Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
Representation in the House of Commons: A Long Term Proposal
David Gussow

On December 16, 2011 Bill C-20 An Act to amend the Constitution Act, 1867, the Electoral Boundaries Readjustment Act and the Canada Elections Act received Royal Assent (now Chapter 26 of the Statutes of Canada, 2011). It increased the number of seats in the House of Commons from 308 to 338 by giving extra seats to Ontario, British Columbia, Alberta and Quebec. While representation in the House of Commons is now settled for at least a decade the issue of representation by population will arise again as mandated in section 52 of the Constitution Act, 1867 and protected in section 42 of the Constitution Act, 1982. This article makes a number of suggestions for the next time rep by pop is debated in Canada. Among other things it calls for improved provisions for the smaller provinces, a new mechanism for adjusting the Electoral Quotient and future constitutional negotiations to deal with problems that have developed over the years.

Section 51 of the Constitution Act 1867 provides that the number of members of the House of Commons and the representation of the provinces therein shall be readjusted on the completion of each decennial census, according to a number of rules. Rule 1 calculates the initial seat allocation for all the provinces strictly according to representation by population. Rule 2 adds seats to the provincial numbers based on two minimums: the “Senate Floor” (no less than the number of senators) and the “Grandfather Clause” (no less than the 1976 numbers). Rules 3 and 4 add seats to any province that was previously overrepresented such that it will not become underrepresented. Rule 5 provides that more accurate provincial population estimates are to be used in the calculation rather than the actual census figures. And rule 6 sets out an electoral quotient (constituency size) for rule 1 and provides for a specific method of recalculation every ten years.

Protecting the Smaller Provinces

The “Grandfather Clause” which was enacted in 1985 guaranteed each province no fewer seats than it had in 1976 to protect the smaller provinces. The 1976 seats were based on the census figures of 1971 with a formula that was a compromise proposal following a period of minority government enacted in 1974. The 1974 provision was found to be unworkable after just one readjustment of representation. In other words the last time we had a “true” reflection of the correct proportions was based on the 1961 census – over 50 years ago.

The 1985 formula when looked at from our current vantage point had done two things. It prevented the faster growing provinces from reaching their fair proportion of representation and also prevented the slower growing provinces from having a fairer proportion of representation among themselves. The Fair Representation Bill addressed only one of the matters resulting from the 1985 formula – the proportionality for the larger provinces. The aspect which was not addressed was the proportionality among the slower growing provinces.

The most striking example of the unfairness of the “Grandfather Clause” is with the provinces of Nova Scotia and Manitoba. One need only look at the Backgrounder that was provided by the government when announcing their proposal for Bill C-20. There is a table for seat projections based on the “Fair Representation Act Formula.” It does not give the whole picture and that is the resulting constituency sizes. The table below gives the constituency sizes and shows the results for Nova Scotia and Manitoba.

Should Nova Scotia be having a constituency size 17% more than Saskatchewan? Should Manitoba be having a constituency size 18% more than its neighbouring province? The arbitrary nature of the “Grandfather Clause” based on populations from forty years ago should be updated.

Table 1: Constituency Size using C-20

Province

Population

Seats

Constituency Size

Prince Edward Island

145,855

4

36,464

Newfoundland and Labrador

510,578

7

72,940

New Brunswick

755,455

10

75,546

Nova Scotia

945,437

11

85,949

Saskatchewan

1,057,884

14

75,563

Manitoba

1,250,574

14

89,327

Alberta

3,779,353

34

111,157

British Columbia

4,573,321

42

108,889

Québec

7,979,663

78

102,303

Ontario

13,372,996

121

110,521

Canada

34,371,116

335

102,600

My suggestion is to dispense with the Grandfather Clause in Rule 2 (leaving only the “Senate Floor”) and to modify Rule 1 so as to add two seats to every province after the remainders are considered. The point of adding two seats to every province is to increase the weight of the smaller provinces in the House of Commons. It also has the effect of almost removing the necessity of adding seats for the Senate Floor. Only New Brunswick would need one more seat.

