Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFranšais

PDF
The British Columbia/Washington State Partnership on Enhanced Driver's Licences
Premier Gordon Campbell; Governor Chris Gregoire

The Western Hemisphere Travel Initiative originally adopted in 2004 is a US policy requiring everyone entering or re-entering the United States to present a valid passport or other secure identity document. This article outlines steps taken by the province of British Columbia and the state of Washington to implement provisions of the WHTI by use of specially designed enhanced drivers license thereby facilitating trade and other relations between these neighbouring jurisdictions. 

The United States and Canada are longstanding allies and friends. We share social and cultural ties, transportation links, cultural references and ecosystems. Our countries have developed side by side, along similar but unique paths: two experiments in democracy and development unlike any other two nations on earth. 

The similarity in the relative strength and influence of our provincial and state governments also contributes to the opportunity for unique relations when we have the vision to seize them. Relations that between British Columbia and the State of Washington have never been stronger. 

British Columbia and Washington share a combined population of 10 million people, a GDP of almost $450 billion, and approximately $10 billion in bilateral trade. We also share close personal and family ties, with social and business connections that travel regularly across the border. 

Our governments have taken this close connection even further, and since 2005, Washington and British Columbia have worked to forge what is arguably the most successful formalized cross-border partnership network in North America, both multilateral and bilateral, with partners across our borders.  

These relationships help us identify and respond to common concerns and take advantage of common opportunities.  

Both British Columbia and Washington are strong supporters of and active participants in the Pacific NorthWest Economic Region. This bi-national, multilateral public-private partnership brings together legislators, private sector leaders and communities from the region to discuss how we can work together on shared priorities, such as open and secure borders, economic development, energy, environment, and trade. Member jurisdictions also include Alberta, Yukon, Alaska, Idaho, Montana, and Oregon. 

The Pacific NorthWest Economic Region's 2008 annual summit will take place in Vancouver, July 20-24. This occasion will showcase British Columbia and highlight top international priorities of jurisdictions in this region, including how we can strengthen security at the Canada-US border while ensuring smooth and open legitimate travel and trade; the challenges of labour mobility across borders in the face of aging workforces; the region’s role as gateway to the Asia Pacific, not only for North America, but also for western Europe; and the imperative of action on climate change, as climate change and greenhouse gas emissions respect no border. 

Through our involvement in the PNWER, Washington and British Columbia have successfully pursued priorities and achieved actionable results that span borders, build partnerships, and have driven national agendas—particularly to help support borders that are secure, but open to legitimate travel and trade. 

Washington and British Columbia have also established an important bilateral partnership through High Level Dialogues between the Governor and Premier and senior cabinet members. Over the past two years, our governments have reached agreements to collaborate to take action on climate change and Pacific Ocean conservation, to cap and significantly reduce greenhouse gas emissions, and collaborate on the innovation and implementation of clean technologies. We have improved passenger rail service between Vancouver, Washington, and Vancouver, B.C. And we are cooperating on border security and cross-border transportation, and are working to improve the marketing and physical infrastructure at the border for the NEXUS and FAST programs. 

We have jointly conceived, developed and implemented Enhanced Driver’s Licences as a valid alternative to passports at land and sea border crossings, which both our jurisdictions formally launched the week of January 21, 2008. 

The Enhanced Driver’s Licence project is not only an innovative response to a significant and potentially damaging federal policy change, it is also a paradigm of action by sub-national jurisdictions that can drive a national agenda through bilateral and multilateral cooperation and advocacy. 

This project was driven by the changing nature of our international border; conceived in a bilateral, cross-border forum; advocated and advanced in a cross-border partnership; and will benefit citizens by helping make our border more effective and efficient for them as they cross it. 

Beginning as early as January 2008, under requirements established by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security and Department of State, all U.S. citizens and foreign nationals will be required to present a passport or other documents that denote identity and citizenship when entering the United States by land or sea. The Western Hemisphere Travel Initiative (WHTI) is the Administration’s plan to implement this mandate. 

