Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFranšais

PDF
Parliamentary Book ShelfParliamentary Book Shelf
John Holtby

Inside The Pink Palace - Ontario Legislature Internship Essays. Graham White, editor, The Ontario Legislature Internship Programme/The Canadian Political Science Association, Toronto, 1993, 309 pages.

In the mid 1970s the "Trinkets" took the Ontario Legislature by storm. Not a musical group, the Trinkets were the first band of interns who pioneered a new partnership between provincial politicians and the academic community. They were given that nom de guerre by a veteran Queen's Park columnist who saw the interns within the context of a political culture which he probably felt was expanding excessively and losing the intimacy of the men's club of yesteryear. He labelled the interns the latest trinkets in an expansion of the services and facilities for MPPs. Only five years earlier members were provided with individual offices, half a secretary and a telephone. The expansion was getting to be a bit much - more trinkets!

Patterned after the successful internship program in the House of Commons under the auspices of the Canadian Political Science Association, the Ontario program had several goals. For the M.P.P. the interns would provide badly needed additional staff capacity. The intern would see the real world of the provincial politician. The community, particularly the academic community would learn more about the legislature and its political denizens. The dearth of authoritative writing about the provincial legislative assembly would be supplemented by a requirement that each intern submit to the academic director, a paper on some aspect of the legislature.

Inside the Pink Palace is a compilation of some of the papers Interns prepared between 1987 and 1992. They cover the predictable field of Ontario legislature life. The editor of the volume is the current academic director Graham White, one of the original Trinkets. His own internship paper remains an important chronicle of the development of the contemporary Ontario legislature.

Remembering that the Interns are named by the selection committee for a variety of reasons one should not expect these papers to be doctoral dissertations. Thankfully they are not, although some are heavy with academic theoretical debate and references which will be of interest to political scientists. The goal of the paper is a tough one - to illuminate an aspect of political reality from the privileged position of the trusted fly on the wall.

The devastation wrought upon our Parliaments by a fickle electorate brings a high turnover in the membership of these bodies. It results in much re´nvention of the wheel by newcomers. It is therefore not surprising that some themes have remained constant over the years, such as the inordinate time and resources focused by both opposition and government on preparation for the oral question period and the dependence on the Queen's Park media to communicate party messages. The oral question period is traditionally defended as a great democratic accountability session. Christopher Jones describes an interesting scene from inside the NDP caucus before that party came to power. It is one in which the leadership and the caucus researchers dominate question period with minimal involvement by private members who may wish to raise questions of peripheral news value or of important local interest. The victory of partyism over the needs and interests of local representatives is familiar in many Canadian parliamentary bodies.

Other aspects of legislature life are new and the interns examination is a useful one. Those who feel that members of legislatures should have a role in the scrutiny or ratification of order-in-council appointments to government posts should read carefully the contribution of Valerie Moore and Heather Plewes. Several Canadian parliamentary bodies have attempted to involve themselves in the scrutiny of political appointments or have attempted to expand their role to share the Crown's authority to make political appointments. When parliamentarians attempt to cross the dividing line between Crown responsibility and parliamentary scrutiny the results are inevitably unsatisfactory.

There is a thread running though these papers, although it is not likely intentional. It is the angst of parliamentarians coming to grips with the parliamentary form of responsible government in a society which is profoundly influenced by American congressional democracy. While reading Catherine Curtis' and Gordon Wong's comparison of the Rae NDP caucus in opposition with the Peterson government Liberal caucus, and Gerard McDonald's assessment of the Rae government NDP caucus I recalled one former Ottawa MP telling of his expectations after getting elected. "I thought I would come down to Ottawa, sit in a big chair and make decisions about how the country would be run." Canadians generally do not know much about their parliamentary monarchic form of government. They start, like the ex-MP, with the na´ve thought that Mr. Smith Goes to Washington is real, and a part of the Canadian fabric. In response to dissatisfaction by their membership both the Liberal and the NDP parliamentary groups have had to significantly restructure their caucus structures when in government to meet the demands of the caucus for more authority over new legislative initiatives.

