Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFranšais

PDF
CPA Activities: The Canadian SceneCPA Activities: The Canadian Scene


Sixteenth Parliamentary Seminar

The Sixteenth Parliamentary Seminar of the Canadian Region, Commonwealth Parliamentary Association was held in Whitehorse, Yukon from November 14-16, 1991.

The Seminar was opened by the Speaker of the Yukon Legislative Assembly, Sam Johnston. The first session dealt with the topic of "Public Cynicism and the Legislator of the 1990s".

The opening Speaker was David Carter, Speaker of the Alberta Legislative Assembly who dealt with some examples of behaviour by politicians that had contributed to the increasing cynicism among the population. He brought along a videotape of a few recent unparliamentary incidents including the case of the federal member who was censured for trying to grab the mace from the Sergeant-at-Arms to protest adjournment of the House. A few examples of general disorder during the Senate debate on the GST were also shown.

Other participants pointed to the double standard of morality often applied to elected officials who are accused of wrong-doing. Many persons felt media coverage had a lot to do with the negative image of politicians while others suggested the parliamentary form of government itself ought to be seriously reexamined. Others suggested it was the members own fault if Canadians did not understand their form of government or the role of members of legislatures.

The Second session dealt with "National Transportation Links" which in the words of Joe Comuzzi, MP, who led off the discussion, are the glue that keeps Canada together. He outlined a number of problems in the trucking, airline, railway sectors but suggested that the greatest problem was the lack of an integrated approach to transportation planning that would bring together those responsible at the federal, provincial and territorial levels of government. Other delegates noted that the ability to travel easily and cheaply was vital to keeping the country together. Our current constitutional problems would be much less if more Canadians had an opportunity to spend time travelling in other parts of the country. There was a general feeling that if a National Transportation Committee could be established with representatives from all legislatures many of the difficulties in the transportation sector could be tackled in a more rational manner. However, in keeping with the tradition of CPA conferences no resolutions were adopted on this or any other subject.

The third session dealt with "The Possibilities for "Effective Representation of the First Nations within the Parliamentary System". The opener, Margaret Joe, of the Yukon, outlined different political traditions of aboriginals who are more at home in a consensual rather than an adversarial context. People speak only if they have something to say and the type of interruptions typical of parliamentary debate are considered impolite.

Other members suggested that non aboriginals could learn a lot about politics from the aboriginal people but, nevertheless, parliament is based on the adversarial approach. Some saw a parallel between aboriginal demands and the desire of Quebec to take its own approach to politics.

The fourth session on "Direct Democracy" brought together a number of the themes that had been discussed in previous session. The opener, Carmen McClelland of Ontario, posed a number of questions about the use of referenda, recall, initiative and other forms of direct democracy. He and others pointed out that these were double edged swords that did allow more individuals to get involved in the political process but also opened the door to majority rule and oppression of minorities.

The final session on tourism was opened by Ross Young of Prince Edward Island. He identified several issues having a profound impact on tourism in Canada including the impact of the GST, the high cost of gasoline and the increase in cross-border shopping. Others suggested that by paying more attention to services offered and making sure that we protect our environment, the greatest Canadian tourism attraction would continue to be our landscape and natural resources. Once again the necessity of all jurisdictions working together was emphasized by many delegates.

Although the conference lasted only two days delegates from most Canadian jurisdictions were in attendance. When it was over visitors had an opportunity to tour the Yukon Game Farm and then a short visit to Takhini Hot Springs where a few delegates joined some of the local residents for a mid-winter swim in the natural outdoor pool. A final banquet with traditional Yukon entertainment brought the seminar to a close. For most delegates it was the first trip to the Yukon and they will long remember the warm welcome, excellent hospitality and spectacular beauty of Canada's northern territory.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 14 no 4
1991






Last Updated: 2020-03-03

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Activités de l’APC : la scène canadienneActivités de l’APC : la scène canadienne


Seizième colloque parlementaire

La Région du Canada de l'Association parlementaire du Commonwealth (APC) a tenu son seizième colloque parlementaire à Whitehorse, au Yukon, du 14 au 16 novembre 1991.

Le président de l'Assemblée législative du Yukon, Sam Johnston, a ouvert la conférence. La première séance avait pour thème le législateur des années 1990 et le cynisme des Canadiens.

Le premier conférencier était le président de l'Assemblée législative de l'Alberta, David Carter, qui a donné quelques exemples de comportement d'élus qui contribuaient à renforcer le cynisme de la population. Il avait apporté une cassette sur laquelle avaient été enregistrés quelques incidents récents de conduite indigne d'un parlementaire, y compris celui du député fédéral contre lequel une motion de blâme a été portée pour avoir tenté d'arracher la Masse au Sergent d'armes afin de protester contre l'ajournement de la Chambre des communes. On a pu aussi voir quelques exemples de désordre général survenus durant le débat sur la TPS au Sénat.

