Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
Responsibility, Accountability and the Sponsorship Affair
C.E.S. Franks

On February 10, 2004, Auditor General Sheila Fraser released the much anticipated results of her audit of the advertising and sponsorship program run by the federal Public Works Department. She found  that $100 million was paid to a variety of communications agencies in the form of fees and commissions and said the program was basically designed to generate commissions for these companies rather than to produce any benefit for Canadians.  The same day Prime Minister Paul Martin called for a public inquiry, to be headed by Justice John Gomery, into how the sponsorship program was handled. The Public Accounts Committee of the House of Commons, chaired by John Williams, began several weeks of hearings on the Auditor General’s Report.  One of the last witnesses to appear before the Public Accounts Committee before Parliament was dissolved for an election tried to look at some accountability lesson to be drawn from the experience and suggested how such problems could be avoided in the future.

The investigation by the Public Accounts Committee into the sponsorship affair was successful and useful, although perhaps in an unexpected way. It identified the crucial factor that allows such problems to happen. Not one of the many witnesses who came before the committee, neither ex-ministers nor public servants, stated, “yes, managing this program was my responsibility, and I am responsible and accountable for what went wrong with it.”

Ours is a system of responsible government. Constitutionally, someone must be responsible and accountable to Parliament for what the government does or fails to do, but no witness before the committee has accepted that the problems were his or her responsibility. Ministerial or any other sort of responsibility has been missing. The breakdown of responsibility and accountability disclosed by the investigation of the public accounts committee shows that something is seriously wrong with the way the principle of responsibility is construed and practised in Canada.

Responsibility must be allocated to identifiable persons before they can be held accountable. In our parliamentary system responsibility, for the most part, is assigned to the Ministers of the Crown, but in an enormous and complex system like that of the Government of Canada there must be exceptions to the general rules, and the doctrine of ministerial responsibility has exceptions where responsibility is assigned to persons other than ministers. The Canadian Privy Council Office has, in various documents, given its interpretation of how ministerial responsibility should work in practice and what exceptions there are to the strict doctrine that the minister is responsible for all actions of public servants. Appreciation of these exceptions is crucial to understanding the frustrations and difficulties encountered by the Public Accounts Committee.

The Privy Council Office’s version of ministerial responsibility also has weaknesses. These weaknesses allowed the system to go so drastically wrong for so long in this sponsorship affair. Understanding both exceptions and weaknesses identifies what needs to be done to ensure that in the future these sorts of problems do not arise, or at least are detected sooner.

First, according to the Privy Council Office, only the minister who currently holds the post is responsible and accountable to Parliament. A previous minister is not responsible and cannot be held accountable or answerable by Parliament or its committees for what went on during his or her tenure. That is why previous incumbents of ministerial posts have appeared before the public accounts committee as private individuals rather than in an official capacity.

Second, Privy Council Office doctrine states that current ministers are answerable in Parliament for actions taken during the tenure of previous incumbents of the office. To be answerable means a weaker sort of relationship than to be accountable.

Third, the doctrine states that ministers are required to answer to Parliament by providing information on the use of powers by non-departmental agencies assigned to the agencies by statute. For exercise of these statutory powers the heads of these agencies are responsible not to ministers, but through ministers to Parliament.

Fourth, according to the doctrine, deputy ministers are only answerable, not accountable, before parliamentary committees. Deputy ministers are accountable to their ministers, to the Prime Minister, and to the Treasury Board, but not to Parliament or its committees. The responsibilities assigned exclusively to deputy ministers by the Financial Administration Act include crucial ones relating to maintaining accounts and ensuring prudence and probity in financial transactions. These powers are not assigned to the ministers. In effect, it appears that while ministers are not responsible and accountable to Parliament for the exercise of powers assigned by statute to non-departmental agencies, they are responsible and accountable for the exercise of statutory powers assigned to deputy ministers.

Fifth, when errors or wrongdoings are committed by officials, the doctrine states that ministers are responsible for promptly taking the necessary remedial steps and for providing assurances to Parliament that appropriate corrective action has been taken. The requirements of ministerial responsibility are met when ministers answer to this effect in Parliament.

The Privy Council Office interpretation means that no minister, present or previous, is accountable to Parliament for problems stemming from the tenure of a previous minister.

