Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFranšais

PDF
What the Parliament Buildings Mean to Me
Audrey Moore

Despite the cynicism many people have about politics and politicians, the buildings that house our parliamentary institutions are still held with great affection in the hearts of many Canadians. This article demonstrates the fondness with which people look upon these buildings. 

Few people who have come to Ottawa have not seen them. They stand in a breathtaking setting, atop limestone cliffs overlooking the junction of the Rideau Canal and the Ottawa River. They are captivating in every season: in the rich golds, oranges and reds of the fall; when the earth is softly blanketed by winter’s snow; amongst the young green leaves of spring and when the weather is hot and hazy in our all too brief Canadian summer. They are Gothic revival in style, they are etched in our consciousness, they are the seat of democracy. They are Canada’s Parliament Buildings.  

They are on my list of favourite architecture, and I relish showing them to others. With childlike enthusiasm I bring visitors to tour the Hill, attend special occasions like Canada Day and to take in the twinkle of holiday lights and cheerful decorations at Christmas. Sometimes in the summer, I pop into the grounds to throw pennies in the Centennial Flame’s fountain, take a peek at the beautiful flowers, and occasionally reacquaint myself with the statues of the Fathers of Confederation, Prime Ministers and royalty. I must confess that I have a particular fondness for the statue of Queen Victoria, sceptre in hand and a lion at her feet, who as legend has it, made the following decision with a map and hatpin:1 

I am commanded by the Queen to inform you, wrote Henry Labouchère of Downing Street, London in a letter dated December 31, 1857 to Governor General Sir Edmund Walker Head, that in the judgement of Her Majesty, the City of Ottawa combines greater advantages than any other place in Canada for the permanent Seat of the future Government of the Province and is selected by Her Majesty accordingly.2 

By Imperial Command, this small lumber town was destined for greatness. The handsome sum of $480,000 was made available to construct a legislative building and two departmental structures to house the government. From a prestigious nation wide competition, two groups of architects were selected – one group to design the Centre Block (the legislative building) and the other the East and West Block (the two departmental structures). Queen Victoria’s son, the future Edward the Seventh laid the cornerstone for the Centre Block on September 1, 1860, and when the new Dominion Parliament held its first session in 1867, these Gothic buildings were near completion.3  

Most of us are too young to remember the original Centre Block with its ornate Victoria Tower. In the midst of World War 1, on the night of February 3, 1916, it was destroyed by fire. Canada’s Prime Minister, Sir Robert Borden, who was in the building at the time, managed to escape – others were not so fortunate. Fierce were the flames, and lost in them were government documents, the Mace of the House of Commons and portraits of royalty. Today, all that remains of the original Centre Block is the magnificent Library of Parliament (thanks to a quick-witted person who shut its doors preventing the spread of the fire) and the bell of the Victoria Tower. Luckily, the East and West Blocks were unharmed. 

They rebuilt the Centre Block. Modern Gothic revival in style, constructed out of Nepean sandstone4, 144 metres long, 75 metres deep and six stories high, it is one of Canada’s architectural jewels. Its focal point is famous – the majestic 92.2 meters high Peace Tower, with its four-faced clock and carillon of 53 bells – built to commemorate Canada’s contribution to the First World War. 

We come here to remember. When former Prime Minister Pierre Trudeau died in September 2000, Canadians of all ages, from all walks of life and all political persuasions, came here to say farewell. Fittingly, Parliament adjourned in his honour. The Peace Tower’s bells fell silent, its Canadian flag at half mast. September’s sunshine fell on roses and messages strewn around the Centennial flame. The tributes from all across the nation were personal and poignant. Perhaps, God will be pleased to have someone to converse with someone wrote5. And wherever we were in this immense land, it seemed that our hearts and minds were on the Hill, as we realized that a great and colourful chapter in Canadian history had ended. 

I believe that Canada has been given a destiny: to be a country of acceptance and forgiveness, a country that is rich in resources and people, but also limitless in dreams.
If we are alive as a country to all the possibilities that make us unique, then Canadians truly have something to celebrate not only on this July the First, but always. 
(Adrienne Clarkson, Governor General of Canada, July 1, 2000) 

We come here to celebrate. Bonne Fête Canada! Laughter and chatter fill these lawns, every year on July the First, as Canadians from all over the country converge here for Canada Day. 

