Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
Strategic Planning at the Quebec National Assembly
Jacques Gagnon

The new public management philosophy has played a preponderant role in the public sector for over twenty years. However, the idea that certain of its management principles, such as planning and results measurement, may apply to a parliamentary institution might evoke a certain amount of scepticism. Does not the difficulty in defining products and measuring results make any attempt at planning and assessing performance extremely difficult, not to say impossible? The administrative sector of the National Assembly is currently conducting a third multi-year strategic planning exercise. This article will state the arguments for a parliamentary institution strategic plan. Secondly, the stages in the preparation of such planning will be set out. In particular, focus will be placed on the ideas submitted by various groups and the pivotal role of senior management in selecting the planning outline. Lastly, an overview of the issues and orientations that will mark the coming years will be examined.

All public or private organizations that opt for strategic planning do so for the purpose of making their administration more efficient and cost effective. In Québec, one of the objects of the Public Administration Act1 is specifically to promote the use of tools that improve the efficiency and cost effectiveness of the government administration. Among these tools are multi-year strategic planning and the periodical accountability report stemming therefrom. Despite it not being subject to the obligations of the Public Administration Act, since the parliamentary body is independent of the executive power, the National Assembly deemed it desirable that it apply certain aspects of the Act. Incidentally, it should be noted that the administrative sector of the National Assembly presents the same basic characteristics as any public administration. Even if certain services are specific to the parliamentary institution, a group of resources are managed for the purpose of carrying out a mission linked to the public service. The very size of the administrative sector, over 600 positions, calls for modern management.

The National Assembly is not the only parliamentary institution to have opted for strategic planning. At least two other Canadian provinces as well as the House of Commons of the Canadian Parliament have a multi-year strategic plan. Elsewhere in the world, among the Westminster-type parliaments, five other interesting examples have been found: the British House of Commons, the Scottish Parliament, the New Zealand Parliament, the Queensland Parliament and the Legislative Council of Western Australia.

The Strategic Planning Exercise

The second strategic plan of the National Assembly administration came to its conclusion at the end of the 2008-20092 fiscal year. Hence, the new plan is currently in progress and will revolve around three essential qualities. First, it must be useful, that is, it must clearly indicate the changes the organization intends to make and it must give an orientation to the action plans of the various units that make up the administration of the National Assembly. It is in these action plans, which are by definition more detailed and which cover the organization’s current activities, that all individuals may measure their contribution to the success of the mission. The strategic plan must also be credible. In this regard, certain relatively common pitfalls in this type of exercise are to be avoided: excessive complexity, inaccessible language, unlimited quantification and useless details. Lastly, a good plan must be challenging, but realistic. The best-laid plan may be far-fetched. Focus should be placed on that which is important and which is possible.

Four major stages constitute the critical part of the planning exercise. During the first phase, at the National Assembly, consideration was given to the basic elements, that is, the organization’s mission, its values, the external and internal context and issues stemming therefrom. This first stage mobilized management personnel overall in various joint working group meetings.

In this regard, the mission of the administration must be developed in relation with the larger mission of the parliamentary institution. Thus, all current administrative sector activities must contribute to supporting the Members in their fundamental roles as legislators, controllers of the government action and representatives of the population.

A second stage concerned the orientations and objectives, which can rightly be considered as the framework of the strategic plan. It was essential at this point for senior management to make known the orientations that would be prioritized. A preliminary draft was therefore submitted for discussion. This time, management personnel was called upon to contribute, but within each of the three major areas of activity. This method relies on the participation of the individuals who are directly concerned by each of the orientations to define major objectives.

Following this brainstorming exercise, the final and detailed content of the strategic plan was established and approved by senior management. Moreover, it is at this stage that the results indicators and the targets to be attained were added to each of the strategic objectives. The political authorities of the National Assembly – the Chair and the Office of the Assembly – will give final approval to the project.

A final phase consists, for each of the organization’s branches, in finalizing an annual action plan to give effect to the strategic planning. At this time, the personnel overall is called upon to take part in preparing these plans.

An important aspect concerns the junction between the strategic planning and the major institutional projects. Involving various sectors, these projects have major repercussions on the use of resources and the organization of work (redesigning of the Internet site, integrated resource management system, sustainable development plan, public communications master plan, etc.). They also have long-term implications for the organization. Correspondingly, they must be taken into consideration in the strategic planning.