Responsibility and accountability belong to the office and its current holder. Nor are ministers accountable, rather than answerable, when public servants misbehave. More important in the sponsorship affair is that deputy ministers are accountable only within the government, to minister, Prime Minister, and Treasury Board, but not to Parliament, for the crucial management functions assigned to them alone by statute. It also appears, though the Privy Council Office does not explicitly state so, that it considers that the principle that responsibility belongs to the office and not to the person applies to deputy ministers as well as ministers.

Since both deputy ministers and ministers change office frequently in Canada, the responsible person interrogated by the public accounts committee is rarely the deputy minister who held the position when the contentious actions occurred. Ministers also change office frequently, making their accountability into answerability, as has happened in the sponsorship affair, by the time the problem comes to the attention of Parliament.

This Privy Council Office interpretation of the doctrine of ministerial responsibility accurately describes the way various witnesses have construed their responsibilities and accountabilities to the public accounts committee. Deputy ministers, regardless of their statutory responsibilities, did what the ministers and the Prime Minister’s Office told them to do. Previous ministerial incumbents are not responsible or accountable, and the present minister has satisfied his responsibility by ensuring that the problems have been corrected. No one is responsible or accountable for the problems. The system worked as described by the Privy Council Office.

The public accounts committee now faces the question of whether it considers this to be an adequate description of what ministerial and deputy ministerial responsibility and accountability of government to Parliament ought to be. If the committee believes it to be adequate, its work is completed, and all that remains is for the judicial inquiry to make its study of what went wrong and for the police to investigate possible criminal activities. But if the committee does not believe this is satisfactory, it has an additional task: to find a better way of handling these crucial relationships between Parliament, ministers, and public servants.

A Better Way

Britain has a quite different approach towards responsibility and accountability to Parliament for administration and the use of funds. In Britain the permanent secretaries or heads of department, equivalent to our deputy ministers, are designated as accounting officers and have full and personal responsibility for the transactions in the account, including matters of prudence, probity, legality, and value for money, unless they have been explicitly overruled in writing by their minister. This responsibility of the accounting officers is personal and remains with them, even when they change office or retire. Either the minister is responsible or the deputy is, not both, not neither. Establishing the accounting officer approach and ensuring that it works in practice has been the central concern of the public accounts committee in Britain for over a century.

The accounting officer approach was recommended for Canada by the Lambert commission on financial management and accountability, but this recommendation was rejected by the government. The government’s rejection was based in part on a misunderstanding of the British practice. Other persons have argued against the accounting officer approach because it is “unconstitutional” and goes against the principles of the Westminster style of parliamentary government. I find it difficult to understand how a practice that has existed in the British Parliament at Westminster for over 100 years can be unconstitutional or go against the principles of the Westminster model.

Another argument offered against adoption is that the present arrangements in Canada work well most of the time. This is true, but when the present arrangements do not work well, as they did not in the sponsorship affair, the consequences can be horrendous and destructive to the entire system of parliamentary cabinet government, including public trust and confidence in the neutrality of the public service.

Another argument used by the Privy Council Office against the accounting officer approach is that:

Formal and direct accountability of officials to Parliament for administrative matters would divide the responsibility of ministers.... Responsibility shared tends to be responsibility shirked.... Parliament prefers not to recognize the informal division between the answerability of officials and of ministers...and the attempt to identify discrete areas of official accountability to Parliament would likely result in the further blurring of lines of accountability, weakening the ability of the House to hold the minister responsible when it chooses for matters falling under his or her authority.1

The Public Accounts Committee might not agree with the Privy Council on these points. The committee is entitled to, and should, express its views.

The committee might conclude that the government’s interpretations and practice, not Parliament’s wishes, have led to the scandals and the obfuscation of lines of responsibility and accountability found by the committee in the sponsorship affair. It might conclude that the Privy Council Office’s interpretation of responsibility and accountability in our parliamentary system contains far too many gaps, ambiguities, and contradictions and that the system does not work to the satisfaction of Parliament or the people of Canada.

