Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
CPA Activities:  The Canadian SceneCPA Activities: The Canadian Scene


47th Canadian Regional Conference

The 47th Canadian Regional Conference of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association was held in Toronto from July 19-24, 2009. Approximately 90 delegates and observers from every Canadian jurisdiction except Nunavut attended. There were a number of parliamentary guests including Baroness Lindsay Northover, from the House of Lords, Ian Davidson MP from the British House of Commons, Neil Parsanlal, MP from Trinidad and Tobago and Kashmala Tariq, Member of the National Assembly from Pakistan.

The Official Opening was chaired by the host of the Conference. Speaker Steve Peters of Ontario.  The Lieutenant Governor of Ontario, David C. Onley welcomed the delegates and officially opened the Conference. Also speaking suring the opening were the Secretary General of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association, William F. Shija, the Chair of the Commonwealth Women Parliamentarians (Canadian Region) Maria Minna and Baroness Northover.

A number of Canadian Speakers were in attendance including: Don Toth (SK), Roger Fitzgerald, (NL), Roy Boudreau (NB), Kathleen Casey (PE), Kenneth Kowalski (AB), Charlie Parker (NS), Bill Barisoff (BC) Ted Staffen (YK), and Paul Delory (NT).

Speaker Toth chaired the first session which featured a presentation by Art Johnston of Alberta on Protecting the Public: Alberta’s Safe Communities Project.

The second session was on the topic of Immigration, Integration and Intercultural Relations: The Québec Experience with a presentation by Fatima Houda-Pepin of Québec. It was chaired by Senator Raynell Andreychuk.

The third session was an Update on the Economic Recovery with presentations from Bev Shipley of the House of Commons and Warren Michelson of Saskatchewan. The chair was Étienne-Alexis Boucher of Québec.

The fourth session, chaired by Speaker Peters, was a presentation by Terry Fallis, Winner of the Stephen Leacock Medal for Humour for his book The Best Laid Plans. He read some excerpts from his book and discussed the importance of humour in politics.

The Role of Private Members’ Bills was the topic of the fifth session. Linda Jeffrey was the presenter with Speaker Fitzgerald in the chair. Technology in the Legislature was the topic of the sixth session. Edward Buckingham of Newfoundland and Labrador made the presentation. Bruce Crozier of Ontario was the chair.

Speaker Boudreau chaired the seventh session on Creating Welcoming Communities. The presenter was Teresa Woo-Paw of Alberta. The final session was on Balancing Security and Public Access at the Legislature. Speaker Casey made the presentation while Mr. Davidson of the British House of Commons was in the chair.

During the week delegates had an opportunity to visit the Niagara Region and to attend a baseball game between the Toronto Blue Jays and the Cleveland Indians. Delegates were effusive in their praise for Speaker Peters, Clerk Deborah Deller, Zina Decker and other members of the organizing committee for a very successful conference.

CWP Meeting

On Sunday July 19, the Canadian Region of the Commonwealth Women Parliamentarians held their annual conference. A Steering Committee meeting chaired by Maria Minna MP was held in the morning.  It looked at the work done by the Group over the last year and adopted a workplan and outreach programme for the upcoming year.

It was followed by several business sessions. Hedy Fry MP spoke on the issue of Gender Analysis and Budgeting. She looked at what had been done, particularly by federal government departments over the last several years.

Flora MacDonald, a former Minister, discussed her recent efforts to improve education and build schools in Afghanistan, a country she has visited eleven times over the last several years.

Carolyn Bennett MP, gave a wide ranging presentation on the role of women in making a difference in politics. She related some of her experiences in consulting with constituents and young voters in particular.

Tracy-Lee Eddy of Equal Voice spoke about their Youth Engagement and Mentorship programme that will be launched in the fall of 2009. It will establish relationships between female legislators and young women interested in learning more about politics and public life.

Kashmala Tariq of Pakistan, Chair of the Commonwealth Women Parliamentarians gave a very vivid description of the effect terrorism is having on women in Afghanistan and Pakistan.

New Speaker in Nova Scotia

The new Speaker of the Nova Scotia House of Assembly is Charlie Parker, MLA for Pictou West.

Born and raised on the family’s farm at Durham, Pictou County, he is a graduate of West Pictou District High School and obtained his Bachelor of Science from Acadia University. He is also a graduate of the Nova Scotia Teacher’s College.

Mr. Parker has worked in real estate sales, owned and operated a garden centre business for a number of years, and taught at the junior high and elementary school levels. He served for four terms as a municipal councillor in the Municipality of Pictou County.

He was first elected to the House of Assembly in 1998 and held the seat until the 1999 election. He was re-elected in  2003, 2006 and again in 2009.  He is a former Deputy Speaker and was elected Speaker on June 25, 2009.

A member and Past President of the Westville Rotary Club, he is a past Board member of Riverview Home, and has served on the Board at Valleyview Villa. He currently serves as a director of Landsdowne Outdoor Recreation Development Association – a park for seniors and the disabled.  An avid curler he is also a former Boy Scout Leader and has been active in his community throughout his life.