Donald Figol assesses the lot of the Parliamentary Assistant and concludes that the role in the present administration is a marginal one. In doing so he highlights an ongoing discussion which is taking place here and at Westminster - that the number of parliamentarians who hold offices of Crown pay, whips, house leaders, committee chairs, parliamentary secretaries, junior ministers, etc, has grown so large that the natural competition between the front and back benches of the parties which should encourage mutual performance has largely been bought off with public money. In Ontario for over half a century members have been paid supplementary amounts for attendance at committee meetings during periods of parliamentary recess. While initially it was a way to fudge low parliamentary indemnities it has now become part of the Whip's reward and punishment system, a discipline founded on discretionary public expenditure rather than party nominations and constituency party pressure.

Perhaps the most important paper for current political practitioners is by Rachel Grasham who describes the selling of the 1992 NDP budget. Several proposals for a reformed budgetary process are currently in the market place, including one by the elite Public Policy Forum. They focus on diminished budgetary secrecy and greater public consultation, usually involving a parliamentary committee. Grasham reports that the NDP have successfully used communications, marketing strategies and caucus structures rather than parliamentary structures to satisfy members and the public. Says Grasham, "Members firmly believed that this was a new, more open, consultative process based on public education, in keeping with NDP philosophy. This elevated their self-confidence as well as their confidence in the government's future chances of success. Several MPPs commented that they thought it was a turning point, and that for the first time, they felt that the government had a chance of being reelected."

In less than two decades the internship program has paid off handsomely, as this collection illustrates. Former interns carry a legacy of insider knowledge. Sufficient time has passed to see former interns in positions of influence in academe, business, professional and public service, journalism, and the like. Their experience generally brings a sympathy for the person who is prepared to serve the public by standing for public office. Janice Duggan arrived "believing that politicians were overpaid and under-worked and that most of their efforts were self-interested, with reelection rather than the public interest as the crux of their efforts." She found the opposite to be true. After an excellent insiders description of the frustrations involved in the politics of Private Members' Business she is left frustrated and ambivalent about the system rather than the participants. It is a commonly held belief.

The function of the internship program has changed. Members have many more resources at their disposal than they did fifteen years ago. Staffing and resources for the Legislative Assembly has grossly proliferate with the consequential ballooning of its budget. We are entitled to ask if we are exponentially better governed, is public policy better considered, or is it as one retired party leader responded, "I'm afraid most of the resources get put into a longer Christmas card list". Perhaps this is a subject for a future intern paper, and like Inside the Pink Palace it would be worth reading.

John Holtby, Brockville, Ontario


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 17 no 1
1994






Last Updated: 2018-07-31

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish
Sur les rayonsSur les rayons
John Holtby

Inside The Pink Palace - Ontario Legislature Internship Essays, Graham White, Programme de stages de l'Assemblée législative de l'Ontario/Association canadienne de sciences politiques, 309 pages

Les «Bibelots» ont investi l'Assemblée législative de l'Ontario au milieu des années 70. Il ne s'agit pas d'un groupe rock, mais bien du premier groupe de stagiaires qui a bénéficié d'un nouveau programme de partenariat entre la gent politique provinciale et le milieu universitaire. Ce nom de guerre leur fut donné par un chroniqueur parlementaire de la vieille garde pour qui ces stagiaires faisaient irruption dans le contexte d'une culture politique qui perdait probablement, par suite d'une expansion excessive, l'intimité de ces havres de paix d'autrefois, les clubs réservés aux hommes, Les stagiaires étaient, à ses yeux, les derniers d'une multitude de services et d'installations sur lesquels les députés, qui avaient obtenu à peine cinq ans plus tôt des bureaux prives, une demi-secrétaire et un téléphone, pouvaient maintenant compter. D'autres bibelots: cela commençait à dépasser les bornes!

Inspiré du programme de stages organisé en collaboration avec l'Association canadienne de sciences politiques et connaissant un énorme succès à la Chambre des communes, le programme ontarien poursuivait plusieurs objectifs. Aux yeux des députés provinciaux, les stagiaires répondraient à un grand besoin de personnel supplémentaire. En outre, ils seraient mis en contact avec le monde réel de la politique provinciale, permettant ainsi à la collectivité, et notamment le milieu universitaire, d'en apprendre plus long sur l'Assemblée législative et sa faune politique. L'obligation, pour chaque stagiaire, de remettre au directeur des études un mémoire sur un aspect particulier de l'Assemblée législative permettrait en outre de remédier à la carence de documents faisant autorité sur l'Assemblée législative provinciale.

