Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFranšais

PDF
Parliamentary Book ShelfParliamentary Book Shelf
Gary O'Brien

The Political Thought of Lord Durham, Janet Azenstat (McGill - Queen's University Press: Kingston - Montreal, 1988)

Lord Durham was High Commissioner to Lower and Upper Canada for just one year and sixteen days and stayed in Canada only five months. Given such a short period, historians, such as Chester New, have seriously questioned his knowledge of Canadian political and social life. Janet Ajzenstat's The Political Thought of Lord Durham reveals that Durham had profound insights into Canadian problems which are still confounding us, particularly the relationship between equality and nationalism and the need for an improved constitutional arrangement to end the animosity many Canadians feel toward each other.

Ajzenstat challenges the widely-held assumption that Durham was a racist. Such a portrayal is inconsistent with his liberalism which emphasized equality, individual rights and freedoms, toleration and a belief in responsible government. What Durham objected to were nationalist arguments, both English and French, and special legal protection. His object was to put English and French on the same footing and he therefore favoured the assimilation of distinctive ways of life. The Durham Report should not be looked upon as the product of one individual but rather of the modern liberal tradition. Ajzenstat is sympathetic to that tradition. She writes: "We may decide in the end that Durham and the mainstream liberals generally do not give enough place in their thought to the strength of human loyalties and the desire to be associated with a collectivity. But we cannot evaluate their argument, or our own thought on the place of national minorities in a liberal society, if we ignore their central supposition--that nationalist divisions recognized in law deny liberal rights to minorities."(p. 12)

Ajzenstat also challenges conventional opinion that Durham's advocacy of responsible government was aimed at strengthening democratic institutions, specifically, the power of the lower, elected Houses. In fact, Durham called for a limitation on the powers of the lower houses. If two constitutional principles were recognized, the money bill principle (or the financial initiative of the Crown in legislative matters) and the confidence convention, a balanced constitution would be created and the danger of democratic tyranny would be reduced. It should be noted, however, that the eventual recognition of these two principles in the Legislature of the United Province of Canada did not create the "balance" Durham was looking for. While these principles may have resulted in a more equal relationship between the executive and the Assembly, they essentially crippled the upper house, the Legislative Council, as an equal partner in the legislative process. As professor R.A. Mackay has stated in The Unreformed Senate of Canada by 1849 "for all practical purposes the Canadian parliament had now become a single chamber."

Ajzenstat refers to the money bill principle as being "not in operation in the colonies at the time."(p. 59) In fact the money bill principle, while never followed in Upper Canada, did exist in Lower Canada. One of the rules of the Lower Canadian House of Assembly, laid down in 1793 and rescinded only in 1834, the year of the passage of the 92 Resolutions, read "that this House will receive no petition for any sum of money relating to Public Service, but what is recommended by His Majesty's Governor, Lieutenant Governor or person administering the Government at the time." The Legislative Council of Lower Canada, despite the Assembly's actions, never rescinded its own rule which stated "that the Legislative Council will not proceed upon any Bill appropriating public money that shall not within the knowledge of this House have been recommended by the King's representative."

As other reviewers have noted, this book has re-opened the question of Lord Durham when for many years it had been closed. In this the 150th anniversary of the Durham report, such a development is welcome.

Gary O'Brien, Director, Committees and Private Legislation, The Senate


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 12 no 4
1989






Last Updated: 2018-07-31

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish
Sur les rayonsSur les rayons
Gary O'Brien

The Political Thought of Lord Durham, Janet Ajzenstat, Queen's University Press (Kingston et Montreal, 1988)

Lord Durham a été haut commissaire auprès du Bas-Canada et du Haut-Canada pendant un an et seize jours seulement et il n'a passé que cinq mois au Canada. Étant donné ce bref laps de temps, des historiens, comme Chester New, mettent en doute la connaissance qu'il avait de la vie politique et sociale du Canada. Janet Ajzenstat, dans The Political Thoughts of Lord Durham, affirme quant à elle que Durham connaissait en fait très bien certains des problèmes qui troublent encore le Canada, notamment le rapport entre égalité et nationalisme et la nécessité d'une entente constitutionnelle améliorée qui mette fin à l'animosité que se vouent mutuellement de nombreux Canadiens.