The House also elected three Deputy Speakers. Gordon Gosse, Wayne Gaudet and the former Speaker, Alfie MacLeod.

Charlotte L’Écuyer candidate for Chair of CWP International

During the CWP (Canadian Region) meeting it was announced that Charlotte L’Écuyer would be a candidate for the position of Chairperson of the International CPW when the election is held in 2010.

Mme L’Écuyer represents Pontiac in the Québec National Assembly and is Vice-chair of the Committee on Transportation and the Environment.

She holds a Master’s degree in social work from the Université de Sherbrooke. She was Director General for the Pontiac CLSC (local community service centre) from 1986-1995 and Director general of the Centre de santé du Pontiac from 1995-2003.

She was first elected as Member for Pontiac in the general election held on April 14, 2003 and re-elected in 2007 and 2008. She has served as a Parliamentary Assistant to the Minister of Health and Social Services from 2006-2007 and Parliamentary Assistant to the Minister of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food from 2007 to 2008. She has been Vice-chair, Committee on Transportation and the Environment since January 15, 2009.

Charlotte was elected as the first Chair of the CWP (Canadian Region) and served in that capacity for three years. Under her direction the group increased membership and a number of activities have been launched. She was Vice-Chair of the CWP International from 2007-2008.

On July 20, 2009, the Canadian Regional Council of CPA unanimously endorsed her as the Canadian candidate for the presidency of the International CWP.

Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 32 no 3
2009






Last Updated: 2018-07-31

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
APC : La scène canadienneAPC : La scène canadienne


Conférence régionale canadienne

La 47e Conférence régionale canadienne de l’Association parlementaire du Commonwealth s’est tenue à Toronto du 19 au 24 juillet 2009. Environ 90 délégués et observateurs de toutes les assemblées législatives du Canada, à l’exception de celle du Nunavut, y ont participé. Parmi les invités parlementaires présents, on comptait la baronne Lindsay Northover, de la Chambre des lords, Ian Davidson, député de la Chambre des communes britannique, Neil Parsanlal, député de Trinité-et-Tobago, ainsi que Kashmala Tariq, de l’Assemblée nationale du Pakistan.

Le président de l’Assemblée législative de l’Ontario, Steve Peters, qui agissait à titre d’hôte de cette conférence, a présidé l’ouverture officielle. Le lieutenant-gouverneur de l’Ontario, David C. Onley, a accueilli les délégués et procédé à l’ouverture officielle de la conférence. Le secrétaire général de l’Association parlementaire du Commonwealth, William F. Shija, la présidente des Femmes parlementaires du Commonwealth (Région canadienne), Maria Minna, ainsi que la baronne Northover se sont aussi adressés aux délégués lors de la cérémonie d’ouverture.

De nombreux présidents d’assemblée étaient présents, parmi lesquels Don Toth (Sask.), Roger Fitzgerald (T.-N.-L.), Roy Boudreau (N.-B.), Kathleen Casey (Î.-P.-É.), Kenneth Kowalski (Alb.), Charlie Parker (N.-É.), Bill Barisoff (C.-B.), Ted Staffen (Yn) et Paul Delory (T.N.-O.).

Le président Toth a dirigé la première séance de travail, durant laquelle Art Johnston, de l’Alberta, a présenté un exposé intitulé « Protéger le public : le projet « Sécurité des collectivités en action » en Alberta ».

La deuxième séance, présidée par la sénatrice Raynell Andreychuk, avait pour thème l’immigration, l’intégration et les relations interculturelles au Québec et proposait un exposé de Fatima Houda-Pepin.

La troisième séance a permis de faire le point sur la reprise économique et était présidée par Étienne-Alexis Boucher, du Québec. Bev Shipley, de la Chambre des communes, et Warren Michelson, de la Saskatchewan, y ont présenté des exposés.

La quatrième séance, dirigée par le président Peters, proposait un exposé de Terry Fallis, lauréat de la Médaille de l’humour Stephen Leacock pour son livre The Best Laid Plans. M. Fallis a lu quelques passages de son livre et parlé de l’importance de l’humour en politique.

La cinquième séance avait pour thème le rôle des projets de loi d’initiative parlementaire. Elle était dirigée par le président Fitzgerald et Linda Jeffrey a présenté un exposé. Lors de la sixième séance, présidée par Bruce Crozier, de l’Ontario, on a abordé la question de la technologie dans les assemblées législatives. Edward Buckingham, de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, a fait un exposé.

La septième séance, dirigée par le président Boudreau, avait pour thème la création de collectivités accueillantes et proposait un exposé de Teresa Woo-Paw, de l’Alberta. La dernière séance a été présidée par M. Davidson. Elle portait sur l’équilibre entre la sécurité et l’accès du public à l’assemblée législative et proposait un exposé de la présidente Casey.

Au cours de la semaine, les délégués ont visité la région de Niagara et ont assisté à une partie de baseball opposant les Blue Jays de Toronto aux Indians de Cleveland. Ils n’ont pas tari d’éloges à l’endroit du président Peters, de la greffière Deborah Deller, de Zina Decker et d’autres membres du comité organisateur pour la réussite de cette conférence.