Table 2: Constituency Size using the Suggested Changes

Province

Population

Seats

Constituency Size

Prince Edward Island

145,855

4

36,464

Newfoundland and Labrador

510,578

7

72,940

New Brunswick

755,455

10

75,546

Nova Scotia

945,437

11

85,949

Saskatchewan

1,057,884

12

88,157

Manitoba

1,250,574

14

89,327

Alberta

3,779,353

36

104,982

British Columbia

4,573,321

44

103,939

Québec

7,979,663

79

101,008

Ontario

13,372,996

123

108,724

Canada

34,371,116

340

101,092

It is a much fairer formula for Nova Scotia and Manitoba. The proportions move every province towards representation by population, even more so than that in C-20. It is true that it does not maintain the number of seats for Saskatchewan, but it still protects the number of seats for slower-growing provinces, including Saskatchewan. Saskatchewan still has a much better constituency size than its neighbouring province, Alberta. The disparity in voting power for those that live on either side of the provincial boundary in the city of Lloydminster is still quite pronounced. At least this proposal will make it somewhat better. Unfortunately having a “Fair Representation” and “Maintaining the number of seats for all slower-growing provinces” is irreconcilable unless the number of members is increased even more significantly. Using the same figures in the table in the Backgrounder with the percentages for this proposal, one can see that they improve upon C-20. (The Backgrounder referred to the 1985 rules as the “status quo”.)

Adjusting the Electoral Quotient

The number chosen for the “Electoral Quotient” is fairly arbitrary. Parliament should have the ability using an easier process to change it from time to time after each decennial census. As the backgrounder makes clear it “theoretically represents the average population per seat,” but it is not the case. Take a look at Table 1. It is higher than in any province. There is no reason why it cannot be adjusted.

Changing the number by a small amount may have a significant impact on the number of seats for a province. For example with the current population estimates a difference of just nine (9) in the electoral quotient (just nine people out of 111,166) would result in two provinces receiving one (1) more member each – Alberta and Quebec.

If the basic formula was limited to rule 1 then the significance for Quebec and the smaller provinces would be much greater. The closer the number of members assigned to each province is a whole number, before rounding up any fractional remainder, can cause the proportions to vary significantly.

Another reason to allow more flexibility can be the resulting size of the House of Commons. It may not be desirable to have a decrease or as much of a decrease in the membership, or vice-versa it may not be desirable to have an increase or as much of an increase in the membership. It could only be evaluated after each decennial census.

Table 3: Comparing Seats and Percentages based on the 2011 Population Estimates

Province

1985 rules Seats*

1985 rules %

Fair Representation Seats

Fair Representation %

Fairer Representation Seats

Fairer Representation %

Population %

Prince Edward Island

4

1.28

4

1.19

4

1.18

0.42

Newfoundland and Labrador

7

2.24

7

2.09

7

2.06

1.49

New Brunswick

10

3.21

10

2.99

10

2.94

2.20

Nova Scotia

11

3.53

11

3.28

11

3.24

2.75

Saskatchewan

14

4.49

14

4.18

12

3.53

3.08

Manitoba

14

4.49

14

4.18

14

4.12

3.64

Alberta

31

9.94

34

10.15

36

10.59

11.00

British Columbia

37

11.86

42

12.54

44

12.94

13.31

Québec

75

24.04

78

23.28

79

23.24

23.22

Ontario

109

34.94

121

36.12

123

36.18

38.91

Canada

312*

100%

335**

100%

340**

100%

100%

* Assuming C-20 had not been adopted
** Does not include seat in territories


Present Rule 1

Proposed Rule 1

There shall be assigned to each of the provinces a number of members equal to the number obtained by dividing the population of the province by the electoral quotient and rounding up any fractional remainder to one.

There shall be assigned to each of the provinces a number of members equal to the number obtained by dividing the population of the province by the electoral quotient and rounding up any fractional remainder to one plus two further members.

 

Present Rule 2

 

Proposed Rule 2

If the number of members assigned to a province by the application of rule 1 and section 51A is less than the total number assigned to that province on the date of the coming into force of the Constitution Act, 1985(Representation), there shall be added to the number of members so assigned such number of members as will result in the province having the same number of members as were assigned on that date.

If the number of members assigned to a province by the application of rule 1 is less than the number of senators representing that province, there shall be assigned to that province a number of members equal to the number of senators.