The potential impact of WHTI is significant. Up until recently, to cross the border by land, a traveller only required an oral declaration of citizenship. Since September 11, 2001, however, control at the border has tightened, constraining tourism, spontaneous travel, and contributing to a general thickening of the border that threatens to constrict trade, development and the growth of regional economies. 

With only an estimated 23 per cent of Americans and perhaps 55 per cent of Canadians holding passports, tourism and cross border travel was already down because of confusion surrounding passport requirements. Given the deep cultural ties, trade and tourism between Washington and British Columbia, we saw the need to create a boarder crossing card that met federal security requirements specified by WHTI, but was more cost effective for families than a passport. We felt this was especially important in light of the upcoming 2009 World Police and Fire Games in Washington and the 2010 Olympic and Paralympic Winter Games in Vancouver, B.C. 

The Peace Arch border crossing, between Surrey, B.C., and Blaine, Washington, is among the busiest border-crossings between Canada and the U.S. More than 32,000 vehicles pass cross the B.C.-Washington border every day, and more than 1.3 million trucks cross the B.C.-U.S. border each year. Moreover, a recent survey of B.C. and Washington truckers estimates border crossing congestion costs operators $60 million a year. 

In October, 2005, B.C. and Washington signed a Memorandum of Understanding to enhance trade opportunities and create stronger ties between the two jurisdictions. The Memorandum pledged that the two governments would work co-operatively on common goals in the areas of trade, the 2010 Olympic and Paralympic Winter Games, the environment, tourism, technology, education, and transportation. It also set out our intention to meet regularly to address issues of mutual importance. 

The first such meeting was held in June, 2006, as B.C. and Washington held our first High Level Dialogue: a full-day meeting of the Premier and Governor and our respective Cabinets. At that meeting, we co-signed a letter to President George W. Bush and Prime Minister Stephen Harper expressing concerns about the impact of WHTI on cross-border tourism. 

We stated clearly that while we supported ensuring our border is secure from threats, B.C. and Washington depend on the free flow of goods and people across the border and the continued uncertainty over the passport requirements was already having a negative impact on cross-border tourism. We expressed our belief there are more effective ways to ensure security, and we invited both federal governments to work with us to pursue those options. 

Starting from this first High Level Dialogue, B.C. and Washington have been working together on a range of issues to support secure borders open to legitimate trade and travel, and it was at this meeting that the Enhanced Driver’s Licence was first proposed as a joint initiative to address the potential impact of WHTI. 

WHTI specifically states U.S. Canada, Mexico and Bermuda citizens must have a passport “or other secure document” in order to cross the border. Since most Washington and B.C. residents carry a valid driver license, our goal was to find a way to increase security of our driver licenses so they could double as boarder crossing documents. 

Since that first High Level Dialogue in Vancouver in 2006—and subsequently at the second in Seattle in 2007— B.C. and Washington have collaborated on the development of our respective programs 

We compared the Washington driver’s license security features with British Columbia’s and discovered we both referred to the American Association of Motor Vehicles Administrators Security Framework as a standard to incorporate in our issuance policies, card security features, appearance and card stock.  

Working together, we developed Enhanced Driver Licenses to keep the British Columbia-Washington border crossings secure, fast, and convenient for our citizens. 

The Enhanced Driver’s Licence is a voluntary program. For issuance, applicants bring documentation to their jurisdiction’s licensing authority that proves their citizenship, residency and identity.  Each Enhanced Driver’s Licence is embedded with a Radio Frequency Identification (RFID) chip inside the license. RFID is a wireless technology that retrieves data remotely. 

This information technology solution allows the U.S. Customs and Border Protection Agency to electronically scan Washington state and British Columbia driver licenses and identification cards when entering the U.S. from Canada. This technology also allows border agents to scan machine readable information on the license and obtain instant verification of the card’s authenticity and validity. 

