libres et en enlevaient illégalement des citoyens américains sous le prétexte qu’ils étaient encore des sujets britanniques en raison de leur lieu de naissance. En outre, un nombre croissant d’immigrants irlandais, profondément marqués par la rébellion irlandaise de 1798, attisaient les flammes du sentiment antibritannique. Le temps était venu, disait-on, de forcer les Britanniques à reconnaître une fois pour toutes la souveraineté des États-Unis d’Amérique.

Mais comment affronter la formidable Royal Navy et son millier de navires de guerre, ou même espérer raisonnablement pouvoir réussir avec quelque succès à entraver le commerce maritime britannique avec une force navale professionnelle se limitant à cinq frégates mal équipées? Ou avec une armée de terre ne comptant qu’environ 10 000 soldats, une poignée par rapport aux forces déployées sur n’importe quel champ de bataille de l’Europe? Les « Faucons de la guerre » ont plutôt proposé de donner une leçon d’humilité à la Grande-Bretagne en conquérant le Canada, sa colonie. Ici, les chances étaient manifestement meilleures pour les Américains.

Le Canada, alors constitué des deux provinces du Haut-Canada et du Bas-Canada, était peu peuplé, mal défendu et économiquement faible. Mais surtout, la majorité des colons des districts de l’ouest avaient des racines américaines; ils seraient donc, sans aucun doute, très heureux d’accueillir l’armée américaine venue les libérer du joug britannique. « Un jeu d’enfant », disait l’un. « Il suffit de marcher », a affirmé Thomas Jefferson. Bien sûr, les Américains avaient tenté en vain de conquérir le Canada en 1775 et, après 20 années de guerre contre la France en Europe, l’armée britannique avait depuis triplé ses rangs. Cette analyse logique a toutefois été noyée par la propagande enthousiaste des républicains. Ceux-ci étaient majoritaires au Congrès et, le 18 juin 1812, le président fédéraliste Madison signait la déclaration de guerre.

La stratégie des Américains consistait à se concentrer sur trois fronts : ils traverseraient la rivière Niagara et se saisiraient des fortifications et des défenses britanniques le long de ce cours d’eau; ils occuperaient l’arrière-pays de Detroit et envahiraient le sud-ouest pour écraser la « menace » indienne; puis, ils appliqueraient la tactique de la Révolution, c’est-à-dire envahir le Bas-Canada en passant par la voie du lac Champlain pour prendre Montréal, puis Québec, les seuls réels bastions militaires de la Grande-Bretagne au Canada. Il s’agirait avant tout d’une guerre terrestre, mais, afin de faciliter l’approvisionnement et d’empêcher les Britanniques d’approvisionner leurs propres troupes, il faudrait déployer une flottille pour prendre le contrôle des lacs Érié et Ontario.

La guerre a toutefois pris une autre tournure. Les Britanniques ont dépêché leur force navale pour bloquer le commerce et l’approvisionnement des Américains dans les ports de la côte est, ce qui a entraîné, le long de la côte de l’Atlantique, une série d’escarmouches impliquant tant des navires de guerre que des navires-corsaires. Un front s’est ouvert au nord lorsque les Britanniques se sont emparés du fort Michilimackinac, un avant-poste américain surplombant stratégiquement le détroit séparant les lacs Michigan et Huron. Un front s’est ouvert au sud vers la fin de la guerre, lorsque, pour des raisons stratégiques, les Britanniques ont envoyé des troupes pour s’emparer de la Louisiane (que les Américains venaient d’acheter des Français). À l’Est, les Britanniques ont pris le contrôle d’environ 160 kilomètres de littoral dans ce qu’on appelait alors le Massachusetts, mais qui fait aujourd’hui partie du Maine, occupant le territoire (pour le bonheur des résidants, semble-t-il) pendant une bonne partie de la dernière année de la guerre. De toute évidence, il ne suffisait pas de marcher pour conquérir le Canada.

C’est toutefois dans le Haut-Canada que les réelles répercussions de la guerre se sont fait sentir le plus directement sur les habitants. Les troupes américaines traversaient fréquemment la frontière pour faire des raids dans la région de Niagara et via Detroit, s’attaquant à des forces composées de réguliers britanniques (soldats professionnels), de guerriers autochtones et de quelques miliciens canadiens qui étaient tenus par la loi de s’enrôler. Des batailles importantes ont lieu dans cette région, notamment la bataille des Hauteurs-de-Queenston (1812); les batailles de Stoney Creek, de Moraviantown (sur la rivière Thames) et de la Ferme Crysler (1813); et enfin la bataille de Lundy’s Lane (1814).