From 1867 to 1946 the numbers were fixed based on Quebec’s population having 65 members. From 1946 to 1976 the numbers were based on an overall cap for the whole of Canada. The formula used in 1976 opened the floodgates. It wouldn’t be surprising if the formula from 1985 to 2011 has resulted in the widest disparity from proportionality envisaged by section 52 of the Constitution Act, 1867. C-20 truly improves the situation in terms of the proportionality, but again might have some unintended consequences in the future.

One way to allow flexibility would be to remove rule 6 dealing with the setting of the electoral quotient from the rules in the Constitution Act, 1867 and enacting it in ordinary statute law like the Electoral Boundaries Readjustment Act. The same provisions could be placed there but they could be subject to a different number being proposed by the Governor-in-Council “subject to affirmative resolution of Parliament” in the same manner as if it were a regulation. That way if the calculation after a new census resulted in a significantly different size for the House of Commons then an adjustment could be made at that time. That adjustment would then become the norm used for the next decennial calculation.

At the same time as removing the calculation of an “electoral quotient” from the Constitution Act, 1867, one could keep a minimum number which would prevent a Commons size dropping below approximately double the Senate size.

Future Constitutional Negotiations

It is time for the government to strive for a package of democratic reform that would, among other things, eliminate the Senate floor, entrench the Basic Formula (rule 1) and provide for a strong elected Senate with divisional equality (Quebec guaranteed 25% of the elected total).1

Present Rule 6

Proposed Rule 6

In these rules, “electoral quotient” means:

(a) 111,166, in relation to the readjustment following the completion of the 2011 decennial census, and

(b) in relation to the readjustment following the completion of any subsequent decennial census, the number obtained by multiplying the electoral quotient that was applied in the preceding readjustment by the number that is the average of the numbers obtained by dividing the population of each province by the population of the province as at July 1 of the year of the preceding decennial census according to the estimates prepared for the purpose of the preceding readjustment, and rounding up any fractional remainder of that multiplication to one.

In these rules, “electoral quotient” means:
the number, not less than half the total estimated population of the provinces divided by the total number of senators of all the provinces, established by such authority, in such manner, and from such time as the Parliament of Canada provides from time to time.

C-20 is one of the parts of the package and it should be correct before embarking on the road to constitutional reform. In the package there would be plusses for most provinces and particularly for Quebec. It would in a sense be to return to what the Fathers of Confederation had set up in 1867. The Prime Minister of the Province of Canada at the time of the Confederation Debates (Taché) stated quite clearly that the cornerstone of the proposals was representation by population in the House of Commons and divisional equality in the Senate. It should also not be forgotten that the Senate set up in 1867 was in the main “elected”, was considered to be powerful both in law, as set out in the Constitution Act, 1867 (co-equal with the House of Commons), but also in fact, as can be seen that one third of the cabinet ministers came from the Senate (13 in today’s terms). If representation by population is reinstated in the House of Commons opposite a strong elected Senate with divisional equality or a variant that has Ontario and Quebec equal and Quebec obtaining 25% overall (it was 33% in 1867) then a package might be doable.

Planning for the future means that the smaller provinces will have to understand that a larger House of Commons has diluted their proportionate weight. Therefore they might be more amenable to constitutional negotiations that will enhance the Senate as an equal powerful chamber where their clout would be much stronger – especially if elected based on proportional representation. It is also clearly in the interest of Quebec to have a strong elected Senate where they would have 25% of the total. The whole package then allows a House of Commons where the membership is truly representation by population. When that happens rule 1 could return to the current wording if, in the future, it is amended to allow for an alternative “grandfather clause” and rules 2, 3, 4 and 5 could be dropped. It should be noted that the territories could easily be included in the entrenched rule 1.

Notes

1. The full package would also include financial primacy for the House of Commons, Senate elections based on proportional representation with term lengths coincident with the House, minimum 4-year terms for Parliament and a deadlock breaking mechanism. Certainly a package of democratic reform is possible. It might be useful to proceed with a reduced package using ordinary statute law and section 44 of the Constitution Act, 1982 but entrenchment in the long run would be the preferable option.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 35 no 1
2012






Last Updated: 2019-11-29

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
La représentation à la Chambre des communes : une proposition à long terme
David Gussow

