Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFranšais

PDF
Parliamentary Book ShelfParliamentary Book Shelf
Dennis Pilon

Elections by John Courtney University of British Columbia Press, Vancouver, 2004

In John Courtney’s audit of Canadian elections there is much praise for the status quo and only caution about embracing any reforms.  Aside from some criticisms of the new voter registration system, Courtney – rightly – draws attention to the many strengths of the Canadian electoral system, particularly our system of independent boundary commissions and non-partisan democratic administration.  Indeed, he even declares near the end of the book that “unlike countless millions around the world, Canadians today can take pride in their electoral regime.”  For those unhappy with the workings of some of our electoral machinery, especially our traditional voting system, Courtney argues that while some problems may exist, they can not be helped – the greater good is served by the existing arrangements and their tendency to encourage ‘centrist, big tent’ parties and majority governments.  But Courtney’s arguments are based on some contentious interpretations of the Canadian party system and the nature of democracy.  Depending on how one understands these debates, Courtney’s conclusions will appear either more or less compelling. 

To grasp the state of Canadian elections, Courtney explores what he calls the principal components or ‘building blocks’ of the electoral system. These include concerns over defining the franchise, revising electoral boundaries, administering the elections, registering voters, and the method of translating votes into seats.  Utilizing the benchmarks established by the Canadian Democratic Audit team, Courtney then evaluates each component of the electoral system in terms of how well it fosters participation, inclusiveness and responsiveness.  On the whole, he finds most do so quite well, with Canadian democratic administration, boundary revision, and the scope of the franchise getting top marks, while only our current voter registration system comes in for sustained criticism. 

Given the Democratic Audit criteria, one might have expected our current plurality voting system to come in for some criticism.  After all, a host of critics have underlined how it fails to include all voices or register voter preferences accurately, thus limiting accountability and possibly depressing participation.  But in discussing the voting system Courtney drops the Democratic Audit benchmarks altogether and introduces a different set of criteria concerned with maintaining the stability of government and the party system. Basically, Courtney argues that our single member plurality voting system has typically encouraged the formation of “broadly-based, nationally accommodative parties” that offer voters a clear choice between government and opposition.  Though some parties may be discriminated against, Courtney feels this is an acceptable trade-off to maintain the brokerage function of our traditional party system that he feels is crucial to health of a country divided by language, region, ethnicity, etc.  Furthermore, he argues that alternatives like proportional representation would only lead to unstable minority or coalition government, party fragmentation, and a lack of governing and local accountability.  These latter points are key because for Courtney, following Schumpeter, democracy is primarily about choosing a government, preferably one with a strong legislative majority.  In Courtney’s view, anything less in the Canadian setting would pose a threat to the maintenance of the country itself. 

Not surprisingly, the strength of Elections as a volume tends to be concentrated in Courtney’s own areas of research: redistricting processes, voter registration and democratic administration.  As the bibliography makes clear, his nearly four decades of work in these areas helps explain his effortless command of these subjects.  The chapters here on voter registration and redistricting are excellent introductions to these complex topics.  Courtney’s handling of the party system and questions of voting system effects, on the other hand, appear more controversial and, frankly, out-of-date.  Even if one were to accept Courtney’s rather benign characterization of the brokerage model – and there is considerable debate on that score – it should be clear that such a model is no longer in force today and has not been for some time.  Trudeau, Mulroney and Chrétien all failed to broker, despite enjoying solid majority governments.  And just as Cairns predicted, it is the plurality system that has systematically distorted the divisive tensions in the country, particularly with the 1993 federal election results.  Ironically, the very things that Courtney fears would come with a proportional voting system – that it would prevent accommodation and compromise, weaken accountability between voters and parties/government, and encourage parties to give up campaigning in weak areas – are, in fact, regular features of our current plurality system. 