Les Américains s’emparent de la capitale, York, à deux reprises. Lorsqu’ils la pillent et la brûlent au printemps 1813, les Britanniques répliquent en envahissant Washington et en y brûlant des édifices publics importants, y compris une résidence qui, à partir de ce moment, a été de plus en plus connue sous le nom de « Maison-Blanche ». Au cours de l’automne 1814, les habitants de la vallée de la Thames ne pouvaient qu’observer avec horreur et désespoir les raids des Américains qui venaient saccager leurs maisons et leurs fermes, réduisant à néant leurs efforts de colonisation et leur gagne-pain. Malgré tout, les Américains ne sont jamais parvenus à contrôler vraiment quelque partie du territoire britannique que ce soit. Il leur était trop difficile d’approvisionner les troupes si loin des États-Unis, et les ravages des maladies faisaient de la vie dans les camps un enfer. La guerre s’est plutôt transformée en une série de raids américains dans l’Amérique du Nord britannique, suivis d’une série de retraites dans la république.

La population du Haut-Canada n’était vraiment pas enthousiaste à l’idée de participer à la guerre, mais ce projet bénéficiait d’un peu plus de soutien dans le Bas-Canada. Les dirigeants de l’Église et les professionnels désiraient manifester leur loyauté envers les Britanniques, et ils ont donc activement encouragé les hommes à s’enrôler dans la milice. L’officier Charles de Salaberry a obtenu le commandement d’une troupe d’infanterie légère, les Voltigeurs, qui s’est illustrée lors de la bataille de Châteauguay, à l’automne 1813, mettant fin aux tentatives des Américains d’envahir le Canada par la voie du lac Champlain et de la rivière Richelieu.

Au fil des ans, il s’est accumulé, au Canada et aux États-Unis, tant de légendes locales, de croyances populaires et d’analyses de salon sur la guerre de 1812 que la plupart des ouvrages historiques contemporains rédigés par des spécialistes traitent autant de ces légendes que des faits. Des groupes d’intérêts des deux côtés de la frontière ont fait valoir leurs propres versions de la guerre afin d’exalter la fibre patriotique. Au Canada, le Pacte de famille commence à diffuser sa version de la guerre peu de temps après la fin du conflit. Plus tard au cours du XIXe siècle, des sociétés d’histoire locales ontariennes décrivent la guerre de manière à mettre en valeur la loyauté à l’égard de l’Empire britannique, alors qu’un groupe de défense des droits des femmes célèbre le rôle de celles-ci pendant le conflit. Aux États-Unis, la commémoration de la guerre de 1812 constitue un moyen d’unifier la nation après la dévastation de la guerre de Sécession. L’histoire a été écrite, réécrite et manipulée pour répondre aux besoins et aux objectifs du moment.

La guerre a fait des héros dans les deux camps. Du côté des Américains, on compte les officiers de marine James Lawrence (« N’abandonnez pas le navire »), Oliver Perry (la bataille du lac Érié), Andrew Jackson (la bataille de la Nouvelle-Orléans) et Dolley Madison. Du côté des Canadiens, il y a le général britannique Isaac Brock, l’officier canadien-français Charles de Salaberry et Laura Secord. Les deux camps tiennent en haute estime Tecumseh, le chef shawnee. L’oncle Sam et l’hymne national The Star-Spangled Banner représentent deux héritages importants pour les Américains. Les deux camps attribuent les victoires aux simples citoyens enrôlés dans la milice. Et, bien sûr, les deux camps prétendent avoir remporté le conflit : les Américains parce qu’ils ont forcé la Grande-Bretagne à reconnaître leur nation, et les Canadiens parce qu’ils ont repoussé l’invasion américaine.

Des historiens contemporains plus pondérés font remarquer que la milice canadienne a joué un rôle relativement mineur dans cette guerre et que les volontaires américains, sans entraînement et mal équipés, gênaient les soldats d’expérience plus qu’ils ne les aidaient. Des problèmes de commandement et de mauvaises stratégies ont nui aux deux camps. Les colonies des Maritimes et quelques personnes du Haut-Canada ont grandement profité de la guerre financièrement, tandis que les colons des districts de l’ouest du Haut-Canada ont payé un terrible prix : on a détruit leurs maisons et leurs cultures pour empêcher l’approvisionnement en vivres des troupes canadiennes et américaines. Les habitants du Haut-Canada ont été particulièrement déchirés par des allégeances opposées, certains combattant même activement aux côtés des Américains.

