Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
Developing Political Leaders: The Case for a School of Government
Paul G. Thomas

The quality of our politics and the caliber of our politicians matter to the economic and social progress of Canadian society. This is the underlying premise for the case that Canada needs a school of government to better provide creative ideas and skillful political leadership to meet the challenges of a more complicated, pluralistic, interdependent and rapidly changing world. At present, Canadians believe they do not get the politics and government they deserve. More competent, credible, innovative, effective and ethical political leaders will help address both the serious policy challenges and the public disillusionment which exist today.

Opinion surveys tell us that among occupations, politicians are ranked last in terms of trustworthiness. The same surveys also reveal low levels of public confidence in the capacity of governments to deal effectively with such major policy challenges as climate change, healthcare reform, poverty, aboriginal issues and law and order.

Mistrust of politicians and pessimism about the capabilities of governments are related. Politicians have become both the creators and the captives of an increasingly cynical public. Over the years political parties and their leaders have made election promises which they never intended to adopt or which were too good for the voters to resist and impossible to implement. Along with over promising and under delivering, politicians have shown little regard for the intelligence of voters and their potential to learn about complicated policy issues. Instead of seeking to play an informing and educational role, politicians use polling, focus groups, psycho-demographic analysis of the electorate and sophisticated communications strategies to arouse an apathetic public and to manipulate public opinion to gain voter support.

It has been said that politicians campaign in poetry and govern in prose. During elections, simple, emotive stories are used to establish a dominant narrative and to make an emotional connection with voters. Between elections the proceedings of legislatures, especially as covered by the media, resemble a permanent election campaign in which the competing political parties engage in highly adversarial, negative, personal and theatrical attacks. Governments attempt to “spin” stories and to manage the news, while opposition parties interpret every revelation of a problem in a highly suspicious, accusatory light. Very little informed, balanced discussion of their real issues of governing complex societies takes place and very little learning for the parties or the public (if it is watching) takes place. Slogans, sound bites and feigned indignation certainly ignore the ambiguities, uncertainties and risks of governing in the 21st century.

Partisanship, competition and some degree of negativity is appropriate in a pluralistic society where there are legitimate disagreements over both the ends and means of public policy. Competition among parties provides the energy which drives elections and the legislative process. Parties help to shape voter choices at election time, they serve as recruitment agencies to fill public offices, they perform the roles of government and oppositions in our cabinet-parliamentary system of government, and in these ways they provide a basis for achieving responsiveness and accountability to citizens.

If politics is essentially about the representation and accommodation of divergent values and interests, the channeling of social conflicts in a constructive manner and the mobilization of public consent and support for new directions within society, then we need better informed and more skillful political leaders. We also need a higher quality and more constructive partisanship from all the political parties which compete for office in this country. Yearning for charismatic, transformational political leaders who by the power of their ideas and their eloquence transcend social divisions and unify large majorities behind a shared vision is an unrealistic basis for the achievement of good government.

The novelist Robert Louis Stevenson once observed that “politics is the only occupation for which no preparation is thought to be necessary”. This is wrong. Even in previous centuries when the scope and complexity of government was far less challenging, “amateur” politicians and their parties still found it difficult to diagnose social problems, gain public support for their policy ideas, set agendas within government and translate their ideas into effective programs.

Overtime politics has become more professionalized, but the emphasis within political parties has been on campaigning and communication to build support, not on the tough tasks of developing sound policy ideas and building skills to lead public organizations. Despite generous public subsidies, political parties have invested little time and effort into policy development. Campaign schools for candidates and short orientations programs for newly-elected legislators do not prepare people for the real challenges of public life. Working in legislatures is something like attending a school of politics but the mindless partisanship and the lack of meaningful opportunities to gain in depth knowledge, and even more importantly to apply that knowledge in a constructive manner means that the talents of most elected representatives are not developed or fully utilized.

In order to obtain sound policy advice and the managerial skills to implement public programs effectively, governments have created public service schools, executive development programs and exchanges with the private sector. Few such opportunities exist for politicians. When ministers are not well prepared in terms of background knowledge and leadership skills there is the risk that senior public servants will dominate the partnership of shared leadership which we depend upon for creative, quality government.