To the lofty strains of O Canada, and with the Governor General, Prime Minister and a host of other dignitaries in attendance, Parliament Hill hosts the nation for Canada’s birthday party. At this informal, fun-filled occasion, patriotism abounds – an explosion of Canadian flags turns the hill into a sea of red and white; Canada’s best entertain a large family of 100,000 Canadians camped out for the festivities on the lush summer grass, and as a grande finale, a dazzling display of fireworks lights up the Peace Tower and Ottawa’s night sky. 

But if you come here when the leaves turn, and the summer’s tourists are gone for another year, you will find that this place does not have time for nostalgia – it gears up for work! Parliament is about to reconvene, MPs and Senators converge on the Hill, to introduce bills, debate them and turn them into law. For here, our voices are heard – they are Canada’s Parliament Buildings and the site of the nation’s government. 

Since 1867 echoes of history are everywhere. 

  • It was in the House of Commons in 1872 that the construction of Canada’s Pacific railway erupted into a scandal for Sir John A. MacDonald’s Government. 
  • A defiant Winston Churchill addressed the House on December 30, 1941, three weeks after the Japanese bombing of Pearl Harbour. 
  • It was here, in 1963, that John Diefenbaker fought to keep the Red Ensign as our national flag. 
  • On Friday October 16, 1970 Pierre Trudeau announced that the Government had invoked the War Measures Act to deal with the FLQ crisis. 
  • Government and opposition members paid tribute on June 29, 1981 to a brave young man named Terry Fox who ran across Canada to raise money for cancer, to which he eventually succumbed. 
  • It was at a Joint Sitting of the Senate and the House of Commons on September 24, 1998, President Nelson Mandela of South Africa thanked Canadians for the opportunity to make a second visit to a people that have made our aspirations their own, and who have insisted that the rights which the world declares to be universal should also be the rights of all South Africans. 
  • Here, the House observed a moment of silence for the women, men and children in America who never came home on September 11, 2001. 

Throughout the fall, winter and spring, from the visitors' galleries in the House of Commons and the Senate we have the opportunity to see a wonderful cast of Canadians – our MPs and Senators at work. It is worth making a trip here to see Parliament in action! And when summer days come again, the curtain comes down on the national stage, Parliament adjourns, and MPs and Senators head home. If you visit these two empty Chambers during these months, you will find that they are compelling in their own way.  

Stand just inside the entrance to the House of Commons, and you are immediately struck by the serenity of this green decorated Chamber. The House itself is divided by a centre aisle, on each side of the aisle are MPs chairs. The Speaker of the House’s Chair lies at the north end of the Chamber, on its left stands the Canadian flag. Above you on the west, east and north walls, sunlight dances through 12 magnificent stained glass windows adorned with the floral emblems of the provinces and territories reminding you of the vast land that is governed from here; and if you linger in the ethereal silence, you can almost feel the presence of great Canadians who have gone before. 

Nowhere is the presence of the Crown more keenly felt than in the Senate Chamber. Resplendent in red, with glittering chandeliers hanging from a gilded ceiling, it has a regal air to it. Here the Speaker’s Chair sits in front of the Throne Chairs reminding you that kings, queens and governors general traditionally open Parliament. But the opulence of the Senate is tempered by an aura of humility arising from paintings on its walls. They depict scenes from World War One – a haunting reminder of what misuse of power can lead to. 

Endlessly enchanting through the circle of the seasons, I have come up to the Hill to see these lawns sprinkled with the first crocuses of a gentle Ottawa spring, during the lazy days of summer to watch the Changing of the Guard, in the crisp fall air to see the trees in full glory, and to see Parliament beautifully floodlit late on a winter’s night. 

“Impressive, aren’t they?” said a voice behind me. It was a summer’s eve, and the voice belonged to an elderly gentleman, who saw me transfixed by these great Gothic masterpieces, now romantically softened by a pink and amber sky. He added that it made him proud to be a Canadian. 

These buildings are a constant in our lives – our past, present and future are inextricably linked with them. Our story as a nation continues to be written here – an epic tale – one of a vast, beautiful land from the Pacific to the Arctic to the Atlantic; of a country rich with cultural diversity; of people with determination, endurance and resilience; of a place of hope, peace, and progress, and of a nation that is one of the greatest democracies in the world. 

They are majestic, magical, magnificent – they are Canada’s Parliament Buildings. 

Notes 

1. This tale originates from Pax Britannica by James Morris. Historical documentation shows that the choice of Ottawa was well thought out. 

