Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFranšais

PDF
The British Columbia Teacher's Institute on Parliamentary Democracy
Karen Aitken

In the third week of April 2004, fifteen teachers and five teacher facilitators from across B.C. gathered in Victoria to participate in the British Columbia Teachers’ Institute on Parliamentary Democracy.  These teachers, selected by a committee of their peers, came to the Parliament Buildings to experience first-hand the workings of our parliamentary system and enhance their knowledge of B.C.’s political system.  This article looks at the development of this program and its inaugural meeting.

Launched in spring of 2004, the B.C. Teachers’ Institute on Parliamentary Democracy is an opportunity for teachers of social studies and related courses from across British Columbia to come to the Parliament Buildings to experience the inner workings of parliamentary democracy, share insights and expertise with their colleagues and learn about and exchange new classroom activities in this essential subject.

The Library of Parliament has been offering a national institute on Canadian Parliamentary Democracy since 1996.  In Saskatchewan, the Legislative Assembly, through the Speaker’s Office, has recently offered its’ third institute to the teachers of their province.  Following upon the success of both the national and provincial programs, the Legislative Assembly of British Columbia, Public Education and Outreach, launched a B.C. Institute this year.

Although there are numerous opportunities for youth in British Columbia to become aware of and involved in our parliamentary system, such as field trips to the Parliament Buildings and the various youth parliaments, there is no such opportunity for the teachers of British Columbia.  Until recently with the launch of the Legislative Assembly of British Columbia’s “Discover Your Legislature” CD-Rom, B.C. teachers have had to rely upon federal resources to teach this fundamental topic on Parliament.  However, teachers also need more than resources, they need to personally understand our parliamentary system in order to effectively teach it to their students in a creative and captivating way

Applications for the B.C. Teachers’ Institute were widely distributed in the fall and early in January 2004.  Applications were included with registration packages at two fall conferences: the B.C. Social Studies Teachers’ Association (BCSSTA) and the Provincial Intermediate Teachers’ Association (PITA).  Applications were also available online at the Legislative Assembly of British Columbia with links also available on the B.C. Teachers’ Federation Professional Development Calendar and the B.C. Social Studies Teachers’ Association websites.  An announcement and advertisement were also printed in Dimensions, the quarterly Social Studies newsletter for B.C. teachers and Landscapes, a quarterly newsletter of FORED BC.  Furthermore, a letter with accompanying poster, brochure and application form were electronically mailed to all principals across British Columbia.  The deadline for application was January 23, 2004.

At that time, all applications were reviewed by the Selection Committee.  The committee was made up of one volunteer from the executive of each of the following organizations:  the British Columbia Social Studies Teachers’ Association, the Provincial Intermediate Teachers’ Association and the British Columbia Primary Teachers’ Association.  The criteria for selection were provided to the committee together with an evaluation form to rank candidates based upon their professional development, curriculum planning and shared professional expertise along with a letter of recommendation and resume as supporting documentation1.  The successful candidates were chosen from across British Columbia representing both public and independent schools2 as well as urban and rural communities3.  They were notified in early March and letters of recognition were sent to the candidates’ local school district Superintendent.  A small registration fee4 was required and successful candidates were responsible for their own substitute teaching costs.

The overall objective of the intensive three and one-half day Teachers’ Institute was to provide teachers with a professional development experience that would promote a greater understanding of B.C.’s parliamentary system.  Their hands-on experience was to stimulate them to implement and share innovative classroom activities with their colleagues in their schools and communities.  Indeed, it was a requirement of all participating teachers to provide workshops and share their resources upon their return.  Numerous participants have written articles to their local newspapers and for upcoming teacher newsletter and magazine publications.  At the annual B.C. Social Studies Teachers’ Association conference in October, several participants will be hosting a workshop on the success of the inaugural B.C. Teachers’ Institute.