A School of Government for Politicians

The most basic question is whether politics can be taught. I believe that it can. The National School of Government in the United Kingdom and the Graduate School of Political Management in Washington, D.C. have produced graduates who practice politics effectively and with greater ethical awareness because of the opportunity to broaden their perspectives and to gain new skills. Some individuals will have more innate skills as leaders, but everyone can learn how to be a better leader. These schools are not involved in training more spin doctors, pollsters and media manipulators, their goal is to provide elected representatives with a broad education that enables them to cope with rapid change, uncertainty and issues which are divisive and seem to be intractable.

The proposed school of government would have a number of broad educational goals. One would be to develop a sense of history, but also to cultivate an awareness of the dangers of simple lesson drawing from the past. Helping politicians to think in systems terms and developing greater capacity to understand complex causal relationships between proposed policy interventions and potential outcomes in society would be another goal. In addition to strategic and integrative thinking skills, graduates would possess greater tolerance for ambiguity and uncertainty. They would become longer term in their thinking, something which election cycles and the problem-specific nature of the parliamentary and media processes discourage. They would accept the need to plan, but also the necessity for improvisation. Awareness of the potential and the limits of various policy instruments available to governments would reduce the frequency of policy failures or disappointments. A great deal of policy-making represents a form of hypotheses testing, through trial and error governments seek to learn what works. As part of this experimental approach, politicians would develop greater skills in risk analysis and the identification of valid evidence and usable knowledge for feasible policy making.

Numerous operational issues are involved with creation of the school, only a few of which can be considered in the space available here. The first is who will be admitted to the school. I would propose that the school be open to all “freshmen” legislators from across the country who would take a set of core introductory courses. Another set of courses would be designed for cabinet ministers and “shadow” cabinet ministers in opposition with the goal of easing the transition into leading departments and managing portfolios of non-departmental bodies. Courses should also be developed for political staff who represent a growing and influential group of actors within government.

A second issue is what should be taught. The school should develop courses in such areas as Canadian society and the economy, the constitution, including federalism, the Charter of Rights and Freedoms, the principles of collective and individual ministerial responsibility, the machinery of government, including the role of the public service, public finances and the budgetary process, the numerous accountability requirements which now apply to public office holders and the increased importance of values and ethics in public life. Along with these broad core subjects, there should be customized, more applied courses for ministers on such topics as agenda setting and leading a department, policy and risk analysis, decision-making for busy people, working with public servants, dealing with lobbyists, preparing for parliamentary business (Question period and committee appearances), communications and political messaging.

Most politicians enter public life from other occupations which means that the school will involve adult education. It is also the case that few politicians are lacking in terms of ego, confidence and ambition. These facts mean that the “faculty” in the school must have credibility (not just credentials), excellent presentation skills and the confidence to deal with controversy in a way that will promote learning rather than talking past others. To bridge theory and practice, there must be a carefully-selected mix of faculty – including former respected politicians and public servants, consultants, think tank representatives, communications specialists and academics who are leading-edge researchers but also excellent communicators. The pedagogical approach must involve active learning with a minimum of formal presentations, lots of group discussion, the use of role playing, including taped sessions, the analysis of cases, group projects and so on. The content of the courses will have to reflect the shifting context of Canada’s public sector.

Good schools seek to measure and to improve their performance. Success for the proposed school of national government will have many dimensions:

  • The reputation of the school and the demands for its courses;
  • The careers and reputations of its graduates in terms of their sense of responsibility to serve the public interest;
  • The achievement of a better balance in political life between the current heavy emphasis on the skills and techniques of “retail politics” and the knowledge and skills required to govern productively and ethically;
  • The gradual emergence of more systematic, evidence-based approaches to policy formulation;
  • Greater respect and support for the role of an impartial, professional public service as a partner in the production of quality government;
  • Less highly charged partisanship in legislatures and more constructive exchanges across party lines, especially in relation to matters where partisan philosophical differences are not relevant.