2. Letter to Governor General Sir Edmund Walker Head from Henry Labouchère, Downing Street, London, December 31, 1857. Tabled March 16, 1858, in Journal of the Legislative Assembly of the Province of Canada. (1858) 

3. The library took another nine years to finish. 

4.T he interior of the Centre Block is largely Tyndall limestone from Manitoba. The exterior of the Centre Block is sandstone from Nepean, Ontario. 

5. From the article Roses, Tributes, Tears: Canada Begins to Grieve The Saturday Star Saturday, September 30, 2000. Quotation by Lois Scott Christensen.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 30 no 2
2007






Last Updated: 2018-07-31

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Réflexions sur les édifices du Parlement
Audrey Moore

La politique et les politiciens ont beau inspirer du cynisme, un grand nombre de Canadiens continuent, malgré tout, de porter une grande affection aux édifices qui abritent leurs institutions parlementaires. L’auteure tente d’expliquer ici l’affection pour ces édifices. 

Rares sont les personnes qui sont venues à Ottawa sans les avoir vus. Ils se dressent dans un décor magnifique, au bord des falaises de calcaire surplombant la jonction du canal Rideau et de la rivière des Outaouais. Ils sont splendides en toutes saisons : dans les riches coloris dorés, orangés et rougeoyants de l’automne, quand la terre se couvre d’un paisible manteau blanc, à travers le feuillage naissant du printemps et dans la chaleur accablante du trop court été canadien. De style néo-gothique, ils sont gravés dans notre esprit. Ce sont les édifices du Parlement canadien, assise de la démocratie. 

Ils constituent, à mes yeux, des joyaux architecturaux que je ne me lasse pas de montrer aux autres. C’est avec un enthousiasme juvénile que j’amène parents et amis visiter la Colline du Parlement, assister à des événements spéciaux comme la fête du Canada et admirer le scintillement des lumières et décorations de Noël. L’été, il m’arrive parfois d’aller jeter des sous noirs dans la fontaine de la Flamme du centenaire ou d’admirer les magnifiques parterres de fleurs, et même, à l’occasion, de retourner voir les statues des Pères de la Confédération, des premiers ministres et de la royauté. J’affectionne tout particulièrement celle de la reine Victoria, le sceptre à la main et un lion à ses pieds. Selon la légende, elle aurait pris la décision suivante avec une carte et une épingle à chapeau1

J’ai reçu ordre de la Reine de vous informer, écrit Henry Labouchère, de Downing Street, Londres, dans une lettre datée du 31 décembre 1857 au gouverneur général, sir Edmund Walker Head, que de l’avis de Sa Majesté, la ville d’Ottawa réunit plus d’avantages que tout autre endroit au Canada pour abriter le siège permanent du futur gouvernement de la province et est par conséquent choisie par Sa Majesté2

Un ordre impérial venait de sceller la noble destinée de cette petite ville forestière. Une somme impressionnante de 480 000 $ fut affectée à la construction d’un édifice législatif et de deux immeubles ministériels devant loger le gouvernement. À l’issue d’un prestigieux concours lancé à l’échelle du pays, deux groupes d’architectes furent retenus — un pour dessiner l’édifice du Centre (l’édifice législatif) et l’autre pour les édifices de l’Est et de l’Ouest (les deux immeubles ministériels). Le fils de la reine Victoria, qui allait devenir Édouard VII, posa la première pierre de l’édifice du Centre le 1er septembre 1860. Quand le nouveau Parlement du Dominion tint sa première session en 1867, les édifices gothiques étaient presque terminés 3

Nous sommes, pour la plupart, trop jeunes pour nous rappeler l’édifice du Centre original, avec sa tour Victoria très ornée. Le soir du 3 février 1916, en pleine Première Guerre mondiale, un incendie le détruisit. Le premier ministre de l’époque, sir Robert Borden, put échapper aux flammes mais d’autres n’eurent pas cette chance. Les flammes violentes brûlèrent des documents du gouvernement, la masse de la Chambre des communes et des portraits de la royauté. Tout ce qui reste aujourd’hui de l’édifice du Centre original est la magnifique Bibliothèque du Parlement (préservée grâce à la vivacité d’esprit d’une personne qui ferma les portes et empêcha la propagation de l’incendie) et la cloche de la tour Victoria. Heureusement, les édifices de l’Est et de l’Ouest ne furent pas touchés. 

