Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
CPA Activities: The Canadian SceneCPA Activities: The Canadian Scene


New Speakers in Yukon and Saskatchewan

On December 1, 2011 David Laxton, MLA for Porter Creek Centre, was elected as the 23rd Speaker of the Yukon Legislative Assembly. He was first elected to the legislature on October 11, 2011.

Mr. Laxton has lived in Whitehorse since moving to Yukon in 1998. During his time in Yukon, he has been employed by the federal and territorial governments doing geomatics work and website development. Prior to arriving in Yukon, he served 22 years with the Canadian Armed Forces, primarily with the Lord Strathcona Horse (Royal Canadians) and the Mapping and Charting Establishment. His military service included three United Nations postings, one in Egypt and two in Bosnia. He also carried out major survey work in the High Arctic and regional gravity surveys across Yukon.

Mr. Laxton is an active member of the community, having served as Chair of the Child Development Centre, Chair of the Whitehorse Housing Authority, and in various executive positions (including President) with the Royal Canadian Legion Branch 254 (Whitehorse) and National Vice President (Western Arctic) of the Army Cadet League of Canada.

On December 5, 2011, Dan D’Autremont was elected Speaker of the Legislative Assembly of Saskatchewan .Mr. D’Autremont was first elected to the Legislative Assembly in 1991 and re-elected in 1995, 1999, 2003, 2007 and 2011 representing the Cannington constituency. He is one of the “Original Eight” founding members of the Saskatchewan Party in 1997.

During his tenure in opposition, Mr. D’Autremont served as critic for Highways, Education, Energy and Mines, Health, SaskTel, Information Technology Office, Saskatchewan Liquor and Gaming Authority and Saskatchewan Government Insurance. While critic for the Saskatchewan Liquor and Gaming Authority, Mr. D’Autremont worked closely with the Saskatchewan Indian Gaming Authority and First Nations.

He served as the Deputy Chair of the Legislative Assembly’s Standing Committee on Crown and Central Agencies. Mr. D’Autremont served as an opposition member of the Assembly’s Board of Internal Economy. He also was a member of the Assembly’s Special Committee on Rules and Procedures, and later the Standing Committee on House Services.

Since the Saskatchewan Party formed Government in 2007, Mr. D’Autremont has served as Minister Responsible for Saskatchewan Liquor and Gaming Authority, Minister for Government Services and Minister Responsible for Information Technology Office. Most recently, he served as Government House Leader, Co-chair of the Cabinet’s Legislation and Regulation Review Committee, member of the Board of Internal Economy, member of the Standing Committee on Crown and Central Agencies, member of the Standing Committee on Public Accounts, member of the Standing Committee on Privileges and member of the House Services Committee.

Presiding Officers’ Conference

The Presiding Officers from Canada’s federal, provincial and territorial legislatures held their annual conference February 2-5, 2012, in Alberta. The host was Speaker Ken Kowalskiof Alberta.

Since the last Presiding Officers’ Conference in Iqaluit, Nunavut on January 20-23, 2011, there are ten new Speakers, all of whom attended. They included:

  • Jacques Chagnon(Québec)
  • Hunter Tootoo (Nunavut)
  • Andrew Scheer (House of Commons)
  • Daryl Reid (Manitoba)
  • Jackie Jacobson (Northwest Territories)
  • Ross Wiseman(Newfoundland and Labrador)
  • Carolyn Bertram (Prince Edward Island)
  • Dave Levac (Ontario)
  • David Laxton (Yukon)
  • Dan D’Autremont(Saskatchewan)

Other Speakers in attendance were Bill Barisoff (British Columbia), Dale Graham (New Brunswick), and Gordie Gosse (Nova Scotia).

Following the Official Opening by Speaker Kowalski the Presiding Officers heard a presentation on Canadian-American Relations from David C. Jacobson, United States Ambassador to Canada. The first day also featured two sessions on “Jurisdiction Overviews”. Each Speaker was allowed up to five minutes to report on recent procedural or administrative developments in his or her legislature.