Courtney’s only response to the poor performance of modern plurality appears to be that we should wait until the system produces a return to brokerage parties.  But what if the brokerage parties are not coming back?  Canadian elections have changed considerably and the factors that once contributed to the maintenance of two major ‘centrist’ parties – particularly the existence of an east/west, nationally-focused economy – appear to be in a state of flux.  This is where Courtney’s rather narrow focus on the electoral institutions side of elections is a limit in understanding elections as a whole, as clearly modern elections are all about how money and media have changed just about everything.  Other volumes in the Democratic Audit series do address these questions but their absence here is a bit jarring, and some overlap given the fluidity of the topics is surely justified. 

Courtney’s ‘brokerage party’ defence of plurality and his concomitant complaints about the potentially dire consequences of PR in a Canadian setting are a constant undercurrent of the book, popping up in nearly every chapter.  They are, essentially, the real thesis of the volume.  It is surprising then that his handling of voting system effects is often brief and perfunctory.  Courtney claims that PR leads to instability, party fragmentation, and a lack of accountability between voters and government.  But as evidence he cites Israel, Italy and the Netherlands – hardly a representative sample.  Effective comparison requires an assessment of an appropriately broad universe of cases and ones that share roughly similar political circumstances to the country in question (the politics of Israel and Italy are hardly comparable to Canadian conditions).  And given the considerable literature that exists today on voting system effects, Courtney’s sweeping generalizations about PR systems require more support than a fleeting aside. 

Where he does expend more effort on the debates, specifically questions of voter turnout and women’s representation, the results are mixed.  He rightly points out that the broad and sometimes unqualified claims about how the adoption of PR will increase voter turnout are challenged by recent PR election results in New Zealand.  But his attempt to use historical data from Manitoba’s PR-era to buttress this case, while novel, is methodologically flawed as the whole province never used the system.  On women’s representation and PR, Courtney argues that there is no automatic relationship between the two.  But this is a straw argument as no serious academic work over the past two decades makes such an unqualified claim. 

Ultimately, Elections is an uneven book.  The effective discussion of certain components of our electoral system must be contrasted with the less balanced treatment of voting systems and their effects.  In the end, Courtney justifies his choices by recourse to a narrow, procedural view of democracy that he believes is required to hold our fragile country together.  Yet it is just this narrow, limited and elitist form of democracy that many Canadians are complaining about, and many experts blame for our current political predicament. 

Dr. Dennis Pilon 
Frost Centre Postdoctoral Fellow
in Canadian Studies
Trent University 

 


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 28 no 3
2005






Last Updated: 2018-07-31

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Sur les rayonsSur les rayons
Dennis Pilon

Elections par John Courtney University of British Columbia Press, Vancouver, 2004

Dans son investigation du système électoral canadien, John Courtney dit beaucoup de bien du statu quo et n'a que des réserves à formuler sur une possible réforme. Mises à part certaines critiques du nouveau système d'inscription des électeurs, il fait ressortir – à juste titre – les nombreux avantages du système électoral canadien, en particulier le réseau de commissions de délimitation indépendantes et l'administration démocratique apolitique. Il déclare même vers la fin de son ouvrage que, « contrairement à des millions de personnes de par le monde, les Canadiens peuvent aujourd'hui être fiers de leur système électoral ». Pour ceux qui se disent insatisfaits de certains rouages de l'appareil électoral, et en particulier du mode de scrutin traditionnel, l'auteur fait valoir qu'il existe bien certains problèmes, mais qu'il n'y a pas moyen de faire autrement : le système actuel et sa tendance à encourager les partis « centristes ouverts » et les gouvernements majoritaires servent le bien commun. Ses arguments, toutefois, reposent sur certaines interprétations controversées du système de partis canadien et de la nature de la démocratie. Selon le sens qu'on tire des débats à ce sujet, les conclusions de M. Courtney auront une force de persuasion certaine ou limitée. 