L’édifice du Centre fut reconstruit en style néo-gothique moderne. En grès de Nepean4, faisant 144 mètres de long, 75 mètres de profond et six étages de haut, c’est un fleuron de l’architecture canadienne. Son point de mire est la majestueuse Tour de la Paix, haute de 92,2 mètres, avec son horloge à quatre faces et son carillon de 53 cloches, qu’on érigea pour commémorer la contribution du Canada à la Première Guerre mondiale. 

C’est un lieu de souvenir. À la mort de l’ex-premier ministre Trudeau, en septembre 2000, des Canadiens de tous les âges, de tous les rangs et de toutes les allégeances sont venus lui dire adieu. Le Parlement s’est ajourné en son honneur, les cloches de la Tour de la Paix se sont tues et le drapeau canadien a été mis en berne. Des roses et des messages ont été déposés autour de la Flamme du centenaire qui ruisselait sous le soleil de septembre. Les messages, personnels et touchants, venaient des quatre coins du pays. Dieu sera peut-être content d’avoir quelqu’un avec qui converser, a écrit une personne5. Peu importe où nous étions alors dans cet immense pays, nous avions l’impression que notre cœur et notre esprit étaient sur la Colline, conscients qu’un chapitre important et coloré de l’histoire canadienne venait de prendre fin. 

Je crois que le Canada a un destin; celui d’être un pays d’acceptation et d’indulgence, un pays riche en ressources et en humanité, mais aussi un pays aux rêves illimités. Si, en tant que peuple, nous sommes sensibles à toutes les possibilités qui nous rendent uniques, alors les Canadiens ont vraiment de quoi célébrer. Pas seulement ce premier juillet, mais aussi tout le reste du temps.  (Adrienne Clarkson, Gouverneure générale du Canada, 1er juillet 2000) 

C’est là que nous nous retrouvons pour fêter le Canada. Chaque année, le 1er juillet, des Canadiens de toutes les régions du pays s’y réunissent dans la joie d’un jour de célébration. 

Au son grandiose de l’hymne national, et en présence de la gouverneure générale, du premier ministre et d’une brochette de dignitaires, la Colline du Parlement accueille le pays à la fête d’anniversaire du Canada. Comme cette réjouissance populaire est l’occasion de montrer son patriotisme, une explosion de drapeaux canadiens colore la Colline de rouge et de blanc. Des artistes de renom divertissent la centaine de milliers de Canadiens ayant envahi la pelouse luxuriante du Parlement pour les festivités, dont la grande finale est l’époustouflant feu d’artifice qui illumine la Tour de la Paix et le ciel nocturne d’Ottawa. 

Si vous venez quand les feuilles changent de parure, après le départ des touristes, vous verrez que l’atmosphère n’est pas à la nostalgie mais plutôt à la frénésie! Le Parlement reprend ses travaux, et les députés et sénateurs regagnent la Colline pour déposer des projets de loi, les débattre et en faire des lois. C’est ici que notre voix est entendue, au Parlement canadien, siège du gouvernement national. Ses murs font retentir les échos de l’histoire depuis 1867. 

  • C’est dans la Chambre des communes, en 1872, que la construction du chemin de fer du Canadien Pacifique a dégénéré en scandale pour le gouvernement de sir John A. MacDonald. 
  • Winston Churchill s’est adressé à la Chambre d’un ton de défi le 30 décembre 1941, trois semaines après l’attaque de Pearl Harbour par les Japonais. 
  • En 1963, John Diefenbaker a livré bataille pour que le Red Ensign demeure le drapeau national. 
  • Le vendredi 16 octobre 1970, Pierre Trudeau a annoncé que le gouvernement avait décidé de recourir à la Loi sur les mesures de guerre pour régler la crise du FLQ. 
  • Le 29 juin 1981, les députés de tous les partis ont rendu hommage à un jeune homme courageux du nom de Terry Fox, qui avait traversé le Canada à la course pour amasser des fonds contre le cancer, maladie à laquelle il venait de succomber. 
  • C’est à une séance mixte du Sénat et de la Chambre des communes tenue le 24 septembre 1998 que le président de l’Afrique du Sud, Nelson Mandela, a remercié les Canadiens de lui avoir permis de rendre visite pour une deuxième fois à un peuple qui a fait siennes les aspirations de son peuple et qui a insisté pour que les droits que le monde déclarait être universels soient aussi les droits de tous les Sud-Africains. 
  • C’est là aussi que la Chambre a observé un moment de silence en l’honneur des femmes, des hommes et des enfants qui ne sont jamais rentrés à la maison le 11 septembre 2001, par suite des attentats aux États-Unis. 