Le 16 décembre 2011, a été adopté le projet de loi C-20, Loi modifiant la Loi constitutionnelle de 1867, la Loi sur la révision des limites des circonscriptions électorales et la Loi électorale du Canada. Cette nouvelle loi (constituant dorénavant le chapitre 26 des Lois du Canada 2011) fait passer de 308 à 338 le nombre de sièges de la Chambre des communes, en donnant des sièges supplémentaires à l’Ontario, à la Colombie-Britannique, à l’Alberta et au Québec. Bien que la question de la représentation à la Chambre des communes soit réglée pour au moins une dizaine d’années, elle finira par être de nouveau à l’ordre du jour conformément à l’article 52 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1867, qui prévoit la représentation selon la population et qui est protégé par l’article 42 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982. Le présent article comprend des suggestions en vue du prochain débat sur la représentation selon la population au Canada, notamment une amélioration de la disposition concernant les petites provinces, un nouveau mécanisme d’ajustement du quotient électoral et des négociations constitutionnelles pour résoudre les problèmes qui sont apparus au fil des ans.

L’article 51 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1867 prévoit que le nombre de députés et la représentation des provinces à la Chambre des communes doivent être révisés à l’issue de chaque recensement décennal en conformité avec les règles établies. La règle 1 indique la formule de calcul du nombre initial de sièges par province, strictement pour assurer la représentation proportionnelle de chacune. La règle 2 ajoute des sièges aux provinces pour respecter deux minimums : la « clause sénatoriale » (un nombre au moins égal au nombre de sénateurs) et la « clause des droits acquis » (un nombre au moins égal au nombre de députés en 1976). Les règles 3 et 4 prévoient l’ajout de sièges à toute province ayant été auparavant surreprésentée, de telle sorte qu’elle ne devienne pas sous-représentée. La règle 5 précise que les estimations de la population des provinces doivent être utilisées, car elles sont plus exactes que les données des recensements comme telles. Enfin, la règle 6 définit le quotient électoral (taille des circonscriptions) à utiliser dans l’application de la règle 1 et indique la méthode à employer pour refaire le calcul tous les dix ans.

La protection des petites provinces

La « clause des droits acquis » a été promulguée en 1985 pour garantir qu’aucune province ne peut avoir moins de sièges à la Chambre des communes qu’elle en avait en 1976, ce qui a pour effet de protéger les petites provinces. Le nombre de sièges en 1976 était fondé sur les chiffres du recensement de 1971 et avait été calculé selon une formule proposée en guise de compromis, après une période de gouvernement minoritaire, et édictée en 1974. La formule de 1974 s’est révélée impraticable après une seule révision de la représentation. Autrement dit, le dernier reflet « véritable » des bonnes proportions s’appuyait sur le recensement de 1961, qui remonte à plus de 50 ans.

Avec le recul, on constate que la formule de 1985 a fait deux choses. Non seulement elle a empêché les provinces dont la population a augmenté rapidement d’obtenir une juste représentation, mais elle a aussi empêché les provinces à croissance lente d’obtenir une représentation plus juste les unes par rapport aux autres. La Loi sur la représentation équitable ne résout que l’un des problèmes issus de la formule de 1985, c’est-à-dire la représentation proportionnelle pour les grosses provinces. La question de la représentation proportionnelle des provinces à croissance lente demeure irrésolue.

L’exemple le plus frappant de l’injustice de la « clause des droits acquis » est celui de la Nouvelle-Écosse et du Manitoba. Il suffit de jeter un coup d’œil sur la note d’information présentée par le gouvernement lorsqu’il a annoncé le dépôt du projet de loi C-20. Elle renferme un tableau qui donne un aperçu de la répartition des sièges selon la « formule prévue dans la Loi sur la représentation équitable ». Il manque toutefois un élément à la vue d’ensemble, soit la taille des nouvelles circonscriptions. Le tableau ci-dessous donne la taille des circonscriptions et les résultats pour la Nouvelle-Écosse et le Manitoba.