Ajzenstat conteste l'affirmation très répandue que Durham était raciste. Cet attribut est incompatible avec son libéralisme, au nom duquel il insistait sur l'égalité, les droits et les libertés individuels, la tolérance et sa foi en un gouvernement responsable. Ce que Durham refusait, c'était les arguments nationalistes, fussent-ils anglais ou français, et l'accord d'une protection spéciale par voie législative. Son but était de mettre le français et l'anglais sur un pied d'égalité et il préconisait pour cette raison l'assimilation d'autres façons de faire. Il ne faut pas considérer le rapport Durham comme l'œuvre d'un seul homme, mais comme une manifestation de la tradition libérale moderne. Ajzenstat se montre bien disposée à l'égard de cette tradition. Selon elle, nous conclurons peut-être un jour que, de façon générale, Durham et les libéraux de la tradition canadienne n'ont pas suffisamment réfléchi à la puissance du sentiment de loyauté chez les humains ni à leur désir de faire partie d'une collectivité. Mais nous ne pouvons pas évaluer leur argumentation, ni notre propre conception de la place qui revient aux minorités nationales dans une société libérale, sans tenir compte de leur hypothèse de départ, soit qu'une fois qu'elles sont consacrées par des lois, les divisions nationalistes nient les droits des minorités (p. 12).

Ajzenstat ne partage pas non plus l'opinion courante que si Durham revendiquait un gouvernement responsable, c'était pour renforcer les institutions démocratiques, et plus précisément, le pouvoir des chambres basses, qui sont élues. En fait, Durham demandait qu'on limite leurs pouvoirs. Si deux principes constitutionnels étaient reconnus, le principe des mesures financières (ou l'initiative de la Couronne dans les questions législatives) et celui de la confiance, une constitution équilibrée en résulterait et le danger de la tyrannie de la démocratie s'atténuerait. Il faut noter, cependant, que la reconnaissance éventuelle de ces deux principes par le corps législatif du Canada-Uni n'a pas donné l'équilibre que cherchait Durham. Ces principes auraient pu établir un rapport plus égalitaire entre l'exécutif et l'assemblée législative, mais ils ont essentiellement figé la Chambre haute, le conseil législatif, dans le rôle de partenaire égal dans le processus législatif. Comme l'a dit R.A. Mackay, professeur dans The Unreformed Senate of Canada, en 1849, à toutes fins utiles, le Parlement canadien était devenu une chambre unique.

Ajzenstat considère que le principe des mesures financières n'était pas appliqué dans les colonies à l'époque (p. 59). En réalité, si ce principe n'a jamais été mis en application dans le Haut-Canada, il l'a bel et bien été dans le Bas-Canada. Une des règles de l'assemblée législative du Bas-Canada, règle établie en 1793 et abrogée seulement en 1834, année de l'adoption des 92 résolutions, disposait que cette chambre n'accueillerait aucune demande d'argent concernant la fonction publique, sauf ce que recommanderait le gouverneur de Sa Majesté, le lieutenant-gouverneur ou une personne administrant le gouvernement à ce moment-là. Le conseil législatif du Bas-Canada, malgré les décisions de l'Assemblée, n'a jamais abrogé sa propre règle, qui disposait que le conseil législatif ne donnerait suite à aucune mesure financière visant à allouer des fonds publics dont l'attribution, à la connaissance de cette chambre, ne serait pas recommandée par le représentant du Roi.

Comme l'ont souligné d'autres observateurs, cet ouvrage pose de nouveau la question de Lord Durham, qui avait été mise de côté depuis bien des années. Voilà une heureuse initiative en cette année qui marque le 150e anniversaire du rapport Durham.

Gary O'Brien
Le directeur, Direction des comités et de la législation privée
Le Sénat


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 12 no 4
1989






Dernière mise à jour : 2018-07-31