Our two jurisdictions have also worked in tandem to advocate with the US and Canadian federal governments through organizations such as PNWER to advance development and acceptance of the Enhanced Driver’s Licence. 

The Edmonton PNWER summit in July 2006 included Homeland Security Secretary Michael Chertoff and Canada’s Minister of Public Safety Stockwell Day. Border issues and the impact of WHTI were roundly discussed and the proposal of Enhanced Driver’s Licences as a potential solution was advanced. Both federal representatives returned from Edmonton to their respective capitals with clear messaging that governments need to address the impact of WHTI, that PNWER jurisdictions were pressing for action, and that two jurisdictions—British Columbia and Washington—were driving ahead towards a pilot project. 

In November of that year, at the PNWER winter meeting, we continued our advocacy with US diplomatic staff and federal officials. The winter of 2007, as PNWER leaders tour the provincial and state capitals as well as the federal capitals, was a further opportunity to press state governments for support and federal governments for agreement and action. 

By March 2007, Washington State had signed an agreement with the U.S. Department of Homeland Security for a project to enable the Enhanced Driver’s Licence in the state. This agreement was the decisive moment in the pursuit of the Enhanced Driver’s Licence as a potential solution to border congestion. It was a clear signal the enhanced driver’s licence was more than a concept or wish: It was a legitimate contender in a new, responsive approach to effective border management. 

In July 2007, at the PNWER annual summit, border issues were again a policy priority at PNWER and both Washington and B.C. used the forum to press for further action on Enhanced Drivers Licences and a more responsive, citizen-centred approach to border management. 

Now, by January 2008, both BC and Washington have launched the first Enhanced Driver’s Licence programs in North America. British Columbia’s pilot project was over-subscribed within just over 48 hours, and Washington received some 4,000 applications and had issued 400 EDLs within about one week of announcing. 

This powerful public response may have surprised some, though both Washington and B.C. anticipated it would be welcome by a general public that is accustomed to seeing the border as little more than a formality in most cases. 

But the appeal of the enhanced driver’s licence does not stop in B.C. and Washington. Ontario, Quebec, Yukon and Manitoba in Canada are also working actively to develop their own enhanced driver’s licences. In the U.S., Arizona, Vermont, and New York have signed agreements with the Department of Homeland Security similar to Washington’s. 

This one idea, from a bilateral, cross-border meeting, advocated and developed through bilateral and multilateral cross-border engagement, has spread and set an agenda in two nations, and driven national action. It has also tapped into a fundamental need of our citizenry: that our borders should not be an impermeable, thick barrier that separates and constricts our lives and our livelihoods, but an effective tool that addresses our mutual security concerns and that is responsive to our citizens, open to legitimate travel and trade. 

Through programs like the enhanced driver’s licence and other cross-border initiatives, we are not only building a better future for Washington and British Columbia families, but we are sharing our successes with other premiers and governors who may also choose to make their state a great place to live and ensure their residents may continue to enjoy the freedoms to which they are accustomed. 

That demonstrates what border regions can achieve when they identify mutual priorities and collaborate across the border to achieve objectives of national importance. We need to recognize the strength that is present in our midst, and the symbolic strength of collaborating across borders. 


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 31 no 1
2008






Last Updated: 2019-11-29

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Le partenariet Colombie-Britannique – État de Washington sur les permis de conduire améliorés
Gordon Campbell; Chris Gregoire

L'Initiative relative aux voyages dans l'hémisphère occidental (IVHO), adoptée en 2004, est une loi américaine exigeant que toute personne qui entre ou retourne aux États-Unis présente un passeport valide ou une autre pièce d'identité sûre. L'article donne un aperçu des mesures prises par la province de la Colombie-Britannique et l'État de Washington pour appliquer l'IVHO, notamment l'adoption d'un permis de conduire amélioré, spécialement conçu pour faciliter le commerce et les relations entre leurs territoires voisins. 