Additional objectives of the Institute were to enhance their knowledge and understanding of B.C.’s political system and promote discussion and critical inquiry into key issues in parliamentary democracy.  The Institute was to facilitate the sharing and development of ideas, resources and teaching methods about parliamentary democracy in relation to B.C.’s social studies’ curriculum.  By motivating teachers to be champions of effective citizenship, the Institute extended the discussion of parliamentary democracy with their students, schools and communities.  The idea is to foster a network of ambassadors who will be able to assist their colleagues at the school and board level in developing and implementing new strategies to teach parliamentary democracy and civic education.  To assist in this regard, the teachers were supplied with two resource boxes filled with teaching materials on parliamentary democracy; legislatures, elections and history from across Canada and British Columbia to further enhance their teaching.

Teachers need to have innovative teaching strategies and classroom activities that are simple to use and that inspire students to learn more about the institution of Parliament.  At the B.C.’s Teachers’ Institute, the fifteen teachers were formed into three groups to develop a classroom activity to be shared with teachers across the province.  Activities developed by teachers for teachers based on their personal experience will assist them to share their new knowledge of our complex system of parliamentary democracy.  The three groups were determined based on the grade level of teaching that the teachers were presently employed within.5 Each group had one facilitator, a B.C. teacher who had previously participated in the national Institute on Canadian Parliamentary Democracy.

The facilitators acted as the first point of contact for questions, encouraged discussion amongst the groups and kept them focussed on their classroom activities.  Their goals were to monitor, debrief and troubleshoot as well as assist with curriculum connections, instructional design and access to resources.  Facilitators were drawn from the advisory group and were most enthusiastic about their involvement with B.C.’s first Teachers’ Institute.  The facilitators were provided were a modest honorarium6 and had their substitute teaching costs covered, where applicable.  The facilitators arrived one day early to meet as a committee prior to the commencement of the Institute.  There were also regular debriefing/updating meetings over breakfast each morning and a final wrap-up meeting on Saturday afternoon.

An extra member from the advisory group took on the role of observer and is in the midst of finalizing his report on the Institute.  Although not a completely independent observer, his comments will assist in the planning and improvement of the Institute in following years.

The three groups met on a regular basis throughout the week in teamwork sessions that were scheduled within the ambitious agenda.  Each session lasted approximately 1 to 2 hours and provided the teachers with an opportunity to reflect on the day’s activities and ask questions.  It was a guaranteed time each day to share information and work on the development of a group classroom activity. During these teamwork sessions, the groups had access to a computer, internet and printer as well as Legislative Assembly research staff to assist them in locating the information they needed to develop their activities in a timely manner.  In one of the groups of five teachers, they decided to break into three smaller subsets and hence at the end of the Institute, there were two additional classroom activities presented.

The networking among  the teachers from all over British Columbia [from Prince George to Kamloops to Vancouver and Parksville] was also an important dimension to the learning experience.  The teachers commented on the excellent opportunity that the hospitality suite offered each evening in terms of debriefing on the days’ activities and sharing professional opinions and discussions with their colleagues from across B.C.  In a full day of classroom teaching, it is rare that teachers are able to communicate with their fellow colleagues in their own school setting, let alone with others in their school district.  It was a welcome addition to the busy program to unwind and recount the events of the day together with fellow teachers from around the province.

Introducing the teachers to the various public education resources and supports available through the Legislative Assembly’s Office of Public Education and Outreach was also an important result of the Institute.  As a result of the Institute, the Office of Public Education and Outreach has designed, with the input of participating Institute teachers, a poster for students highlighting the Parliament Buildings and the history of British Columbia together with classroom activities on the back.  This new poster will be distributed to all schools in British Columbia in the fall of 2004.