Another session was entitled “Challenges Facing a New Speaker.” It was chaired by Speaker Barisoff and the panel included Speakers Scheer, Gosse and D’Autrement.

A session on “Interparliamentary Associations and Activities” was chaired by Gary O’Brien, Clerk of the Senate. Speaker Graham spoke about the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association, Speaker Chagnon focused on Francophone Interparliamentary Relations and Alfons Schoëps, Director of European Operations of the State Legislative Leaders Foundation spoke about the Partnership of Parliaments and the Foundation.

The final business session was on the “Role of the Clerk in Support of the Speaker.” It was chaired by David McNeil, Clerk of the Alberta Legislative Assembly. The presenters were Loredana Catalli Sonier, Clerk of the New Brunswick Legislative Assembly, Tim Mercer, Clerk of the Northwest Territories Legislative Assembly and Deborah Deller, Clerk of the Ontario Legislative Assembly.

At one of the working lunches, Diana McQueen, Alberta Minister of Environment and Water gave a presentation on “Albertas Oil Sands – Challenges and Opportunities.”

Aside from the business sessions the Speakers had an opportunity to attend a musical theatre event and a hockey game at Rexall Place between the Edmonton Oilers and the Detroit Red Wings.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 35 no 1
2012






Last Updated: 2020-03-03

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
APC : La scène canadienneAPC : La scène canadienne


Nouveaux présidents au Yukon et en Saskatchewan

Le 1er décembre 2011, David Laxton, député de Porter Creek Centre, a été élu 23e président de l’Assemblée législative du Yukon après avoir d’abord été élu aux élections générales du 11 octobre dernier.

M. Laxton vit à Whitehorse depuis son arrivée au Yukon, en 1998. Durant ces années, il a travaillé pour les gouvernements fédéral et territorial dans les secteurs de la géomatique et de la conception de pages Web. Avant de s’installer au Yukon, il a été dans les Forces armées canadiennes pendant 22 ans, principalement au sein du Lord Strathcona Horse (Royal Canadians) et du Service de cartographie. Pendant cette période, il a participé à trois missions des Nations Unies : une en Égypte et deux en Bosnie. Il a également effectué d’importants travaux d’arpentage dans l’Extrême-Arctique ainsi que des levés gravimétriques partout au Yukon.

M. Laxton est un citoyen actif au sein de la collectivité. Il a été président du Child Development Centre et de l’Office d’habitation de Whitehorse et a occupé différents postes de cadre (dont celui de président) au sein de la Légion royale canadienne, section 254 (Whitehorse), en plus d’avoir été vice-président national (Arctique de l’Ouest) de la Ligue des cadets de l’Armée du Canada.

Le 5 décembre, Dan D’Autremont a été élu président de l’Assemblée législative de la Saskatchewan. Il a été élu pour la première fois en 1991 dans la circonscription de Cannington, puis réélu en 1995, 1999, 2003, 2007 et 2011. Il est l’un des huit membres fondateurs du Parti de la Saskatchewan, en 1997.

Durant son passage dans l’opposition, M. D’Autremont a été porte-parole pour différents portefeuilles et organismes : les autoroutes, l’éducation, l’énergie et les mines, la santé, SaskTel, le Bureau des technologies de l’information, la Régie des alcools et des jeux de hasard de la Saskatchewan et la Société d’assurances du gouvernement de la Sasktachewan. Alors qu’il était porte-parole pour la Régie des alcools et des jeux de hasard de la Saskatchewan, M. D’Autremont a travaillé en étroite collaboration avec la Régie des jeux de hasard autochtone de la Saskatchewan et les Premières Nations.

