Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
CPA Activities: The Canadian SceneCPA Activities: The Canadian Scene


Recent seminars in Washington and Yellowknife

Environmental issues are very much on the mind of the average citizen and on September 26-28, 1989, thirteen provincial and territorial legislators from seven jurisdictions attended a CPA sponsored seminar on Environmental Issues held in Washington, D.C.

Those attending included John Cashore and James Rabbitt, (British Columbia); Stan Schumacher and Halvar Jonson, (Alberta); Dwain Lingenfelter and Jack Wolfe, (Saskatchewan); Joan Fawcett and Margaret Marland, (Ontario); Derrick Kimball and Vincent McLean, (Nova Scotia); Richard Nerysoo, (Northwest Territories); and John Crane and Kevin Parsons, (Newfoundland).

The seminar opened with a comparison of the congressional and parliamentary systems by Catherine Rudder, Executive Director of the American Political Science Association. Dr. Rudder emphasized the multi-dimensional nature of the American political process using examples relating to Clean Air Legislation currently before Congress.

The delegates were then briefed by several policy specialists from the US Congressional Research Service led by John Moore, Chief of the Environmental and Natural Resources Policy Division. They then visited the State Department for a meeting with Andrew Sens, Director of the Office of Environmental Protection in the Bureau of Oceans and International Environmental and Scientific Affairs.

The next day the legislators met with several officials at the Canadian Embassy in Ottawa including Gail Tyerman, Counsellor for Federal- Provincial Relations, Michael Kergin and Ross Glasgow.

After attending a press conference by the World Resources Institute to demonstrate a Mercedes-Benz hydrogen propelled vehicle, they proceeded to the Capitol for a very informative meeting with Mike Totten, Legislative Assistant to Representative Claudine Schneider, sponsor of one of the many environmental bills currently under study. Mr. Totten argued that relatively simple measures, such as moving to energy efficient light bulbs, could produce tremendous savings for the entire economy.

At lunch the delegates had an opportunity to exchange views with representatives of two environmental groups, Doug Mulhall of Greenpeace; and Carol Werner and Patricia Weymond of the Environmental and Energy Study Institute.

The afternoon was spent at the Environmental Protection Agency which has primary responsibility for the environment in the US.

The final day was also spent on Capitol Hill beginning with a briefing from Richard Pfohl, Legislative Assistant to Representative Gerry Sikorski and Carol Andras of the Northeast/Midwest Congressional Research Institute. They confirmed what other speakers had said about increasing interest in environmental concerns on the part of American legislators.

Perhaps the highlight of the conference was the opportunity to attend a meeting of the Senate Environmental Protection Subcommittee chaired by Senator Max Baucus. The committee was looking at the question of auto emission standards and heard testimony from representatives of the automobile manufacturers and environmentalists. Canadian legislators had an opportunity to compare their own committee proceedings with that of the Senate.

The seminar concluded with a lunch featuring guest speaker Richard Goodstein, of Browning-Ferris Industries.

The seminar was organized for the Canadian Region of CPA by Jo Oberstar and Barbara Reynolds of the Centre for Legislative Exchange.

From November 16 to 19 the Legislative Assembly of the Northwest Territories hosted the 14th Canadian Regional Seminar. The seminar brought together some forty delegates and observers for two days of discussion of areas of mutual interest.

The first session consisted of an "Update on Parliamentary Reform" in different jurisdictions. The lead speakers were Sam Cureatz of the Ontario Legislative Assembly and Al Mosher of Nova Scotia.

The Implications of an `Alberta Style' Elected Senate was the subject of another session. The lead-off speakers were Jerry Doyle of Alberta and Girve Fretz Chairman of the Canadian section of CPA.

The session dealt on provincehood for Canadas northern territories provoked a good deal of comment. The lead speakers were Richard Nerysoo of the host branch and Don Boudria of the House of Commons. A copy of the presentation by Speaker Nerysoo appears elsewhere in this issue.

Ian Izard, law Clerk of the British Columbia Legislative Assembly spoke about recent changes in British Columbia electoral law resulting from recent court decisions. His presentation is also published in this issue. Alan Nordling of the Yukon discussed residency requirements and other issues arising from charter cases in that jurisdiction.

The session on the Environment and the Private Member had three lead speakers Jerry Storie of Manitoba, Lloyd Snow of Newfoundland, and Kim Trew of Saskatchewan. Following a very interesting discussion where there was obvious concern on the part of delegates about what they could do to increase public consciousness about environmental problems Mr. Trew moved the following motion:

That the Yellowknife Territories Commonwealth Parliamentary Association Seminar recommend an all party environmental action committee be set up to disseminate environmental information amongst all CPA members in Canada and beyond wherever useful.

The motion was seconded by Mr. Snow and adopted unanimously.