The true substance of this professional development opportunity was the intensive agenda of presentations activities.  There were formal presentations from the Claude Richmond, Speaker of the House, on his role as both an elected official and non-partisan Speaker, and E. George MacMinn, QC, Clerk of the House, on the history and traditions of parliamentary democracy.  Other senior parliamentary officers offered lectures on A Day in the House, and How a Bill Becomes Law.  Information and discussion sessions were also held with Hon. Mr.  Justice Malcolm D. Macaulay, Supreme Court Judge, on the role of the Judicial Branch of government and Herb LeRoy, Private Secretary to the Lieutenant-Governor, on the role of the Lieutenant-Governor in a constitutional monarchy.  Professor Ronald I. Cheffins, QC,was a wonderful addition to the end of the Institute and summarized the presentations on the three branches of government and challenged the teachers’ learning.  A media panel discussion on the role of various forms of media coverage on British Columbia politics proved to be both insightful and entertaining.  A highlight for many of the teachers was attending Question Period.  Although they can and do watch Question Period from their classrooms, the excitement and passion is far more persuading when observing from the public gallery.

The informal dinner with Members of the Legislative Assembly was another highlight of the program.  Most of the teachers were able to meet directly with their own MLA and the dinner provided for an excellent opportunity to mix and mingle with over fifty MLAs present.  The Speaker welcomed everyone to the event and introduced Premier Gordon Campbell who addressed the crowd with words of congratulations to the teachers for their commitment and dedication to the education of British Columbia’s children.  Meeting with the MLAs, talking and questioning them about their experiences as elected officials, and generally becoming acquainted with the names and faces they hear and read about on a political level was a tremendous learning opportunity.

Interaction between the participants and the presenters, parliamentary staff and Members of the Legislative Assembly was a vital aspect of the program.  The teachers rated the access to key individuals who are both committed and passionate about the work they do as a significant feature of the Institute.  Meeting directly with the various staff of the Legislative Assembly, such as Hansard and the Library, contributed to their understanding of the whole democratic system. The program also included tours of both the Parliament Buildings and Government House.

The farewell banquet at Government House with Her Honour, The Honourable Iona Campagnolo, PC, CM, OBC, Lieutenant-Governor of British Columbia, was a very special evening.  Her remarks  were educational and highlighted the various responsibilities of the Office of the Lieutenant-Governor including an explanation on “reserve legal powers”.  Her Honour’s greetings both welcomed and congratulated the teachers on the nature of the work they do on behalf of all British Columbians in terms of acquainting our children with an understanding of the government structure in our complex country.  The Deputy Speaker, John Weisbeck, MLA, commented on his personal experiences visiting classrooms to share his insights on the role of a Member of the Legislative Assembly and Deputy Speaker.  He provided the teachers with humorous anecdotes as well as praise for the important and often unrecognized work they perform. Following both presentations, the teachers were invited to come forward and receive their recognition certificate for teaching excellence and have their photograph taken between Her Honour and the Deputy Speaker.  This was a grand evening where the teachers felt honoured and recognized for the significant responsibility they hold with the students of tomorrow.  

On Saturday morning, the teachers presented and shared their newly developed classroom activities.  There were five presentations made from the three groups, all on different aspects of the Institute’s program.  The benefits to the teachers and the Legislative Assembly are many.  The classroom activities will be posted on the Legislative Assembly’s website for teachers all across B.C. to incorporate into their lesson planning for future years.  The classroom activities outline the student audience, learning outcomes/objectives, activities/methods and materials/resources required.  The five topics submitted are:

  • Understanding the Purpose of Provincial Government
  • Understanding the Role of Media in a Free and Democratic Society
  • A New Voting System for B.C.
  •  Order of Precedence for B.C. – Guess Who’s Coming to Dinner?
  • The Influence of Media on Decision Making

Classroom activities created by British Columbia teachers who have had personal experience with the topic and professional experience with B.C.’s curriculum is an invaluable and tangible benefit of the Institute.  

Overall, the inaugural B.C. Teachers’ Institute was a resounding success.  Comments from every participant echoed the sentiments of Institute as the best professional development of their careers.  They were rejuvenated, enlightened and enthusiastic about teaching parliamentary democracy!

Notes

1. Criteria: 10% Personal Development, 40% Curriculum Planning, 20% Shared Experiences, 20% Letter of Recommendation and 10% Resume.

2. Breakdown:  18 Public, 2 Independent.

3. Breakdown:  12 Urban, 8 Rural.

4. Fee:  $150.00  (materials, accommodation and meals were covered; travel subsidies were also available for those teachers travelling great distances.)