Les États-Unis et le Canada sont alliés et amis depuis longtemps. Nous avons en commun des liens sociaux et culturels, des voies de communication, des références culturelles et des écosystèmes. Nos pays se sont développés côte à côte, en suivant des voies semblables, mais propres à chacun : deux expériences de démocratie et de développement, uniques au monde. 

Les ressemblances entre la puissance et l'influence relatives des gouvernements de Washington et de Colombie- Britannique nous donnent l'occasion de développer des relations uniques lorsque nous avons l'intelligence d'en profiter. En effet, les relations entre nous n'ont jamais été aussi fortes. 

La Colombie-Britannique et le Washington réunis ont une population de 10 millions d'habitants, un PIB de presque 450 milliards de dollars et un commerce bilatéral de quelque 10 milliards. Nous avons aussi tissé des liens d'amitié et de parenté : nos habitants franchissent régulièrement la frontière par plaisir ou pour affaires. 

Nos gouvernements ont intensifié cette relation étroite. Depuis 2005, l'État de Washington et la Colombie-Britannique s'emploient à créer un réseau structuré de partenariats transfrontaliers qui est peut-être le plus efficace en Amérique du Nord. Il s'agit d'un réseau tant multilatéral que bilatéral dont les partenaires sont situés de part et d'autre de la frontière. 

Ces relations nous aident à mieux cerner et résoudre nos préoccupations mutuelles ainsi qu'à profiter d'occasions communes. 

La Colombie-Britannique et l'État de Washington sont tous deux d'ardents partisans et protagonistes de la Pacific NorthWest Economic Region (PNWER). Ce partenariat public-privé, binational et multilatéral réunit des législateurs, des dirigeants du secteur privé et des collectivités de la région pour discuter des façons d'aborder ensemble nos priorités communes – frontières ouvertes et sûres, développement économique, énergie, environnement, commerce, etc. L'Alberta, le Yukon, et les États de l'Alaska, de l'Idaho, du Montana et de l'Oregon font aussi partie de cet organisme. 

L'édition 2008 du sommet annuel de la PNWER aura lieu à Vancouver du 20 au 24 juillet. En plus de servir de vitrine à la Colombie-Britannique, le sommet mettra l'accent sur les priorités internationales des gouvernements de la région du Nord-Ouest du Pacifique. On y traitera notamment des moyens de renforcer la sécurité à la frontière canado-américaine, tout en facilitant le commerce et les déplacements transfrontaliers légitimes; des problèmes de mobilité transfrontalière de la main-d'œuvre qui sont liés au vieillissement des travailleurs; du rôle de la région comme porte d'entrée vers l'Asie-Pacifique, non seulement pour l'Amérique du Nord, mais aussi pour l'Europe occidentale; de la nécessité d'agir face aux changements climatiques, car ceux-ci et les émissions de gaz à effet de serre font fi des frontières. 

Dans le cadre de la PNWER, l'État de Washington et la Colombie-Britannique ont poursuivi leurs objectifs prioritaires avec succès et obtenu des résultats débouchant sur des actions qui ont dépassé les frontières, créé des partenariats et inspiré des programmes nationaux – en particulier pour que les frontières soient sûres, mais ouvertes aux activités commerciales et aux déplacements légitimes. 

L'État de Washington et la Colombie-Britannique ont aussi établi un important partenariat bilatéral grâce à des dialogues de haut niveau entre la gouverneure et le premier ministre et leurs principaux ministres. Au cours des deux dernières années, nos gouvernements ont conclu divers accords, pour collaborer à la lutte contre les changements climatiques et à la conservation de l'océan Pacifique, plafonner et réduire sensiblement les émissions de gaz à effet de serre, et collaborer à la création et à la mise en place de technologies propres. Nous avons amélioré le service ferroviaire passagers entre Vancouver (Washington) et Vancouver (Colombie- Britannique), nous coopérons sur les questions de sécurité frontalière et de transport transfrontalier et nous nous employons à améliorer la commercialisation et les infrastructures des programmes NEXUS et FAST à la frontière. 