Tableau 1 : Taille des circonscriptions selon la formule du projet de loi C-20

Province

Population

Sièges

Taille des circonscriptions

Île-du-Prince-Édouard

145 855

4

36 464

Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

510 578

7

72 940

Nouveau-Brunswick

755 455

10

75 546

Nouvelle-Écosse

945 437

11

85 949

Saskatchewan

1 057 884

14

75 563

Manitoba

1 250 574

14

89 327

Alberta

3 779 353

34

111 157

Colombie-Britannique

4 573 ,321

42

108 889

Québec

7 979 663

78

102 303

Ontario

13 372 96

121

110 521

Canada

34 371 116

335

102 600

La taille des circonscriptions de la Nouvelle-Écosse devrait-elle être supérieure de 17 % à celle des circonscriptions de la Saskatchewan? La taille des circonscriptions du Manitoba devrait-elle être supérieure de 18 % à celle des circonscriptions de sa province voisine? La « disposition d’antériorité » fondée sur des données démographiques datant de quarante ans est arbitraire et il faudrait l’actualiser.

Ma suggestion consiste à supprimer la clause des droits acquis à la règle 2 (il ne resterait plus que la « clause sénatoriale ») et de modifier la règle 1 pour que chaque province ait ainsi deux sièges de plus une fois le reste pris en considération. L’ajout de deux sièges à chaque province aurait pour but de donner plus de poids aux petites provinces à la Chambre des communes. Il éliminerait presque aussi la nécessité d’ajouter des sièges pour respecter la clause sénatoriale, c’est-à-dire pour que le nombre de députés soit au moins égal à celui des sénateurs. Seul le Nouveau-Brunswick aurait besoin d’un siège de plus.

La formule serait beaucoup plus juste pour la Nouvelle-Écosse et le Manitoba. Elle rapprocherait chaque province d’une représentation proportionnelle à la population, encore plus que celle proposée dans le projet de loi C-20. Il est vrai qu’elle ne maintiendrait pas le nombre de sièges pour la Saskatchewan, mais elle protégerait le nombre de sièges des provinces à croissance lente, dont la Saskatchewan. La taille des circonscriptions de la Saskatchewan est encore bien meilleure que celle des circonscriptions de sa voisine, l’Alberta. L’inégalité du pouvoir électoral de ceux qui vivent d’un côté ou de l’autre de la frontière provinciale dans la ville de Lloydminster demeure toujours assez marquée, mais cette proposition améliorerait au moins un peu les choses. Malheureusement, il est impossible à la fois d’assurer une « représentation équitable » et de « maintenir le nombre de sièges des provinces affichant une faible croissance de la population » à moins d’augmenter encore beaucoup plus le nombre des députés. Si l’on combine les chiffres du tableau de la note d’information aux pourcentages de cette proposition, on constate une amélioration par rapport au projet de loi C-20. (La note d’information qualifiait de « statu quo » les règles de 1985.)

Tableau 2 : Taille des circonscriptions selon les changements proposés

Province

Population

Sièges

Taille des circonscriptions

Île-du-Prince-Édouard

145 855

4

36 464

Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

510 578

7

72 ,940

Noveau-Brunswick

755 455

10

75 546

Nouvelle-Écosse

945 437

11

85 949

Saskatchewan

1 057 884

12

88 157

Manitoba

1 250 574

14

89 327

Alberta

3 779 353

36

104 982

Colombie-Britannique

4 573 321

44

103 939

Québec

7 979 663

79

101 008

Ontario

13 372 996

123

108 724

Canada

34 371 116

340

101 092

Ajustement du quotient électoral

Le nombre choisi pour le « quotient électoral » est assez arbitraire. Le Parlement devrait pouvoir, à l’aide d’un processus plus simple, le modifier après chaque recensement décennal. Comme la note d’information l’indique clairement, le quotient « équivaut théoriquement au nombre moyen de citoyens par siège », mais ce n’est pas le cas. Regardons le tableau 1. Le quotient est plus élevé que dans n’importe quelle province. Il n’y a aucune raison pour laquelle il ne pourrait pas être ajusté.

Une légère modification pourrait avoir une incidence importante sur le nombre de sièges pour une province. Par exemple, selon les prévisions démographiques actuelles, une différence de neuf (9) seulement dans le quotient électoral (9 électeurs seulement sur 111 166) ferait en sorte que deux provinces auraient chacune un (1) député de plus, soit l’Alberta et le Québec.

Si la formule de base était limitée à la règle 1, l’importance pour le Québec et les petites provinces serait alors beaucoup plus grande. Plus le nombre de députés attribué à chaque province se rapproche d’un nombre entier, avant que le résultat comportant une partie décimale soit arrondi à l’unité supérieure, plus les proportions peuvent varier.