5. Breakdown:  10 Secondary, 5 Elementary.

6. Honorarium:  $150.00 per day.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 27 no 3
2004






Last Updated: 2019-11-29

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Forum des enseignantes et des enseignants de Colombie-Britannique sur la démocratie parlementaire
Karen Aitken

Au cours de la troisième semaine d’avril 2004, 15 enseignants et 5 animateurs-enseignants de partout en Colombie-Britannique se sont réunis à Victoria pour prendre part au Forum des enseignantes et des enseignants de Colombie-Britannique sur la démocratie parlementaire. Les participants, choisis par un comité de leurs pairs, se sont rendus au Parlement pour faire l’expérience par eux-mêmes du fonctionnement de notre régime parlementaire et apprendre à mieux connaître le régime politique de leur province. Le présent article se penche sur l’élaboration de ce programme et le déroulement du premier forum.

Lancé au printemps dernier, le Forum des enseignantes et des enseignants de Colombie-Britannique sur la démocratie parlementaire donne l’occasion aux enseignants des sciences humaines et des matières connexes de toute la province de se rendre au Parlement pour faire l’expérience du fonctionnement interne de la démocratie parlementaire, échanger leur point de vue et leurs connaissances avec leurs collègues, découvrir de nouvelles activités à faire en classe sur ce sujet essentiel et mettre celles-ci en commun.

Depuis 1996, la Bibliothèque du Parlement offre un Forum national sur la démocratie parlementaire canadienne. L’Assemblée législative de la Saskatchewan, par l’entremise du Bureau du président, vient d’organiser son troisième forum des enseignants de la province. Cette année, dans la foulée de la réussite des programmes national et provincial, le Bureau de l’éducation et de la sensibilisation du public de l’Assemblée législative de la Colombie-Britannique a lancé un Forum dans cette province.

Les jeunes Britanno-Colombiens ont de nombreuses occasions de s’initier au régime parlementaire et d’y participer (visites scolaires du Parlement, divers Parlements des jeunes), mais les enseignants de la province n’ont pas cette chance. Avant le lancement récent du CD-ROM Discover Your Legislature de l’Assemblée législative, ils devaient compter sur les ressources fédérales pour enseigner cette matière essentielle. Cependant, il leur faut plus : ils doivent comprendre eux-mêmes comment fonctionne notre régime parlementaire pour bien l’enseigner à leurs élèves, en faisant preuve de créativité afin de retenir leur attention.

L’automne dernier et au début de janvier de cette année, on a distribué à grande échelle des demandes de participation au Forum, entre autres en les incluant dans les trousses d’inscription à deux conférences de l’automne dernier : celles de la B.C. Social Studies Teachers’ Association (BCSSTA) et de la Provincial Intermediate Teachers’ Association (PITA).  Les formulaires étaient également disponibles en ligne aux sites Web de l’Assemblée législative de la province, du calendrier de perfectionnement professionnel de la Fédération des enseignantes et des enseignants de la Colombie-Britannique et de la B.C. Social Studies Teachers’ Association. Une annonce et une publicité ont également paru dans Dimensions, bulletin trimestriel des enseignants en sciences humaines de la province, et Landscapes, celui de FORED BC.  En outre, une lettre accompagnée d’une affiche, d’une brochure et d’un formulaire de demande d’inscription a été envoyée par voie électronique à tous les directeurs d’école de la Colombie-Britannique. Le 23 janvier dernier était la date limite de présentation des demandes.

Les demandes ont été examinées par un comité de sélection réunissant un bénévole de l’exécutif de chacune des organisations suivantes : la British Columbia Social Studies Teachers’ Association, la Provincial Intermediate Teachers’ Association et la British Columbia Primary Teachers’ Association.  On a fourni au comité des critères de sélection et un formulaire d’évaluation afin de classer les candidats d’après leur formation continue, leur planification de cours et le partage de leur expérience ainsi qu’une lettre de recommandation et un curriculum vitæ1. Les candidats retenus provenaient de l’ensemble de la province et des écoles publiques et privées2, des villes et des régions3. Au début de mars, ils ont appris qu’ils avaient été choisis, tout comme le surintendant de leur district scolaire. Des droits d’inscription modestes4 étaient exigés, et les participants avaient la charge de leurs frais de remplacement.