The strategic planning approach adopted by the administration of the National Assembly relies on the constant commitment of senior management and on regular and adapted mechanisms in the consultation of individuals to give effect to the strategic orientations. The drafting of the plan is strongly influenced by the comments and suggestions made throughout the process. Furthermore, guides put at the disposal of Québec’s ministries and agencies as well as the plans they established are a useful source of inspiration.

The Context, Issues and Strategic Orientations

The analysis of the context in which the administration of the National Assembly evolves particularly focussed on the evolution of a group of factors presenting special challenges as regards the management of the institution. For example, changes in the needs of Members, technological changes and the global labour market situation were taken into consideration.

The four major issues that arise from this analysis create an equal amount of challenges for the organization. The success of the strategic plan will be measured by the quality and efficiency of the actions that will be taken to meet these challenges.

A response that is adapted to the changing needs of Members

Since support to Members is at the heart of the mission of the administration of the National Assembly, a response that is adapted to their changing needs without a doubt constitutes the most crucial challenge for the 2009-2012 planning period. Changes affecting the work of Members, whether regarding content or work procedures, require that the administration constantly adapt services to adequately meet the needs and requests that are expressed. Beyond these services, certain of the administration’s work procedures must also be modified.

Reinforcement of communications with citizens

One of the challenges in this field consists in reaching, perhaps through new tools or through a particular approach, certain priority clienteles, for example young people. Another challenge remains, namely to coordinate the numerous efforts and activities that contribute to the outreach of the institution and the efficiency of its messages. This outreach also encompasses an important historical and heritage component. The Assembly takes on an essential role in research, conservation, promotion and dissemination of the history of the institution, the parliamentarians and its real estate and property.

Cost-effective management of the organization

As regards human resources, the administration of the National Assembly must dispose of personnel that is competent and highly committed to attaining the objectives of the organization. In concrete terms, the immediate challenge is to face the retirement of a large number of experienced employees and to ensure efficient knowledge transfer. The challenge is particularly important since attracting and retaining personnel in this day and age are more difficult to achieve. Furthermore, in a period when financial and human resources are limited and when the administration must adapt its services to the context and needs, it is essential that the quest for cost-effectiveness be constant. Lastly, following the example of Québec’s public administration, the organization’s overall management must take into account the principles of sustainable development.

Optimum use of information and communication technologies

One of the major challenges consists in having a comprehensive view of the evolution of technologies and integrating them to the work procedures to obtain the most benefit therefrom. The management of technological projects must also take into account constraints linked to the resources available. Finally, these projects give rise to significant modifications in work procedures, modifications that cannot take place without paying special attention to the management of change.

It should be noted that these four challenges are part of the continuity of the previous strategic plan. This is not really surprising. Certain aspects of the context have of course changed, but the fundamental elements are still present.

It is also interesting to observe the great similarities between the strategic planning of parliaments that we have examined. Obviously, their common mission partly explains this convergence. Additionally, the political, social, technological and administrative context, while often comprising local specifications, is not that different from one Parliament to another. As an example, information and communication technologies broadcasting is a worldwide phenomenon. All Parliaments face the need to establish closer relations with the population to increase comprehension regarding democratic institutions and to extend citizen participation. Several public administrations worldwide also are faced with a human resources management problem that will worsen over the coming years.

To meet these challenges the administration of the National Assembly will focus on three major orientations during the next three years:

  • Adapt, on an on-going basis, the work procedures and services to meet the ever-changing needs in relation to parliamentary work;
  • Bring the National Assembly and its Members closer to the citizens;
  • Meet management challenges.

These orientations will subsequently include results objectives and indicators that will enable the organization to measure progress and report accountability, the final stage of the planning cycle.

Conclusion

Even though the exercise is demanding and that it occasionally raises criticism, it is highly useful for an organization to take a long, hard look at its current situation and its outlook. In an ever-changing environment, it does not suffice to do today exactly what was done yesterday. A pause and strategic thinking enable an organization to refocus its attention on its mission – its rationale – and to establish the essential measures to take in order to carry it out more adequately. The exercise is also useful when an organization wants to share with its human resources a vision of what it wants to achieve in the long run.

The administration of a Parliament is not very different from that of any other organization. It obviously has certain distinctive characteristics and must act within a context that is unique thereto. However, it carries out a mission, serves clients and is supported by partners, holds essential activities and proposes well-defined products and services. It especially has, as does any other institution, the obligation to maintain and increase its performance. These are the considerations that currently guide the administration of the National Assembly in preparing its 2009-2012 strategic plan.

