Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
Fixing Our Fixed Election Date Legislation
Adam Dodek

In 2008, the Prime Minister sought and received a dissolution of Parliament despite the passage of legislation in 2007 establishing a fixed date for elections every four years. The date established in the law for the next election was October 19, 2009. Instead, an election was held on October 14, 2008. This article looks at the fixed election date legislation. It examines the question of whether it still mandates that an election be held in October of 2009 and suggests that the legislation should be re-examined.

When the Prime Minister went to the Governor General in September of last year to seek a dissolution of Parliament, he was clearly acting against the spirit of his own fixed election date legislation that mandated that the next election be held on October 19, 2009.1 That decision has been the subject of previous commentary2 and current court action.3 This article addresses a different issue: notwithstanding the October 2008 election, is an election still scheduled for 2009? The answer, I submit, is not clear and warrants Parliament’s clarification.

The basic problem with the fixed election date legislation is that it fails to directly address what was a predictable if not probable situation: that the minority government of Stephen Harper would not last until the scheduled election date in October 2009 – a full 45 months from when it was elected back in January 2006. The average duration of the minority governments that preceded Stephen Harper’s was 20 months.4 When the fixed election date legislation (Bill C-16) was debated in the House, there was much discussion about how it would come into play in a minority government situation, however, the bill itself is silent on this issue.

The key provisions of Bill C-16 added the following to the Canada Elections Act:

56.1(1) Nothing in this section affects the powers of the Governor General, including the power to dissolve Parliament at the Governor General’s discretion.

(2) Subject to subsection (1), each general election must be held on the third Monday of October in the fourth calendar year following polling day for the last general election, with the first general election after this section comes into force being held on Monday, October 19, 2009.

There are two ways to interpret this section after the 2008 election. Each is problematic in its own way. Any interpretation is based upon a parsing of the three clauses that make up subsection 56.1(2) of the Act: (1) that any scheduled date is made subject to the powers of the Governor General, i.e. that she can dissolve Parliament prior to the fixed date; (2) that each general election must be held on the third Monday of October in the fourth calendar year following polling day for the last general election; and (3) that the first general election after this section comes into force is to be held on Monday, October 19, 2009. Whether an election is scheduled for October 19, 2009 hinges on whether the first clause modifies only the second clause or both the second and the third.

Driedger’s "modern rule" of statutory interpretation is well-known and has been embraced by the courts:

"Today there is only one principle or approach, namely, the words of an Act are to be read in their entire context and in their grammatical and ordinary sense harmoniously with the scheme of the Act, the object of the Act, and the intention of Parliament."5

The quintessential problem with the modern or "contextual" approach is that when everything counts, it is difficult to discern what is determinative. That problem arises here.

Essentially, there are two possible interpretations to Bill C-16 respecting the date of the next scheduled federal elections. The first interpretation is what I would term "the Accepted Orthodoxy." It assumes that the first scheduled ("fixed") election date would have been October 19, 2009 but the exercise of the Governor General’s power to dissolve Parliament under subsection (1) pre-empted this and re-calibrated the fixed date so that it is now four years following October 14, 2008, i.e. October 15, 2012.

This interpretation gives primacy to the first two of our relevant clauses while essentially rendering the third clause – "with the first general election after this section comes into force being held on Monday, October 19, 2009" – nugatory. In fact, it treats this provision as spent, despite the fact that the specified date has not yet occurred.

The second interpretation which I would term the "Rogue Election" because it raises the specter of the paradox of an unexpected scheduled election within the rubric of so-called fixed election date regime. The Rogue Election interpretation gives credence to each of the three clauses that work together in this inelegant electoral code, but places emphasis on the explicit naming of October 19, 2009 as an election date. It attempts to give meaning to each provision ("the law is always speaking". . .), by interpreting the first clause ("subject to [the Governor General exercising her discretion to dissolve Parliament earlier]") as modifying only the words "the first" in the last clause. It emphasizes the language of this clause that states that the election will "be held on Monday, October 19, 2009." Such an election would not be the first – that is modified by the actions of the Governor General – but it would still give the most meaning to the language of that provision. And then from October 19, 2009 onwards we apply the second clause – every four years – which was held in abeyance by the "subject to subsection (1)" until that first scheduled election date.