Inside the Pink Palace regroupe une partie des mémoires rédigés par les stagiaires entre 1987 et 1992. Les aspects prévisibles des activités de l'Assemblée législative de l'Ontario figurent parmi les thèmes traités. L'ouvrage est publié sous la direction du directeur des études actuel, Graham White, Fun des «Bibelots» de la première heure. Son propre mémoire de stage demeure un important tableau de l'évolution contemporaine de l'Assemblée législative ontarienne.

Comme diverses raisons président au choix des stagiaires effectué par le comité de sélection, il ne faut pas s'attendre à ce que ces mémoires soient des thèses de doctorat. Dieu merci, il n'en est rien, même si certains mémoires sont truffés de discussions théoriques et de références qui présenteront sans doute de l'intérêt pour les politicologues. Le but des mémoires, de faire la lumière sur un aspect de la réalité politique vue du point de vue privilégié de la taupe qui a su gagner la confiance du groupe infiltré, n'est pas évident.

La dévastation qu'un électorat volage inflige à nos Parlements se traduit par un taux de roulement élevé au sein de ces assemblées. Il s'ensuit que les nouveaux arrivés réinventent sans cesse la roue. Il n'est donc pas étonnant que, d'année en année, certains thèmes reviennent, comme le temps et les ressources excessifs que tant l'opposition que le parti ministériel consacrent à se préparer pour la période des questions orales et la mesure dans laquelle chaque parti dépend des journalistes affectés à Queen's Park pour communiquer leur message. La période des questions orales est habituellement défendue comme étant une grande institution démocratique qui oblige les politiciens à rendre des comptes. Christopher Jones décrit une scène intéressante, au caucus du NPD, avant son accession au pouvoir. Cette scène montre à quel point la direction et les attachés de recherche du caucus dominent la période des questions en réduisant au minimum la participation des simples députés qui aimeraient peut-être soulever des questions d'intérêt médiatique secondaire ou d'importance locale. La domination du parti sur les besoins et intérêts des représentants locaux se constate dans bien des parlements canadiens.

Le regard approfondi que les stagiaires jettent sur de nouveaux aspects de la vie législative est utile. Ceux qui voudraient que les députés aient un mot à dire dans l'examen ou la ratification des nominations par décret aux postes gouvernementaux auraient intérêt à lire attentivement l'étude produite par Valarie Moore et Heather Plewes. Plusieurs assemblées parlementaires canadiennes ont tenté de s'immiscer dans l'examen des nominations politiques ou d'élargir leur rôle afin de s'arroger une partie du pouvoir dont la Couronne dispose à cet égard. Les résultats laissent inévitablement à désirer lorsque les parlementaires cherchent à franchir la ligne de démarcation entre les responsabilités de la Couronne et l'examen minutieux des nominations.

Bien que ce ne soit sans doute pas intentionnel, ces études ont un point commun : l'anxiété des parlementaires aux prises avec notre forme de gouvernement responsable au sein d'une société profondément influencée par la démocratie telle que vécue au Congrès américain. Je me suis souvenu, en lisant la comparaison que Catherine Curtis et Gordon Wong établissent entre le caucus néo-démocrate de Bob Rae dans l'opposition et le caucus du gouvernement libéral de David Peterson, et. l'évaluation que Gerard McDonald fait du caucus du gouvernement néo-démocrate de Bob Rae, de la façon dont un ancien député fédéral décrivait ses attentes après son élection. «Je m'attendais à arriver à Ottawa, à m'installer dans un grand fauteuil et à prendre des décisions sur la façon de diriger le pays.» Dans l'ensemble, les Canadiens ne savent pas grand-chose sur leur forme monarchique de gouvernement parlementaire. Tout comme cet ancien député, ils partent avec l'idée naïve que la réalité correspond à celle dépeinte dans le film Mr. Smith Goes to Washington et que cela fait partie du tissu social canadien. L'insatisfaction de leurs membres a forcé les groupes parlementaires, tant du côté des Libéraux que des Néo-démocrates, à modifier sensiblement les structures de leur caucus une fois au pouvoir pour répondre aux revendications de ceux qui veulent influer davantage sur les nouvelles mesures législatives.