M. D’Autremont a également été vice-président du Comité permanent des sociétés d’État et des organismes centraux de l’Assemblée législative. Il a aussi été, à titre de député de l’opposition, membre du Bureau de régie interne de l’Assemblée. Enfin, il a fait partie du Comité spécial du Règlement et de la procédure de l’Assemblée, puis du Comité permanent des services de la Chambre.

Depuis 2007, année à laquelle le Parti de la Saskatchewan a formé le gouvernement, M. D’Autremont a notamment été ministre responsable de la Régie des alcools et des jeux de hasard de la Saskatchewan, ministre des Services gouvernementaux et ministre responsable du Bureau des technologies de l’information. Plus récemment, il a été leader du gouvernement en Chambre, coprésident du Comité d’examen de la législation et de la réglementation du Cabinet ainsi que membre du Bureau de régie interne, du Comité permanent des sociétés d’État et des organismes centraux, du Comité permanent des comptes publics, du Comité permanent des privilèges et du Comité permanent des services à la Chambre.

Conférence des présidents d’assemblée

Les présidents d’assemblée des parlements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux ont tenu leur conférence annuelle du 2 au 5 février 2012, en Alberta. Le président Ken Kowalski en était l’hôte, au nom de l’Alberta.

Depuis la dernière conférence qui a eu lieu à Iqaluit (Nunavut) du 20 au 23 janvier 2011, on compte dix nouveaux présidents d’assemblée. Tous étaient présents.

Jacques Chagnon (Québec)

Hunter Tootoo (Nunavut)

Andrew Scheer (Chambre des communes)

Daryl Reid (Manitoba)

Jackie Jacobson (Territoires du Nord-Ouest)

Ross Wiseman (Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador)

Carolyn Bertram (Île-du-Prince-Édouard)

Dave Levac (Ontario)

David Laxton (Yukon)

Dan D’Autremont (Saskatchewan)

Les autres présidents présents étaient Bill Barisoff (Colombie-Britannique), Dale Graham (Nouveau-Brunswick) et Gordie Gosse (Nouvelle-Écosse).

À la suite du discours d’ouverture du président Kowalski, les présidents d’assemblée ont assisté à un exposé sur les relations canado-américaines donné par David C. Jacobson, ambassadeur des États-Unis au Canada. Durant la première journée, deux séances ont eu lieu pour faire un tour d’horizon des différentes assemblées. Chaque président bénéficiait de jusqu’à cinq minutes pour présenter les dernières nouveautés de son assemblée en matière de procédure ou d’administration.

Une autre séance a eu portée sur les défis qui attendent les nouveaux présidents. Le président Barisoff a animé la présentation, accompagné des présidents Scheer, Gosse et D’Autremont.

Une autre séance, sur la question des associations et activités interparlementaires, a été dirigée par Gary O’Brien, greffier du Sénat. Le président Graham a discuté de l’Association parlementaire du Commonwealth, et le président Chagnon, des relations interparlementaires francophones. Alfons Schöps, directeur des opérations européennes de la State Legislative Leaders Foundation, a discuté de l’organisme Partnership of Parliaments.

La toute dernière séance a porté sur le rôle du greffier à l’appui du président. David McNeil, greffier de l’Assemblée législative de l’Alberta, en a été l’animateur. Les intervenants ont été Loredana Catalli-Sonier, greffière de l’Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick, Tim Mercer, greffier de l’Assemblée législative des Territoires du Nord-Ouest, et Deborah Deller, greffière de l’Assemblée législative de l’Ontario.

À l’un des déjeuners de travail, Diana McQueen, ministre de l’Environnement et de l’Eau de l’Alberta, a présenté un exposé sur les sables bitumineux de l’Alberta et les défis et perspectives d’avenir connexes.

En marge des séances de travail, les présidents ont pu assister à une comédie musicale et, à la Rexall Place, à une partie de hockey opposant les Oilers d’Edmonton aux Red Wings de Detroit.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 35 no 1
2012






Dernière mise à jour : 2018-07-31