Notes

1. The Public Administration Act, adopted in 2000, establishes a results-based management framework for the ministries and agencies of the government administration.

2. Assemblée nationale du Québec. Plan stratégique de l’administration de l’Assemblée nationale : 2004-2009, 2004, 40 p. http://www.assnat.qc.ca/fra/Assemblee/orientations.pdf; the former plan covered the years 2002 to 2004.

Until June 2009 Jacques Gagnon was with the Library of the Québec National Assembly where he was responsible for coordination and strategic planning.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 32 no 3
2009






Last Updated: 2019-07-15

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
La planification stratégique à l'Assemblée national du Québec
Jacques Gagnon

Dans le secteur public, la philosophie de la nouvelle gestion publique occupe une place prépondérante depuis maintenant plus d’une vingtaine d’années. Cependant, l’idée que certains de ses principes de gestion, tels que la planification et la mesure des résultats, puissent s’appliquer à une institution parlementaire peut inspirer un certain scepticisme. La difficulté de définir les produits et de mesurer les résultats ne rendent-ils pas extrêmement difficile, voire impossible, toute tentative de planification et d’évaluation de la performance? Le secteur administratif de l’Assemblée nationale réalise actuellement un troisième exercice de planification stratégique pluriannuelle. Cet article expose d’abord les raisons qui militent en faveur d’un plan stratégique pour une institution parlementaire. Dans un deuxième temps, nous présenterons les étapes de préparation d’une telle planification. En particulier, nous ferons ressortir la contribution de différents groupes à la réflexion et le rôle central des hauts dirigeants dans le choix des grandes lignes de la planification. Enfin, nous donnerons un aperçu des enjeux et des orientations qui marqueront les prochaines années.

Toutes les organisations publiques ou privées qui adoptent une planification stratégique le font dans le but de rendre leur administration plus efficace et plus efficiente. Au Québec, l’une des finalités de la Loi sur l’administration publique1 est précisément de favoriser l’utilisation d’outils qui améliorent l’efficacité et l’efficience de l’administration gouvernementale. Parmi ces outils, on retrouve la planification stratégique pluriannuelle et la reddition de comptes périodique qui en découle. Bien qu’elle ne soit pas soumise aux obligations de la Loi sur l’administration publique, puisque l’organe parlementaire est indépendant du pouvoir exécutif, l’Assemblée nationale a jugé qu’il était souhaitable qu’elle en applique certains aspects. D’ailleurs, on doit reconnaître que le secteur administratif de l’Assemblée nationale présente les mêmes caractéristiques de base que toute administration publique. Même si certaines fonctions sont propres à l’institution parlementaire, on y gère un ensemble de ressources pour la réalisation d’une mission liée au service public. La taille même du secteur administratif, plus de 600 postes, commande une gestion moderne.

L’Assemblée nationale n’est pas la seule institution parlementaire à s’être donné une planification stratégique. Au moins deux autres provinces canadiennes ainsi que la Chambre des communes du Parlement canadien possèdent un plan stratégique pluriannuel. Ailleurs dans le monde, parmi les parlements de type Westminster, nous avons relevé cinq autres exemples intéressants : la Chambre des communes britannique, le Parlement écossais, le Parlement de la Nouvelle-Zélande, le Parlement du Queensland et le Conseil législatif de l’Australie occidentale (Western Australia).

La démarche de planification stratégique à l’Assemblée nationale

Le deuxième plan stratégique de l’administration de l’Assemblée nationale est venu à terme à la fin de l’année financière 2008-20092. Ainsi, le nouveau plan est actuellement en préparation et il affichera trois qualités essentielles. D’abord, il doit être utile, c’est-à-dire qu’il montrera clairement les changements que l’organisation entend apporter et qu’il orientera les plans d’action des différentes unités qui composent l’administration de l’Assemblée nationale. C’est dans ces plans d’action, par définition plus détaillés et couvrant les activités courantes de l’organisation, que toutes les personnes peuvent mesurer leur apport à la réussite de la mission. Le plan stratégique doit aussi être crédible. En ce sens, il faut éviter certains écueils relativement répandus dans de tels exercices : une complexité excessive, un langage inaccessible, une quantification à outrance ou un niveau de détails inutile. Enfin, un bon plan doit être ambitieux, mais réaliste. Le plan le mieux conçu peut s’avérer utopique. Il faut donc se concentrer sur ce qui est important et sur ce qui est possible.