Aside from the business session delegates were treated to typical northern hospitality including an afternoon of dog-sled races. Appropriately enough the first prize trophy went to the Clerk Assistant of the Yukon, Missy Follwell, and co-sledder Smirle Forsythe of Ontario while an all NWT entry finished a few seconds behind.

The Speaker of the Assembly and his staff headed by David Hamilton spared no effort to make sure that everyones visit to the north was as memorable one.

New Speakers

Richard Nerysoo was elected as Speaker of the Eleventh Legislative Assembly in October, 1989. He is the first aboriginal person to serve in this capacity having previously had the distinction of being the first aboriginal person and the youngest member to serve as Government Leader.

Born at a camp on the Peel River near Fort MacPherson in 1953, Mr. Nerysoo was educated in Fort MacPherson, Inuvik and Whitehorse.

First elected in 1979, he was re-elected in 1983 and again in 1987. He was chosen as Government Leader and Minister of Justice and Public Services in 1983, at the start of his second term. In his first term, Mr. Nerysoo gained experience as Minister of Renewable Resources and of the Energy and Resource Development Secretariat, as well as Chairman of the House Planning and Legislation Committee.

From 1985 to 1987, he chaired the Standing Committee on Finance and was also a vice-president for the Mackenzie Delta Regional and Tribal Council. During the following two years, he was a negotiator for the Dene Métis land claim on the issue of self-government. From 1988-1989, he served as chairman of Ajautit, the ordinary Members' Committee. At the time of his election to the Speakership, he was also a member of the Standing Committee on Finance, the Management and Services Board, and an alternate member of the Special Committee on the Northern Economy.

From 1975-1976, prior to his election as an MLA, Mr. Nerysoo was vice-president of the NWT Indian Brotherhood (now the Dene Nation), and then worked for the territorial government for a year. He was later a vice-president of the Dene Nation representing the Mackenzie Delta region.

The new President of the Quebec National Assembly is Jean-Pierre Saintonge who was one of two vice-presidents in the previous legislature.

Elected for the first time in 1981, Mr. Saintonge is beginning his third term as a member of the National Assembly. Initially he represented the electoral district of Laprairie following the general elections of 1981 and 1985; then, on September 25, 1985 he became the first Member for La Pinière, created following recent changes to the electoral map. While in opposition, Mr. Saintonge was a member of the Committee on Planning and Infrastructures. He also acted as spokesman for his party on cultural affairs, recreation and sport and subsequently on municipal affairs.

Mr. Saintonge holds a Bachelor of Arts degree, a teaching diploma, a bachelor's degree in pedagogy and a bachelor's degree in law from the Université de Montréal. A member of the Québec Bar since 1973, he was assistant protonotary with the Quebec justice ministry for one year before becoming a partner in the law firm of Vermette, Dunton, Ciaccia, Rusko, De Wever and Saintonge. He has taught at École Saint-Léon in Westmount and at Collège Ahuntsic in Montréal.

New Commissioner of the North West Territories

Daniel L. Norris was sworn in as Commissioner of the Northwest Territories on October 2, 1989. He was born 35 kilometers southwest of Inuvik in the Mackenzie Delta at his parents' trading post. Raised in the Aklavik Mackenzie Delta where his mother and father had established their home in 1932, he grew up among the Loucheux, Slavey, Dogrib and Inuvlaluit of the region.

In 1956 he went to work for the department of Northern Affairs and National Resources in Aklavik. Later that year he joined Aklavik Flying Services as base and officer manager. After obtaining his private pilot's license and discovering that he could not obtain a commercial license because of vision restrictions, he decided to rejoin Northern Affairs and National Resources, where he was promoted to head of office services.

When the Territorial Government moved north in 1967 he transferred over as personnel and administrative services officer.

In August 1967 Mr. Norris accepted the position of administrative officer and special assistant to the Regional Director in Inuvik. In 1972 he transferred to the department of Personnel as Regional Superintendent. He was promoted to Assistant Regional Director in 1982 and became Regional Director in 1985.

In addition to his duties as Regional Director, he was also given the responsibility of chairing the Inuvik Regional Health Board as of April 1, 1988.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 12 no 4
1989






Last Updated: 2020-03-03

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Activités de l’APC : la scène canadienneActivités de l’APC : la scène canadienne


Séminaires à Washington et à Yellowknife

L'environnement préoccupe beaucoup le Canadien moyen ces temps-ci ; c'est ainsi que treize législateurs de sept territoires et provinces différents ont assisté à un séminaire parrainé par l'APC sur des questions d'environnement qui a eu lieu à Washington (D.C.).