D'autres participants ont fait remarquer la norme de «deux poids deux mesures» qui s'applique souvent aux représentants élus accusés de mauvaise conduite. Pour bien des gens, la piètre image que l'on a des parlementaires est attribuable en grande partie à la couverture des médias alors que, pour d'autres, c'est le régime parlementaire de gouvernement comme tel qu'il faut mettre en question. D'aucuns ont proposé que les députés n'avaient qu'à s'en prendre à eux-mêmes si les Canadiens ne comprenaient pas leur forme de gouvernement ou le rôle des membres d'assemblées législatives.

La deuxième séance, elle, portait sur le réseau national de transport qui, pour reprendre les termes de Joe Comuzzi qui a lancé la discussion, est la colle qui empêche le pays d'éclater. Il a souligné certains problèmes qui sévissent dans le secteur des transports par camion, par air et par chemin de fer, mais il a laissé entendre que le cœur du problème était le manque de la planification intégrée du transport qui permettrait aux responsables de tous les ordres de gouvernement de se concerter. D'autres délégués ont fait observer que la capacité de pouvoir voyager facilement et à bon marché est essentielle à l'unité du pays. Nos problèmes constitutionnels actuels seraient bien moindres si plus de Canadiens pouvaient visiter d'autres régions du pays. Tous étaient d'accord pour dire qu'un comité national du transport réunissant des représentants de toutes les assemblées législatives devrait être créé afin de surmonter de façon plus rationnelle toutes les difficultés que connaît le secteur des transports. Cependant, fidèles à la tradition des conférences de l'APC, les délégués n'ont pas adopté de résolution en ce sens ou à tout autre sujet.

La troisième séance, qui était consacrée aux possibilités d'assurer une représentation efficace des Premières nations au sein du régime parlementaire, a été ouverte par Margaret Joe, du Yukon, qui a exposé différentes valeurs politiques des peuples autochtones, plus à l'aise dans un contexte consensuel que dans un régime d'opposition. Les gens ne prennent la parole que s'ils ont quelque chose à dire et le genre d'interruptions que l'on voit habituellement dans un débat parlementaire est considéré comme un manque de politesse.

D'après d'autres membres, les Canadiens auraient beaucoup à apprendre du régime politique des peuples autochtones. Il n'en demeure pas moins que notre régime parlementaire repose sur le principe de l'opposition. Certains établissaient un parallèle entre les revendications des autochtones et le désir du Québec d'assumer lui-même le contrôle de son processus politique.

La quatrième séance, portant sur la démocratie directe, reprenait certains thèmes abordés lors d'une séance antérieure. Le premier à parler, Carmen McClelland d'Ontario, a posé un certain nombre de questions au sujet du recours à des référendums, à des rappels, à des initiatives d'intérêt privé et aux autres formes de démocratie directe. De concert avec d'autres, il a fait remarquer qu'elles représentaient des armes à double tranchant puisqu'elles permettaient à plus de personnes de participer au processus politique, mais qu'elles ouvraient aussi la voie au gouvernement par la majorité et à l'oppression des groupes minoritaires.

La dernière séance, ayant pour thème le tourisme, a été ouverte par Ross Young, de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard. Il a relevé plusieurs questions ayant une influence marquée sur le tourisme au Canada, y compris la TPS, le prix élevé de l'essence et l'augmentation du magasinage outre-frontière. D'autres ont affirmé que, en insistant davantage sur les services offerts et en nous assurant que nous protégeons notre environnement, le plus important attrait touristique du Canada demeurerait ses paysages et ses richesses naturelles. De nombreux délégués ont de nouveau fait ressortir la nécessité d'une concertation de toutes les compétences.

Bien que la conférence n'ait duré que deux jours, elle regroupait des délégués de la plupart des juridictions canadiennes. À la fin, ceux-ci ont pu visiter la Yukon Game Farm et se rendre brièvement aux sources chaudes de Takhimi, où quelques-uns se sont joints aux résidants pour faire un plongeon dans cette piscine extérieure naturelle. Le colloque s'est clôturé par un banquet d'adieu tenu dans la plus pure tradition du Yukon. C'était la première fois que la plupart des délégués visitaient le Yukon, et ils se souviendront longtemps de l'accueil chaleureux, de l'excellente hospitalité et de la beauté spectaculaire de ce territoire du Nord canadien.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 14 no 4
1991






Dernière mise à jour : 2018-07-31