One of the benefits of the school will be to allow individuals from more diverse social and occupational backgrounds to enter and be successful in elected public office.

Even if a persuasive case can be made for a school of government, there is still the practical problem of how it will be created and financed. There is the existing Canada School of the Public Service (CSPS) (previously the Canadian Centre for Management Development) in Ottawa which, after several shifts in focus over the years now concentrates on leadership development in the senior public service. Sporadically it has involved politicians and political staff in its programs, but mainly it has sought to create a “safe” place where public managers can discuss issues, including the constraints arising from the political process, in a candid manner.

The proposed school could operate as a virtual, networked institution, using venues and faculty from across the country. The existing Canada School of the Public Service in Ottawa might provide the physical home for the school which would have a small staff, mainly a director and administrative support personnel. Courses could be open to interested federal, provincial, territorial and city politicians. Fees could be charged, but on the assumption that improved governing benefits society at large private donations could also be sought. Scheduling courses and finding time for politicians from across the country to participate would be difficult, but on-line sessions and material distributed electronically would provide some flexibility.

Foresight, intelligence, judgment, prudence, civility and integrity are far more important in public life than the skills of selling illusions and attacking political opponents. Now is the time to invest in the development of better political leaders.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 32 no 3
2009






Last Updated: 2019-07-15

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Former de meilleurs dirigeants : Arguments favorable à la création d'une école de gouvernance
Paul G. Thomas

La qualité de notre politique et le calibre de nos politiciens revêtent une importance pour le progrès socioéconomique de la société canadienne. Tel est l’argument sous-jacent qui milite en faveur de l’établissement, par le Canada, d’une école de gouvernance afin de favoriser l’émergence d’idées novatrices et d’une direction politique compétente et, ainsi, de relever les défis d’un monde de plus en plus complexe, pluraliste et interdépendant à l’évolution rapide. De nos jours, les Canadiens estiment ne pas avoir le gouvernement et la politique qu’ils méritent. Des dirigeants politiques plus compétents, crédibles, innovateurs, efficaces et intègres contribueront à la fois à régler les grandes questions stratégiques et à s’attaquer à la désillusion de la population.

D’après des sondages d’opinion, les politiciens figurent au dernier rang en ce qui a trait à la fiabilité. Les mêmes sondages révèlent également que la population générale n’accorde qu’une faible confiance aux gouvernements pour régler efficacement les grandes questions stratégiques, telles que les changements climatiques, la réforme des soins de santé, la pauvreté, les enjeux autochtones et l’ordre public.

La méfiance à l’égard des politiciens va de pair avec le pessimisme face aux aptitudes des gouvernements. Les politiciens sont à la fois les créateurs et les créatures d’une population de plus en plus cynique. Au fil des ans, les partis politiques et leurs dirigeants ont fait des promesses électorales qu’ils n’ont jamais eu l’intention d’honorer ou qui étaient trop irrésistibles pour les électeurs, mais irréalisables. Avec leurs trop grandes promesses et leurs trop rares réalisations, les politiciens ont fait peu de cas de l’intelligence des électeurs et de leur aptitude à se renseigner sur les dossiers compliqués. Au lieu d’assumer un rôle d’éducateur et de communicateur, ils ont recours aux sondages, aux groupes de discussion, aux analyses psychodémographiques de l’électorat et aux stratégies de communication sophistiquées pour éveiller l’intérêt d’une population apathique et pour manipuler l’opinion publique en vue d’obtenir l’appui des électeurs.