Pour saisir l'état du système électoral, M. Courtney explore ce qu'il appelle les principales composantes, ou « éléments constitutifs ». Ce sont les mécanismes qui servent à définir le droit de vote, à réviser les limites des circonscriptions électorales, à administrer les élections, à inscrire les électeurs et à transformer les votes en sièges. En se servant des balises établies par l'équipe du projet « Le Canada aujourd'hui : une enquête sur la démocratie », l'auteur évalue chacune des composantes du système électoral pour déterminer dans quelle mesure elle favorise la participation, l'inclusion et la souplesse. Dans l'ensemble, il conclut que la plupart contribuent favorablement à ces trois principes. Il donne les meilleures notes à l'administration démocratique, à la révision des limites des circonscriptions et à l'étendue du droit de vote; seul le mécanisme d'inscription des électeurs fait l'objet d'une critique sentie. 

À la lumière des critères retenus pour l'enquête sur la démocratie, on aurait pu s'attendre à ce que notre système majoritaire actuel essuie certaines critiques. Après tout, une foule d'observateurs ont reproché au système son incapacité de prendre en considération toutes les voix ou d'enregistrer avec justesse les préférences des électeurs, ce qui limite la reddition de comptes et risque de faire baisser la participation. Or, dans son examen du système électoral, M. Courtney abandonne totalement les balises de l'enquête sur la démocratie et propose une autre série de critères axée sur le maintien de la stabilité du gouvernement et du système de partis. Il soutient essentiellement que notre scrutin majoritaire uninominal à un tour encourage la formation de « partis nationaux accommodants qui jouissent d'une base étendue » et qui offrent aux électeurs un choix bien clair entre le gouvernement et l'opposition. Le fait que certains partis puissent être désavantagés est un compromis acceptable à faire, selon lui, pour conserver le rôle conciliatoire de notre système de partis traditionnel, qui est indispensable à la bonne marche d'un pays divisé par des caractéristiques linguistiques, régionales, ethniques, etc. Il affirme, en outre, que des options comme la représentation proportionnelle ne peuvent que mener à des gouvernements instables – minoritaires ou de coalition –, à la fragmentation des partis et à une reddition de comptes affaiblie de la part des élus nationaux ou locaux. Ces points revêtent une importance primordiale, car, pour M. Courtney, à l'exemple de Schumpeter, la démocratie se définit surtout par le choix d'un gouvernement, de préférence un gouvernement qui bénéficie d'une forte majorité législative. À ses yeux, se contenter de moins dans le contexte canadien, c'est menacer l'existence même du pays. 

Comme on pouvait s'y attendre, la force d'Elections réside surtout dans les spécialités de M. Courtney : le redécoupage de la carte électorale, l'inscription des électeurs et l'administration démocratique. À la lecture de la bibliographie, il ressort clairement que son expérience de près de 40 ans dans ces domaines explique la parfaite maîtrise qu'il en a. Les chapitres sur l'inscription des électeurs et le redécoupage de la carte électorale sont d'excellentes introductions à ces sujets complexes. En revanche, son traitement du système de partis et des effets du mode de scrutin paraît plus discutable et, à vrai dire, dépassé. À supposer même que l'on accepte sa conception plutôt modérée du modèle conciliatoire – et la question soulève tout un débat –, il faut préciser que ce type de modèle n'a plus cours depuis un certain temps. Trudeau, Mulroney et Chrétien n'ont jamais joué un rôle conciliatoire, malgré les solides majorités dont ils jouissaient. Et tout comme Cairns l'a prédit, c'est le système majoritaire qui a systématiquement amplifié les tensions existant au pays; en témoigne spécialement le résultat des élections fédérales de 1993. Paradoxalement, ce que M. Courtney craint le plus au sujet du scrutin proportionnel – qu'il empêcherait les accommodements et les compromis, affaiblirait la reddition de comptes entre les électeurs et les partis/gouvernements et encouragerait les partis à abandonner leurs efforts de persuasion dans les secteurs faibles – s'avère des caractéristiques courantes de notre système majoritaire actuel. 