Nous avons conçu, mis au point et instauré conjointement des permis de conduire améliorés, qui ont été lancés officiellement par nos deux gouvernements durant la semaine du 21 janvier 2008 et qui peuvent remplacer le passeport comme pièce d'identité valide aux postes frontaliers maritimes ou terrestres. 

Le projet de permis de conduire améliorés ne constitue pas seulement une réponse innovatrice à un changement de politique fédérale important et potentiellement dommageable. Il illustre aussi le genre d'interventions que des gouvernements infranationaux peuvent réaliser pour susciter un programme national, par la collaboration bilatérale et multilatérale et des initiatives de sensibilisation. 

L'évolution de notre frontière internationale est à l'origine de ce projet, conçu lors d'un forum bilatéral transfrontalier, et proposé et défendu par un partenariat transfrontalier. Les citoyens en profiteront, grâce à une efficacité et une efficience accrues des contrôles à la frontière.  

Depuis janvier 2008, pour satisfaire aux exigences du département de la Sécurité et du département d'État des États-Unis, tous les citoyens américains et les ressortissants étrangers doivent présenter un passeport ou d'autres pièces indiquant leur identité et leur citoyenneté à leur entrée aux États-Unis par voie maritime ou terrestre. L'IVHO constitue le moyen conçu par l'Administration pour remplir ce mandat. 

L'impact potentiel de l'IVHO est important. Récemment encore, pour franchir la frontière par voie terrestre, le voyageur n'avait qu'à déclarer oralement sa citoyenneté. Depuis le 11 septembre 2001, on a resserré les mesures de contrôle à la frontière, ce qui a nui au tourisme et aux voyages spontanés et rendu la frontière trop imperméable, ce qui risque de freiner le commerce, le développement et la croissance des économies régionales. 

Il n'y aurait que 23 p. 100 de détenteurs de passeport aux États-Unis et peut-être 55 p. 100 au Canada. Le tourisme et les déplacements transfrontaliers avaient déjà chuté avec l'incertitude à propos du passeport. Compte tenu des liens culturels, commerciaux et touristiques de longue date entre l'État de Washington et la Colombie-Britannique, nous avons constaté qu'il fallait créer une carte pour franchir la frontière qui réponde aux normes fédérales de sécurité prévues par l'IVHO, mais qui serait plus économique pour les familles qu'un passeport. Nous étions d'avis qu'il était particulièrement important de le faire avec la tenue prochaine des Jeux mondiaux des policiers et pompiers de 2009, dans l'État de Washington, et des Jeux olympiques et paralympiques d'hiver de 2010, à Vancouver. 

Le poste frontalier Peace Arch, entre Surrey (Colombie-Britannique) et Blaine (Washington), est un des postes frontaliers canado-américains les plus achalandés. Plus de 32 000 véhicules franchissent la frontière Colombie-Britannique-Washington quotidiennement, et plus de 1,3 million de camions franchissent celle entre la Colombie-Britannique et les É. U. chaque année. Et, selon un sondage récent, les camionneurs de la Colombie-Britannique et du Washington estiment que la congestion à la frontière coûte 60 millions de dollars par année aux opérateurs. 

En octobre 2005, la Colombie-Britannique et l'État de Washington ont signé un protocole d'entente afin de faciliter le commerce et de renforcer les liens entre les deux territoires. Les deux gouvernements s'y engagent à collaborer à la réalisation de leurs objectifs communs dans divers domaines : commerce, Jeux olympiques et paralympiques d'hiver de 2010, environnement, tourisme, technologie, éducation et transports. Le protocole indique également notre intention de nous réunir régulièrement pour discuter des enjeux d'importance mutuelle. 

La première réunion a eu lieu en juin 2006 : la Colombie-Britannique et l'État de Washington ont alors tenu leur premier dialogue de haut niveau, une réunion d'une journée à laquelle participaient le premier ministre, la gouverneure et leurs cabinets respectifs. Une lettre y a été cosignée, dans laquelle nous exprimons au président George W. Bush et au premier ministre Stephen Harper nos inquiétudes au sujet de l'impact de l'IVHO sur le tourisme transfrontalier. 