Une autre raison d’accorder une plus grande souplesse est la taille éventuelle de la Chambre des communes. Il pourrait ne pas être souhaitable qu’il y ait une diminution ou une si grande diminution du nombre de sièges tout comme, à l’inverse, il pourrait ne pas être souhaitable qu’il y ait une augmentation ou une si grande augmentation du nombre de sièges. Cela ne pourrait être évalué qu’après chaque recensement décennal.

De 1867 à 1946, le nombre de sièges a été calculé en fonction de la population du Québec, à qui la loi garantissait 65 sièges. De 1946 à 1976, il a été calculé en fonction d’un nombre total de sièges pour l’ensemble du Canada. La formule utilisée en 1976 a ouvert les vannes. Il ne serait pas surprenant que la formule en vigueur de 1985 à 2011 se soit soldée par l’écart le plus grand par rapport à la représentation proportionnelle envisagée à l’article 52 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1867. Le projet de loi C-20 améliore vraiment la situation pour ce qui est de la représentation proportionnelle, mais pourrait aussi avoir un jour des conséquences imprévues.

Tableau 3 : Comparaison du nombre et du pourcentage de sièges, selon les estimations de la population de 2011

Province

Règles de 1985 Sièges*

Règles de 1985
%

Représentation équitable
Sièges

Représentatrion équitable
%

Représentation plus équitable Sièges

Représentation plus équitable
%

Population
%

Île-du-Prince-Édouard

4

1,28

4

1,19

4

1,18

0,42

Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

7

2,24

7

2,09

7

2,06

1,49

Nouveau-Brunswick

10

3,21

10

2,99

10

2,94

2,20

Nouvelle-Écosse

11

3,53

11

3,28

11

3,24

2,75

Saskatchewan

14

4,49

14

4,18

12

3,53

3,08

Manitoba

14

4,49

14

4,18

14

4,12

3,64

Alberta

31

9,94

34

10,15

36

10,59

11,00

Colombie-Britannique

37

11,86

42

12,54

44

12,94

13,31

Québec

75

24,04

78

23,28

79

23,24

23,22

Ontario

109

34,94

121

36,12

123

36,18

38,91

Canada

312*

100 %

335**

100 %

340**

100 %

100 %

*En supposant que le projet de loi C-20 n’aurait pas été adopté.

**Ne comprend pas les sièges des territoires.


Règle 1 actuelle

Règle 1 proposée

Il est attribué à chaque province le nombre de députés résultant de la division du chiffre de sa population par le quotient électoral, le résultat final comportant une partie décimale étant arrondi à l’unité supérieure.

Il est attribué à chaque province le nombre de députés résultant de la division du chiffre de sa population par le quotient électoral, le résultat final comportant une partie décimale étant arrondi à l’unité supérieure, plus deux autres députés.

Règle 2 actuelle

Règle 2 proposée

Le nombre de députés d’une province demeure inchangé par rapport à la représentation qu’elle avait à la date d’entrée en vigueur de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1985 (représentation électorale) si par application de la règle 1 et de l’article 51A il lui est attribué un nombre inférieur à cette représentation.

Il est attribué à une province un nombre de députés égal au nombre de sénateurs si par application de la règle 1 il lui est attribué un nombre de députés inférieur à celui des sénateurs qui la représentent.

Une façon d’assurer une plus grande souplesse consisterait à retirer de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1867 la règle 6, qui traite de l’établissement du quotient électoral, et à l’insérer dans une loi ordinaire comme la Loi sur la révision des limites des circonscriptions électorales. Les dispositions pourraient demeurer les mêmes, mais les chiffres pourraient être modifiés si le gouverneur en conseil le proposait « sous réserve de résolution de ratification du Parlement », comme s’il s’agissait d’un règlement. De cette façon, si les calculs effectués après un nouveau recensement devaient entraîner un changement trop important de la taille de la Chambre des communes, une révision serait possible à ce moment-là. Cet ajustement deviendrait alors la norme utilisée pour les calculs devant être effectués à l’issue du recensement suivant.

Tout en retirant le calcul d’un « quotient électoral » de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1867, on pourrait fixer le nombre minimal de députés aux Communes de manière à ce qu’il soit supérieur à environ le double du nombre de sénateurs.