Ce forum intensif, de trois jours et demi, visait principalement à offrir aux enseignants un perfectionnement professionnel pour leur permettre de mieux comprendre le régime parlementaire de la Colombie-Britannique. Cette expérience pratique de travail devait les inciter à présenter et à faire connaître à leurs collègues de leur école et de leur collectivité des activités pédagogiques novatrices. À leur retour, les participants étaient, en effet, tenus de donner des ateliers et de partager leurs ressources. Nombre d’entre eux ont écrit des articles pour leur journal local et les bulletins et magazines d’enseignants. À la conférence annuelle de la B.C. Social Studies Teachers’ Association, en octobre prochain, plusieurs participants donneront un atelier sur la réussite du premier Forum des enseignants et des enseignantes de Colombie-Britannique.

En outre, le Forum visait à mieux faire connaître et comprendre le régime politique de la province et à promouvoir la discussion et l’examen critique des grandes questions de la démocratie parlementaire. Il devait faciliter l’échange et l’émergence d’idées, de ressources et de méthodes pédagogiques sur celle-ci dans le cadre du programme d’études sociales de la province. En motivant les enseignants à défendre une citoyenneté active, le Forum a élargi le débat sur la démocratie parlementaire à leurs élèves, à leurs écoles et à leur milieu. On veut établir ainsi un réseau de porte-parole qui pourront aider leurs collègues et le district scolaire à établir de nouveaux modes d’enseignement de la démocratie parlementaire et de l’éducation civique. On a donc fourni aux enseignants deux boîtes de matériel didactique portant sur le sujet ainsi que sur les assemblées législatives, les élections et l’histoire du Canada et de la Colombie-Britannique afin de leur permettre d’améliorer leur enseignement.

Les enseignants ont besoin de stratégies d’enseignement novatrices et d’activités pédagogiques qui soient d’utilisation facile et incitent les élèves à en apprendre plus sur le régime parlementaire. Les 15 participants au Forum ont été divisés en 3 groupes qui devaient élaborer une activité de classe, puis la communiquer aux enseignants de toute la province. Les activités, mises au point par des enseignants pour des enseignants d’après leur expérience personnelle, les aideront à partager leur connaissance nouvellement acquise de notre démocratie parlementaire complexe. Les membres des trois groupes ont été choisis d’après le niveau où ils enseignent5. Chaque groupe comptait un animateur, soit un enseignant britanno-colombien qui avait déjà participé au Forum national sur la démocratie parlementaire canadienne.

Les animateurs devaient tenter de répondre aux questions, encourager la discussion dans le groupe et diriger l’attention sur leurs activités de classe. Il leur incombait de surveiller les travaux, de faire des comptes rendus et régler les problèmes, en plus d’aider les participants aux chapitres des liens avec les programmes d’études, la conception pédagogique et l’accès aux ressources. Recrutés au sein du groupe consultatif, les animateurs ont été très heureux de participer à ce forum. Ils ont reçu de modestes honoraires6, et leurs frais de suppléance ont été couverts, le cas échéant. Ils sont arrivés la veille du début du Forum pour se rencontrer en comité. En outre, ils ont tenu des réunions de breffage ou de mise à jour tous les matins au petit-déjeuner, et une réunion de synthèse, le samedi après-midi.

Un autre membre du groupe consultatif, qui a assumé le rôle d’observateur, est en train de mettre la dernière main à son rapport sur le Forum. Il ne s’agissait pas d’un observateur totalement indépendant, mais ses commentaires aideront tout de même à planifier et à améliorer le Forum au cours des années à venir.