Parmi les participants, on comptait John Cashore et James Rabbitt, de la Colombie-Britannique, Stan Schumacher et Halvar Jonson de l'Alberta, Dwain Lingenfelter et Jack Wolfe de la Saskatchewan, Joan Fawcett et Margaret Marland de l'Ontario, Derrick Kimball et Vincent McLean de la Nouvelle-Écosse, Richard Nerysoo des Territoires du Nord-Ouest et John Crane et Kevin Parsons de Terre-Neuve.

Catherine Rudder, directrice générale de l'American Political Science Association, a inauguré les travaux en présentant un exposé comparatif du système parlementaire et du système législatif avec Congrès. Mme Rudder a insisté sur le caractère multi-dimensionnel du processus politique américain et a mentionné l'exemple de la loi sur la salubrité de l'air qui fait présentement l'objet d'un examen par le Congrès.

Les délégués ont ensuite entendu les propos de spécialistes en matière de politique du Service de recherche du Congrès, dirigé par John Moore, chef de la Division des politiques sur les ressources naturelles et l'environnement. Ensuite, ils se sont rendus au Département d'État pour une rencontre avec Andrew Sens, directeur de l'Office de la protection de l'environnement au Bureau des affaires internationales sur l'environnement et la science.

La journée suivante, les législateurs ont rencontré des représentants de l'ambassade canadienne à Ottawa, dont Gail Tyerman, conseillère pour les relations fédérales-provinciales, Michael Kergin et Ross Glasgow.

Après une conférence de presse au World Resources Institute organisée pour présenter le véhicule à hydrogène de Mercedes-Benz, les délégués se sont rendus au Capitole rencontrer Mike Totten, adjoint de Claudine Schneider, membre de la Chambre des représentants et marraine de projets de loi sur l'environnement présentement à l'étude. M. Totten soutient que par des mesures relativement simples, par exemple produire des ampoules qui consomment peu d'énergie, il serait possible de réaliser des économies importantes.

Pendant le lunch, les participants ont eu l'occasion d'échanger leurs points de vue avec des représentants de deux groupes écologiques, Doug Mulhall, de Greenpeace, et Carol Werner et Patricia Weymond, de l'Environmental and Energy Study Institute.

Les délégués ont passé l'après-midi aux bureaux de l'Agence de protection de l'environnement, organisme responsable de l'environnement aux États-Unis. Plusieurs personnes membres du personnel de l'organisme ont répondu à des questions sur des sujets qui intéressent les Canadiens : la gestion des produits dangereux et des déchets solides, la pollution de l'air, les pluies acides, l'effet de serre, les incinérateurs de recyclage de dépotoirs, pour ne mentionner que ceux-là.

Le point culminant du séminaire aura été la réunion du Sous-comité du Sénat sur la protection de l'environnement, dirigé par le sénateur Max Baucus, à laquelle les délégués ont pu assister. Le comité a examiné la question des normes pour les émissions des automobiles et a entendu le témoignage de constructeurs automobiles et d'écologistes. Les législateurs canadiens ont donc eu l'occasion de comparer la procédure régissant les travaux de leurs propres comités à celle de leurs hôtes.

Le séminaire s'est terminé par un déjeuner-causerie où le conférencier invité était Richard Goldstein, des Browning-Ferris Industries.

Le séminaire a été organisé pour la Région canadienne de l'APC par Jo Obestar et Barbara Reynolds du Centre d'échange des questions législatives.

14e conference de la Région canadienne

Du 16 au 19 novembre derniers, l'Assemblée législative des Territoires du Nord-Ouest a été l'hôte du 14e séminaire de la Région du Canada. Pendant les deux jours que durait cette rencontre, les délégués et observateurs ont eu l'occasion de discuter de sujets d'intérêt mutuel.

La première séance portait sur la réforme parlementaire en cours dans certaines provinces. Les conférenciers principaux étaient Sam Cureatz de l'Assemblée législative de l'Ontario et Al Mosher de la Nouvelle-Écosse.

Les implications d'un sénat élu « à l'albertaine » ont fait l'objet d'une autre séance. Les conférenciers étaient Jerry Doyle de l'Alberta et Girve Fretz, président de la section canadienne de l'APC.

Les participants ont par ailleurs discuté longuement du statut de province pour les territoires du nord canadien. Les conférenciers étaient Richard Nerysoo, de la section hôte, et Don Boudria, de la Chambre des communes. Le texte de la communication de M. Nerysoo a été incluse dans le présent numéro.

Ian Izard, légiste à l'Assemblée législative de la Colombie-Britannique, a parlé des récents changements apportés à la loi électorale après des jugements rendus par les tribunaux à cet égard. Son exposé a aussi été publié dans la présente livraison de la Revue. Alan Nording, du Yukon, est intervenu sur les critères de résidence et sur d'autres questions découlant de causes qui relèvent de la charte.