Neither of these interpretations are particularly satisfactory and they reflect the problem in trying to merge two different types of elections – scheduled and non-scheduled elections – within a single statutory provision.

Under either interpretation, we do not have a problem once October 19, 2009 is reached because then that clause will truly be spent. But what now?

A review of the debates in Hansard indicates that MPs were well aware that the bill would not prohibit the Prime Minister from seeking an early dissolution. MPs on both sides of the aisle erred, however, in their estimation of the political cost that would be exacted on a Prime Minister who sought an early dissolution.

It is unfortunate that Parliament failed to address this foreseeable issue. The debates in Hansard did not directly address situation we are now in – the need for some transition mechanism to address a possible non-scheduled election called before the first scheduled election date. However, the debates in the House of Commons do reference legislation in Ontario and British Columbia that served as models and they are instructive on this issue.

The federal act most clearly mirrors the British Columbia legislation, although the B.C. legislation is less ambiguous. They key provision provided6:

(2)  Subject to subsection (1), a general voting day must occur on May 17, 2005 and thereafter on the second Tuesday in May in the fourth calendar year following the general voting day for the most recently held general election.

It is not surprising that the majority government of Gordon Campbell did not provide for an explicit transition clause if the Lieutenant Governor dissolved the Legislative Assembly before that first scheduled election date because the prospect of a government holding 77 out of 79 seats falling either by design or by accident, was rather far-fetched.

However, in Ontario the McGuinty Liberals with a comfortable majority in the legislature, did provide for an explicit transition clause. Ontario’s fixed date legislation provides7:

9.(1) Nothing in this section affects the powers of the Lieutenant Governor, including the power to dissolve the Legislature, by proclamation in Her Majesty’s name, when the Lieutenant Governor sees fit.

(2)  Subject to the powers of the Lieutenant Governor referred to in subsection (1),

(a) a general election shall be held on Thursday, October 4, 2007, unless a general election has been held, after the day on which the Election Statute Law Amendment Act, 2005 receives Royal Assent and before October 4, 2007, because of a dissolution of the Legislature; and

(b) thereafter, general elections shall be held on the first Thursday in October in the fourth calendar year following polling day in the most recent general election.

Subsection 9(2)(a) of Ontario’s act states explicitly what everyone implicitly thinks the federal legislation says.

What is the significance of this? Court action is less likely to compel a fall 2009 election than it is to declare the last election unconstitutional. Should we just simply ignore the uncomfortable fact that we have legislation on the statute books stating that a general election is to be held this October and embrace the Accepted Orthodoxy? Should we dismiss the Rogue Election interpretation under the absurdity principle?

Herein lies the significance. Legislation that was intended to provide certainty and bolster public confidence in politics has had precisely the opposite effect. It is purposely vague and problematically ambiguous. It demonstrates the difficulty of trying to fuse a fixed election date system onto our existing parliamentary system.

At the least, Parliament should go back and correct the flawed fixed election date legislation. It should amend the legislation to reset the clock to October 2012 and include an explicit transition clause along the lines of the Ontario model to address the possibility indeed the probability that Parliament is dissolved before that date. This will also provide an opportunity for MPs to revisit the policy and the application of the idea of fixed election dates which to many seemed like a good idea in theory, but in practice it does not seem to be working smoothly.

Notes

1. An Act to Amend the Canada Elections Act, S.C. 2007, c. 10 (Bill C-16).

2. See Guy Tremblay, "The 2008 Election and the Law on Fixed Election Dates" (Winter 2008-2009) Canadian Parliamentary Review p. 24.

3. See Conacher v. Canada (Prime Minister), 2008 FC 1119 (3 October 2008) (Docket T-1500-08)(dismissing a motion to expedite the hearing of an application impugning the legality of the actions of the Prime Minister, the Governor in Council and the Governor General culminating in the calling of the October 14, 2008 election).

4. See Peter Russell, Two Cheers for Minority Government (Toronto: Emond Montgomery, 2008) p. 61.

5. Rizzo & Rizzo Shoes Ltd. (Re), [1998] 1 S.C.R. 27 at para. 21 (citing Elmer A. Driedger, The Construction of Statutes, 2nd ed. (Toronto: Butterworths, 1983).