Au cours des trois jours et demi de cet ambitieux programme, les trois groupes se sont rencontrés régulièrement en équipes. Chaque séance, qui durait entre une et deux heures environ, a donné aux enseignants l’occasion de réfléchir aux activités de la journée et de poser des questions. Ce moment à eux leur permettait chaque jour d’échanger et d’élaborer une activité de groupe à faire en classe. Le groupe avait accès à un ordinateur branché à Internet et à une imprimante, et pouvait demander au personnel de recherche de l’Assemblée législative des données nécessaires à l’élaboration de ses activités en temps voulu. L’un de ces groupes de cinq enseignants a décidé de se subdiviser en trois sous-groupes, offrant ainsi, à la fin du Forum, deux activités supplémentaires à faire en classe.

Le réseautage entre les enseignants de toute la Colombie-Britannique (de Prince George à Kamloops en passant par Vancouver et Parksville) a également compté pour beaucoup dans l’expérience. Les enseignants ont apprécié la suite de réception, qui leur donnait chaque soir l’occasion d’un bilan des activités, d’échange et de discussions avec leurs collègues. Il est rare qu’au cours d’une journée complète d’enseignement en classe, les enseignants puissent communiquer avec leurs collègues de l’école, et à plus forte raison avec ceux de leur district scolaire. Ils étaient donc heureux, à la fin de leur programme chargé, de pouvoir se détendre et raconter à leurs collègues les événements de la journée.

Le Forum a également permis de présenter aux enseignants les diverses ressources pédagogiques offertes par le Bureau de l’éducation et de la sensibilisation du public de l’Assemblée législative. À la suite du Forum, le Bureau a conçu à l’intention des élèves, avec l’aide des participants au Forum, une affiche illustrant le Parlement et l’histoire de la Colombie-Britannique avec, à l’endos, des activités à faire en classe. Cette affiche sera distribuée cet automne à toutes les écoles de la province.

L’essentiel du Forum, c’était les nombreuses présentations. D’abord, il y a eu des conférences officielles. Celle de Claude Richmond, président de la Chambre, a porté sur son rôle de représentant élu et de président impartial, tandis que celle de E. George MacMinn, c.r., greffier de la Chambre, a abordé l’histoire et les traditions de la démocratie parlementaire. D’autres hauts fonctionnaires de l’Assemblée législative ont expliqué une journée typique à la Chambre et la façon dont un projet de loi devient loi. On a également tenu des séances d’information et de discussion avec Malcolm D. Macaulay, juge de la Cour suprême, sur la magistrature à titre de branche du gouvernement, et avec Herb LeRoy, secrétaire particulier du lieutenant-gouverneur, sur le rôle de ce dernier dans une monarchie constitutionnelle. Le professeur Ronald I. Cheffins, c.r., qui s’est ajouté à la fin du Forum, a merveilleusement résumé les présentations sur les trois organes de gouvernement et interrogé les enseignants sur leurs connaissances nouvelles. Un débat de spécialistes des médias portant sur les diverses formes de couverture de la politique de la Colombie-Britannique s’est révélée à la fois instructive et divertissante. Un moment-phare pour nombre d’enseignants a été la période de questions. Bien sûr, ils peuvent regarder ce débat en classe à la télévision et le font certainement, mais l’excitation et la passion sont beaucoup plus convaincantes lorsqu’on les observe à partir de la tribune du public.

Le dîner informel avec les députés de l’Assemblée législative s’est révélé un autre point saillant du programme. La plupart des enseignants ont pu rencontrer leur député en personne, et le dîner leur a donné une excellente occasion de se mêler à la cinquantaine de députés provinciaux présents et de se mêler à eux. Le président a souhaité la bienvenue à tous les participants et présenté le premier ministre, Gordon Campbell, qui a félicité les enseignants de leur engagement et de leur dévouement envers l’éducation des enfants de la province. Les participants ont mis à profit leur rencontre avec des députés provinciaux, leur parlant et leur posant des questions sur leur expérience en tant que représentants élus et se familiarisant de façon générale avec les noms et les visages qu’ils voient dans les médias.

