Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFranšais

PDF
CPA Activities: The Canadian SceneCPA Activities: The Canadian Scene


New Lieutenant Governor

In February 1989 Prime Minister Brian Mulroney announced the appointment of the Hon. Lloyd R. Crouse, PC, as Lieutenant-Governor for Nova Scotia.

Mr. Crouse, the former Member of Parliament for the riding of South Shore, was first elected to the House of Commons in 1957 and served his constituents in this capacity until his retirement from federal politics in the fall of 1988.

Born in Lunenburg on 19 November 1918, he was a businessman who established a number of fishing companies including Viking Fisheries Ltd., Crouse Fisheries Ltd., and Atlas Fisheries Ltd.

Mr. Crouse served Canada as a pilot with the RCAF during the Second World War. He took an active part in the community affairs of Lunenburg School Commission (1950-52) and the Youth Board of the Lutheran Church (1950-54).

As a Member of Parliament Mr. Crouse served on numerous committees of the House of Commons and in particular chaired the Public Accounts Committee from 1974 to 1976. He was elected Chairman of the Canadian Commonwealth Parliamentary Association in 1985 and during his many years in Ottawa served as Canada's representative to a number of Commonwealth and international conferences.

New Clerk of the Senate

On March 7, 1989, Prime Minister Mulroney appointed Gordon Barnhart to the post of Clerk of the Senate and Clerk of the Parliaments. He replaces Charles A. Lussier, whose resignation will take effect May 1, 1989.

Mr. Barnhart, 44, was born in Yorkton, Saskatchewan. He attended the University of Saskatchewan where he received a B.A. and B.A. Honours in British Parliamentary History, and the University of Regina with a M.A. in History. After teaching history at the North Battleford Collegiate Institute, he became, in January 1969, Assistant Clerk to the Legislative Assembly of Saskatchewan and later that year, Clerk.

He has been active in the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association and is member and chairman of the Editorial Board of the Canadian Parliamentary Review and past councillor of the Study of Parliament Group. He was appointed honourary member of the American Society of Legislative Clerks and Secretaries and awarded the designation Professional Manager by the Canadian Institute of Management in 1981.

New Gentleman Usher of the Black Rod

The same day the Prime Minister appointed RenÚ Gutknecht as Gentleman Usher of the Black Rod replacing RenÚ Jalbert, who will become a member of the federal Immigration and Refugee Board on March 20, 1989.

Mr. Gutknecht was born in Montreal. He attended McGill University where he obtained a B.A. At McGill, he enrolled in the Canadian Army, Royal Canadian Armoured Corps, under the R.O.T.P. program.

During his 34 years in Canada's armed forces, Lieutenant-General Gutknecht has served with distinction in many capacities, at home and abroad. He was Troop Leader with the Royal Canadian Dragoons and later Commanding Officer, Lord Strathcona's Horse in Soest, Germany. He served with the Military Component of the Canadian Delegation in Vietnam and in India and Pakistan with the United Nations. In Lahr, Germany he was Senior Staff Officer, Operations. He became Commander, 5e groupement de Combat, Canadian Forces Base Valcartier, Montreal, in 1975 and also served as Chief of Staff Operations and Deputy Commander, Mobile Command, St. Hubert, Quebec. From 1980-1985 he was Canadian Military Representative to NATO Headquarters in Brussels. He has been Commandant of the Ottawa Division, Canadian Corps of Commissionaires for the past four years.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 12 no 1
1989






Last Updated: 2019-07-15

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Activités de l’APC : la scène canadienneActivités de l’APC : la scène canadienne


Nouveau lieutenant-gouverneur de la Nouvelle-Écosse

En février 1989, le premier ministre Brian Mulroney a annoncé la nomination de l'hon. Lloyd R. Crouse, c.p., au poste de lieutenant-gouverneur de la Nouvelle-Écosse.

M. Crouse était, jusqu'à ce qu'il se retire de la politique fédérale à l'automne de 1988, député à la Chambre des communes depuis 1957, où il représentait la circonscription de South Shore.