Après avoir examiné le sort des adjoints parlementaires, Donald Figol conclut que leur rôle est marginal dans l'administration actuelle. Ce faisant, il met en lumière un débat dans lequel les gens se demandent, ici et à Westminster, si le nombre de parlementaires qui occupent des postes dotés par la Couronne -whips, leaders en Chambre, présidents de comité, secrétaires parlementaires, ministres de second rang, etc. - n'a pas atteint un niveau susceptible d'étouffer au sein des partis, à même les deniers publics, la concurrence naturelle, entre députés des banquettes ministérielles et ceux de l'arrière-ban, qui devrait stimuler une émulation réciproque. Depuis plus d'un demi-siècle, des suppléments de rémunération sont versés aux députés qui participent à des réunions de comité lorsque le Parlement ne siège pas. Cette mesure, qui visait initialement à compenser des indemnités parlementaires insuffisantes, fait maintenant partie du système de récompenses et de punitions dont dispose le whip. Cette forme de discipline repose sur les dépenses publiques discrétionnaires plutôt que sur les nominations partisanes et les pressions exercées au niveau des circonscriptions.

L'étude la plus importante pour les politiciens actuels est peut-être celle de Rachel Grasham, qui décrit la façon dont le gouvernement néo-démocrate s'y est pris pour faire accepter son budget en 1992. Plusieurs propositions de réforme du processus budgétaire sont actuellement à l'étude, dont celles du prestigieux Forum des politiques publiques. On y réclame moins de secrets budgétaires et plus de consultations publiques, par le biais habituellement d'un comité parlementaire. Grasham explique que le NPD a su exploiter les communications, des stratégies de commercialisation et les structures du caucus plutôt que les structures parlementaires pour satisfaire tant ses membres que le public. D'après elle, «les députés étaient convaincus qu'il s'agissait d'un nouveau processus plus ouvert de consultation qui reposait, selon la philosophie néo-démocrate, sur l'éducation du public. En plus d'accroître leur assurance, cela leur inspirait davantage confiance dans les chances de succès de leur gouvernement à l'avenir. Plusieurs députés croyaient que c'était un point tournant et avaient, pour la première fois, l'impression que le gouvernement avait des chances de se faire réélire.»

Comme le montre ce recueil, le programme de stages a produit, en moins de deux décennies, d'excellents résultats. Les anciens stagiaires conservent un bagage de connaissances réservé aux initiés. Il s'est écoulé suffisamment de temps pour que certains d'entre eux aient atteint des postes élevés dans le milieu universitaire, les affaires, diverses professions, la fonction publique, le journalisme, et ainsi de suite. Leur expérience les rend généralement plus sympathiques à l'égard de ceux qui sont prêts à se mettre au service du public en se portant candidats aux élections. Arrivée avec «la conviction que, trop bien payés, les politiciens ne travaillaient pas assez et que leurs efforts, axés davantage sur leur réélection que sur l'intérêt du public, étaient en grande partie égocentriques», Janice Duggan a constaté tout le contraire. Après une excellente description, dont seul un témoin est capable, des frustrations auxquelles donnent lieu les éléments politiques des affaires émanant des députés, elle se sent frustrée et ambivalente face, non pas aux intervenants, mais au système. C'est une conviction assez répandue.

La fonction du programme de stages a évolué. Les députés disposent de beaucoup plus de ressources qu'ils n'en avaient il y a quinze ans. Le personnel et les ressources de l'Assemblée législative ont proliféré à l'excès, avec un gonflement budgétaire qui va de pair. Il y a lieu de se demander s'il y a eu une amélioration proportionnelle de la façon dont nous sommes gouvernés et dont les politiques publiques sont étudiées, ou s'il faut craindre, comme répliquait un ancien chef de parti, «que la plupart des ressources ne servent qu'à allonger la liste des cartes de Noël». Il y a peut-être là matière à un futur mémoire de fin de stage qui mériterait, tout comme Inside the Pink Palace, d'être lu.

John Holtby


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 17 no 1
1994






Dernière mise à jour : 2018-07-31