Pendant tout l’automne, l’hiver et le printemps, il nous est permis d’assister, depuis les tribunes des visiteurs, à la Chambre des communes et au Sénat, aux travaux d’une équipe de valeureux Canadiens — nos sénateurs et nos députés. Il vaut la peine de se déplacer pour voir le Parlement en pleine action! L’été venu, le rideau tombe sur la scène nationale, le Parlement s’ajourne et les députés et sénateurs rentrent chez eux. Chacune à leur façon, la Chambre des communes et la salle du Sénat exercent un attrait irrésistible sur les visiteurs quand elles sont vides, l’été. 

À peine entré dans la Chambre des communes, le visiteur est tout de suite frappé par la sérénité de cette enceinte décorée en vert. De part et d’autre de l’allée centrale, se trouvent les fauteuils et pupitres des députés. Le fauteuil du président, avec le drapeau canadien à sa gauche, est situé à l’extrémité nord de la Chambre. Les murs ouest, est et nord sont percés de 12 magnifiques vitraux qui laissent danser la lumière du jour. Décorés des emblèmes floraux des provinces et des territoires, ils rappellent la vaste étendue du pays gouverné dans l’enceinte. Dans le silence éthéré du lieu, on peut presque sentir la présence des grands Canadiens des autres époques. 

Nulle part ailleurs que dans la salle du Sénat, la présence de la Couronne ne se fait autant sentir. Tapissée de rouge et brillant des mille feux des lustres suspendus au plafond doré, cette salle a un air royal. Le fauteuil du président est placé devant ceux du trône, rappel de la tradition selon laquelle les rois, les reines et les gouverneurs généraux inaugurent les législatures. Mais l’opulence du Sénat est tempérée par l’esprit d’humilité qui se dégage des peintures aux murs. Elles dépeignent des scènes de la Première Guerre mondiale et empêchent d’oublier où peuvent mener les abus de pouvoir. 

Le charme de ces bâtiments ne se dément pas au fil des saisons. Je me rappelle m’être enthousiasmée devant les premiers crocus décorant les parterres par une belle journée de printemps, avoir assisté à la relève de la garde un matin d’été, admiré la splendeur des arbres dans l’air frisquet de l’automne et enfin m’être extasiée devant le Parlement magnifiquement illuminé un soir d’hiver. 

« C’est impressionnant, n’est-ce pas? », me dit un jour une voix derrière moi. C’était un soir d’été et la voix était celle d’un homme âgé qui me voyait éblouie par la grandeur de ces œuvres d’art gothiques, dans la douceur romantique d’un ciel rosé et ambré. « Leur vue me remplit de fierté », ajouta-t-il.  

Ces bâtiments assurent une continuité dans notre vie : grâce à eux, notre passé, notre présent et notre avenir sont inextricablement liés. L’histoire de notre pays continue de s’écrire dans leurs murs, récit épique d’un pays vaste et magnifique s’étendant entre trois océans; d’un pays riche par sa diversité culturelle et par la détermination, l’endurance et la résilience de son peuple; d’un pays d’espoir, de paix et de progrès; du berceau d’une des plus grandes démocraties de la planète. 

Comme nuls autres, les édifices du Parlement canadien sont majestueux, magiques, magnifiques. 

Notes 

1. Relaté dans Pax Britannica de James Morris. Les documents historiques montrent cependant que le choix d’Ottawa a été mûrement réfléchi. 

2. Lettre au gouverneur général, sir Edmund Walker Head, de Henry Labouchère, Downing Street, Londres, 31 décembre 1857. Déposée le 16 mars 1858 dans le Journal de l’Assemblée législative de la province du Canada. (1858). 

3. Il a fallu neuf autres années pour parachever la Bibliothèque. 

4. L’intérieur de l’édifice est surtout en calcaire Tyndall du Manitoba. L’extérieur est en grès de Nepean, Ontario. 

5. Tiré de l’article « Roses, Tributes, Tears: Canada Begins to Grieve », The Saturday Star, samedi 30 septembre 2000. Citation de Lois Scott Christensen. 


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 30 no 2
2007






Dernière mise à jour : 2018-07-31