On dit que les politiciens se font poètes en campagne électorale, mais qu’ils usent de prose lorsqu’ils gouvernent. Pendant une campagne, ils se servent d’histoires simples et remplies d’émotions pour établir un discours dominant et nouer un lien affectif avec les électeurs. Entre les élections, les travaux des assemblées législatives, surtout ceux qui sont médiatisés, ressemblent à une campagne électorale permanente où les partis politiques s’affrontent dans une chaude lutte où sont permises les attaques très pompeuses, personnelles, accusatoires et virulentes. Les gouvernements tentent de tourner les histoires à leur avantage et de contrôler les manchettes, alors que les partis d’opposition interprètent chaque révélation d’un problème sous un jour accusateur où règne le doute. Rares sont les discussions éclairées et équilibrées sur les réels enjeux du gouvernement de sociétés complexes, et les partis politiques et la population (si elle est à l’écoute) n’en apprennent pas davantage sur les dossiers. Les slogans, les extraits sonores et l’indignation feinte font certainement abstraction des ambiguïtés, des incertitudes et des risques entourant l’art de gouverner au XXIe siècle.

La partisanerie, la concurrence et un certain degré de négativité ont leur place dans une société pluraliste où les désaccords légitimes règnent à la fois sur les fins et sur les moyens d’une politique publique. La concurrence entre les partis crée l’énergie qui alimente les campagnes électorales et le processus législatif. Les partis contribuent à façonner les choix des électeurs au moment du scrutin, servent d’agences de recrutement pour doter les charges publiques, jouent le rôle de dirigeant ou d’opposition dans notre système parlementaire, qui comporte un cabinet, et, par ces moyens, répondent aux besoins des citoyens et leur rendent des comptes.

Si la politique est essentiellement la représentation et la conciliation de valeurs et d’intérêts divergents, la canalisation constructive de conflits sociaux ainsi que la mobilisation du soutien et du consentement de la population envers de nouvelles orientations au sein de la société, nous avons alors besoin que les dirigeants politiques soient mieux informés et plus compétents et que tous les partis qui se font concurrence pour diriger le pays aient un esprit plus constructif et une meilleure tenue. Désirer des dirigeants politiques charismatiques et porteurs de changement qui, par la puissance de leurs idées et de leur éloquence, transcendent les divisions sociales et rallient de grandes majorités à une vision commune ne constitue pas un point de départ réaliste pour l’obtention d’un bon gouvernement.

Le romancier Robert Louis Stevenson a écrit : « La politique est la seule profession pour laquelle nulle préparation n’est jugée nécessaire. » C’est faux. Même pendant les siècles précédents, où gouverner représentait une activité moins vaste et complexe, les politiciens « amateurs » et leurs partis estimaient tout de même difficile de cerner les problèmes sociaux, d’obtenir le soutien de la population à leurs projets de politiques, d’établir des programmes gouvernementaux et de traduire leurs idées en mesures efficaces.

Au fil du temps, la politique s’est professionnalisée, mais, dans les partis, l’accent est placé sur les campagnes et la communication en vue de gagner des votes, plutôt que sur les tâches ardues que sont l’élaboration de politiques avisées et l’acquisition des compétences nécessaires à la direction d’organismes publics. Malgré les généreuses subventions publiques reçues, les partis consacrent peu de temps et d’efforts à la mise au point des politiques. Il faut plus que des écoles de formation électorale pour les candidats et de courts programmes d’orientation pour les nouveaux députés pour les préparer à affronter les vrais défis de la vie publique. Travailler dans une assemblée législative ressemble un peu à suivre un cours de science politique, sauf qu’il y a de la partisanerie irréfléchie et une absence d’occasions d’approfondir ses connaissances et, surtout, de les mettre en pratique de manière constructive, ce qui signifie que les talents de la plupart des élus ne sont ni cultivés ni pleinement exploités.

Pour obtenir des conseils stratégiques et acquérir des aptitudes en gestion qui serviront à mettre en œuvre des programmes publics efficaces, les gouvernements ont créé des écoles de la fonction publique, des programmes de perfectionnement des cadres supérieurs et des échanges avec le secteur privé. Très peu d’initiatives du genre existent pour les politiciens. Lorsqu’un ministre ne possède pas suffisamment de connaissances préalables ou de compétences en leadership, le risque court que les hauts fonctionnaires dominent le partenariat axé sur le partage des pouvoirs dont nous dépendons pour un gouvernement créatif de qualité.