Futures négociations constitutionnelles

Il est temps que le gouvernement vise l’adoption d’un train de réformes démocratiques qui prévoirait notamment l’élimination de la clause sénatoriale, constitutionnaliserait la formule de base (règle 1) et permettrait de constituer un sénat élu fort en appliquant le principe d’égalité des divisions sénatoriales (le Québec se verrait garantir 25 % du nombre total d’élus)1.

Règle 6 actuelle

Règle 6 proposée

Dans les présentes règles, « quotient électoral » s’entend de ce qui suit :

a) 111 166, pour la révision à effectuer à l’issue du recensement décennal de 2011;

b) pour la révision à effectuer à l’issue de tout recensement décennal subséquent, le produit du quotient électoral appliqué lors de la révision précédente par la moyenne des résultats des divisions du chiffre de la population de chacune des provinces par le chiffre de sa population au 1er juillet de l’année du recensement décennal précédent, selon les estimations établies pour la révision précédente, ce produit étant arrondi à l’unité supérieure s’il comporte une partie décimale.

Dans les présentes règles, « quotient électoral » s’entend du nombre, d’au moins le double de la population estimative totale des provinces divisé par le nombre total de sénateurs de toutes les provinces, établi par l’autorité, selon les modalités et à la date prévue à l’occasion par le Parlement du Canada.

Le projet de loi C-20 représente l’un des éléments du train de réformes, qui devrait être peaufiné avant d’envisager des modifications constitutionnelles. Le train de réformes comporterait des avantages pour la plupart des provinces, en particulier pour le Québec. Ce serait, en un sens, un retour à ce que les Pères de la Confédération avaient mis en place en 1867. Le premier ministre de la province du Canada à l’époque des débats de la Confédération (Taché) a affirmé assez clairement que la pierre angulaire des propositions était la représentation selon la population à la Chambre des communes et l’égalité des divisions sénatoriales. Il ne faudrait pas oublier non plus que le Sénat créé en 1867 était essentiellement « élu » et jouissait de grands pouvoirs non seulement en droit, comme le prévoyait la Loi constitutionnelle de 1867 (égaux à ceux de la Chambre des communes), mais aussi en pratique, comme en témoigne le fait que le tiers des ministres du Cabinet venaient du Sénat (le nombre aurait été de 13 aujourd’hui). Si la représentation selon la population était rétablie à la Chambre des communes et s’il y avait un sénat élu fort dont les divisions étaient égales, ou une variante selon laquelle l’Ontario et le Québec étaient égaux et le Québec détenait 25 % des sièges (c’était 33 % en 1867), alors un train de réformes serait réalisable.

Préparer l’avenir veut dire que les petites provinces devront comprendre qu’une chambre des communes plus nombreuse diminue leur poids proportionnel en son sein. Par conséquent, elles pourraient être plus disposées à entamer des négociations constitutionnelles qui élèveraient l’importance du Sénat pour en faire une chambre ayant autant de pouvoir que les Communes. Les petites provinces auraient beaucoup plus d’influence au Sénat, surtout s’il était élu selon le principe de la représentation proportionnelle. De toute évidence, il est aussi dans l’intérêt du Québec qu’il y ait un sénat élu fort où il détiendrait 25 % du nombre total de sièges. Le train de réformes permettrait alors que la composition de la Chambre des communes soit véritablement fondée sur la représentation selon la population. Lorsque cela sera chose faite, la règle 1 pourrait redevenir ce qu’elle est actuellement après avoir été éventuellement modifiée de manière à prévoir une « clause des droits acquis  » différente. Quant aux règles 2, 3, 4 et 5, elles pourraient être supprimées. Il convient de mentionner que les territoires pourraient être facilement inclus dans la règle 1 constitutionnalisée.

Notes

1. Ce train de réformes engloberait aussi la primauté financière de la Chambre des communes, des élections sénatoriales en fonction de la représentation proportionnelle, les mandats étant de la même durée que ceux de la Chambre, des mandats d’au moins quatre ans pour le Parlement et un mécanisme pour sortir des impasses. Un train de réformes démocratiques est certes possible. Il pourrait être utile d’opter pour un train de réformes réduit en utilisant une loi ordinaire et l’article 44 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982, mais la constitutionnalisation serait l’option préférable à long terme.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 35 no 1
2012






Dernière mise à jour : 2019-11-29