Mais ce sont peut-être les peuples autochtones qui ont le plus souffert. Les nations autochtones à l’ouest des Appalaches s’étaient battues pendant longtemps avant que la guerre de 1812 n’éclate pour freiner l’expansion territoriale des Américains. Les Autochtones avaient signé des traités douteux et cédé des terres, et leurs économies et sociétés commençaient à décliner. C’est dans ce contexte difficile que se trouvaient deux frères shawnees, Tecumseh et Tenskwatawa. L’un était politicien et guerrier, l’autre, un chef spirituel visionnaire. Ils proposaient la création d’une grande confédération des nations autochtones pour renforcer leur position contre les Américains. Alors que la menace d’une guerre avec les Américains se profilait à l’horizon, Tecumseh a rencontré le lieutenant-gouverneur Francis Gore et le général Isaac Brock et déterminé que son peuple gagnerait à conclure une alliance avec les Britanniques, qui promettaient de reconnaître les revendications territoriales autochtones une fois la guerre remportée. Les guerriers de Tecumseh ont grandement appuyé l’effort de guerre au début du conflit. Malheureusement, Tecumseh a été tué au cours de la bataille de Moraviantown (sur la rivière Thames) le 5 octobre 1813, et les autres membres de la confédération ne sont pas parvenus pas à réaliser son rêve.

L’autre grande contribution des Autochtones à l’effort de guerre britannique provient de John Norton, ancien soldat britannique de descendance écossaise et cherokee que Joseph Brant, des Six-Nations de la rivière Grand, avait désigné comme son successeur. Brant, qui avait contribué à enrôler un certain nombre de guerriers de New York dans l’armée britannique au cours de la Révolution américaine, était mort en 1807. Norton a continué d’appuyer les Britanniques en échange de leur soutien sur certaines questions qui touchaient les Six-Nations. Norton a rallié un redoutable groupe de guerriers des Six-Nations qui ont joué un rôle important au cours des batailles des Hauteurs-de-Queenston et de Lundy’s Lane. Un autre groupe de guerriers de Kahnawake et d’autres villages du Québec ont également épaulé les forces britanniques en échange de promesses.

Bien que le Traité de Gand (ratifié par les Américains le 16 février 1815) ait essentiellement établi un retour au statu quo ante bellum, il serait injuste de conclure que la guerre n’a rien changé. Les négociateurs britanniques ont abandonné leurs demandes initiales voulant que les Américains accordent un territoire aux Autochtones en Ohio. Après la guerre, les Américains ont tout simplement continué leur programme d’expulsion des Autochtones et d’expansion de leur territoire. Les habitants du Haut-Canada, qui avaient été témoins du pillage et de l’incendie de leurs villages par les Américains, n’auront plus jamais de compassion pour leurs agresseurs; une nouvelle frontière mentale venait de s’ériger. Avec le temps, bien sûr, une nouvelle frontière réelle a été dessinée le long du 49e parallèle.

Dans le contexte de ses projets de célébration du bicentenaire de la guerre, le gouvernement canadien nous dit que le conflit constitue un moment important dans l’édification de la nation canadienne et le début d’une « fière tradition militaire ». De toute évidence, l’intention du gouvernement, comme ce fut le cas avec toutes les autres commémorations précédentes de la guerre de 1812, est d’attiser la fibre patriotique. La différence, cette fois, c’est qu’on tente d’y associer davantage les diverses régions, ethnies et cultures. On veut accorder autant d’importance aux militaires d’aujourd’hui qu’aux exploits de nos ancêtres. Et ceux qui organisent la commémoration du bicentenaire doivent tenter de trouver un équilibre entre l’antiaméricanisme d’antan et les intérêts politiques et commerciaux proaméricains d’aujourd’hui. C’est une lourde tâche, mais l’histoire de la guerre de 1812 s’est toujours révélée d’une infinie élasticité.

Comme l’a écrit le grand historien militaire canadien C. P. Stacey en 1958, la guerre de 1812 est l’une de ces périodes de l’histoire qui rend tout le monde heureux, puisque chacun peut l’interpréter comme il l’entend :

Les Américains la considèrent principalement comme une guerre navale où l’orgueil de l’impératrice des mers a été piétiné [...] Les Canadiens la considèrent avec autant de fierté comme une guerre défensive où leurs braves ancêtres ont repoussé, côte à côte, les forces massives des États-Unis, empêchant le pays d’être conquis. Enfin, ce sont les Anglais qui se réjouissent le plus, parce qu’ils ne se sont même pas aperçus qu’elle avait eu lieu.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 35 no 3
2012






Dernière mise à jour : 2018-07-31