Réunion des FPC

La conférence annuelle des Femmes parlementaires du Commonwealth (Région canadienne) s’est tenue le dimanche 19 juillet. Une réunion du comité de direction, présidée par la députée fédérale Maria Minna, a eu lieu durant la matinée. On y a souligné le travail accompli par le groupe pendant la dernière année et adopté un plan de travail ainsi qu’un programme de sensibilisation pour la prochaine année.

Cette réunion a été suivie de plusieurs séances de travail. La députée fédérale Hedy Fry a traité de l’analyse comparative entre les sexes et de l’établissement de budgets. Elle s’est penchée sur ce qui a été fait depuis quelques années, en particulier par les ministères fédéraux. Flora MacDonald, ancienne ministre, a souligné les efforts qu’elle a récemment déployés pour améliorer le système d’éducation et construire des écoles en Afghanistan, pays qu’elle a visité à 11 reprises au cours des dernières années.

La députée fédérale Carolyn Bennett a présenté un exposé détaillé sur la façon dont les femmes peuvent améliorer la politique. Elle a parlé, entre autres, de ses expériences auprès des électeurs, en particulier des jeunes. Tracy-Lee Eddy, de l’organisme À voix égales, a parlé du programme de participation et de mentorat des jeunes, qui sera lancé à l’automne 2009. Il permettra aux législatrices de tisser des liens avec les jeunes femmes qui souhaitent en apprendre davantage sur la vie politique et publique.

Enfin, Kashmala Tariq, membre de l’Assemblée nationale du Pakistan et présidente des Femmes parlementaires du Commonwealth, a décrit de façon saisissante les conséquences du terrorisme sur les femmes afghanes et pakistanaises.

Nouveau président en Nouvelle-Écosse

Charlie Parker, député provincial de Pictou West, a été élu président de l’Assemblée législative de la Nouvelle-Écosse.

M. Parker a grandi sur la ferme familiale à Durham, dans le comté de Pictou. Il est diplômé de l’école secondaire West Pictou District High School et titulaire d’un baccalauréat en sciences de l’Université Acadia. Il est également diplômé du Nova Scotia Teacher’s College.

Charlie Parker a travaillé dans la vente de biens immobiliers, a été propriétaire d’un centre de jardinage durant de nombreuses années et a enseigné au niveau élémentaire de même qu’au premier cycle du secondaire. Il a également accompli quatre mandats à titre de conseiller municipal pour la municipalité du comté de Pictou.

Il a été élu pour la première fois à l’Assemblée législative en 1998 et a occupé son siège jusqu’aux élections de 1999. Il a été réélu en 2003, en 2006 et en 2009. Il a déjà agi à titre de vice-président et est président depuis le 25 juin 2009.

M. Parker est membre du Westville Rotary Club, dont il a déjà été président. Il a siégé aux conseils d’administration de la Riverview Home et de la Valleyview Villa. Il est actuellement directeur de la Landsdowne Outdoor Recreation Development Association (LORDA), qui s’occupe d’un parc pour les aînés et les personnes handicapées. Il est un adepte du curling et un ancien chef scout.

Les députés ont aussi élu trois vice-présidents, soit Gordon Gosse, Wayne Gaudet et Alfie MacLeod, l’ancien président.

Charlotte L’Écuyer, candidate à la présidence du réseau international des FPC

Lors de la réunion des FPC (Région canadienne), on a annoncé la candidature de Charlotte L’Écuyer au poste de présidente du réseau international des FPC pour l’élection de 2010.

Mme L’Écuyer est députée de Pontiac à l’Assemblée nationale du Québec et vice-présidente de la Commission des transports et de l’environnement.

Elle est titulaire d’une maîtrise en travail social de l’Université de Sherbrooke. Elle a été directrice générale du Centre local de services communautaires (CLSC) Pontiac, de 1986 à 1995, et du Centre de santé du Pontiac, de 1995 à 2003.

Elle a été élue députée de Pontiac pour la première fois aux élections générales du 14 avril 2003 et a été réélue en 2007 et en 2008. Elle a occupé le poste d’adjointe parlementaire au ministre de la Santé et des Services sociaux en 2006-2007 et au ministre de l’Agriculture, des Pêcheries et de l’Alimentation en 2007-2008. Elle est vice-présidente de la Commission des transports et de l’environnement depuis le 15 janvier 2009.

Mme L’Écuyer a été la première présidente des FPC (Région canadienne), poste qu’elle a occupé pendant trois ans. Sous sa direction, le groupe a accru le nombre de ses membres et entrepris de nombreuses initiatives. Elle a aussi été vice-présidente du réseau international des FPC en 2007-2008.

Le 20 juillet dernier, le Conseil régional canadien de l’APC a appuyé à l’unanimité sa candidature à la présidence du réseau international des FPC.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 32 no 3
2009






Dernière mise à jour : 2018-07-31