Face au piètre rendement du scrutin majoritaire moderne, il conseille seulement, semble-t-il, d'attendre le retour des partis à vocation conciliatoire. Et si ces partis ne revenaient pas? Les élections canadiennes ont beaucoup changé, et la situation qui contribuait autrefois au maintien de deux grands partis « centristes » – en particulier l'existence d'une économie nationale est-ouest – paraît maintenant mouvante. C'est là que la conception plutôt étroite que M. Courtney se fait des institutions électorales limite la compréhension du processus électoral dans son ensemble, car il est devenu évident que, dans notre monde moderne, l'argent et les médias ont presque tout transformé. Les autres volumes de l'enquête sur la démocratie traitent de ces questions, mais leur absence dans l'ouvrage de M. Courtney déconcerte quelque peu; vu la fluidité des sujets à l'étude, un certain chevauchement aurait assurément été justifié. 

La défense du scrutin majoritaire axée sur les « partis conciliatoires » et la dénonciation des conséquences potentiellement graves de la représentation proportionnelle dans le contexte canadien deviennent un thème sous-jacent, évoqué dans presque tous les chapitres. Elles constituent, au fond, la thèse véritable du livre. Il est donc étonnant que les effets du mode de scrutin soient exposés d'une manière souvent brève et superficielle. L'auteur affirme que la représentation proportionnelle entraîne l'instabilité, la fragmentation des partis et l'affaiblissement de la reddition de comptes entre les électeurs et le gouvernement. Cependant, il cite en exemple Israël, l'Italie et les Pays-Bas, ce qui est loin d'un échantillon représentatif. Une bonne comparaison nécessite l'évaluation d'un échantillon suffisamment vaste de systèmes politiques semblables (les systèmes d'Israël et de l'Italie ne sont guère comparables à celui du Canada). De plus, étant donné la littérature abondante qui existe aujourd'hui sur les effets des modes de scrutin, les grandes généralisations de l'auteur au sujet des systèmes de représentation proportionnelle nécessitent une justification plus ample que de simples remarques accessoires. 

Dans les cas où M. Courtney s'investit plus dans le débat, à savoir sur les questions de participation électorale et de représentation des femmes, les résultats sont mitigés. Il signale avec raison que les derniers résultats électoraux de la Nouvelle-Zélande remettent en question les affirmations générales, et parfois non nuancées, selon lesquelles l'adoption de la représentation proportionnelle fait augmenter la participation électorale. Par contre, bien que novatrice, l'utilisation des données rétrospectives de l'époque de la représentation proportionnelle au Manitoba pour appuyer ses propos manque de rigueur sur le plan méthodologique, car le système n'a jamais été appliqué dans toute la province. Au sujet de la représentation des femmes et de la représentation proportionnelle, l'auteur fait valoir qu'il n'y a pas automatiquement de lien entre les deux. Il s'agit d'un argument sans valeur : aucune publication sérieuse des vingt dernières années n'avance une assertion aussi tranchée. 

Somme toute, Elections est un ouvrage inégal. Il faut distinguer l'examen judicieux de certains éléments de notre système électoral d'avec le traitement moins équilibré du mode de scrutin et de ses effets. Au bout du compte, M. Courtney justifie ses choix en adoptant une conception étroite et rigoriste de la démocratie qu'il juge nécessaire pour conserver l'unité de notre pays vulnérable. C'est justement cette vue étroite, limitée et élitiste de la démocratie que beaucoup de Canadiens déplorent et que beaucoup d'experts accusent d'avoir causé nos difficultés politiques actuelles. 

Dennis Pilon, Ph.D.
Détenteur d'une bourse de recherche postdoctorale en études canadiennes,
Frost Centre

Université Trent 


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 28 no 3
2005






Dernière mise à jour : 2018-07-31