Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFranšais

PDF
Parliamentary Book ShelfParliamentary Book Shelf
Mike Aiken

Speakers of the Senate, Grant Purves (Library of Parliament: Ottawa, 1989)

This collection of biographies makes a handy starting point for anyone interested in doing research of the upper house. The biographies are chronological, but are more than a recitation of awards. Most cover two pages, including the speaker's portrait.

This is not meant to be a comprehensive guide to the Senate speakers office nor are there any juicy details on scandals or financial ruin. The downfall of the Hon. John Ross due to his indecision during the Riel affair is slickly glossed over, as is the colourful career of the Hon. Jean Marchand.

One of the hypotheses of this work is that the speakers chair is not the end of a career. It is not convincing. For most individuals the Senate speakership is only attained at the end of an illustrious public career.

In the end, it is the omissions which detract from the book more than anything. It would be so much better to see such a collection expanded to include the colourful detail and the controversies that first enticed these men and women into public life and inspired them to new heights or contributed to their demise.

Mike Aiken, School of Journalism, Carleton University, Ottawa, Ontario

 


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 12 no 4
1989






Last Updated: 2020-03-03

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish
Sur les rayonsSur les rayons
Mike Aiken

Les Présidents du Sénat, Grant Purves (Bibliothèque du Parlement, 1989)

Cette collection de biographies constitue un point de départ utile pour tous ceux que la recherche sur le Sénat intéresse. Les biographies sont présentées par ordre chronologique et offrent davantage qu'une simple liste de trophées. La plupart prennent deux pages et comportent un portrait de l'intéressé.

Il ne s'agit pas ici d'un guide exhaustif sur la charge de sénateur, ni d'un récit croustillant de scandales ou de faillites. La chute de l'honorable John Ross par suite de son hésitation dans l'affaire Riel est à peine effleurée, comme d'ailleurs la carrière intéressante de Jean Marchand.

Une des hypothèses avancées dans cet ouvrage, c'est que la présidence du Sénat n'est pas l'aboutissement d'une carrière; cette hypothèse n'est pas défendue de façon convaincante, car pour la plupart des présidents, il s'agit bien là d'une charge obtenue au bout d'une brillante carrière publique.

Ce sont, en fin de compte, les omissions qui dérangent le plus. Cet ouvrage gagnerait à contenir des détails colorés et le récit des controverses qui ont passionné ces hommes et les ont poussés vers de nouveaux sommets, ou vers leur ruine.

Mike Aiken
École de journalisme, Université Carleton
Ottawa (Ontario)


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 12 no 4
1989






Dernière mise à jour : 2018-07-31