Quatre grandes étapes constituent l’essentiel d’une démarche de planification. À l’Assemblée nationale, dans un premier temps, une réflexion a été faite sur les éléments de base, c’est-à-dire la mission de l’organisation, ses valeurs, le contexte externe et interne et les enjeux qui en découlent. Cette première étape a mobilisé l’ensemble du personnel de direction, réuni au sein de groupes de travail mixtes.

À cet égard, la mission de l’administration doit se concevoir en lien avec celle, plus large, de l’institution parlementaire. Ainsi, toutes les activités courantes du secteur administratif doivent concourir au soutien des députés dans leurs rôles fondamentaux de législateurs, de contrôleurs de l’action gouvernementale et de représentants de la population.

Une deuxième étape a porté sur les orientations et les objectifs, ce que l’on peut à juste titre considérer comme l’ossature du plan stratégique. Il importait à ce stade que la haute direction fasse connaître les orientations à privilégier. Une formulation préliminaire a donc été soumise pour discussion. Cette fois, le personnel de direction a été appelé à contribuer, mais au sein de chacun des trois grands secteurs d’activités. Cette formule s’appuie sur la participation des personnes directement concernées par chacune des orientations pour définir des objectifs majeurs.

À partir de ce brassage d’idées, le contenu définitif et détaillé du plan stratégique a été établi et validé auprès de la haute direction. Du reste, c’est à cette étape que des indicateurs de résultats et des cibles à atteindre ont été rattachés à chacun des objectifs stratégiques. Les autorités politiques de l’Assemblée nationale – la présidence et le Bureau de l’Assemblée – approuveront le projet.

Une dernière phase consiste, pour chacune des directions de l’organisation, à mettre au point un plan annuel d’action pour concrétiser la planification stratégique. À ce moment, l’ensemble du personnel est appelé à prendre part à l’élaboration de ces plans.

Un aspect important concerne la jonction entre la planification stratégique et les projets institutionnels importants. Touchant différents domaines, ces projets ont des répercussions majeures sur l’utilisation des ressources et l’organisation du travail (refonte du site Internet, système de gestion intégrée des ressources, plan de développement durable, plan directeur de communication publique, etc.). Ils ont aussi une portée à long terme sur l’organisation. De ce fait, ils doivent être pris en compte dans la planification stratégique.

En résumé, la démarche de planification stratégique adoptée par l’administration de l’Assemblée nationale mise sur un engagement constant de la haute direction et sur des mécanismes réguliers et adaptés de consultation des personnes qui concrétiseront les orientations stratégiques. La rédaction du plan est fortement influencée par les commentaires et les suggestions qui sont formulés tout au long du processus. De plus, les guides mis à la disposition des ministères et des organismes québécois ainsi que les plans qu’ils ont conçus sont source d’inspiration utile.

Le contexte, les enjeux et les orientations stratégiques

L’analyse du contexte dans lequel évolue l’administration de l’Assemblée nationale a notamment porté sur l’évolution d’un ensemble de facteurs qui posent des défis particuliers pour la gestion de l’institution. Par exemple, les changements dans les besoins des députés, les mutations technologiques et la situation globale du marché du travail ont été considérés.

Les quatre grands enjeux qui ressortent de cette analyse sont autant de défis lancés à l’organisation.

Une réponse adaptée à l’évolution des besoins des députés

Parce que le soutien aux députés est au cœur de la mission de l’administration de l’Assemblée nationale, une réponse adaptée à l’évolution de leurs besoins constitue sans doute l’enjeu le plus crucial pour la période de planification 2009-2012. Les mutations qui affectent le travail des députés, dans le contenu ou les façons de faire, exigent que l’administration veille de manière constante à ajuster les services pour bien répondre aux besoins et aux demandes exprimés. Derrière ces services, des processus de travail de l’administration doivent aussi être modifiés.

Un renforcement de la communication avec les citoyens et un rayonnement accru de l’institution

L’un des défis dans ce domaine consiste à rejoindre, peut-être par de nouveaux outils ou par une approche particulière, certaines clientèles prioritaires, par exemple les jeunes. Un autre défi demeure, soit de coordonner les nombreux efforts et activités qui contribuent au rayonnement de l’institution et à l’efficacité de ses messages. Ce rayonnement comprend aussi un volet historique et patrimonial important. L’Assemblée assume une fonction essentielle de recherche, de conservation, de mise en valeur et de diffusion de l’histoire de l’institution, des parlementaires et des ses biens mobiliers et immobiliers.