Un aspect crucial du programme a été l’interaction entre participants et présentateurs, personnel parlementaire et députés de l’Assemblée législative, de même que la possibilité de rencontrer des personnes qui consacrent leurs efforts à un travail qui les passionne. En outre, la rencontre avec les employés de l’Assemblée, comme ceux du hansard et de la Bibliothèque, a aidé les participants à comprendre le régime démocratique dans son ensemble. La visite du Parlement et du Palais du gouvernement a également été au programme.

Le banquet d’adieu qui a eu lieu au Palais en compagnie de Iona Campagnolo, lieutenante-gouverneure de la Colombie-Britannique, a été très spécial. Par ses remarques instructives, elle a fait ressortir les diverses responsabilités de son poste et a expliqué ses « pouvoirs légaux de réserve ». Son Honneur a commencé par souhaiter la bienvenue aux professeurs et les féliciter, au nom des habitants de la province, de la nature de leur travail, qui consiste à faire comprendre aux enfants la structure de gouvernement de notre pays complexe. Le vice-président de l’Assemblée législative, le député John Weisbeck, a, quant à lui, fait part de son expérience personnelle lorsqu’il a visité des classes pour donner son point de vue sur le rôle de député et de vice-président de l’Assemblée législative. Il a raconté aux enseignants des anecdotes humoristiques et les a loués pour leur important travail, qu’ils effectuent souvent dans l’ombre. Après ces deux présentations, les enseignants ont été invités à recevoir leur certificat de reconnaissance d’excellence dans l’enseignement et à se faire photographier entre la lieutenante-gouverneure et le vice-président. La soirée a été grandiose, et les enseignants ont senti qu’on les honorait et que l’on reconnaissait l’importante responsabilité que représentent les étudiants de demain.

Le samedi matin, les enseignants ont présenté leurs nouvelles activités à faire en classe. Les trois groupes ont fait cinq présentations, qui portaient chacune sur des aspects différents du programme et ont eu de nombreuses retombées pour les enseignants et l’Assemblée législative. Les activités seront publiées sur le site Web de l’Assemblée, afin que les enseignants de toute la Colombie-Britannique en tiennent compte dans leur planification de cours des prochaines années. Elles donnent un aperçu du public étudiant, des résultats et des objectifs d’apprentissage, ainsi que des activités, des méthodes, du matériel et des ressources nécessaires. Voici les cinq sujets présentés :

  • La raison d’être du gouvernement provincial
  • Le rôle des médias dans une société libre et démocratique
  • Un nouveau système électoral pour la Colombie-Britannique
  • L’ordre de priorité pour la Colombie-Britannique : Devine qui vient dîner?
  • L’influence des médias sur le processus décisionnel.

Créées par des enseignants de la Colombie-Britannique qui ont une expérience personnelle du sujet et une expérience professionnelle du programme d’études de la province, les activités à faire en classe constituent un résultat précieux et concret du Forum.

Dans l’ensemble, le premier Forum des enseignants et enseignantes de Colombie-Britannique a eu un succès retentissant. D’après les commentaires, le sentiment général des participants était que le Forum avait constitué la meilleure expérience de perfectionnement professionnel de leur carrière. Ils se sentaient ressourcés, mieux informés et enthousiastes à l’idée d’enseigner la démocratie parlementaire!

Notes

1. Critères : formation : 10 %, planification des cours : 40 %, partage de l’expérience : 20 %, lettre de recommandation : 20 % et curriculum vitæ : 10 %.

2. Proportion : 18 d’écoles publiques et 2 d’écoles privées.

3. Proportion : 12 des villes et 8 des régions.

4. Droits : 150 $ (Les frais de matériel, d’hébergement et de repas étaient couverts. Des subventions au déplacement étaient disponibles pour les enseignants qui venaient de loin.)

5. Proportion : 10 au secondaire, 5 à l’élémentaire.

6. Honoraires : 150 $ par jour.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 27 no 3
2004






Dernière mise à jour : 2018-07-31