Nous avons indiqué clairement que, tout en convenant de la nécessité de protéger notre frontière contre les menaces, la Colombie-Britannique et l'État de Washington étaient tributaires de la libre circulation des marchandises et des personnes, et que l'incertitude au sujet des passeports avait déjà eu un effet négatif sur le tourisme transfrontalier. Nous avons fait valoir qu'il y avait des façons plus efficaces d'assurer notre sécurité et invité les deux gouvernements fédéraux à examiner ces options avec nous. 

Dès ce premier dialogue, la Colombie-Britannique et l'État de Washington ont travaillé de concert sur divers dossiers pour que la frontière soit à la fois sûre et ouverte au commerce et aux déplacements légitimes. C'est à cette occasion que la création du permis de conduire amélioré a été proposée à titre de projet conjoint en réaction aux répercussions éventuelles de l'IVHO. 

L'Initiative précise que les citoyens des États-Unis, du Canada, du Mexique et des Bermudes doivent être munis d'un passeport « ou d'un autre document sûr » pour franchir la frontière. La plupart des habitants du Washington et de la Colombie-Britannique ayant un permis de conduire valide, notre but consistait à trouver une façon de le rendre plus sûr afin qu'il puisse servir aussi de pièce d'identité à la frontière. 

Depuis ce premier dialogue de haut niveau, tenu à Vancouver en 2006, et le deuxième, organisé à Seattle en 2007, la Colombie-Britannique et l'État de Washington ont collaboré à la mise sur pied de leurs programmes respectifs. 

Nous avons comparé les dispositifs de sécurité des permis de conduire du Washington et de la Colombie-Britannique et découvert que nous avions tous les deux adopté les normes de sécurité de l'American Association of Motor Vehicles Administrators pour les règles de délivrance, les dispositifs de sécurité et l'aspect de nos cartes ainsi que le matériel utilisé pour leur fabrication. 

Ensemble, nous avons créé des permis de conduire améliorés pour que les déplacements de nos citoyens entre nos deux territoires demeurent sécuritaires, rapides et commodes. 

La participation à ce programme est facultative. Ceux qui veulent obtenir le permis de conduire amélioré n'ont qu'à présenter des documents confirmant leur citoyenneté, leur lieu de résidence et leur identité au service chargé de délivrer les permis. Chaque permis contient une puce d'identification par radio-fréquence (IRF). L'IRF est une technologie sans fil qui extrait des données à distance. 

Cette solution technologique permet aux agents de la U.S. Customs and Border Protection Agency de faire un balayage électronique des permis de conduire et des cartes d'identité des citoyens de l'État de Washington ou de la Colombie- Britannique à leur entrée aux États-Unis depuis le Canada. Cela permet également aux agents de faire un balayage des données exploitables par une machine et de vérifier instantanément l'authenticité et la validité de la carte. 

Nos deux gouvernements ont aussi collaboré, par le truchement d'organismes comme la PNWER, afin de promouvoir, auprès des gouvernements fédéraux des États-Unis et du Canada, la mise au point et l'approbation du permis de conduire amélioré. 

En juillet 2006, à Edmonton, ont notamment participé au sommet de la PNWER le secrétaire de la Sécurité intérieure, Michael Chertoff, et le ministre canadien de la Sécurité publique, Stockwell Day. Les enjeux frontaliers et l'impact de l'IVHO ont fait l'objet d'une discussion franche, et le permis de conduire amélioré a été proposé comme solution possible. Chaque représentant fédéral est retourné dans sa capitale avec des messages clairs : les gouvernements devaient agir en prévision des répercussions de l'IVHO, les membres de la PNWER les pressaient d'agir, et deux gouvernements – la Colombie-Britannique et l'État de Washington – allaient de l'avant avec un projet pilote. 