I do not believe that responsibility and accountability could be much more shirked or the division of responsibility between ministers and deputy ministers much more confused and blurred than the committee has proven them to be in the sponsorship affair. If Canada adopted the accounting officer approach, then at least the public accounts committee and Canadians in general would know who was responsible and who should be held accountable. That, to put it mildly, would be a great improvement.

Notes

1. Canada, Privy Council Office, Responsibility in the Constitution, 1977, reprinted in 1993, pp. 77-78.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 27 no 3
2004






Last Updated: 2019-11-29

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
La responsabilité, la reddition de comptes et l'affaire des commandites
C.E.S. Franks

Le 10 février 2004, la vérificatrice générale, Sheila Fraser, a publié les résultats très attendus de sa vérification du programme de publicité et de commandite administré par Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada. Elle a constaté que 100 millions de dollars avaient été versés à des agences de communications sous forme d’honoraires et de commissions et a déclaré que le programme semblait avoir été conçu pour donner des commissions à ces entreprises plutôt que pour procurer un avantage quelconque à la population canadienne. Le même jour, le premier ministre Paul Martin a institué une commission d’enquête dirigée par le juge John Gomery qui doit se pencher sur la gestion du programme de commandite. Présidé par John Williams, le Comité des comptes publics de la Chambre des communes a tenu plusieurs semaines d’audiences sur le rapport de la vérificatrice générale. L’un des derniers témoins à comparaître devant le Comité avant la dissolution du Parlement pour des élections a tenté de dégager de l’incident une leçon en matière de reddition de comptes et a suggéré des moyens susceptibles d’éviter la résurgence de tels problèmes.  

L’enquête menée par le Comité des comptes publics sur l’affaire des commandites a abouti à un constat utile, mais peut-être imprévu et inattendu. Elle a permis de mettre le doigt sur une lacune cruciale responsable de tels problèmes. En effet, pas un des nombreux témoins qui ont comparu devant le comité — anciens ministres et hauts fonctionnaires — n’a dit : « Oui, la gestion de ce programme relevait de moi et je suis donc responsable de ce qui a mal tourné. »

Nous vivons sous un régime de gouvernement responsable et, de par la Constitution, quelqu’un doit être responsable et redevable devant le Parlement de ce que le gouvernement a fait ou a omis de faire. Pourtant, pas un des témoins entendus n’a accepté d’assumer la responsabilité des problèmes en cause. La responsabilité ministérielle ou autre brille par son absence. L’absence de responsabilité et de reddition de comptes mise en lumière par l’enquête du Comité des comptes publics atteste l’existence de graves problèmes dans la manière dont se conçoit et s’applique la notion de responsabilité au Canada.

Il faut conférer les responsabilités à des personnes précises si l’on veut que celles-ci rendent des comptes. Dans notre système parlementaire à Cabinet, la responsabilité repose en majeure partie sur les épaules des ministres. Mais, dans un système aussi vaste et complexe que le gouvernement du Canada, il doit y avoir des exceptions à la règle générale, et la doctrine de la responsabilité ministérielle comporte des exceptions où les responsabilités sont attribuées à des personnes autres que les ministres. Plusieurs documents font état de l’interprétation que fait le Bureau du Conseil privé du fonctionnement concret de la responsabilité ministérielle et des exceptions à la doctrine stricte voulant qu’un ministre soit responsable de toutes les actions des fonctionnaires qui relèvent de lui. Il faut être au fait de ces exceptions pour bien comprendre les frustrations et les difficultés du Comité des comptes publics.

La version du Bureau du Conseil privé de la responsabilité ministérielle n’est pas sans failles, et ce sont elles qui ont permis que le système fonctionne si mal pendant aussi longtemps dans l’affaire des commandites. Quand on aura compris les exceptions et les failles, on saura ce qu’il faut faire pour éviter à l’avenir que de tels problèmes ne surviennent ou, du moins, les déceler plus rapidement.

Premièrement, d’après le Bureau du Conseil privé, seul le ministre en poste est responsable et redevable devant le Parlement. Un ancien ministre n’est pas responsable et ne peut pas être obligé de répondre devant le Parlement ou ses comités des erreurs commises durant son mandat. C’est la raison pour laquelle les anciens titulaires de charge ministérielle ont comparu devant le Comité des comptes publics à titre personnel.