6. Constitution Act, R.S.B.C. 1996, c. 66, s. 23.

7. Election Act, R.S.O. 1990, C. 6, s. 9.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 32 no 1
2009






Last Updated: 2020-03-03

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Les élections à date fixe au Canada – Une loi à corriger
Adam Dodek

En 2008, le premier ministre a demandé la dissolution du Parlement. Cette dissolution a été acceptée, malgré l’adoption, en 2007, d’un projet de loi prévoyant des élections à date fixe tous les quatre ans. Aux termes de cette loi, la prochaine élection était prévue pour le 19 octobre 2009, mais elle a eu lieu le 14 octobre 2008. Le présent article porte sur cette mesure législative, notamment la question de savoir si celle-ci exige toujours la tenue d’élections en octobre prochain. L’article conclut que la mesure législative devrait être réexaminée.

Quand le premier ministre s’est rendu chez la gouverneure générale en septembre dernier pour lui demander de dissoudre le Parlement, il a clairement bafoué l’esprit de sa propre loi sur les élections à date fixe, qui prévoyait la tenue de la prochaine élection le 19 octobre 20091. Cette décision a déjà été commentée2, et les tribunaux en sont présentement saisis3. Le présent article porte sur une autre question : doit-on encore tenir une élection en 2009 même si on en a tenu une en octobre 2008? À mon avis, la réponse n’est pas claire, et le Parlement devrait la clarifier.

Le problème fondamental de la loi sur les élections à date fixe, c’est qu’elle ne tient pas directement compte d’une situation qui était prévisible, sinon probable : que le gouvernement minoritaire de Stephen Harper ne durerait pas jusqu’à la date prévue de l’élection en octobre 2009, soit 45 bons mois après son élection en janvier 2006. La durée moyenne des gouvernements minoritaires qui ont précédé celui de Stephen Harper est de 20 mois4. Quand le projet de loi C-16 prévoyant des élections à date fixe a été débattu à la Chambre, les députés ont beaucoup discuté de son application éventuelle en cas de gouvernement minoritaire, mais le projet de loi lui-même est muet sur cette question.

Le projet de loi C-16 modifie notamment la Loi électorale du Canada par l’adjonction des dispositions clés suivantes :

56.1 (1) Le présent article n’a pas pour effet de porter atteinte aux pouvoirs du gouverneur général, notamment celui de dissoudre le Parlement lorsqu’il le juge opportun.

(2) Sous réserve du paragraphe (1), les élections générales ont lieu le troisième lundi d’octobre de la quatrième année civile qui suit le jour du scrutin de la dernière élection générale, la première élection générale suivant l’entrée en vigueur du présent article devant avoir lieu le lundi 19 octobre 2009.

Après l’élection de 2008, on peut interpréter ce paragraphe de deux manières, chacune posant problème à sa façon. Cela étant dit, toute interprétation repose sur une analyse des trois dispositions composant le paragraphe 56.1(2) de la Loi : (1) toute date prévue est sujette aux pouvoirs de la gouverneure générale, c’est-à dire que cette dernière peut dissoudre le Parlement avant la date prévue; (2) chaque élection générale doit avoir lieu le troisième lundi d’octobre de la quatrième année civile qui suit le jour du scrutin de la dernière élection générale; (3) la première élection générale suivant l’entrée en vigueur du présent article doit avoir lieu le lundi 19 octobre 2009. Pour savoir si une élection est prévue pour ce jour-là, il faut déterminer si la première disposition modifie seulement la deuxième ou la deuxième et la troisième à la fois.

La « règle moderne » d’interprétation législative de Drieger est bien connue et a été adoptée par les tribunaux :

Aujourd’hui il n’y a qu’un seul principe ou solution : il faut lire les termes d’une loi dans leur contexte global en suivant le sens ordinaire et grammatical qui s’harmonise avec l’esprit de la loi, l’objet de la loi et l’intention du législateur5.

Toutefois, le problème typique de cette méthode d’interprétation moderne ou « contextuelle » est que, lorsque tous les éléments comptent, il est difficile de discerner ceux dont l’importance est déterminante. Et c’est le problème qui se présente ici.