Une école de gouvernance pour les politiciens

Une question fondamentale se pose : la politique s’enseigne-t-elle? À mon avis, oui. La National School of Government du Royaume-Uni et la Graduate School of Political Management de Washington ont produit des diplômés qui pratiquent la politique efficacement et avec un plus grand sens de l’éthique, parce qu’ils ont eu la chance d’élargir leurs perspectives et d’acquérir de nouvelles compétences. Certains d’entre eux ont un sens davantage inné du leadership, mais tout le monde peut apprendre comment devenir un meilleur leader. Ces écoles ne participent pas à la formation d’un plus grand nombre de doreurs d’image, de spécialistes en sondage ou de manipulateurs des médias; leur but consiste à donner aux élus une formation étendue qui leur permette de s’adapter aux changements rapides, à l’incertitude et aux problèmes qui sèment la division et qui semblent insolubles.

L’école de gouvernance proposée aurait divers grands objectifs pédagogiques, dont favoriser le sens de l’histoire, mais aussi conscientiser les gens aux dangers de tirer des leçons simplistes du passé. Un autre but consisterait à aider les politiciens à penser de façon systémique et à développer une plus grande capacité de comprendre les liens de causalité complexes entre les interventions stratégiques proposées et les répercussions possibles sur la société. En plus d’acquérir un esprit de synthèse et un sens de la stratégie, les diplômés manifesteraient une plus grande tolérance à l’égard de l’ambigüité et de l’incertitude. Ils réfléchiraient à plus long terme, ce que ne favorisent pas, à l’heure actuelle, les cycles électoraux et les processus parlementaires et médiatiques axés sur des problèmes individuels. Ils admettraient la nécessité de planifier, mais aussi de laisser place à l’improvisation. Leur conscience des possibilités et des limites des divers instruments stratégiques dont disposent les gouvernements réduira le risque d’échec des politiques et de déceptions. L’élaboration de politiques consiste, en grande partie, dans une mise à l’essai d’hypothèses; les gouvernements apprennent de manière empirique ce qui fonctionne. Dans le contexte de cette approche expérimentale, les politiciens seraient mieux à même d’analyser les risques, de déterminer les preuves valables et de reconnaître les connaissances applicables à la mise au point de politiques réalisables.

La création de l’école entraînera de nombreux problèmes de fonctionnement. Faute d’espace, seulement certains d’entre eux seront abordés. Tout d’abord, il faut établir qui sera admissible à cet établissement. Je proposerais que celui-ci soit accessible à tous les « nouveaux » législateurs du pays, qui y suivraient des cours d’initiation de base. D’autres cours seraient créés pour les ministres et les membres des « cabinets fantômes », afin de faciliter la transition à la tête d’un ministère et à la gestion d’un portefeuille d’organismes non gouvernementaux. Des cours devraient également être créés pour le personnel politique, groupe grandissant et influent d’intervenants au sein du gouvernement.

Ensuite, il faudra décider ce qu’il faut enseigner. L’école doit mettre sur pied des cours sur des sujets comme la société canadienne et l’économie; la Constitution, notamment le fédéralisme et la Charte des droits et libertés; les principes de responsabilité ministérielle individuelle et collective; les rouages du gouvernement, dont le rôle de la fonction publique, les finances publiques et le processus budgétaire; les nombreuses exigences en matière de reddition de comptes auxquelles sont maintenant soumis les titulaires de charge publique; l’importance accrue des valeurs et de l’éthique dans la vie publique. En plus de ces sujets de base de portée générale, il faudrait également créer des cours plus pratiques réservés aux ministres, notamment sur la façon d’établir des programmes et de diriger un ministère, d’analyser des politiques et des risques, de prendre des décisions sous pression, de collaborer avec les fonctionnaires, de traiter avec les lobbyistes, de se préparer aux travaux parlementaires (période des questions et audiences de comités), de communiquer et d’élaborer un discours politique.