Une gestion efficiente de l’organisation

Sur le plan des ressources humaines, l’administration de l’Assemblée nationale doit disposer d’un personnel compétent et fortement engagé dans l’atteinte des objectifs de l’organisation. De manière concrète, l’enjeu immédiat est de faire face au départ à la retraite d’un grand nombre d’employés d’expérience et d’assurer un transfert de connaissances efficace. Le défi est d’autant plus important que l’attraction et la rétention du personnel sont aujourd’hui plus difficiles à exercer. De plus, dans une période où les ressources financières et humaines sont limitées et où l’administration doit adapter ses services au contexte et aux besoins, il est essentiel que la recherche de l’efficience soit constante. Enfin, à l’instar de toute l’administration publique au Québec, l’ensemble de la gestion de l’organisation doit prendre en compte les principes du développement durable.

Un usage optimal des technologies de l’information et de la communication

Un des enjeux majeurs qui se pose consiste à avoir une vue d’ensemble de l’évolution des technologies et de les intégrer aux processus de travail pour en retirer les pleins bénéfices. La gestion des projets technologiques doit aussi tenir compte des contraintes liées aux ressources disponibles. Enfin, ces projets entraînent des modifications notables aux processus de travail, modifications qui ne peuvent se produire sans porter une attention particulière à la gestion du changement.

Il est à noter que ces quatre enjeux s’inscrivent dans la continuité du plan stratégique précédent. Il n’y a là rien de bien étonnant. Le contexte s’est bien sûr modifié sous certains aspects, mais les éléments fondamentaux sont toujours présents.

Il est également intéressant de constater les grandes similitudes entre les planifications stratégiques des parlements que nous avons examinées. Évidemment, la mission commune à tous explique en partie cette convergence. En outre, le contexte politique, social, technologique et administratif, bien qu’il présente souvent des particularités locales, n’est pas si différent d’un Parlement à l’autre. À titre d’exemple, la diffusion des technologies de l’information et de la communication est un phénomène mondial. Tous les parlements font face à la nécessité d’établir des liens plus étroits avec la population pour approfondir la compréhension à l’égard des institutions démocratiques et pour étendre la participation des citoyens. De nombreuses administrations publiques dans le monde sont aussi devant un problème de gestion des ressources humaines qui ira croissant au cours des prochaines années.

Trois grandes orientations seront privilégiées par l’administration de l’Assemblée nationale au cours des trois prochaines années pour répondre à ces enjeux :

  • Adapter, de manière continue, les processus de travail et les services pour répondre à l’évolution des besoins liés au travail parlementaire;
  • Rapprocher l’Assemblée nationale et les députés des citoyens;
  • Répondre aux défis en matière de gestion.

À ces orientations viendront se greffer des objectifs de résultats et des indicateurs qui permettront de mesurer les progrès et de faire la reddition de comptes, étape ultime et essentielle du cycle de planification.

Conclusion

Bien que l’exercice soit exigeant et qu’il soulève parfois des critiques, il est éminemment utile pour une organisation de s’interroger sur sa situation présente et sur ses perspectives. Dans un environnement changeant, on ne peut se contenter de faire exactement aujourd’hui ce que l’on faisait hier. Un temps d’arrêt et une réflexion stratégique approfondie permettent de recentrer l’action d’une organisation sur sa mission – sa raison d’être – et de déterminer les gestes essentiels pour mieux l’accomplir. L’exercice est aussi utile pour partager, avec toutes les personnes qui composent une organisation, une vision de ce que celle-ci veut devenir à terme.

L’administration d’un Parlement n’est pas si différente de toute autre organisation. Bien sûr elle a certaines particularités et doit agir dans un contexte qui lui est propre. Cependant, elle assume une mission, sert des clients et s’appuie sur des partenaires, tient des activités essentielles et propose des produits et services bien définis. Elle a surtout, comme toute autre institution, le devoir de maintenir et d’accroître sa performance. Ce sont là les considérations qui guident actuellement l’administration de l’Assemblée nationale dans la préparation de son plan stratégique 2009-2012.

Notes

1. La Loi sur d’administration publique, adoptée en 2000, établit pour les ministères et les organismes de l’administration gouvernementale un cadre de gestion axée sur les résultats.

2. Assemblée nationale du Québec. Plan stratégique de l’administration de l’Assemblée nationale : 2004-2009, 2004, 40 p.http://www.assnat.qc.ca/fra/Assemblee/orientations.pdf. Le précédent plan couvrait les années 2002 à 2004.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 32 no 3
2009






Dernière mise à jour : 2018-07-31