On peut essentiellement interpréter de deux façons le projet de loi C-16 en ce qui concerne la date prévue des prochaines élections fédérales. J’appellerais la première interprétation « l’orthodoxie acceptée », selon laquelle on fait la supposition suivante : la date de la première élection à date fixe aurait été le 19 octobre 2009, mais, en exerçant son pouvoir de dissoudre le Parlement aux termes du paragraphe 56.1(1), la gouverneure générale a avancé et modifié cette date, de sorte que les prochaines élections à date fixe se tiendront maintenant dans quatre ans à compter du 14 octobre 2008, c’est-à-dire le 15 octobre 2012.

Cette interprétation donne la primauté aux deux premières dispositions tout en rendant la troisième – « la première élection générale suivant l’entrée en vigueur du présent article devant avoir lieu le lundi 19 octobre 2009 » – essentiellement inopérante. De fait, elle traite cette disposition comme si elle était périmée, bien que la date précisée ne soit pas encore passée.

La deuxième interprétation donne lieu à ce que j’appellerais « l’élection aberrante », parce qu’elle soulève le spectre d’une situation paradoxale : une élection inattendue dans un régime d’élections prétendument à date fixe. Cette interprétation rend crédible chacune des trois dispositions interdépendantes de ce code électoral inélégant, mais met l’accent sur le choix du 19 octobre 2009 comme date d’élection. Elle tente de donner un sens à chaque disposition (« la loi parle toujours » …) en supposant que la première disposition (« sous réserve que [la gouverneure générale exerce son pouvoir de dissoudre le Parlement plus tôt que prévu si elle le juge opportun] ») ne modifie que les mots « la première » de la troisième disposition. Elle met l’accent sur la mention, dans cette dernière, qu’une élection aura « lieu le lundi 19 octobre 2009 ». Cette élection ne serait pas la première – qui est modifiée par les interventions de la gouverneure générale –, mais, selon cette interprétation, le libellé de cette disposition aurait le plus de signification. Ensuite, à compter du 19 octobre 2009, la deuxième disposition – tous les quatre ans – qui est tenue en suspens par le « sous réserve du paragraphe (1) » jusqu’à la première date d’élection prévue – serait appliquée.

Ni l’une, ni l’autre de ces interprétations n’est particulièrement satisfaisante, et chacune illustre le problème qui se pose lorsqu’on tente de réunir deux types d’élection – prévues et non prévues – dans une seule disposition législative.

Selon l’une ou l’autre interprétation, il n’y aura plus de problème une fois que le 19 octobre 2009 sera passé, parce que cette disposition sera alors périmée. Mais que fait-on maintenant?

En examinant le hansard, on constate que les députés savaient très bien que le projet de loi n’empêcherait pas le premier ministre de demander une dissolution plus tôt que prévu. Les députés des deux côtés de la Chambre ont toutefois mal estimé ce qu’une telle demande pourrait coûter à un premier ministre sur le plan politique.

Il est malheureux que le Parlement n’ait pas tenu compte de ce problème prévisible. Le hansard ne traite pas directement de la situation dans laquelle nous nous trouvons actuellement, c’est-à-dire de la nécessité d’un mécanisme de transition qui tienne compte de l’éventualité d’une élection non prévue avant le jour de la première élection à date fixe. Toutefois, les débats de la Chambre des communes font référence à des lois de l’Ontario et de la Colombie-Britannique qui ont servi de modèle pour la loi fédérale, et elles sont instructives sur cette question.

La loi fédérale ressemble énormément à celle de la Colombie-Britannique, bien que cette dernière soit moins ambiguë. La principale disposition est rédigée comme suit6 :

(2)  Sous réserve du paragraphe (1), une élection générale doit avoir lieu le 17 mai 2005 et, par la suite, le deuxième mardi de mai de la quatrième année civile qui suit le jour du scrutin de la dernière élection générale.

Il n’est pas surprenant que le gouvernement majoritaire de Gordon Campbell n’ait pas prévu de mécanisme de transition précis pour le cas où le lieutenant-gouverneur dissoudrait l’Assemblée législative avant le jour prévu pour la première élection à date fixe. Il aurait été très surprenant qu’un gouvernement détenant 77 sièges sur 79 tombe volontairement ou par hasard avant cette date.