La séance sur l'environnement et le simple député a été menée par trois conférenciers : Jerry Storie, du Manitoba, Lloyd Snow, de Terre-Neuve, et Kim Trew, de la Saskatchewan. Il est ressorti de cette discussion intéressante que les délégués ont à coeur de sensibiliser la population aux questions d'environnement. M. Trew a présenté la motion suivante :

Que le Séminaire de l'Association parlementaire du Commonwealth de Yellowknife recommande la création d'un comité de tous les partis sur l'écologie afin d'assurer la circulation de l'information sur l'environnement parmi les membres canadiens et autres de l'APC.

La motion a été appuyée par M. Snow et adoptée à l'unanimité.

En plus de leur travail, les délégués ont pu goûter à l'hospitalité nordique et ont participé à des courses de traîneaux à chiens. Comme de juste, le premier prix a été remporté par le greffier adjoint du Yukon, Missy Follwell, et son co-équipier Smirle Forsythe de l'Ontario ; le deuxième prix est allé à l'équipe des T.N.-O. qui talonnait les gagnants.

Le président de l'Assemblée et son personnel dirigé par David Hamilton n'ont pas ménagé leurs efforts pour faire en sorte que cette visite dans le Nord reste mémorable.

De nouveaux présidents

Le 28 novembre 1989, à l'occasion de la première séance de sa 34e législature, l'Assemblée nationale s'est donnée un nouveau président en la personne de M. Jean-Pierre Saintonge. M. Saintonge était déjà familier avec la fonction présidentielle puisque de 1985 à 1989, soit pendant toute la précédente législature, il était l'un des deux vice-présidents de cette Assemblée.

Le président, qui a été élu comme député pour la première fois le 13 avril 1981, entreprend son troisième mandat à l'Assemblée nationale. Il a d'abord représenté la circonscription de Laprairie suite aux élections de 1981 et de 1985 ; puis, le 25 septembre 1989, il est devenu le premier député à représenter la circonscription de La Pinière qui a été créée par suite des récentes modifications apportées à la carte électorale.

Alors qu'il siégeait au sein de l'opposition officielle, M. Saintonge a été membre de la Commission de l'aménagement et des équipements ainsi que porte-parole de son groupe parlementaire dans le domaine des affaires culturelles, des loisirs et des sports, puis en matière d'affaires municipales.

Le nouveau Président est avocat. Membre du Barreau du Québec depuis 1973, il a été protonotaire adjoint au ministère de la Justice du Québec pendant un an, puis associé de l'étude Vermette, Dunton, Ciaccia, Rusko, De Wever et Saintonge.

Il a aussi oeuvré dans le domaine de l'enseignement au Collège Saint-Ignace, à l'École Saint-Léon de Westmount et au Collège Ahuntsic à Montréal.

M. Saintonge détient un baccalauréat ès arts, un brevet A d'enseignement, un baccalauréat en pédagogie et une licence en droit de l'Université de Montréal.

Richard Nerysoo a été élu président de la onzième Assemblée législative en octobre 1989. Il est le premier autochtone à occuper ce poste ; il est aussi le premier autochtone et le plus jeune député à occuper le poste de leader du gouvernement.

Né en 1953 dans un camp sur la rivière Peel près de Fort MacPherson, il a fait ses études à Fort MacPherson, à Inuvik et à Whitehorse.

Élu pour la première fois en 1979, il a été réélu en 1983 et en 1987. Il a été choisi leader du gouvernement et ministre de la Justice et des services publics en 1983, au début de son deuxième mandat. Pendant son premier mandat, M. Nerysoo a fait ses armes comme ministre des Ressources renouvelables et du Secrétariat de l'énergie et de la mise en valeur des ressources ; il a aussi été nommé président du Comité de la législation et de la planification de la Chambre.

De 1985 à 1987, il a présidé le Comité permanent des finances. Il était aussi président du Conseil tribal de la région du delta du Mackenzie. Au cours des deux années suivantes, il a été négociateur dans les pourparlers sur les revendications territoriales des Dénés-Métis et sur l'autodétermination politique. À partir de 1988-1989, il est devenu président d'Ajautit, comité de simples députés. Au moment de sa nomination comme président d'Assemblée, il était aussi membre du Comité permanent des finances, du Conseil de gestion et des services et était membre substitut du Comité spécial sur l'économie du Nord.

À partir de 1975-1976, avant son élection comme député, M. Nerysoo il a assumé la vice-présidence de la Fraternité indienne des Territoires du Nord-Ouest (aujourd'hui la Nation Dénée) ; il a travaillé pour le gouvernement du territoire pendant un an. Il est devenu vice-président de la Nation Dénée, représentant la région du delta du Mackenzie.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 12 no 4
1989






Dernière mise à jour : 2018-07-31