En novembre de la même année, à la réunion d'hiver de la PNWER, nous avons continué à tenter de sensibiliser les diplomates et les fonctionnaires fédéraux américains. À l'hiver de 2007, alors que les leaders de la PNWER visitaient les capitales des provinces et des États ainsi que les capitales fédérales, nous en avons aussi profité pour exhorter de nouveau les gouvernements des États à nous appuyer et les gouvernements fédéraux à approuver notre projet et à agir. 

En mars 2007, l'État de Washington a signé une entente avec le département de la Sécurité intérieure des États-Unis pour lancer un projet d'utilisation d'un permis de conduire amélioré sur son territoire. La signature de cet accord a constitué un moment décisif dans les efforts pour faire approuver le permis de conduire amélioré comme solution possible à la congestion frontalière. C'était un signal clair que ce permis était plus qu'un concept ou un souhait : c'était désormais un élément valable d'une nouvelle approche souple à la gestion efficace de la frontière. 

En juillet 2007, au sommet annuel de la PNWER, les questions frontalières étaient encore une priorité. L'État de Washington et la Colombie-Britannique ont profité de cette tribune pour réclamer d'autres mesures dans le dossier des permis de conduire améliorés et une approche de la gestion de la frontière qui soit plus souple et axée sur les besoins des citoyens. 

En janvier 2008, nos deux gouvernements ont donné le coup d'envoi aux premiers programmes de permis de conduire améliorés (PCA) en Amérique du Nord, et la réponse du public a été très forte. À peine 48 heures après son lancement, le projet pilote de la Colombie-Britannique comptait déjà trop de participants, et l'État de Washington avait reçu quelque 4 000 inscriptions et délivré 400 PCA environ une semaine après l'annonce de son programme. 

Cette forte réaction en a peut-être surpris certains, même si l'État de Washington et la Colombie-Britannique avaient prévu que le permis serait bien accueilli par un public largement habitué à considérer la frontière comme une simple formalité. 

Toutefois, ce permis de conduire n'a pas séduit que la Colombie-Britannique et l'État de Washington. Au Canada, l'Ontario, le Québec, le Yukon et le Manitoba ont déjà commencé à mettre au point leurs propres permis. Aux États-Unis, l'Arizona, le Vermont et le New York ont signé des ententes semblables à celles de l'État de Washington avec le département de la Sécurité intérieure. 

Cette idée, issue d'une réunion transfrontalière bilatérale, défendue et développée grâce aux efforts d'un organisme transfrontalier bilatéral et multilatéral, s'est répandue et a donné lieu à un programme dans deux pays et suscité des mesures nationales. Par ailleurs, elle s'inspirait d'un besoin fondamental de nos citoyens : la frontière ne doit pas être une barrière épaisse et imperméable qui nous sépare les uns des autres, qui nous complique la vie et nos moyens d'existence; elle doit plutôt constituer un outil efficace qui tienne compte de nos préoccupations communes en matière de sécurité, réponde aux besoins de la population et facilite les voyages et le commerce légitimes. 

Des programmes comme celui du permis de conduire amélioré et d'autres initiatives transfrontalières nous permettent de bâtir un meilleur avenir pour les familles de l'État de Washington et de la province de la Colombie-Britannique, mais aussi d'en faire profiter d'autres premiers ministres et gouverneurs qui pourront décider, eux aussi, de faire de leur territoire un endroit où il fait vraiment bon vivre et prendre des mesures pour que leurs citoyens continuent de jouir des libertés auxquelles ils sont habitués. 

Par ailleurs, ces programmes montrent ce que les régions frontalières peuvent accomplir lorsqu'elles définissent leurs priorités communes et collaborent, de part et d'autre de la ligne de démarcation, à la réalisation d'objectifs d'importance nationale. Nous devons reconnaître la force qui est la nôtre et la force symbolique qu'est la collaboration transfrontalière.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 31 no 1
2008






Dernière mise à jour : 2018-07-31