En revanche, les libéraux de M. McGuinty, en Ontario, ont prévu un tel mécanisme de transition explicite malgré une majorité confortable à l’Assemblée législative. La loi ontarienne sur les élections à date fixe prévoit les dispositions suivantes7 :

9.(1) Le présent article n’a aucune incidence sur les pouvoirs du lieutenant-gouverneur, y compris celui de dissoudre la Législature, par proclamation prise au nom de Sa Majesté, lorsque le lieutenant-gouverneur le juge opportun.

(2) Sous réserve des pouvoirs du lieutenant-gouverneur visés au paragraphe (1) :

a) une élection générale est tenue le jeudi 4 octobre 2007, à moins qu’une élection générale n’ait été tenue, après le jour où la Loi de 2005 modifiant des lois en ce qui concerne les élections reçoit la sanction royale mais avant le 4 octobre 2007, en raison de la dissolution de la Législature;

b) par la suite, des élections générales sont tenues le premier jeudi d’octobre de la quatrième année civile qui suit le jour du scrutin de la dernière élection générale.

L’alinéa 9(2)a) de cette loi énonce explicitement ce que tous pensent que la loi fédérale dit implicitement.

Quelle importance accorder à cela? Il est moins probable que les tribunaux imposent une élection à l’automne 2009 qu’ils déclarent la dernière élection inconstitutionnelle. Devrions-nous tout simplement ne tenir aucun compte du fait troublant qu’une mesure législative inscrite dans nos recueils de lois prévoit qu’une élection générale doit avoir lieu en octobre prochain et adhérer à l’orthodoxie acceptée? Devrions-nous rejeter l’interprétation de l’élection aberrante en invoquant le principe de l’absurdité?

Voici ce qui est significatif : un projet de loi qui devait établir des certitudes et raffermir la confiance de la population dans la politique a eu précisément l’effet contraire. Rédigé sciemment de manière vague et ambiguë, il illustre le problème qui se pose quand on tente de greffer un système d’élections à date fixe sur le régime parlementaire actuel.

À tout le moins, le Parlement devrait revoir et corriger cette loi mal faite sur les élections à date fixe. Il devrait la modifier de manière à ce que le jour de la première élection à date fixe soit en octobre 2012 et y inclure une disposition prévoyant un mécanisme de transition précis qui ressemble à celui de l’Ontario, afin de tenir compte de la possibilité, voire de la probabilité, que le Parlement soit dissous avant ce jour. En outre, cet exercice permettra aux députés de réexaminer la politique et l’application du concept des élections à date fixe qui, pour beaucoup, semblait être une bonne idée en théorie, mais qui, en pratique, ne semble pas bien fonctionner.

Notes

1. Loi modifiant la Loi électorale du Canada, L.C. 2007, ch. 10 (projet de loi C-16).

2. Voir Guy Tremblay, « L’élection de 2008 et la loi sur les élections à date fixe », Revue parlementaire canadienne, vol. 31, no 4 (hiver 2008-2009), p. 24-25.

3. Voir Conacher v. Canada (Prime Minister), 2008 CF 1119 (3 octobre 2008) (Dossier T-1500-08) (rejet d’une motion visant à accélérer l’audition d’une requête contestant la légalité des actions du premier ministre, du gouverneur en conseil et de la gouverneure générale qui ont abouti au déclenchement des élections le 14 octobre 2008).

4. Voir Peter Russell, Two Cheers for Minority Government, Toronto, Emond Montgomery Publications Limited, 2008, p. 61.

5. Rizzo & Rizzo Shoes Ltd. (Re), [1998] 1 R.C.S. 27, par. 21 (citation d’Elmer A. Drieger tirée de l’ouvrage The Construction of Statutes, 2e éd., Toronto, Butterworths, 1983).

6. Constitution Act, R.S.B.C. 1996, chap. 66, art. 23.

7. Loi électorale, L.R.O. 1990, chap. E.6, art. 9.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 32 no 1
2009






Dernière mise à jour : 2019-10-21