Deuxièmement, la doctrine du Bureau du Conseil privé veut que tout ministre en poste soit redevable devant le Parlement de ce qui s’est en fait passé durant le mandat de ses prédécesseurs. Être redevable devant le Parlement est moins lourd qu’être responsable devant le Parlement.

Troisièmement, la doctrine veut que les ministres rendent compte au Parlement en fournissant de l’information sur l’usage qui est fait, par les organismes non ministériels, des pouvoirs qui leur sont conférés par la loi. En effet, en ce qui concerne l’exercice de ces pouvoirs législatifs, les dirigeants de ces organismes rendent compte non pas à un ministre, mais au Parlement, par l’intermédiaire du ministre concerné.

Quatrièmement, toujours selon la doctrine, les sous-ministres sont redevables devant les comités parlementaires, mais pas responsables envers eux. Les sous-ministres sont responsables envers leur ministre, le premier ministre et le Conseil du Trésor, mais pas envers le Parlement ou ses comités. Les responsabilités incombant exclusivement aux sous-ministres aux termes de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques comprennent des responsabilités cruciales comme tenir les comptes et garantir la prudence et la probité dans les opérations financières. En fait, il semblerait que, si les ministres ne sont pas responsables et redevables devant le Parlement de l’exercice des pouvoirs conférés par la loi aux organismes non ministériels, ils sont, en revanche, responsables et redevables devant le Parlement de l’exercice des pouvoirs que la loi confère aux sous-ministres.

Cinquièmement, lorsque des erreurs ou des fautes sont commises par des fonctionnaires, la doctrine dit que les ministres doivent intervenir rapidement pour y remédier et fournir au Parlement l’assurance que les mesures correctives voulues ont été prises. Les impératifs de la responsabilité ministérielle sont satisfaits lorsque les ministres rendent compte au Parlement dans ce sens.

L’interprétation du Bureau du Conseil privé signifie qu’aucun ministre actuel ou ancien ne doit répondre devant le Parlement des problèmes survenus durant le mandat d’un prédécesseur.

Responsabilité et reddition de comptes sont liées à la charge et à son titulaire actuel. Les ministres ne sont pas responsables quand des fonctionnaires commettent une faute. Plus important encore dans l’affaire des commandites, les sous-ministres doivent rendre des comptes au gouvernement — c’est-à-dire au ministre, au premier ministre et au Conseil du Trésor, mais pas au Parlement — des fonctions de gestion cruciales qui leur sont confiées en exclusivité par la loi. Il semblerait aussi, mais le Bureau du Conseil privé ne le dit pas explicitement, que le principe selon lequel la responsabilité est rattachée à la charge et non à la personne s’applique au sous-ministre aussi bien qu’au ministre.

Or, comme ministres et sous-ministres changent fréquemment au Canada, la personne responsable qu’interroge le Comité des comptes publics est rarement le sous-ministre qui était aux commandes quand les gestes en cause ont été posés. Comme les ministres aussi changent souvent, ils sont, la plupart du temps, non pas responsables mais comptables — comme cela s’est produit dans l’affaire des commandites — quand le Parlement est finalement saisi des problèmes.

Cette interprétation par le Bureau du Conseil privé de la doctrine de la responsabilité ministérielle décrit fidèlement la manière dont les divers témoins conçoivent leurs responsabilités et leur obligation de rendre compte envers le Comité des comptes publics. Les sous-ministres, indépendamment de leurs responsabilités législatives, ont fait ce que les ministres et le Cabinet du premier ministre leur ont dit de faire. Les anciens ministres ne sont ni responsables ni comptables, et le ministre actuel s’est acquitté de ses responsabilités en veillant à ce que les problèmes soient corrigés. Personne n’est responsable des problèmes ni n’est tenu d’en rendre compte. Le système a fonctionné exactement comme le décrit le Bureau du Conseil privé.

Reste à savoir si le Comité des comptes publics estime que cette conception de la responsabilité des ministres et des sous-ministres et de l’obligation du gouvernement de rendre compte au Parlement est opportune. Si le comité la trouve correcte, son travail est terminé. L’enquête judiciaire permettra d’élucider les faits et la police fera enquête sur les activités criminelles, le cas échéant. Mais, si le Comité conclut que cette conception est erronée, il lui reste encore à trouver une meilleure façon de gérer ces relations cruciales qui existent entre le Parlement, les ministres et les fonctionnaires.

