Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFranšais

PDF
CPA Activities: The Canadian SceneCPA Activities: The Canadian Scene


Canadian Regional Council Meeting, June 5, 1993

The annual meeting of the Canadian Regional Council, the governing body of the Canadian Region of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association was held on June 5, 1993. The host of the meeting was the Speaker pro tempore of the Senate Gerald Ottenheimer, filling in for Speaker John Fraser of the House of Commons. Members of the Council wished Speaker Fraser a speedy recovery. Senator Ottenheimer opened the meeting by welcoming the three new Speakers elected since the last meeting. They include Alan Nordling (Yukon), Nancy Guptill (PEI) and Paul Dicks (Newfoundland). Other Speakers in attendance included David Carter (Alberta), Denis Rocan (Manitoba), Jean-Pierre Saintonge (Quebec), David Warner (Ontario), Ronald Russell (Nova Scotia), Michael Ballantyne (NWT), Herman Rolfes (Saskatchewan), Shirley Dysart (New Brunswick). Also present were Senator William Doody, Chairman of the Federal Branch, and Girve Fretz MP the Canadian Regional Representative. Speaker Dysart was elected to replace former Speaker Clark of Prince Edward Island as another Regional Representative.

Mr. Fretz and Speaker Rocan reported on CPA international activities during the past year. Next year the plenary meeting will be held in Canada and Senator Doody reported on arrangements to date for this meeting to be held from October 5-15, 1994 in Banff, Alberta

Senator Doody also reported on arrangements for the 33rd Conference of the Canadian Region to be held in Ottawa from August 8-14, 1993. The theme for the conference is Representative and Responsible Government Reconsidered. Each session of the conference will be devoted to a particular problem related to this general theme. Participants will be invited to reflect upon how our parliamentary form of government will have to evolve to remain representative and responsible as understood in the 21st century. The specific topics on the agenda include: The Changing Nature of Representation, the Lessons of October 26, Choosing the Leader, Parliamentary Scrutiny of Expenditures: A Comparative Perspective, Lobbying and the Registration of Lobbyists, Free Votes, Responsible Government and Legislative Reform.

In other business the council adopted a slightly modified budget sharing arrangement whereby Ottawa will pay one half of the operating budget for the Canadian Region with the reminder divided among the provinces and territories on the basis of the number of seats in each legislature. This formula was based on a recommendation by the executive committee. The Council also agreed to fund a proposal by the Centre for Legislative Exchange to hold a seminar for legislators on Education in Washington in October 1993.

New Speakers and Clerks

Following recent elections new Speakers have been elected in Prince Edward Island and Newfoundland. In PEI the new Speaker is Nancy Guptill. She was born in Halifax where she obtained her elementary and high school education. In 1961 she graduated from the Victoria General Hospital - the School of Radiotherapy as a technologist and worked at the hospital for 2 years. In 1964 she moved to St. John's Newfoundland where she was employed in the Radiotherapy Department as technologist and instructor. In 1982 Nancy Guptill was elected to the Summerside Town Council and then re-elected in 1985. She was Chairperson of the recreation Committee. She also served as Chairperson of the Promotion, Planning and Development Committee; Member of the Summerside Area Regional Planning Board.

Mrs. Guptill was first elected as Liberal MLA for 5th Prince in September 1987 by-election. She served on standing committees for Public Accounts and Fisheries, Industry, Tourism and Labour. She was re-elected in the Provincial Election in May 1989, and was appointed to the cabinet as Minister of Tourism and Parks. On November 14, 1991, she was appointed as Minister of Labour and also Minister Responsible for Status of Women. She was re-elected in March 1993 Provincial Election and was appointed Speaker of the Legislative Assembly on April 15, 1993.

In Newfoundland the new Speaker is Paul Dicks. Mr. Dicks was born on April 13, 1950 and is a native of Corner Brook. He graduated from Regina High School, Corner Brook, in 1967. In 1973, Mr. Dicks graduated from Memorial University with BA(Hon) and BEd degrees with First Class standing in both Education and Arts. In that year, he also received the University Gold Medal in Philosophy and the Newfoundland Teacher's Association Medal for Outstanding Student in Education.

In 1973, Mr. Dicks was awarded a Sir James Dunn Scholarship at Dalhousie University Law School and graduated with an LLB in 1976. He was called to the Bar of Newfoundland on December 10, 1976, and practised law in Corner Brook from January, 1977, until April 20, 1989, when he was elected to represent the District of Humber West. Mr. Dicks was appointed Minister of Justice and Attorney General in May, 1989, and held that post until November, 1991. He was reelected in the General Election on May 3, 1993 and was elected Speaker of the House of Assembly on May 20, 1993.