Il est né à Lunenburg le 19 novembre 1918. Homme d'affaires bien connu, il a fondé quelques entreprises dans le secteur des pêches, dont Viking Fisheries Ltd., Crouse Fisheries Ltd., et Atlas Fisheries Ltd.

M. Crouse a servi comme pilote dans l'Aviation royale canadienne durant la Deuxième guerre mondiale. Il a participé activement à la vie de sa communauté à titre de membre du Conseil scolaire de Lunenburg de 1950 à 1952 et de membre du Comité des jeunes de l'Église luthérienne, de 1950 à 1954.

Pendant son mandat comme député, il a fait partie de divers comités de la Chambre des communes et a notamment présidé les travaux du Comité des comptes publics, de 1974 à 1976. Il a été élu président de l'Association parlementaire du Commonwealth en 1985 et, au cours des nombreuses années qu'il a passées à Ottawa, il a représenté le Canada à plusieurs conférences internationales et du Commonwealth.

Nouveau greffier au Sénat

Le 7 mars 1989, le premier ministre Mulroney a nommé Gordon Barnhart au poste de Greffier du Sénat et Greffier des Parlements. Il remplace Charles A. Lussier, dont la démission prendra effet le 1er mai 1989.

M. Barnhart, qui est âgé de 44 ans, est né a Yorkton, en Saskatchewan. Il a fréquenté l'Université de Saskatchewan, où il a obtenu un baccalauréat en arts et un baccalauréat honorifique en histoire des institutions parlementaires britanniques. Il a aussi obtenu une maîtrise en histoire de l'Université de Regina. Après avoir enseigné l'histoire au North Battleford Collegiate Institute, il a été nommé, en janvier 1969, greffier adjoint de l'Assemblée législative de la Saskatchewan. Quelques mois plus tard, il devenait greffier de la même Assemblée.

Actif au sein de l'Association parlementaire du Commonwealth, il est membre et président du Comité de rédaction de la Revue parlementaire canadienne. Il a aussi été conseiller du Groupe des études des questions parlementaires. Il a été nommé membre honoraire de l'American Society of Legislative Clerks and Secretaries ; en 1981, l'Institut canadien de gestion lui décernait le titre de « gestionnaire professionnel» .

Nouveau Gentilhomme huissier de la verge noire

Le même jour, le premier ministre nommait aussi René Gutknecht au poste de Gentilhomme huissier de la verge noire, pour remplacer René Jalbert, qui deviendra membre de la Commission fédérale de l'immigration et du statut de réfugié, le 20 mars 1989.

M. René Gutknecht est né à Montréal. Il possède un baccalauréat en arts de l'université McGill. Pendant qu'il fréquentait cette université, il s'est joint aux Forces armées canadiennes où il a fait partie du Corps blindé royal du Canada dans le cadre du programme de formation de la force régulière.

Au cours des 34 années qu'il a passées dans les Forces armées canadiennes, le lieutenant-général Gutknecht s'est distingué à plusieurs titres, au Canada comme à l'étranger, notamment comme guide de troupe au sein des Royal Canadian Dragoons, puis en tant que commandant du Lord Strathcona's Horse à Soest en Allemagne. Il a aussi fait partie des contingents militaires des Nations unies au Viet-Nam, en Inde et au Pakistan. Il a été ensuite officier sénior d'état-major, Opérations, à Lahr, en Allemagne. Un peu plus tard, en 1975, il a été nommé commandant du 5e groupement de combat, à la base canadienne de Valcartier, puis chef d'état-major, Opérations, et commandant adjoint du Commandement mobile à St-Hubert (Québec). De 1980 à 1985, il a été le représentant militaire du Canada auprès du quartier général de l'OTAN à Bruxelles. Il est, depuis quatre ans, commandant de la Division d'Ottawa du Corps canadien des commissionnaires.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 12 no 1
1989






Dernière mise à jour : 2018-07-31