La plupart des personnes qui se lancent en politique menaient d’autres carrières auparavant, ce qui signifie que le programme devra être conçu comme un cours d’éducation aux adultes. De plus, rares sont les politiciens qui souffrent d’un manque d’amour-propre, de confiance en soi ou d’ambition. Par conséquent, les enseignants de l’école devront avoir de la crédibilité (pas seulement des titres de compétences), maîtriser les techniques de présentation et avoir assez de confiance en eux-mêmes pour réagir à toute controverse de manière à favoriser l’apprentissage plutôt que les déclarations grandiloquentes. Pour concilier la théorie et la pratique, on doit les choisir soigneusement — parmi ceux-ci, d’anciens politiciens et fonctionnaires respectés, des consultants, des représentants de groupes de réflexion, des spécialistes de la communication et des universitaires qui sont des chercheurs renommés tout en étant d’excellents communicateurs. Par ailleurs, l’approche pédagogique devra comprendre le moins de cours magistraux possible, beaucoup de discussions de groupe, des jeux de rôles, dont des séances enregistrées, des analyses de cas, des projets de groupe et ainsi de suite. Le contenu des cours devra être représentatif du contexte évolutif du secteur public canadien.

Les bonnes écoles cherchent à évaluer et à améliorer la prestation de leurs services. Le succès de l’école de gouvernance nationale proposée sera tributaire de divers éléments :

  • la réputation de l’école et la demande que suscitent ses cours;
  • la carrière et la réputation de ses diplômés en ce qui a trait à leur conscience de la responsabilité de servir l’intérêt public;
  • l’atteinte d’un meilleur équilibre dans la vie politique entre, d’une part, la grande place accordée à l’heure actuelle à la « politique de vitrine » et, d’autre part, les connaissances et les compétences nécessaires pour gouverner de manière productive et conforme à l’éthique;
  • l’émergence progressive de méthodes d’élaboration de politiques plus systématiques et fondées sur les faits;
  • plus de respect et d’appui pour le rôle d’une fonction publique impartiale et professionnelle, comme partenaire d’un gouvernement de qualité;
  • une partisanerie moins intense dans les assemblées législatives et des échanges plus constructifs entre membres de différentes formations politiques, particulièrement dans les cas où les différences idéologiques n’ont aucune pertinence.

L’école aura notamment pour avantage de permettre à des personnes d’horizons sociaux et professionnels plus diversifiés de se lancer en politique et de réussir à titre d’élus.

Même si la création d’une école de gouvernance est bien justifiée, il reste le problème de sa mise sur pied et de son financement. Il existe à Ottawa l’École de la fonction publique du Canada (EFPC) (anciennement le Centre canadien de gestion), qui, après différentes transformations au fil des ans, se concentre sur le perfectionnement du leadership chez les hauts fonctionnaires. À l’occasion, des politiciens et leur personnel sont invités à participer aux programmes. Toutefois, l’EFPC cherche principalement à créer un lieu « sûr » où les gestionnaires publics peuvent discuter en toute franchise de divers dossiers, dont les contraintes découlant du processus politique.

L’école proposée pourrait être un établissement virtuel, au moyen d’un réseau de pavillons et d’enseignants disséminés partout au pays. Cette école pourrait avoir pignon sur rue à l’EFPC d’Ottawa, qui pourrait abriter quelques employés, surtout un directeur et le personnel administratif. Les cours seraient offerts aux politiciens intéressés de tous les ordres de gouvernement. Des frais de scolarité pourraient être facturés, mais, comme on peut penser que c’est la société en général qui bénéficiera d’une gouvernance améliorée, les dons privés constitueraient une autre avenue. Les politiciens des quatre coins du pays auront du mal à suivre leur cours et à trouver le temps de s’y consacrer, mais des séances en ligne et des documents électroniques apporteraient une certaine flexibilité.

Prévoyance, intelligence, jugement sûr, prudence, civilité et intégrité : voilà des qualités beaucoup plus importantes dans la vie publique que les techniques pour faire croire aux chimères et pour attaquer ses opposants politiques. Le temps est maintenant venu d’investir dans la formation de meilleurs dirigeants politiques.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 32 no 3
2009






Dernière mise à jour : 2018-07-31