Mr. Dicks was President of the Humber West District Association in 1978, Constitutional Chairman of the Liberal Party in 1981 and was elected President of the Liberal Party of Newfoundland and Labrador in 1984.

The retirement of two of the longest serving Table Officers in provincial legislatures was announced recently. In Prince Edward Island Doug Boylan retired as Clerk of the Legislative Assembly on April 30, 1993 after 22 years at the Table. His replacement is R. Alan Rankin. Mr. Rankin has been employed with the Government of Prince Edward Island for a number of years and is a former Deputy Minister in the Department of Community and Cultural Affairs.

On March 18 in British Columbia a motion was moved by the Premier and seconded by the Leader ofthe Official Opposition to appoint the Deputy Clerk E. George MacMinn as Clerk of the Legislative Assembly effective September 1, 1993. He replaces Ian M. Horne, Clerk of the Assembly since 1973. Mr. Horne becomes Clerk Consultant.

Mr. MacMinn began his career at the Table as Clerk Assistant in 1957 with the British Columbia Legislature and became Deputy Clerk in 1973, a position he has held since that time. A Barrister and Solicitor, he was called to the Bar in 1954 having graduated from the University of British Columbia Law School in 1953. Mr. MacMinn was appointed Queen's Counsel on March 29, 1984.

He is the author of several publications including Parliamentary Practice in British Columbia which has become the primary reference source on procedural matters affecting British Columbia.

A member of the Association of Canadian Clerks-at-the-Table, Mr. MacMinn has held administrative positions within the Association including President. He has acted as the Secretary to various B.C. delegations to Commonwealth Parliamentary Association meetings, the National Conference of State Legislatures in the United States, participated in meetings of the American Society of Clerks and Secretaries, and held various seminars in B.C. relative to parliamentary practice and procedure. In 1985 he served an attachment to the House of Commons in the United Kingdom.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 16 no 2
1993






Last Updated: 2020-03-03

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Activités de l’APC : la scène canadienneActivités de l’APC : la scène canadienne


Réunion du Conseil régional canadien, 5 juin 1993

Le Conseil régional canadien, organe directeur de la Région canadienne de l'Association parlementaire du Commonwealth, a tenu sa réunion annuelle le 5 juin 1993. C'est le président pro tempore du Sénat Gerald Ottenheimer qui en a été l'hôte en remplacement du président de la Chambre des communes John Fraser. Les membres du conseil ont exprimé à l'intention du président Fraser des voeux de prompt rétablissement. Le sénateur Ottenheimer a ouvert la réunion en souhaitant la bienvenue aux trois présidents élus depuis la dernière réunion : Alan Nordling (Yukon), Nancy Guptill (Île-du- Prince-Édouard) et Paul Dicks (Terre-Neuve). Assistaient également à la réunion les présidents David Carter (Alberta), Denis Rocan (Manitoba), David Warner (Ontario), Jean-Pierre Saintonge (Québec), Ronald Russell (Nouvelle-Écosse), Michael Ballantyne (Territoires du Nord-Ouest), Herman Rolfes (Saskatchewan) et Shirley Dysart (Nouveau-Brunswick). Il y avait aussi le sénateur William Doody, président de la section fédérale, et Girve Fretz, député, représentant régional. La présidente Dysart a été élue comme autre représentant régional en remplacement de l'ancien président Clark de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard.

M. Fretz et le président Rocan ont fait rapport des activités de l'APC internationale pendant l'année écoulée. L'an prochain, la réunion plénière aura lieu au Canada du 5 au 15 octobre 1994, à Banff, en Alberta. Le sénateur Doody a fait rapport des préparatifs de la réunion.

Le sénateur Doody a également fait rapport des préparatifs de la 33e conférence de la Région canadienne qui aura lieu à Ottawa du 8 au 14 août 1993. La conférence aura pour thème Second regard sur le gouvernement représentatif et responsable. Chacune des sessions de la conférence sera consacrée à un problème lié au thème général. Les participants seront invités à réfléchir sur la façon dont notre parlementarisme devra évoluer pour rester représentatif et responsable au XXIe siècle. Voici les articles de l'ordre du jour : L'évolution de la représentation; Les leçons du 26 octobre; Le choix d'un chef; L'examen parlementaire des dépenses : Une perspective comparative; Le lobbying et l'enregistrement des lobbyistes; Les votes libres; Le gouvernement responsable et la réforme législative.