Un meilleur moyen

La Grande-Bretagne a une façon tout à fait différente de concevoir la responsabilité et la reddition de comptes au Parlement relativement à l’administration et à l’emploi des fonds publics. Dans ce pays, les administrateurs permanents (permanent heads) des ministères — l’équivalent de nos sous-ministres—sont désignés comme « agents comptables » et sont personnellement et entièrement responsables des opérations financières, y compris des questions de prudence, de probité, de légalité et d’optimisation des ressources, à moins que leurs décisions n’aient été explicitement annulées par écrit par le ministre dont ils relèvent. Cette responsabilité des agents comptables est personnelle et leur reste attachée, même s’ils changent de poste ou prennent leur retraite. La responsabilité incombe au ministre ou au sous-ministre mais pas aux deux. Et pas à ni l’un ni l’autre. Cela fait plus d’un siècle que le comité des comptes publics britannique peaufine l’application du principe des agents comptables.

Cette démarche a été recommandée pour le Canada par la Commission Lambert sur la gestion financière et l’imputabilité, mais le gouvernement n’en a pas voulu, en partie faute de bien comprendre ce dont il s’agit. Certaines personnes s’opposent à cette démarche sous prétexte qu’elle est « inconstitutionnelle » et contraire aux principes du gouvernement parlementaire de type britannique. J’ai personnellement du mal à concevoir qu’une pratique qui existe au Parlement de Westminster depuis plus de 100 ans puisse être inconstitutionnelle ou contraire aux principes du modèle britannique.

D’autres ne voient pas la nécessité de changer de système considérant que, la plupart du temps, le système actuel fonctionne bien au Canada. C’est vrai. Mais les ratés de ce système, quand il y en a, comme dans l’affaire des commandites, peuvent avoir des conséquences néfastes pour l’ensemble d’un régime parlementaire doté d’un cabinet, notamment sur la confiance de la population dans la neutralité de la fonction publique.

Le Bureau du Conseil privé invoque un autre argument contre l’adoption du principe de l’agent comptable :

L’obligation officielle et directe qui incombe aux fonctionnaires de rendre compte au Parlement des questions administratives aurait pour effet de diviser la responsabilité des ministres [...] [R]esponsabilité partagée est responsabilité évitée [...] Le Parlement tend à ne pas reconnaître cette séparation officieuse entre l’obligation de rendre compte des fonctionnaires et celle des ministres [...] tout effort visant à définir les secteurs qui doivent relever spécifiquement de la responsabilité des fonctionnaires aurait pour effet d’effacer davantage les limites de responsabilité et d’affaiblir, le cas échéant, l’aptitude de la Chambre à tenir le ministre responsable des questions qui sont de sa compétence1.

Le comité des comptes publics ne sera pas nécessairement d’accord avec le Bureau du Conseil privé à ce sujet. Il a le droit de faire valoir ses vues et devrait le faire.

Il pourrait conclure que ce sont les interprétations et pratiques du gouvernement, et non les vœux du Parlement, qui ont mené au scandale et brouillé les responsabilités. Il pourrait conclure que l’interprétation que fait le Bureau du Conseil privé de la responsabilité et de la reddition de comptes dans notre régime parlementaire comporte bien trop de lacunes, d’ambiguïtés et de contradictions, et que le système donne des résultats insatisfaisants pour le Parlement et pour la population.

Il serait difficile d’esquiver davantage la responsabilité et l’obligation de rendre compte, ou d’estomper davantage les limites de responsabilité entre les ministres et les sous-ministres que cela n’a été le cas dans l’affaire des commandites, comme l’a démontré le comité. Si le Canada adoptait le principe de l’agent comptable, le comité des comptes publics et les Canadiens en général sauraient au moins qui est responsable et qui doit rendre compte de ces actes. Le moins qu’on puisse dire, c’est que cela serait une amélioration considérable.

Notes

1. Canada, Bureau du Conseil privé, La responsabilité constitutionnelle, 1977, réimprimé en 1993.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 27 no 3
2004






Dernière mise à jour : 2018-07-31