Par ailleurs, le conseil a adopté la version légèrement modifiée d'une formule de partage des frais en vertu de laquelle Ottawa paiera la moitié du budget de fonctionnement de la Région canadienne, les autres provinces et territoires se partageant l'autre moitié en fonction du nombre des sièges de leur assemblée. Cette formule s'inspire d'une recommandation du Comité exécutif. Le conseil a également convenu de financer une proposition du Centre des échanges interparlementaires portant d'organiser à l'intention des législateurs un colloque sur l'éducation à Washington en octobre 1993.

Nouveaux présidents et greffiers

De nouveaux présidents ont été élus à l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard et à Terre-Neuve à la suite d'élections. À l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard, le nouveau président est Nancy Guptill. Mme Guptill est née à Halifax, où elle a fait ses études primaires et secondaires. En 1961, elle a obtenu son diplôme de l'École de radiothérapie du Victoria General Hospital, où elle a travaillé pendant deux ans. En 1964, elle a déménagé à Saint-Jean (Terre-Neuve), où elle a travaillé au Département de radiothérapie comme technologiste et instructeur. Elle a été élue au conseil municipal de Summerside en 1982, puis réélue en 1985. Elle était présidente du comité des loisirs. Elle a également présidé le comité de la promotion, de la planification et du développement et siégé au Conseil de la planification régionale de Summerside.

Mme Guptill a été élue députée libérale dans 5th Prince en septembre 1987 lors d'une élection partielle. Elle a siégé aux comités permanents des comptes publics, des pêches, de l'industrie, du tourisme et du travail. Réélue aux élections provinciales de mai 1989, elle a été nommée ministre du Tourisme et des Parcs. Le 14 novembre 1991, elle a été nommée ministre du Travail et ministre responsable de la Condition féminine. Réélue aux élections provinciales de mars 1993, elle a été nommée présidente de l'assemblée le 15 avril 1993.

À Terre-Neuve, le nouveau président est Paul Dicks. Avocat, le président Dicks a été élu pour la première fois à l'Assemblée provinciale en 1989. Il a été ministre de la Justice, procureur général et ministre responsable des Affaires des consommateurs. Il a été élu président après les élections provinciales de 1993.

On a récemment annoncé le départ en retraite de deux des greffiers parlementaires provinciaux les plus chevronnés. À l'Île-du-Prince- Édouard, Doug Boylan s'est retiré comme greffier de l'assemblée le 30 avril 1993 après 22 ans de service. Il est remplacé par Alan Rankin, qui était greffier du comité exécutif.

Le 18 mars, en Colombie- Britannique, l'assemblée a adopté une motion présentée par le premier ministre et appuyée par le chef de l'Opposition officielle portant de nommer le sous-greffier E. George MacMinn au poste de greffier de l'Assemblée législative à compter du 1er septembre 1993. Il remplace Ian M. Horne, greffier de l'assemblée depuis 1973. M. Horne devient consultant auprès du greffier.

M. MacMinn a commencé sa carrière au Bureau comme greffier adjoint de l'Assemblée législative de la Colombie-Britannique en 1957 et, en 1953, il est devenu sous-greffier, poste qu'il a occupé jusqu'à présent. Avocat, il a été admis au Barreau en 1954 après avoir reçu son diplôme de l'École de droit de l'Université de la Colombie-Britannique en 1953. M. MacMinn a été nommé conseiller de la reine le 29 mars 1984.

Il est l'auteur de plusieurs livres dont Parliamentary Practice in British Columbia, qui est devenu le principal ouvrage de référence sur la procédure en Colombie-Britannique.

Membre de l'Association des greffiers parlementaires du Canada, M. MacMinn a occupé au sein de cette association des postes administratifs importants dont celui de président. Il a servi de secrétaire à diverses délégations de la Colombie- Britannique aux réunions de l'Association parlementaire du Commonwealth et à la National Conference of State Legislatures aux États-Unis, participé à des réunions de l'American Society of Clerks and Secretaries et tenu divers colloques en Colombie-Britannique au sujet de la pratique et de la procédure parlementaires. En 1985, il a été détaché à la Chambre des communes du Royaume-Uni.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 16 no 2
1993






Dernière mise à jour : 2018-07-31